Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Laptop stolen - Software has screenshots of thief & exact location.Guards do nothing

• 23-02-2012 7:54pm
    Registered Users Posts: 929 ✭✭✭TheCardHolder

Hey guys,

Looking for advice on behalf of my friend.

His laptop was stolen last week. He has prey software installed on it so as soon as the robber went onto it two nights ago, prey took screen shots and google maps screenshots of exactly where he is. My friend went into the guards two nights ago with this exact information with all this on a plate for them and they do absouletely nothing, the thief is still sitting there using the laptop and googling things like 'How to format a laptop' and 'DoneDeal.ie'.

He is getting very frustrated as the guards know exactly where the thief lives and has several screenshots of him. Surely this is as good as CCTV footage?

Any advice for what his next step should be should the guards continue to do nothing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

donuts come first

he should go around and get it himself. you sought the help of the gardai and they have failed.

• Registered Users Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Call around to where the laptop is and take it back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

Can he call into the station and ask for a superintendent or one of the higher-ups? Maybe they can explain why nothing is being done.

Tell him to keep onto the guards about it - squeaky hinge gets the oil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Have him inform the gardai that as they are doing nothing he is going over there with his brothers, uncles, cousins and friends to 'speak to them' at x time. Probably be a squad car there within half an hour.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

Tell your friend I'll do a strip for him later if he lets me keep the laptop

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Set off the atomic clock inside the laptop and low everyone to bits?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Post the details here, nothing could possibly go wrong.

buy a porno mag

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

biko wrote: »
    Set off the atomic clock inside the laptop and low everyone to bits?

Atomic clock?! At least it will go off exactly when it's supposed to!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 899 ✭✭✭djk1000

Go to the Garda station, refuse to leave without talking to someone above the rank of sergeant. Demand action or you'll take it to Joe Duffy, local TD, newspapers and Garda Ombudsman.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Does he have proof of ownership? A receipt? Records of the serial number?

Not much can be done if he can't prove he actually owns the machine.

Also,

(Skip to ~3:30 to when the real story starts)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭Tim the Enchanter

There was a similar thread some time ago. Cant find it but i think the thief was caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

This is what's going to happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

• Registered Users Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Post the pics!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

Wait until he uses it for a **** and blackmail him with the screenshots

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Buy few boxes of beer for your friends, then ask them to give you a hand to make a visit to that prick.

Sorted!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭downwithpeace

Have all the proof that your friend owns the laptop then go to the Garda station and if they refuse to do anything then inform them that the pictures and details of the thief will be posted online and sent to the local newspapers with detailed information on the lack of Garda help.

• Registered Users Posts: 969 ✭✭✭murrayp4

Wait till he goes onto facebook

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,956 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Get a few people together and go round there and get it back

• Registered Users Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Ring up the Garda station and say that "A few friends and I are going to swing by the house where the laptop is currently located and intend on reclaiming it."

There's nothing inherently "threatening" about that that will get you in to trouble and you'll prompt action from them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Get Furio on the job. He'll get it back

• Registered Users Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

Go to location where the laptop is, smash the windows then casually walk to the top of the street, wait for the thief to call the gards. When they call to the address, walk up to them and ask them to retrieve your "friends" stolen laptop, that is of course, if you dont have the balls to get it yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 929 ✭✭✭TheCardHolder

Seachmall wrote: »
    Does he have proof of ownership? A receipt? Records of the serial number?

Not much can be done if he can't prove he actually owns the machine.

Also,

(Skip to ~3:30 to when the real story starts)

He has absolutely everything and it is 100% his machine, otherwise he wouldn't have screenshots of everything the thief's doing!

His one concern with posting the photos is that the person will get spooked and ditch the laptop somewhere and never get it back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

go into the garda station and tell them you're not leaving until they do something about this

Be prepared for a very long sit in

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Go around to his house, punch yourself in the face a few times, then ring 999 and tell the Guards you've been mugged and you chased after the guy to wear he lives.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Neglect of duty IMO. He could complain here:
    http://www.gsoc.ie/

But that obviously doesn't solve the laptop problem.

IMO get some mates together and call around to get it yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 482 ✭✭Jim_Kiy

Call around show the thief your evidence..tell him you are going to cops with it unless you get the laptop back.
    Cops prob cant act on this sort of 'evidence'..took years to get CCTV accepted.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

He has absolutely everything and it is 100% his machine, otherwise he wouldn't have screenshots of everything the thief's doing!

His one concern with posting the photos is that the person will get spooked and ditch the laptop somewhere and never get it back.

Tell him to get in touch with a solicitor to advise him.

The Gardaí should absolutely be following this up if he can prove it's his machine and a solicitor will know the best way to proceed if they're failing to do anything.