Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all,
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.
Thanks all.

Can I claim unfair dismissal?

• 20-05-2014 2:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭

I'm going to be rather brief with this, but I'm wondering do I qualify for unfair dismissal?

I worked as a canteen assistant for a major company from October 2012- April 4th 2014.
    To sum it up quickly, I had a set role in work which would be doing deliveries and serving customers. In the unit, I have done all jobs, from coffee stations, kitchen porter, kitchen assistant, floor staff and wash up staff and I was the only staff member who could do this range of jobs.
    However, One day I had notified my manager that I would be attending college in September (My big mistake) and he even congratulated me.
    A few days pass, I had been absent (explained) for one day and returned to work the next day, to be told by a chef (not my manger or supervisor) that my role had changed and that I would now be in the pot wash.