Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 10,361 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Absoultely gutted for Colm O'Neill.

Kerry Cork rivalry aside, he is a fantastic footballer, and no-one deserves a run of bad luck like he's got.

Could be his career over.

We have a similar situation with David Moran in Kerry after 2 CL injuries inside a year, and I hope against hope that he doesn't get another.

Hope i'm wrong and he recovers, but the effort you have to put in to rehab an ACL injury is torturous, not to mention 3 of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Hidalgo wrote: »
    With the way Clare line out with Kelly at centre forward, Cronin was between a rock and a hard place.
    Kelly has pretty much license to roam from side to side and come deep if needs be. If Cronin followed him, that leaves a big hole in the centre and you run the risk of your full back line exposed.

That said, as an outsider I think Cronin is very effective @11 and that's where I'd have him

Typically when the center-forward roams like that you need the center-back to hold his position and make sure one of your midfielders is sitting deep with half an eye on their center-forward. Basically, it takes just a little organisation to sort these things out.

I agree also regarding Cronin, he is center-forward all day long.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,293 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

With the way Clare line out with Kelly at centre forward, Cronin was between a rock and a hard place.
    Kelly has pretty much license to roam from side to side and come deep if needs be. If Cronin followed him, that leaves a big hole in the centre and you run the risk of your full back line exposed.

That said, as an outsider I think Cronin is very effective @11 and that's where I'd have him

Pretty sure no one in here will disagree with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Thinkstoomuch

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Absoultely gutted for Colm O'Neill.

Kerry Cork rivalry aside, he is a fantastic footballer, and no-one deserves a run of bad luck like he's got.

Could be his career over.

We have a similar situation with David Moran in Kerry after 2 CL injuries inside a year, and I hope against hope that he doesn't get another.

Hope i'm wrong and he recovers, but the effort you have to put in to rehab an ACL injury is torturous, not to mention 3 of them.
    Well said.Rivalry aside Kerry are the one county in fairness to ye that have produced the finest forwards to ever grace the game and are sporting enough to recoginse O Neil as being a Superb Forward and Kerry people in General would prefer to see O Neill in the game rather than out as they appreciate that not only is he a loss to Ballyclough,Cork but a huge loss to the Game in general.A lot of Kerry players i have no doubt will offer their support to Colm and be gutted for him.
    I wish ye the best of luck with David Moran.I hope he comes back,he definetely has the talent to become a top midfielder.Jack O Connor held him in the highest reagards.

I think in relation to being between a rock and a hard place a good centre back will always know when to hold or when to follow hes man.Cronin had never been a 6 and has no understandings of the role and lacks the pace to play that position.Time and time again he dropped the ball,or caught between two forwards he did not know who he was meant to mark.Dropping the ball is not some thing Cronin normally does but it was clear he had no confidence in the position.
    Pairc Rinn is a tight enough ptich in comparison to other ptiches so it would made more sense to follow Kelly as the 2 half backs would have been able to cover the open space,and also with such a tight ptich kelly roaming out the field meant he was well able to score points from distance.He was in scoring range.
    He needed to be marked,4 points from play,not to mention he had a load of wides.He got on way too much ball.
    The problem as I said before the game was Cronin lacks pace.For one of Kellys last scores it could be seen clearly Cronin was yards behind kelly,he was so far off he even gave up chasing him.This is not me having a go at Cronin.I am a big fan .My issue was he should never been at 6.A man that was close to an All star was made look poor and after 20 minutes it was clear as day he was in trouble and the half back line as a unit suffered.Mcloughlin would have been ideal in the half back line with Joyce at 6.Mcloughlin has pace and has expierence in the half back line.
    Yes Cronin should be at Centre forward as Cork are weak there.But even if he was at midfield it would still allow Cronin to be at he's best.
    Cronin was also in trouble against Waterford.Prenergast got 3 points of him.

As I had feared, cruciate gone for Colm. I seriously doubt that we will see him in a Cork jersey again, I completely believe that he will have the mental strength to come back from it, but because of the reoccurance rate, it would have to be seriously looked at whether he'll be back again. Gutted for him
    I agree with all that.He definetly would have the belief and resilence to come back and youth is on he's side.The fact he has been through rehab twice he knows what to expect.He has always been a strong character,U21 Captain and even last year he was the leader in the forwards,really stood up when needed.He could be seen in many games where he was encouraging and organising those around him.He always seems to have a positive outook.
    He would also have an excellent support base,the Cork Physio helped him greatly the last time,they coincided he's physio sessions with the team training times,to keep him in the same routine and also that he was in a group of players and management that he would have support from.
    Counihan was very good to him as he gave him the job as water carrier on match days.It kept him in touch with everything.
    He would have all that in he's favour.
    But like you said it would have to be seriously considered about him playing again.The risks to reoccurance with the overall health of he's knees would have to be considered.Thats a decision he will have to make himself based on the medical advise.
    He's health is the most important thing above all and getting back to full fitness in the knee.
    At the end of the day as important as Football is there are more important things.
    He owes Cork nothing,from minor to U21 to senior he has graced the Cork Jersey on many big days for Cork with he's sublime talent.
    Even as a hurler in 07 for the 21s he scored as a good a goal as you would see for Cork against Galway in the Semi final.
    Such a talented guy he is, whatever sport he took up he would always be a star.
    Whatever road he chooses,I wish him nothing but the best and hope thats all he"s bad luck gone if he is back in a red Jersey again.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,044 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Gutted for Colm.

I hope he comes back, but this is huge blow. A player with huge potential too to become one of the all time great. A gifted footballer.

• Registered Users Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Connorzee

Huge blow, even bigger loss to his club Ballyclough. Here's hoping he makes a full recovery.

Eoin Cadogan is meant to very doubtful for the Kerry Game ,he could be out for up to 3 weeks.They fear it could be hes ankle.It gave him problems before.Some bad run of injuries Cork are having at the moment.

The Cork Senior Hurling team to play Galway on Sunday at 2.30 is:
    1. Anthony Nash Kanturk
    2. Shane O'Neill Bishospstown
    3. Brian Murphy Bride Rovers
    4. Conor O'Sullivan Sarsfields
    5. Christopher Joyce Na Piarsaigh
    6. Pa Cronin Bishopstown
    7. Willam Egan Kilbrin
    8. Lorchan Mcloughlin Kanturk
    9. Daniel Kearney Sarsfields
    10. Cian McCarthy Sarsfields
    11. Paudie O'Sullivan Cloyne
    12. Seamus Harnedy St Itas
    13. Stephen Moylan Douglas
    14. Peter O Brien Kildorrery
    15. Patrick Horgan Glen Rovers
    Subs
      Darren McCarthy Ballymartle
      Cathal Naughton Newtownshandrum
    Kilian Murphy Erins Own
      Mark Ellis Milstreet
    Stephen White Ballygarvan
      Michael Walsh Kildorrery
    Tom Kenny Grenagh
      Conor Lehane Midleton
    Luke O Farell Midleton

• Registered Users Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭zetecescort

hopefully JBM is issuing dummy teams now. Canning will have a field day against Cronin

The Cork Senior Football team to play Kerry on Sunday is
    1. Ken O Halloran  Bishopstown
    2. Michael Shields St Finbarrs
    3. Eoin O Mahony Macroom
    4. Jamie O Sullivan Bishopstown
    5. Paudie Kissane Clyda Rovers
    6. Noel O Leary Cil Na Matra
    7. Tom Clancy Fermoy
    8. Graham Canty Bantry Blues
    9. Aidan Walsh Kanturk
    10. Fintan Goold Macroom
    11.Mark Collins Castlehaven
    12. Andrew O Sullivan Castletownbere
    13. Daniel Goulding Eire Og
    14. Barry O Driscoll Nemo Rangers
    15. Paul Kerrigan Nemo Rangers

Subs
    Andrew O Donoghue Agahda
    John Mcloughlin Kanturk
    Conor O'Driscoll Illen Rover's
    Jame's Fitzpatrick Carbery Ranger's
    Alan O Connor St Colums
    Brian Shanahan Carbery Ranger's
    Liam Shorten Ballingeary
    Pearse O Neill Agahda
    David Gould Macroom
    Odhran Mulrooney Douglas
    Denis Crowley Bishopstown

On a week when we lost Colm to a cruciate injury its brillant to see David Gould on the subs and back in a Cork jersey after he suffered the same injury.Touch wood he will stay injury free.A talented forward and he was on the panel before he got injured.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Hopefully O Mahony does better than in recent games. starting to look a bit light up front due to injuries.

travelling more in hope than confidence imo after the week we've had with injuries. will be interesting to see if we use the defensive system again or keep Kerry guessing until the summer

Hopefully O Mahony does better than in recent games. starting to look a bit light up front due to injuries.
    travelling more in hope than confidence imo after the week we've had with injuries. will be interesting to see if we use the defensive system again or keep Kerry guessing until the summer
    Yeah he was at fault for goals against Kildare and Down.
    We have slim options in the backs also.Its not just the injuries but its compounded by the fact that the replacements like Cahalane,O Rourke ,Hurley,Mac Eoin, and even Wall are all tied up with the U21s.
    Limerick are next up wed night,and if the U21s win that game then two weeks later its a Munster Final possibly against a very very strong tipp side.
    The All Ireland Semi finals and Finals should Cork progress are on the 20th of April and the first week in May.
    The Munster champions play the Ulster Champions in a semifinal.Tyrone and Amagh both who caused Cork problems in the minors in 2010 were both beaten last night but Cavan who are going for 3 ulster titles in a row are still left.Who ever prevails out of Ulster will be a tough game.It is hard to see with these possible fixtures down the line,any of the U21 panel being released unless their beaten.
    With the injuries mounting up also if Cork progress to the Semi final stages or to the final of the League it would test the panel.
    Kerry is the most important game, Cork got to beat them down in Kerry and lay down a marker for the Championship.They should play the defensive style,it needs to be tested against the top teams.Okay Kerry will get a taste of the system but everyone knew Donegal and Dublins Style but it was still hard to break them down.Kerry should a be must win game,whatever happens at home to Mayo in the final game is far less important in the overall schemes of things.And the defensive style is the best option so i hope they continue with it.
    Provided no more injuries prevail Cork still have a lot of firepower in the full forward line.Barry O Driscoll has always been a goal threat at underage so now is he's chance in the absence of O Neill to step up .

• Registered Users Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭lukin

As a Corkman I am gutted that for such an important game as this we are missing O Neill, Cadogan, Sheehan and Donnacha.
    The carrot is huge (relegate our bitterest rivals and qualify for the semis). Just The Kingdom's luck that we would be so under-strength. They have to be favourites because of that. You'd never know though, maybe our lads will rise to the occasion.

• Registered Users Posts: 36 Randy Watson

As much as I love all things Cork GAA, Colm O'Neills injury has led me to lose interest for the time being. I'm sure I will regain my appetite for hurling and footabll in the future but I can't shake off the disappointment I feel for the guy.

Absolutely gutted for the guy

• Registered Users Posts: 17,770 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Think that line-up is actually pretty weak. Strange to find the first time I've been a bit bullish about a Kerry bet this year is against Cork.

lukin wrote: »
    As a Corkman I am gutted that for such an important game as this we are missing O Neill, Cadogan, Sheehan and Donnacha.
    The carrot is huge (relegate our bitterest rivals and qualify for the semis). Just The Kingdom's luck that we would be so under-strength. They have to be favourites because of that. You'd never know though, maybe our lads will rise to the occasion.
    Just as Cork are missing a load of Key players for the game, most of Kerry's key men will be back on sunday.

keane2097 wrote: »
    Think that line-up is actually pretty weak. Strange to find the first time I've been a bit bullish about a Kerry bet this year is against Cork.

Weak! They are missing Sheehan, Cadogan, Kelly, O'Connor and O'Neill.

Of course they are weak, that's the guts of the forward line and an important defender gone.

Kerry will win this by about 5 points.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭ciarriaithuaidh

Weak! They are missing Sheehan, Cadogan, Kelly, O'Connor and O'Neill.

Of course they are weak, that's the guts of the forward line and an important defender gone.

Kerry will win this by about 5 points.

Of course, the 15 named will not be the 15 that take the field as we know with Counihan, but it will be probably the weakest team Cork have named so far in the league. Some players on the bench who are nowhere near this level.

That being said Cork still have enough to win this given the shape Kerry are in right now.

Of course, the 15 named will not be the 15 that take the field as we know with Counihan, but it will be probably the weakest team Cork have named so far in the league. Some players on the bench who are nowhere near this level.

That being said Cork still have enough to win this given the shape Kerry are in right now.

Counihan is normally good for at least two changes before the game. This time I can only see one and that's O'Mahony dropping to the bench.
    He's simply not up to it.

keane2097 wrote: »
    At Full back their is a huge weak spot.Other than that as long as Cork dont have any more injuries and they play the same system they have been playing Kerry could find it hard to break Cork down.Andrew o Sullivan is not an out and out forward but playing as a roaming defender it wont expose him as much and play more to hes strengths than weaknesses.
    Barry O Driscoll will have a key role.If he can deliver on hes talent it will be a big boost to our chances.
    From Corks side of things I hope the bad weather keeps up.I think with the heavy rain it will make the new defensive system harder to break down and a low scoring game would suit us considering all the players were missing.

Counihan is normally good for at least two changes before the game. This time I can only see one and that's O'Mahony dropping to the bench.
    He's simply not up to it.
    I agree but the options are limited with Cahalane tied up with the U21s.If they move Canty back then there short a holding Midfielder which is a main part of Corks Style.Maybee Conor O Driscoll could slot in at Corner back with Shields or Jamie Sullivan moving to full back.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,770 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

The main rule I want introduced at congress is that managers posting dummy teams be murdered.

The Cork bench is weak.Im Suprised Donal O Hodnett wasnt added to the panel.A big strong guy that could play in the half forward line or Midfield and always played well against Kerry in the U21s.He would have impressed for CIT against Cork this year.
    Having said that with all the injuries not many a team could field a full forward line with the likes of Goulding,Kerrigan,O Driscoll and still be missing so many key forwards.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭ciarriaithuaidh

The Cork bench is weak.Im Suprised Donal O Hodnett wasnt added to the panel.A big strong guy that could play in the half forward line or Midfield and always played well against Kerry in the U21s.He would have impressed for CIT against Cork this year.
    Having said that with all the injuries not many a team could field a full forward line with the likes of Goulding,Kerrigan,O Driscoll and still be missing so many key forwards.

Thought he was rubbish in that game...kicked 3/4 terrible wides/dropped short from inside 25 yards in the first half and wasn't much better in 2nd half. He is better than that though. Has been excellent for 21s last 2 years. Was injured for Sigerson so might be just on the comeback trail.

I would not say he was man of the match material or anything in that game but certainly he wasnt rubbish either.He did have a few wides but he got on a good amount of ball and caused Shields problems.He impressed enough to warrant a chance when now so many key forwards are out.
    He deserves a chance above others.When I see Denis crowley for example on the bench you would think Hodnett would have been called up.Crowley had a good season for Bishopstown and scored a a few goals against Nemo rangers but he must be around 27 or 28,if he hasnt been up to intercounty standard before you would wonder what he can do now.He wasnt exactly prominent at underage as say Hodnett,Gould or O Driscoll for example.
    Who knows if Hodnett can make it but based on he's underage form he deserves a chance and a few games.Theres been worse Cork players who seem to get too many chances with Cork.

• Registered Users Posts: 148 ✭✭varberg

Cork v Kerry in the football will possibly decide who goes down to division two for next year. Should be a good battle. Cork in the hurling have to win their next game or two in order to make the semis, galway and kilkenny will be good tests for them to see where they are this year.

Kerry have named a strong team for tommorrow.Their full forward line of Donaghy and Darren and Declan O Sullivan is their strongest line.Their bench is very strong with Cooper,Galvin and Sheehan as subs compared to what Cork have if any of the forwards get injured.