Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x

13-07-2012, 12:08   #406
le petit braquet

Collected from Lenny this morning. Big thanks to him for coordinating the Dublin end and a a massive thanks to Cork for processing the order. Given the hassle of organising this, it seems like it would be a good idea in future to reward the poor unfortunate with a free (or subsidiised) item paid for by the rest of the beneficiiaries?
(2) thanks from:
13-07-2012, 13:00   #407
mossym

Quote:
Originally Posted by MediaMan View Post
Hi mossym, I specified 99cm (39in) chest size. From looking at the sheet of what people got, it seems that M size was selected for approx 95-100cm chest. Note this is a 1/4 zip model. Measure up and PM me if interested. Cheers.
cheers mate, i'm a between a 40 and 41@ chest so reckon it might be a bit too small. cheers anyway, pity, missed the start of this and would ave gone for one if i had seen it
13-07-2012, 13:13   #408
Cork24

The bibs seem good make I have used them but the padding looks well
13-07-2012, 13:15   #409
Scuba_Scoper

Thanks to Lenny for coordinating Dublin collections and big props to Cork24 for taking the initiative in the first place.

The kit is deadly, really looking forward to giving it a showing in the Wicklow hills over the weekend.

Cheers,
S
Thanks from:
13-07-2012, 14:05   #410
lennymc

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cork24 View Post
The bibs seem good make I have used them but the padding looks well
yeah -they look nice and comfy. Ill be trying them out tomorrow.
13-07-2012, 19:20   #411
Clippers

Mine arrived in the post today, thanks a million Cork for organising all this.
13-07-2012, 20:19   #412
AstraMonti

Send a message via MSN to AstraMonti
First of all big thanks to Cork24 for organizing this (it must have been a real pain), to Lenny who got the stuff to his office and to le petit braquet for delivering them to my door, thank you all!

To my surprise this small sized jersey is the largest I 've seen, it's probably larger than all my medium. I have no idea how these guys there measure their stuff up. I could even say it feels sliiiiiiightly buggier on the back side.

The shorts though are super tight on the legs and quite wide on the waist, i ll try them tomorrow and let you know what i think in more detail. The padding is enormous in width and very thick, more than I need for sure.

Now about the quality, I have 3 generations of Boards gear, the original Carvalho one, the newest Carvalho and this one from Velotec. I would rate the velotec as the worst of them. Not that it's particularly bad quality, but the colors are not that vivid and there are already loose threads (not sure if that's what it's called).

Here is a photo (which is fecked in regards of actual colors but you can see a difference) left the velotec right the carvahlo. The carvahlo is properly pink while velotec is just a faded shade of pink. Going by this chart I would say one is Cupid and the other Rasberry sherbet

If I was doing an order next time (which I won't ) I would pick Carvalho again or try something else.

Again, thanks a lot Cork for the effort.

Last edited by AstraMonti; 13-07-2012 at 20:21.
15-07-2012, 19:01   #413
Masala

Cork...as a matter of interest - who were the Supplier in this case???? Are they Italian??? Just trying to get a handle on sizes!!

Glad I went XL in Bib Shorts as I would say L would be a squeeze!!

For the next order...I think more Logos etc would be a good idea! That will not be your problem Cork anyway!! I like the 2-panel style and the 2 shades of black!!

Went out today for my 1st spin since ROK with the new shorts and thought the padding was good on them. The only problem is that the 'ar*e' sticks out a bit when off the bike but thats me being vain!!

Well done to you Cork for a highly efficient job.....pat yourself on the back!!!

I agree with earlier poster .... the next man to do this should be subsidised for free gear for himself OR herself brother ( in my Life of Brian accent). Hope you not out of pocket in the whole process!!
15-07-2012, 19:08   #414
awec

Think the design is set in stone as it has to be approved by the boards.ie company?

Anyway, next gear order I'm in!
15-07-2012, 22:45   #415
Cork24

The company is from Ireland,

Their supplier is from Poland, their padding is from Italy so I was told,
16-07-2012, 08:56   #416
daragh_

Just on Astra's point on the colour difference.

Cork24 went to a lot of trouble to ensure the match was as accurate as possible. If there is a variation it's down to the supplier.

Looks good in any case.
16-07-2012, 09:58   #417
AstraMonti

Send a message via MSN to AstraMonti
Quote:
Originally Posted by daragh_ View Post
Cork24 went to a lot of trouble to ensure the match was as accurate as possible. If there is a variation it's down to the supplier.
Oh yeah, of course I am not blaming Cork (sorry if it sounded like that!). I was just making a point for future orders.
Thanks from:
16-07-2012, 18:42   #418
dvntie

Quote:
Originally Posted by Masala View Post
Cork...as a matter of interest - who were the Supplier in this case???? Are they Italian??? Just trying to get a handle on sizes!!

Glad I went XL in Bib Shorts as I would say L would be a squeeze!!

For the next order...I think more Logos etc would be a good idea! That will not be your problem Cork anyway!! I like the 2-panel style and the 2 shades of black!!

Went out today for my 1st spin since ROK with the new shorts and thought the padding was good on them. The only problem is that the 'ar*e' sticks out a bit when off the bike but thats me being vain!!

Well done to you Cork for a highly efficient job.....pat yourself on the back!!!

I agree with earlier poster .... the next man to do this should be subsidised for free gear for himself OR herself brother ( in my Life of Brian accent). Hope you not out of pocket in the whole process!!

Agree 100% on the next organiser to have the cost of their gear covered for the hassle of organising it
That's the way it's been done for years when ordering similar custom rowing gear.
Once again I want to thank cork for all the effort
18-07-2012, 12:52   #419
AIR-AUSSIE

Picked up my gear yesterday from Lenny. Bibshorts fit perfectly, not sure of the massive chamois but I haven't cycled in them yet. jersey is fine too although the material isn't as nice as the shorts.

Cheers Cork and Lenny for sorting it.
Thanks from:
03-08-2012, 18:32   #420
MediaMan

This is a bit after the fact, but picked up my jersey a few weeks ago from Lenny and took it out for a spin last weekend. (Had planned to sell it on but eventually decided to keep it).

In case anyone is ordering again - and it looks like someone has been press-ganged into it volunteered , here's another reference point for sizing from the current supplier. I am a 99cm chest and the Medium S/S fits me fine. Probably a couple of cm to spare, which I think lines up well with the sizing chart info.

Other comments - the jersey design looks good and has been admired already, however the material up close looks a bit cheap, and the zip is very flimsy and inclined to stick. Overall still very happy with it though.

Many thanks again to Cork for organizing the order and to Lenny for acting as the Dublin depo...

Quick Reply
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text

Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion