Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

New Garda Uniform

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭foxtrot-oscar

I sincerly hope you're taking the michael, saw some of it in the heraldAM, hi-vis poncho for the win lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

No he isn't sadly. Loads of time and money was wasted in coming up with the following........:rolleyes:

dacmodeland%20alice1.jpg

Jude%20Cunningham.jpg

_44618025_uniform-winners416_met_.jpg

PR stunt and complete waste of money. I say bring back the firing squad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭JonAnderton

One of the best bits of clothing we're issued is the fieldsuit and fleece... we got that after an officer, who was also a keen hiker, bought one privatly and recommended it to the job... after months of it going through the 'evaluation' process it finally got passed and became issued kit to specialist units.

But... They just stuck a Met badge on the front of the fleece and left it as was.. There's no epaulettes or radio loops so officially can't be worn as an outer garment???

metman wrote: »
    No he isn't sadly. Loads of time and money was wasted in coming up with the following........:rolleyes:

dacmodeland%20alice1.jpg

Jude%20Cunningham.jpg

_44618025_uniform-winners416_met_.jpg

PR stunt and complete waste of money. I say bring back the firing squad.
    Sigh

But... They just stuck a Met badge on the front of the fleece and left it as was.. There's no epaulettes or radio loops so officially can't be worn as an outer garment???

Speaking of fleeces, have you noticed the ex-county mounty transfers bringing their fleeces to the Met? Its one of the better pieces of kit issued in the counties.

I though all uk forces had fleeces, dont tell my tv has decieved me!! You still wearing the oul NATO's are you?

Yeah. The national police uniform, whilst frowned upon by the SMT's is becoming a standard bit of kit.. Fleeces have been issued to the bike squads but need to passed down the food chain. There's guy on my team from North Hants wears his as an inbetween shirt sleeves and the heavier karrimors

ps. If you get your hands on a spare Essex one, send it on...;)

Usually the bikes, firearms and dogs are the only ones to get the fieldsuits or fleeces...i'm affraid our county cousins are ahead of us there...

Yeah. The national police uniform, whilst frowned upon by the SMT's is becoming a standard bit of kit.. Fleeces have been issued to the bike squads but need to passed down the food chain. There's guy on my team from North Hants wears his as an inbetween shirt sleeves and the heavier karrimors

ps. If you get your hands on a spare Essex one, send it on...;)

Usually the bikes, firearms and dogs are the only ones to get the fieldsuits or fleeces...i'm affraid our county cousins are ahead of us there...

My Guvnor on borough was ok with the ex-county lads wearing them on nights....but he was a transferee himself!

Let me know what size you are I'll see what I can do :p

My Guvnor on borough was ok with the ex-county lads wearing them on nights....but he was a transferee himself!

Let me know what size you are I'll see what I can do :p

You taking orders!.... Good man... :D

F728 and uniform request winging it's way to you..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 mightbepossible

Got measured up myself the last day, fleece jacket not as good as the last supplier, thought the patrol jacket is way too long and only one T-Shirt will be given out.. So im told..Anyway expect delays in recieving the new gear, most likely wont be around come june/july, which will most likely be supplied around november at the earliest.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭FGR

All that matters it he new Patrol Jacket and Hi Vis, IMO. Seeing as we're being issued new stab vest (or just covers?) too; I'm looking forward to how things turn out.

Mate you need to get a hobby :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0126/drugs_av.html?2481288,null,230

Strange to see the vest being worn over the jacket.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

eroo wrote: »

Cant see the fe*kin thing even tough my realplayer works!

Please describe in great detail :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

kind of pointless wearing the stab vest over the hi-viz.
    Pity I'm in a district where we have to wear the hi-viz the whole time :(. Doesn't look quite as "cool" as the stab over the fleece :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Jay112

Yea its more common around cork! looked wierd at first but its not a bad auld look now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

eroo wrote: »

Thats how its supposed to be worn, its not designed to be restricted by clothing worn over it just management being management as usual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

the job should introduce equipment vests that go over stab vests, like in england

• Registered Users Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭pa990

the job should introduce equipment vests that go over stab vests, like in england

I dont have room in my locker for anymore gear.

It will take me ages to get dressed and undressed if i get anymore stuff

small_plastic_locker.gif
    Seems big enough to me. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 900 ✭✭✭Dr_MaSoN

pvt.joker wrote: »
    kind of pointless wearing the stab vest over the hi-viz.
    Pity I'm in a district where we have to wear the hi-viz the whole time :(. Doesn't look quite as "cool" as the stab over the fleece :D

hate that :D

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭westcoastboy

Does anyone mind that the new uniform is been made in the Far-east (openly admitted by the company) when so many of our own country people have been laid off.
    Secondly i felt the quality of the uniform was of a very poor quality, the (microthin) overcoat worn over the fleece, what s the story there...
    Lastly does anyone know can we wear our "Old" short fleece , when we eventually get issued with this new fleece..

The hi viz mountain bike jacket is pretty sexy. Navy at bottom and under sleeves, fits tight to the torso, and the equipment belt seems to go well with it. Even better then the Traffic Corps jacket.

1214949346413_1.jpg

You can just about make it out there.

71682.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

the mountain bike uniforms are great. I would have no complaints about being issued with it for the beat but alas management dont agree with me :(

donvito99 wrote: »
    71682.jpg

Is that badge on a wicker basket....if so is this standard on garda mountain bikes? :p

grocers-bicycle.jpg
    I can't seem to make out the badge on this one..... :D

Is that badge on a wicker basket....if so is this standard on garda mountain bikes? :p

grocers-bicycle.jpg
    I can't seem to make out the badge on this one..... :D
    Granvile fe-fe-fe-fetch your cloth :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

Is this a member in new mountain bike gear :D
    528bike_sm.jpg

funny_bike.jpg

A probationer wearing all his equipment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 renfer

Does anyone mind that the new uniform is been made in the Far-east (openly admitted by the company) when so many of our own country people have been laid off.
    Secondly i felt the quality of the uniform was of a very poor quality, the (microthin) overcoat worn over the fleece, what s the story there...
    Lastly does anyone know can we wear our "Old" short fleece , when we eventually get issued with this new fleece..

Dunno bout the old fleece but I was in stores in Santry recently and supposedly we are all to get the jumper that the clerical staff have. dunno what duties they'll be for tho. sometime in the autumn she said. but sure ye know yerdelf, it'll not happen in 09.

• Registered Users Posts: 40 moose52c

Getting high-viz stab vest covers would make great sense, think it would look good and far better patrolling than pulling out your high viz pouch!

Although sense would be hard got from the powers that be!