Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sussex Stakes

• Registered Users Posts: 4,330 ✭✭✭Morgans

Why didnt champion milers like Goldikova, Canford Cliffs, Zilzal, Selkirk, Mark of Esteem go for the Arc? Even Dubai Millenium, or Rock of Gibraltar.

Clearly inferior animals for not doing so. 1m4f in October often in soft/heavy ground and Frankel needs to do this for YOU to consider him equal??? to Giants Causeway or Rock of Gibraltar? Is that it?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Morgans wrote: »
    Why didnt champion milers like Goldikova, Canford Cliffs, Zilzal, Selkirk, Mark of Esteem go for the Arc? Even Dubai Millenium, or Rock of Gibraltar.

Clearly inferior animals for not doing so. 1m4f in October often in soft/heavy ground and Frankel needs to do this for YOU to consider him equal??? to Giants Causeway or Rock of Gibraltar? Is that it?

Your totally missing the point I am making, none of these horses you have mentioned above have been classed as the GOAT by the media, all I am saying is that you cant class Frankel as the GOAT by judging what he has done over a mile! Should he win the Juddmonte, why would they not send him to the Breeders Cup? Its only going to enhance his reputation further should he win that too?

I just feel for the horses sake they do go to Paris or America because I feel Frankel has a lot more to give!

You do realise the GOAT is subjective and that when people are saying that Frankel is the GOAT (jesus the hype again) they are saying that he is putting up the best performances of all time using an objective basis that works across all distances. His performances at a mile are better than the best performances ever produced by specalists 6f horses at 6f, by specialist 12f horses at 12f.

That he is repeating the performances shows that its not remotely a fluke. You dont believe this is valid until he does it at 12f.

You think THE ROCK's reputation was diminished by not going for the Arc?

Or by ever racing over a mile.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭tryfix

Excelebration ran 5 times in GP 1 company.

The first time he ran in a GP 1 he was rated 116 he finished behind Frankel and Zoffany beaten a length and a half by the 115 rated Zoffany who was raised to 118.

The second time he won in France beating Rio De La Plata (a 120 rated horse on the downside of his career) by 1 1/2L which would put him on 123, a line through (Dubawi Gold rated 117) 3L back in 4th confirms the 123 rating.

His other three runs in GP1 company are complicated by Frankel's destruction of the opposition, with varying lines of form it's possible to take negative or positive slants on them.

There's some strange collateral form, take Windsor Palace 106 given an average 16lb beating by Famous Name 115 when running on his own merits. Logically that puts Famous Name on 122 which he won't be because he's not a 122 horse. If you take 115 minus 16 you get 99, the exact rating he recieved for being beaten 14lb into 4th by Excelebration at the start of the season.

He's been running behind Frankel and Excelebration, if he's a 99 horse then Frankel is a 130 horse because Frankel on his best form beat him by 15 1/2L when Windsor Palace ran a fair enough race behind him in the Queen Anne. Excelebration at his best ran 8 to 10lb inferior horse to Frankel, which brings him back to 120 or 122 slightly below the 123 rating he ran to in France.

Excelebration after running to 123 in France ran Frankel to 4l or an 8lb beating, meaning Frankel ran to 131. There's a case for rating Frankel on 135 based on his 3yo beating of Rio De La Plata in a 4 horse race.

Where's the justification for rating Frankel at 140 for his Queen Anne win, to do so means rating Windsor Palace at 109 and by extension Famous Name at 125.

Seriously google.

I put in BHA rating of Frankel and second result was

http://www.racinguk.com/news/article/bha-frankel-still-below-brave

That was before they raised him to 140.

You have missed Excelebrations two best performances. Beating Immortal Verse in the QEII - maybe cos it doesnt suit your argument - and at Newbury. Your arguement isnt with me, its with the ratings. Why do you think that you should only concern yourself with group 1 company?

The ratings have proven far more accurate than me, or you, or any other internet poster here for the last four decades.

Also, Windsor palace's form with Famous Name was not over a mile. So, Windsor Palace being rated 108 in the Queen Anne (over a mile) does not change Famous Name's rating to a 125 horse.

If you are arguing against the ratings, you need to do so from a position of expertise.

And whatever you do, dont mention the formline of the Lockinge where Windsor Palace didnt act as a pacemaker. And what it means for the form of Excelebration and Frankel.

You are missing the point, in the race where immortal verse finished third to Frankel she ran to 115. She finished 4 1/2L or 9lb ahead of Bullet Train 106 who finished 12L or 24lb behind Frankel, himself putting Frankel on 130 for the race which equates to an approximate 4l beating of a 123 rated Excelebration which is what Excelebration ran to in France.

Bullet Train's rating has been creeping up to 111 this year, a rating he kept despite finishing behind Windsor Palace 106 and Indomito 108 in the Queen Anne. There's a bit of rating inflation going on.

Im not missing the point. You are arguing with the ratings. Not me.

You do realise that Bullet Train is a pacemaker? And that even if he is 111 rated horse, that it doesnt mean he runs to 111 every time he steps on a racecourse. And that running behind a 106 and 108 rated horses means that his rating should be dropped. These are fundamentals.

I think a little knowledge is a dangerous thing, and while you have every right to be skeptical of the ratings, not knowing that is 1lb per length 24 hours ago, it is quite presumptious of you to believe you have found mistaken arithmetic in how the ratings are calculated.

Are you presuming that the raters just have got their sums wrong?

Im not missing the point. You are arguing with the ratings. Not me.

You do realise that Bullet Train is a pacemaker? And that even if he is 111 rated horse, that it doesnt mean he runs to 111 every time he steps on a racecourse. And that running behind a 106 and 108 rated horses means that his rating should be dropped. These are fundamentals.

I think a little knowledge is a dangerous thing, and while you have every right to be skeptical of the ratings, not knowing that is 1lb per length 24 hours ago, it is quite presumptious of you to believe you have found mistaken arithmetic in how the ratings are calculated.

Are you presuming that the raters just have got their sums wrong?
    Point taken about the 1lb per length, it was a lazy google :o, I've been a follower of GP1 racing for donkeys years, worrying about the handicap system doesn't occupy much of my time.

None of that takes away from the natural desire amongst the racing fraternity to build up a superstar like Frankels rating and by extension there's a bit of rating inflation passed down the line.

There have been plenty of chances to give in to the media hype in the past decade, especially when there is a huge battle for breeding domination. Horses like Giants Causeway, Rock of Gibraltar, and lately So You Think have gained huge press without ever posting an outstanding rating. Galileo also, Camelot this year. Horses like Peintre Celebre, Hellissio, Harbinger have got huge ratings without the hype. Rating inflation can happen over a few years - Im beginning to wonder if Kauto Star and Denman are both overrated for the last few years - but the reason why Frankel has the rating he has done is for his domination on the track. And giving horses conservatively rated in the mid 120s hammerings. His average winning distance in group 1s is 5l.

There's a whole load of variables to be considered. Homecoming Queen appeared to run to a mark of 136 ( OR 120 ) in the 1,000 Guineas if you took Maybe 116 and 10l back in third into account, but she didn't run to 136, she ran to 116 based on Starscope 98 beaten 9L in second. Starscope has only run to a hundred since so she's a solid enough base to rate what looked to be a really difficult race to judge.

What makes Frankel so impressive is that he does it almost every time and it looks like there's more in the locker. He appears to be getting better all the time, which is amazing considering how good he was at two and three. He's the best miler I've seen since Zilzal. The problem in rating him is that there's a lack of miler competition and a lack of an outstanding 3yo miler to test him. The biggest compliment to him is that everything is running scared of him. He probably is a 140+ horse but unless a top 10f horse like Cirrus Des Aigles rated in the high 120s takes him on at 10f before the end of the year there's little hope of confirming it. In years gone by you'd expect championship class horses like Frankel and Camelot to meet in a race like the Irish Champion Stakes.

Peintre Celebre, Hellissio, and Harbinger were all lightly campaigned horses, which is a huge help when you're trying to win championship races. Aidan O' Brien normally run his top 3 yo horses into the ground by the time the Arc comes along, so if Camelot turns up in it this year, he'll have a much better chance than any of his previous three year old runners.

I'm not much of a one for the Jumpers anymore but Kauto Star was the real deal, the best NH horse I've seen, better than Desert Orchid and Carvills Hill. Denman never impressed me too much.

tryfix wrote: »
    There's a whole load of variables to be considered. Homecoming Queen appeared to run to a mark of 136 ( OR 120 ) in the 1,000 Guineas if you took Maybe 116 and 10l back in third into account, but she didn't run to 136, she ran to 116 based on Starscope 98 beaten 9L in second. Starscope has only run to a hundred since so she's a solid enough base to rate what looked to be a really difficult race to judge.

What makes Frankel so impressive is that he does it almost every time and it looks like there's more in the locker. He appears to be getting better all the time, which is amazing considering how good he was at two and three. He's the best miler I've seen since Zilzal. The problem in rating him is that there's a lack of miler competition and a lack of an outstanding 3yo miler to test him. The biggest compliment to him is that everything is running scared of him. He probably is a 140+ horse but unless a top 10f horse like Cirrus Des Aigles rated in the high 120s takes him on at 10f before the end of the year there's little hope of confirming it. In years gone by you'd expect championship class horses like Frankel and Camelot to meet in a race like the Irish Champion Stakes.

Peintre Celebre, Hellissio, and Harbinger were all lightly campaigned horses, which is a huge help when you're trying to win championship races. Aidan O' Brien normally run his top 3 yo horses into the ground by the time the Arc comes along, so if Camelot turns up in it this year, he'll have a much better chance than any of his previous three year old runners.

I'm not much of a one for the Jumpers anymore but Kauto Star was the real deal, the best NH horse I've seen, better than Desert Orchid and Carvills Hill. Denman never impressed me too much.

So, you are saying that if they rated it through Maybe, they would have been wrong, and eventhough they didnt, you are saying that the system is wrong? They didnt use Maybe as the form didnt stack up, if Maybe ran to 110, then other horses would have been jacked up.

Timeform dont use the anchor method to rate races, its all in the links that have been sent. Its one of the reasons why there is a larger divergence between Official ratings and Timeform these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,247 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

It will actually be good to see Excelebration in a couple of G1s Mile races this year and presumably next year* without the presence of Frankel, will definitely give us something to support whether above average champion 135 or a megastar 140 is closer to Frankels mark.

I think the 'he must run in the Arc / Breeders Cup' gang are fairly lol btw, but the 'he is potentially overrated' gang do at least have a well put together and plausible case.

* I assume they would have campaigned him different if they intended retiring him soon

So, you are saying that if they rated it through Maybe, they would have been wrong, and eventhough they didnt, you are saying that the system is wrong? They didnt use Maybe as the form didnt stack up, if Maybe ran to 110, then other horses would have been jacked up.

Timeform dont use the anchor method to rate races, its all in the links that have been sent. Its one of the reasons why there is a larger divergence between Official ratings and Timeform these days.
    I won't argue with Timeform, they've their own complex methodology but it's not infallible.

What I was showing with Homecoming Queen is that using the runner who has run reasonably close to their proper level of performance is a very good indicator of how to rate the horse. The 120 OR for Homecomings Queens win looks too high and based on Starscopes subsequent form, the 116 based on what Homecoming Queen actually achieved looks more realistic. Timeform have Homecoming Queen on 120, with their slightly higher ratings the OR looks like it should be closer to the 116 mark that the reliable anchor gave.

To get Frankel to 140, the BHA had to bump up Indomito by 4lb. Subsequent events in Germany have not shown any reason to think that Indomito was 4lb too low in the ratings.

Bumping up horses in a race where the winner was 11l clear of the field seems to be a suspect way of going about rating horses. Side Glance raised 1lb, Indomito raised 4lb, Windsor Palace raised 2lb.

Side glance 113 raised to 114 beaten by 23lb gives Frankel 136 or 137.

Indomito 108 raised to 112 beaten by 25lb gives Frankel 133 or 137.

Windsor Palace 104 raised to 106 beaten by 31lb gives Frankel 135 or 137.

Frankel was given a rating of 140 after the race.

In the Lockinge Frankel gave Excelebration 126 dropped to 125 a 10lb beating giving Frankel a rating of 136 or 135. Dubawi Gold 117 was beaten 18lb in the race giving Frankel a rating of 135.

Frankel was give an OR of 138 after that race.

He's running to 135 on the button if you strip out the dodgy jump in ratings for Windsor Palace and Indomito.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Overthelast

This debate has been worthwhile. I consider myself fortunate enough to see kauto star, denman and sea the stars in the flesh. That's why I travelled to the uk last week to see HIM in the flesh. I have never seen a beast like HIM. Best of luck with the ratings debate. While I respect your analysis, I'm not sure we'll arrive at a consensus anytime soon. Why don't we just agree that we are witnessing one of the best thoroughbred horses to grace the turf- long may he stay fit and healthy so we can enjoy him do what he loves best, and that is to race.

I won't argue with Timeform, they've their own complex methodology but it's not infallible.

What I was showing with Homecoming Queen is that using the runner who has run reasonably close to their proper level of performance is a very good indicator of how to rate the horse. The 120 OR for Homecomings Queens win looks too high and based on Starscopes subsequent form, the 116 based on what Homecoming Queen actually achieved looks more realistic. Timeform have Homecoming Queen on 120, with their slightly higher ratings the OR looks like it should be closer to the 116 mark that the reliable anchor gave.

To get Frankel to 140, the BHA had to bump up Indomito by 4lb. Subsequent events in Germany have not shown any reason to think that Indomito was 4lb too low in the ratings.

Bumping up horses in a race where the winner was 11l clear of the field seems to be a suspect way of going about rating horses. Side Glance raised 1lb, Indomito raised 4lb, Windsor Palace raised 2lb.

Side glance 113 raised to 114 beaten by 23lb gives Frankel 134 or 135.

Indomito 108 raised to 112 beaten by 25lb gives Frankel 133 or 137.

Windsor Palace 104 raised to 106 beaten by 31lb gives Frankel 135 or 137.

Frankel was given a rating of 140 after the race.

In the Lockinge Frankel gave Excelebration 126 dropped to 125 a 10lb beating giving Frankel a rating of 136 or 135. Dubawi Gold 117 was beaten 18lb in the race giving Frankel a rating of 135.

Frankel was give an OR of 138 after that race.

He's running to 135 on the button if you strip out the dodgy jump in ratings for Windsor Palace and Indomito.

You do know that if the race was run 30 mins later, Frankel would have won by 12l and not 11l. Just something to throw into the mix. As I said, email the BHA or Timeform. I'm sure they will supply you with the clarification you need.

I'll sign off the debate over Frankels rating with a look at Sea The Stars best race. Just to give a bit of perspective on the ratings. Sea The Stars OR 133 going into the Irish Champion Stakes.

Beat Fame and Glory 126 raised to 129 by 4.375lb giving him a rating of 130/131 or 133/134.

Beat Master Craftsman 127 by 8.75lb giving him a rating of 135/6.

Beat Grand Ducal 107 raised to 110 24.5lb giving him a rating of 131/2 or 134/135.

Beat Lord Admiral 108 by 31.5lb giving him a rating of 139/140.

Sea The Stars was given an OR rating of 136 for the race, Frankel shades it but it'd be a close enough race between them.

I'll sign off the debate over Frankels rating with a look at Sea The Stars best race. Just to give a bit of perspective on the ratings. Sea The Stars OR 133 going into the Irish Champion Stakes.

Beat Fame and Glory 126 raised to 129 by 4.375lb giving him a rating of 130/131 or 133/134.

Beat Master Craftsman 127 by 8.75lb giving him a rating of 135/6.

Beat Grand Ducal 107 raised to 110 24.5lb giving him a rating of 131/2 or 134/135.

Beat Lord Admiral 108 by 31.5lb giving him a rating of 139/140.

Sea The Stars was given an OR rating of 136 for the race, Frankel shades it but it'd be a close enough race between them.

Would Hawk Wings Lockinge demolition job be rated higher than Frankels Queen Anne win, I seem to remember he had Domedriver (who had just won the breeders cup mile the year before) about 15 lenghts back in 3rd??

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Would Hawk Wings Lockinge demolition job be rated higher than Frankels Queen Anne win, I seem to remember he had Domedriver (who had just won the breeders cup mile the year before) about 15 lenghts back in 3rd??
    Well he theoretically ran to at least 144/145 but didn't get that rating for winning it, he had an end of season rating OR of 134 ( wikipedia ) although the racing post says OR 137.

In The Lockinge.

He beat 2nd Where Or When 123 by 11l or 22lb giving a rating of 145.

He beat 3rd Olden Times 116 by 19l or 38lb giving a rating of 144.

He beat 4th Domedriver 119 by 20l or 40lb giving a rating of 159.

He beat 5th Reel Buddy 114 by 20 3/4l or 41 1/2lb giving a rating of 146.

Mad stuff, but if you take the two horses Olden times and Reel Buddy they ran to form with each other. Maybe he ran a one off freak race of 144, but because he couldn't repeat the task it couldn't be taken seriously.

He was a strange horse, take his Derby second to High Chaparral, a very underrated race IMO.

High Chaparral was given an OR of 126 for beating him 2l.

Third placed Moon Ballad 115 was beaten 14l or 21lb giving a possible 136 rating for High Chaparral and 133 for Hawkwing.

Fourth placed Jelani 106 was beaten 15l or 22 1/2lb giving a possible rating of 129/130 for High Chaparral and 126/127 for Hawkwing.

If High Chaparral hadn't been in the Derby, Hawkwing as a Champion 2yo who had gone on to win the Derby by 12l and the Lockinge by 11l would look like the horse he was, one capable of monster performances on his going days.

You do know that if the race was run 30 mins later, Frankel would have won by 12l and not 11l. Just something to throw into the mix. As I said, email the BHA or Timeform. I'm sure they will supply you with the clarification you need.
    I'm prepared to admit that Frankels times could be boosting his rating.

So for the hell of it I looked at his finishing time in the Queen Anne and compared it to the time that the 3 yo Most Improved carrying the same weight posted an hour later in the St James Palace stakes. 1m 40.14 for the three year old and 1.37.85 for Frankel gives Frankel a superiority of 2.29 seconds.

At 6 lengths per second that gives Frankel a superiority of 13.74 lengths x 2lb per length = 27.5 lb superiority over Most Improved.

Add on another 2l or 4lb for the argument that the ground was drying by a length per half hour. That's 31.5llb minus the 10 lb WFA allowance that 3yos get in the second half of June. that gives Frankel 21.5lb superiority over the now 116 rated Most improved.

That makes his Queen Anne performance equal to somewhere between 133.5 and 137.5, but to get him to 137.5 you have to give him 4lb based on the belief that the ground was drying by 2l per hour.

For the record the 6 races that day went like this, 1st Frankel fast by 1.15, 2nd slow by 0.9, 3rd Most Improved slow by 0.14, 4th slow by 0.64, 5th slow by 9.5, 6th slow by 1.61.

There's no indication from those times that the track was speeding up by 2l or 4lb an hour. So it looks like Frankel most likely did actually run close to his usual 135 in the Queen Anne.

• Registered Users Posts: 937 ✭✭✭swimming in a sea

disappointing to see the York international now seems to be cutting up, Nathaniel looks like giving it a miss,

I wonder will Imperial Monarch go for it instead of St Nick who has never looked like a 10f horse, a spanking by Frankel won't do his reputation any good.

Excelebration gets a chance to boost Frankel's form on Sunday in the Prix Jacques Le Marois, it looks a good race but I'd say he'll take it if he's bounced back from his last flop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

I'd love to see Astrology race over 10 in a group 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

On the Frankel comments that he would beat Sea The Stars over a mile, both ran the Guineas on GF and Sea The Stars had a quicker time.

Sure you can talk all you want about how the races were won but Frankel looked flat out and Sea The Star was looking better the further he went.

hucklebuck wrote: »
    On the Frankel comments that he would beat Sea The Stars over a mile, both ran the Guineas on GF and Sea The Stars had a quicker time. [/B}

Sure you can talk all you want about how the races were won but Frankel looked flat out and Sea The Star was looking better the further he went.

Didnt know that at all :eek: Very interesting indeed!

On the Frankel comments that he would beat Sea The Stars over a mile, both ran the Guineas on GF and Sea The Stars had a quicker time.

:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Whatever argument can be made for Sea the Stars been better than Frankel its not this, in fact your only hurting your argument.
    Going by official times Sea the Stars was 1.52 seconds faster than Frankel, no argument from me. But take a look and the race and you'll see about first 5 or 6 home all beat Frankels time.
    So going by that he would not have been even placed in the 2009 Guineas,

Oh no I don't agree, Frankel is the finest miler at least since Brigadier Gerard, possibly Hawk Wing on his day would have been a match for him over 8F but not Sea the Stars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Whatever argument can be made for Sea the Stars been better than Frankel its not this, in fact your only hurting your argument.
    Going by official times Sea the Stars was 1.52 seconds faster than Frankel, no argument from me. But take a look and the race and you'll see about first 5 or 6 home all beat Frankels time.
    So going by that he would not have been even placed in the 2009 Guineas,

Oh no I don't agree, Frankel is the finest miler at least since Brigadier Gerard, possibly Hawk Wing on his day would have been a match for him over 8F but not Sea the Stars.

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Sounds like you are getting caught up in the hype of the "brilliant Guineas win by Frankel", it wasn't that special, Dubawi Gold and Native Khan were closing on him in the last furlong. Why is it so unbelievable that he wouldn't have placed if he was slower than three other horses?

Sea The Stars was a class apart, he fought for his head for 2f, he was not fully extended and he was quicker at the same age, same ground and same track. God knows what he would have done if he was let run free by Kinane.

I guess a direct comparison isn't enough to convince you though.

If you think Hawk Wing is possibly a match for Frankel I rest my case.:cool:

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Sounds like you are getting caught up in the hype of the "brilliant Guineas win by Frankel", it wasn't that special, Dubawi Gold and Native Khan were closing on him in the last furlong. Why is it so unbelievable that he wouldn't have placed if he was slower than three other horses?

Sea The Stars was a class apart, he fought for his head for 2f, he was not fully extended and he was quicker at the same age, same ground and same track. God knows what he would have done if he was let run free by Kinane.

I guess a direct comparison isn't enough to convince you though.

If you think Hawk Wing is possibly a match for Frankel I rest my case.:cool:

No I didn't get carried away with the Guineas, no where did I suggest I did. But to use times as a basis to compare horses is just plain foolish.

Why don't you use times so, and start to wager on them, tell us all how much profit you make.:D:D