Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Who is your favourite politician and what are your political values?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

Don't have a favourite politician but my political views can be expressed succinctly by the quote: "We are convinced that freedom without Socialism is privilege and injustice, and that Socialism without freedom is slavery and brutality."-Mikhail Bakunin.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 410 ✭✭_Gawd_

Libertarian here. (economically right, socially left) no gods, no masters.

I don't like nation states or patriotism - everyone should be free to move where they want.
    I don't like creeping Communism i.e - the public service.
    I don't like taxes.
    I don't like paper money or central banks, I don't like war.
    I don't like drug laws.

I believe in the free market. I believe in capitalism. I believe in the free movement of free peoples. I believe in private property. I believe in the individual (because you're Irish means nothing to me) - you should be judged by the content of your character. I believe you have a right to do whatever you please so long as it doesn't intrude on anyone else.

Politician? Ron Paul.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

another libertarian on the Internet, shocker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

ripcurl105 wrote: »
    no foreigners
    take back our country
    thatcherism
    no more nigerians or knackers or gypsies
    simples
    then we have a pure clean society

mod: banned.

He could include himself in that too..:rolleyes:
    Strange how Thatcherism gets in there too...:o

The way things have been going I honestly can't say I have a favourite politician.

My political values would basically be let people do what they want as long as it doesn't interfere with others, Strong environmental and animal protection. Common sense approach to laws with strong justice system and harsh penalties for people who don''t or won't change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,215 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

just for personality - bertie ahern, taking criticism like a hero and completely shameless about taking the money that we all would have taken in the same position
    Speak for yourself - in fairness you're not a mind-reader.

Oh and Nigerian corruption - bad; Irish corruption - good. I see... :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

I quite like Nigel Farage. If there was an Irish politician of the same ilk, I would support him.

A few politicians to stand up against the greedy farmers would be nice too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Born to Die

Trolls are gathering.

Don't think they're trolls, just not educated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Born to Die

Dudess wrote: »
    Don't think they're trolls, just not educated.

Give them a chance. First year is always difficult.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,283 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Dudess wrote: »
    Speak for yourself - in fairness you're not a mind-reader.

Oh and Nigerian corruption - bad; Irish corruption - good. I see... :pac:

taking money given voluntarily by property developers to change land zoning to which the end result create buildings, jobs and in general benefit us all , is far different from taking aid money or money aquired from scamming and using it to fund a military

• Registered Users Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

I have admiration for Mo Mowlam :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Biggins wrote: »
    Say wha? :confused:

ooo biggy you know what i mean :pac:

Im sick to death of political threads :cool:

Im a foringhner :cool::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭FlyingIrishMan

Turtyturd wrote: »
    My favourite political values are pot hole fixing, my favourite politician is whoever gets the potholes fixed.

• Registered Users Posts: 213 ✭✭tommylimerick

i like joe higgins always find myself agreeing with him

• Registered Users Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

All my favorite politicians are dead.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,294 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Mick Wallace. Just for having the pure balls to go into Dail Eireann with that hair cut, jeans and a pink shirt.

Also Peirce Docherty. For his energy, enthusiasm, and passion that he has in his role.

And Mo, just for the Good Friday Agreement.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭true

Mrs Thatcher- for standing up to the Eastern block ( defeated ) , militant trade unions ( defeated ), Argentian military regime responsible for thousands of disappeared ( defeated ), Gadaffi ( defeated) , PIRA and INLA ( responsible for deaths of her friends like Airey Neace, Mrs Tebbbit etc ( defeated). The lady was not for turning. She worked 80 hour weeks in the interests of her country, and was proven to be honest. Meanwhile , as tens of thousands of Irish were enmigrating to the UK each year at the time, our Lord Haughey was telling us to wear the hairshirt while buying the most expensive handmade shirts in the world in Paris with his mistress. You could not make it up. Pity we had not her in this country and she would not have let the regulator, unions or Irish banks get away with it.

Kind of makes the likes of Wallace and Doherty look like parochial Killinascully scoundrels. Balls? real balls is doing things for the common good but putting yourself at risk of serious terrorist threat for the rest of your life. It does not take balls to wear a pink shirt. I know straight fellas doing that 25 years ago, just to be different. And it was not that different. The punk rockers were different.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,910 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

ripcurl105 wrote: »
    I am extremely right-leaning. I believe in little goverment power over the people, a Laissez-faire market, little as possible taxation, slashed public service, reinstatement of religion in schools an dclassroom led prayer. Super strict immigration, ie, everyone entering is fingerprinted and photographed at the border and passport number is filed. Immigrants commiting crimes are deported permanently and blocked from country (where the fingerprints come in).
    Respect fo relderly and pride in the nation and more respect for Gardaí and army.

Is that you Anders???thought they had you underlock and key..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

Ruairi Quinn.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

true wrote: »
    Mrs Thatcher- for standing up to the Eastern block ( defeated ) , militant trade unions ( defeated ), Argentian military regime responsible for thousands of disappeared ( defeated ), Gadaffi ( defeated) , PIRA and INLA ( responsible for deaths of her friends like Airey Neace, Mrs Tebbbit etc ( defeated). The lady was not for turning. She worked 80 hour weeks in the interests of her country, and was proven to be honest. Meanwhile , as tens of thousands of Irish were enmigrating to the UK each year at the time, our Lord Haughey was telling us to wear the hairshirt while buying the most expensive handmade shirts in the world in Paris with his mistress. You could not make it up. Pity we had not her in this country and she would not have let the regulator, unions or Irish banks get away with it.

Kind of makes the likes of Wallace and Doherty look like parochial Killinascully scoundrels. Balls? real balls is doing things for the common good but putting yourself at risk of serious terrorist threat for the rest of your life. It does not take balls to wear a pink shirt. I know straight fellas doing that 25 years ago, just to be different. And it was not that different. The punk rockers were different.

lol are you serious? So the UK went to war with Argentina for the reason you state above? How do you feel about her relationship with Augusto Pinochet and his record?

Also what about her and her governments views on South Africa's government policies of the time?

And lastly, she defeated the PIRA? lol news to me, must have missed that part of history in school.
    My favourite politician is dead, 90 years in august.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,435 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Joe Higgins.. Socialist Party..

• Registered Users Posts: 443 ✭✭HoggyRS

Left wing and republican. Favourite Irish politician probably Louise Minihan or Joe Higgins.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

Whatever policies maximise the total happiness of its citizens.

• Registered Users Posts: 350 ✭✭Roadtrippin

Favourite politician... that's a paradox in my books. That implies I actually like any politician in the first place! :D

Computer says No!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Libertarian here. I don't like being told what to do, I don't like communists and I don't like socialists! I like free markets, low tax, being able to do what I want etc. I believe everyone should be treated with equality and have the chance to fulfil their dreams without intervention from the government.
    Ron Paul is my favourite politician.
    Reagan, Milton Friedman and Thatcher are up there too though, although Friedman was an economist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

had to thank the opening post as yer man sounds mad enough to end up running the country. Just keeping in with our future right wing overlords, ye know how it is. My favorite politician is Develera, mainly cos he's dead and can no longer do any harm. Not too fond of any of the alive ones.

lol are you serious? So the UK went to war with Argentina for the reason you state above? How do you feel about her relationship with Augusto Pinochet and his record?

Also what about her and her governments views on South Africa's government policies of the time?

And lastly, she defeated the PIRA? lol news to me, must have missed that part of history in school.
    My favourite politician is dead, 90 years in august.
    Lol yeah - the claim she was fighting for Argentinian democracy is hilarious... Pinochet was an utter monster, but let's disregard such an inconvenient truth. ;)
    That post on her just seems like it's written by a kid who wants to be different to their peers.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,283 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

woahhh, I agree with thatcher economically, but seriously in terms of wars particularly the falklands , she was insane and idiotic to put it mildly

• Registered Users Posts: 456 ✭✭Dubhlinner

Like Shane Ross. Ming was good before he went all parish pump.

In Northern Ireland Conall McDevitt but not sure what I'd think of him if he was in a real parliament.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

over the past few years it would be the late Brian lenehan. tried his hardest and was an excellent communicator but that pox cowen shafted him

if he had led his party maybe things would be different