Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The most damage an animal has caused to your car etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭Northern Monkey

Budawanny wrote: »
    I got keyed by a dunk Badger in letterfrack

Long time lurker first time poster?

• Registered Users Posts: 338 ✭✭Budawanny

Long time lurker first time poster?

Ya apols, the picture popped into my head.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

mate of mine hit a Labrador, and bent the chassis among other things....

• Registered Users Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Wisesmurf

just spent the last hour searching for damage after I hit a badger on the m50 today.

Appears to be just a broken splitter and guts everywhere. Sounded way worse at the time. Had a spare splitter so stuck it on and cleaned the underside of the car.

Lets hope noting crops up down the line as a result...

Poor little guy.

• Registered Users Posts: 338 ✭✭Budawanny

Hit a reindeer in Sweden, not as exciting or dangerous as that
    Lads run in with a moose. More like smashing your bumper off a sheep I suppose.
    The sami put it out of its misery thankfully

• Registered Users Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Came very close to smashing into skippy on a Australian highway, brakes just about stopped in time. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,476 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

The bastards are always in pairs. You miss the first one and his mate gets you.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

We hit a dog years ago in an escort. He went straight under the os rear, but he rolled and was fine according to the owner. Just missing a bit of hair :pac:.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,412 ✭✭✭Markcheese

My brother in law,(Aussie) used to drive some woeful bangers.when my sister and him moved over to oz he decided to get something decent cos my sister would be driving it too .... Two weeks later he was going to sydney early for a job interview...a herd / flock/ group/ mob of suicide skippys wrote off his car, he didn't get to the interview either....

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users Posts: 73,364 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I cracked the windscreen on my brava on the motorway at max speed
    Low flying bird :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Must have been a good ten years ago now I was belting across the Dublin Mountains in the E36 Coupe I had at the time. Was doing close to seventy coming around a long bend when this huge bloody stag appears out of nowhere and just stops dead in the middle of the road. Was about 6am in July and fully bright so no excuses of being stunned by the headlights. Tried my best to slow down and swerved to the far side of the road. Hit the stag at speed and somehow just managed to clip and spin him so he went tumbling. Got a dent in the bonnet and wing and a broken headlight for my trouble. I reckon if I was going slower he wouldn't have flipped like that and done lots of damage if that makes sense. No idea how much it cost to repair but it wasn't big money.

• Registered Users Posts: 707 ✭✭✭ants09

Knew a manager of a BMW garage and he took a loan of a 7 Series

While driving home he hit a rabbit and decided to stop and being kind hearted as he was he put the rabbit into his back seat to bring to a vet.

Long story short rabbit wakes up and goes a wee bit mental in the car and the guy panics and rights off the car in a accident :eek:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 67,059 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1011

My bumper got fairly damaged, albeit oddly enough not cosmetically (its some hangers that are buggered, one of the headlights moves easily now for instance) by hitting a hare or very, very large rabbit.

Got out of the car to see how badly injured it was and finish it off with the fire extinguisher if it was in bits but alive - the bugger had hopped off.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,410 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

christ..looking at the above stories I got off lightly :)
    Final cost was reduced to €150 thank god..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Hit a crow doing a bit over the speed limit (more than twice the limit:o) in me dad's brand new mondeo when I was a youngfella.

Hit the grill, then the bonnet, windscreen and hit the roof that hard it bent the pillars.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

I took a wee dog out of it in my Mothers Sciecento years ago. That was fine. Dog had a broken leg and the reg plate was cracked..... until the next day that is.

Sitting in KFC drive through with the missus at the time when I said to her "Jaysus theres some almight stink, isn't there" Then the car overheated.

Basically dog hit car. Radiator pushed into electric fan. Fan tried to turn next day and was blocked by the radiator.... so it kept trying to turn until it burnt itself out.... then taking the car out with it.

On a brighter note, I got my civic back the next day so I was finished with the mothers fecking FIAT anyway :D

• Registered Users Posts: 714 ✭✭✭ValerieR

Not about the financial aspect of the story, more the funny one ...

6am in the morning, on a country road, about 20 years ago. The sun is shining, the roads are dry and I am flying down the road with my little Renault 5.
    2 ducks in the hedge got scared and flew off. Only they were still too low when I passed by, one hit the car, on the very top of the windscreen with an awful bang.
    In the mirror, it looked like I had hit a pillow : feathers everywhere !
    I stopped to inspect the potential damage. Luckily enough, nothing to deplore, only lots of feathers glued on my aerial.
    So, here I was, in a job-interview suit, at 6 in the morning, finding myself plucking my car aerial ! ... :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Chavways

Were were in France on holidays a few years back.There was 5 of us in my fathers old Mercedes estate.We were driving along and a duck came out from the bushes and hit us.We didn't stop to check for it(probably should have) and just kept driving.

For the next 10 minutes people were flashing us and beeping at us.We pulled over and the duck was welded to the front grille of the car.It wasn't a nice sight.There was chunks of the grille and radiator broken off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,476 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Free food is the upside of these incidents.

• Registered Users Posts: 541 ✭✭✭David09

Hit a horse with an old escort xr3i a couple of years ago. Bonnet, windscreen driver's door, mirror, wing and driver's side window were damaged.

The owner never paid up and I had to foot the bill.

David09 wrote: »
    Hit a horse with an old escort xr3i a couple of years ago. Bonnet, windscreen driver's door, mirror, wing and driver's side window were damaged.

The owner never paid up and I had to foot the bill.

I'd say you got a few gains out of that :pac:.

• Registered Users Posts: 541 ✭✭✭David09

Hal1 wrote: »
    I'd say you got a few gains out of that :pac:.
    confused.gifconfused.gif

David09 wrote: »
    confused.gifconfused.gif

Horse power (sorry it's late):o.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

I've never had worse than bird**** on my car but a bumblebee(or something similar) hit me on the knee and I doing 90 mph on a bike, hurt like hell.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

our dog stepped on a broken bottle that one of our lovely neighbours had thrown over the wall, resulted in him severing a vein and a 1 am dash to ucd from near wicklow town, back seat of the car was covered in blood, got most of the blood out with a scrubbing brush and salty water but theres still a stain near the door on the passenger side

• Registered Users Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

my lovely ladyfriend once deployed both airbags(the ones in the car) which i had only 'borrowed' for a mini road trip while a former housemate was on a long weekend away.i ended up dropping a few hundred to get em fixed.silly cow.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,782 ✭✭✭P.C.

Not my car, but last year an elephant overturned a car in a game park in South Africa, with the occupants inside. The occupants ended up in hospital, but made it out with not too much damage. Car was a write off. Elephant walked away.

Moral of the story...
    Elephants have right of way.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

About 20+ years ago the father parked his Ford Granada at the head of a bog road in the middle of Connemara to go fishing. Returned a number of hours later to find wild and hungry cattle surrounding the car stripping it off all it's chrome and chewing away. Somehow they had pulled all the chrome strips from around the windows, door panels, grill, aerial and parts of the bumpers off. The plastic/chrome was beyond salvation and cattle roaming common land so no ready means of identifying their owner.

Not sure what the cost of repairs would have been but car was sold as was to an undertaker and converted into a hearse. The undertaker was only interested in body and engine of the car so not overly concerned about all the missing/damaged chrome.

• Registered Users Posts: 188 ✭✭Admldj

a couple of years a ago was bringing home a Labrador puppy for the daughters birthday the pup was a bit nervous so i had her in the front of the jeep with me on the foot well, driving for about 25 mins no problem then 5 mins from home she decides to have a dose of the the trots it was absolutely EVERYWHERE, what made it worse was she started jumping around and spreading it as she went, took about a week to get the last of it out of the jeep all i can say is thank god for leather

• Registered Users Posts: 3,473 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

2 stroke wrote: »
    I've never had worse than a bird **** on my car

Me too. Broke up with her the next day.