Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Circumcision Story

• Registered Users Posts: 6 777hunter777

Hello its me again,sorry for the spelling mistakes(iwas writing in a hurry and english isnt even my mother langauge).
    I would like to ask a question if you dont mind,has anyone here had full phimosis and by full I mean you can't ever see your glans even when flaccid and got circumcised?
    If yes,after how long did the sensitivity become normal beacuse thats the only thing scaring me...hypersensitivty:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 73 ✭✭westskipper

Hello its me again,sorry for the spelling mistakes(iwas writing in a hurry and english isnt even my mother langauge).
    I would like to ask a question if you dont mind,has anyone here had full phimosis and by full I mean you can't ever see your glans even when flaccid and got circumcised?
    If yes,after how long did the sensitivity become normal beacuse thats the only thing scaring me...hypersensitivty:eek:

hune
    ter,#

dont worry about a thing, you havea problem that affects about 1 in 5 men in this country, even though nobody speaks publicly about it. you are not a freak, you are a victim of lousy anatomy. Circumcision will sort out your problem,and leave you inba much better place. dont worry about hypersensitivity, that will adjust itself within a few weeks/months after the op. dont listent to the bull**** that is spun on the internet by anti circ activists, the chop will be highly benrficial to you, it will leave you able to lead a normal life for once,you deserve that much.

normal healthy life is possible after circumcision, dont chicken out of it, otherwise you will never realize how much you have been missing !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

Thats me;). Dont worry about hypersensitivity, as westskipper said. For about a week it is very sensitive but you adjust what you are doing to minimise the discomfort (not pain as such). After that the sensitivity reduces each day so in a month it will barely register with you that you were circumsised. In 6 months you will wonder what all the fuss was about. I should have had it done years ago but glad its done now

• Registered Users Posts: 6 777hunter777

Thanks alot man,that was the only thing worring me,actually now im even more then ever looking foward to doing this operation beacuse this thing is always letting me down,incredibly now i wish no girl would try to have sex with me...until october :D:D:D

AS i said before my biggest problem was to tell my parents if someone has this problem like i did just tell them this way(I made this up after alot of brain storming):Find a time when your mum or dad is going to leave the house so you wount have to face them later,,,,and say'I have a problem here"and point at it and then tell them that you want to visit a doctor.Then when you are at your GP go with your mother but enter alone... then tell her to come in later and let him explain.As easy as that :):)

• Registered Users Posts: 33,137 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Went to the doctor yesterday morning. Told her I was pretty sure I needed a circumcision and she asked a few questions. She said she could give me an examination if I wanted but from my answers it sounded like I definitely needed a circumcision so I said not to bother with the examination. Told her I was 99% sure anyway before I went in and the main point of the visit was to just get the ball rolling in terms of what my options were and what happens next.

I mentioned a clinic which I've seen mentioned here a few times, but she'd never heard of it and couldn't find out anything about the doctor's qualifications, so she said she'd give them a call herself and gimme a call later this week. Either way, she'll give me a referral to see a urologist anyway.

Bit of a load off my mind anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Penn wrote: »
    Went to the doctor yesterday morning. Told her I was pretty sure I needed a circumcision and she asked a few questions. She said she could give me an examination if I wanted but from my answers it sounded like I definitely needed a circumcision so I said not to bother with the examination. Told her I was 99% sure anyway before I went in and the main point of the visit was to just get the ball rolling in terms of what my options were and what happens next.

I mentioned a clinic which I've seen mentioned here a few times, but she'd never heard of it and couldn't find out anything about the doctor's qualifications, so she said she'd give them a call herself and gimme a call later this week. Either way, she'll give me a referral to see a urologist anyway.

Bit of a load off my mind anyway.

although you're probably dreading the op, I can assure you the hardest part is already over.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,137 ✭✭✭✭Penn

tbh wrote: »
    although you're probably dreading the op, I can assure you the hardest part is already over.

The op and a bleeding penis I can handle. Telling my folks... That's going to be painful :D

I know they'll be fine with it (turns out my nephew (4) actually has to have a circumcision too. When I heard that I was about to tell them), and I know there'll be no problem at all. Just actually telling them and trying to start that conversation as I live at home so don't think I'll be able to hide it.... That'll be the worst of it for me. Edit: Actually, the thing I'm dreading most is my mother telling other people. No doubt she'll tell my aunts.

Cheers though

Penn wrote: »
    The op and a bleeding penis I can handle. Telling my folks... That's going to be painful :D

I know they'll be fine with it (turns out my nephew (4) actually has to have a circumcision too. When I heard that I was about to tell them), and I know there'll be no problem at all. Just actually telling them and trying to start that conversation as I live at home so don't think I'll be able to hide it.... That'll be the worst of it for me. Edit: Actually, the thing I'm dreading most is my mother telling other people. No doubt she'll tell my aunts.

Cheers though
    As long as they dont want to see the scars:eek::eek::D

You'll be grand though. Its just uncomfortable, not painful in most cases and you will be near normal in as little as a week.

Best of luck with it anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Long time lurker on this thread and it's time to give some back. You'll forgive that I'm posting anonymously but I'm active in other areas of boards.ie, and I would prefer to keep this side of my life private. Rather than put everything into one long post, I'll split it up into three so that it's easier to digest.

1. The Background.
    I'm currently 34 and for as long as I can remember my foreskin was tight. I never properly understood it wasn't supposed to be this tight until the last 5 or so years. By 'tight' I mean that I couldn't easily fully retract the foreskin over the glans of the penis. With patience and preparation I could just about get there, but it was definitely a squeeze. I didn't start masturbating until 15, and was a virgin until around 19.

For the next 10 years I wasn't usually regularly active, but I never really noticed anything odd when I did have sex, and I think that may be because I always wore a condom which protected me from what was to come. That came when I started dating my now wife who went on the pill and we stopped using condoms. My foreskin was now fully exposed to more direct friction and what I found was on occasion if I wasn't careful, this friction would force it back more quickly than it was able for and I would experience a split/tear and some light bleeding. This would usually sting a bit and then I'd choose to abstain for a couple of days until I healed up. Looking back this probably happened a few times over the years but it never really interfered with things. However over the last few years, this situation grew gradually worse.

I've since learned that the splitting/tearing would heal but in a way that tightens the foreskin and so I literally was finding myself in a situation with ever decreasing circles. I went to the GP and after examination he diagnosed me as having mild phimosis. I wasn't as bad as many on here, but I had enough of a problem that something needed to be done. He thought I might get away with a partial circumcision rather than a full one. He said he could put me in touch with a urologist or I could try stretching it out. Fearful of an operation, I tried the stretching.

It was around this time a couple of years back that I found this thread. I found a lot of good experience and advice, but I was committed to giving the stretching a try. This was a very slow and tedious process of literally grabbing the inside of my foreskin from both sides and easing it apart as frequently as possible. I used heat and lube when appropriate to aid elasticity and I played around with stainless steel rings that I tried to wear inside the forskin to help the stretching. This all worked to a certain degree. I found that I was 'back' to what was probably my 'best' in that I could again retract back with a lot of preparation and effort but it was a squeeze. I could never really improve beyond that. I was in the middle of wondering whether that would be sufficient for the rest of my life when last summer I tore the foreskin badly during sex. It took over a week before it healed and the best part of two weeks before I could return to 'normal' sexual activity. Over the next 5 months, the tearing would reoccur more easily and frequently. Each time it would take a fair amount of time to heal up. I abstained from all sexual activity for a month to allow it time to heal, and then from intercourse for another month while I went about trying to stretch it out again. It was towards the end of that month when I again tore the foreskin during stretching. At that point I gave up.

As I had mentioned, I had been following this thread and I really wanted to get things done as quickly as possible, so the GP route didn't really appeal as I thought it would take too long and be too expensive. I noted the experience of 'Westskipper' and decided to PM him and he gave me the low down on what I needed to know and I decided to get a circumcision.

Part 2: The Op, Recovery, and more

I PM'd Westskipper one weekend, got some replies within 48 hrs, contacted the private clinic the next day, and although I didn't hear anything back initially once I got a reply I was suddenly booked in for the next weekend. I had been advised that I would likely be able to return to work on the tuesday (bank holiday weekend) after the saturday op, but I got a doctors note in case I wasn't up to it.

Arriving into the clinic, the doc listened to me and agreed that a partial circumcision would likely be sufficient. I hadn't really been that nervous up until that point, probably because it was something I was ready for and wanted. I had thought that it would be a local anaesthetic and was a bit nervous about that, but on the day I was informed it would be a general. I hadn't anticipated that, and for the first time I became a bit nervous in case something went wrong. Obviously it all went fine and next thing I knew he was all done and I was bandaged up. I felt no pain and was surprised at how easy it was to walk around without discomfort. My wife had driven me and we drove back without issue. I was given anaestethic cream and some pain killers. I never used the cream and after about 36 hrs I didn't need the pain killers which were used just to ease the discomfort rather than pain. Coincidentally I came down with flu so I decided to stay off work for the week, but it wouldn't have been necessary if I didn't want.

Over the next few days, morning erections were quite uncomfortable and this began to 'grow' (no pun intended) as an issue the longer I went without sexual activity. About 7 days after the op I couldn't wait any longer and needed to masturbate. It was definitely the weirdest masturbation session I've ever experienced. Using some internet porn to speed up the process, I was only able to ever so slightly rub myself, half due to discomfort and half due to fear. Eventually this was enough to cause ejaculation and it was such a release! I really needed it. However in addition, the pressure at the point of ejaculation caused a sharp brief pain in the foreskin and I think it was cause I snapped one of the stitches. The foreskin actually felt better after this, and my recovery went quite well from this point on.

Cutting to the chase, I was told I should be right as rain after 6 to 8 weeks, but after 12 I was still 'tight'. My foreskin now sat lower than previous when flaccid and a little further back when erect but ultimately it still wouldnt retract fully without the same effort and patience as before. I emailed the doctor my concerns and he asked to see some photos as I live too far for a quick consultation. As weird as it was, I took pictures and emailed them to him. He agreed that the operation had not been successful, and recommended I come back asap for a 'modification'. I was frustrated but agreed to this.

This time it was a local anaesthetic and it was quite a weird experience to be awake while he performed this minor cosmetic surgery. It's hard to describe in text exactly what he did, but if anyone is interested I can try. 20 mins later I was out the door and didn't need any pain killers etc this time. Recovery was only supposed to take 10 days but again things did not seem to be right for me. Retraction of the foreskin was definitely now easier, but it was still a bit tighter than I thought it should be, and after about 3 weeks had passed, after a morning erection I woke to some stinging. I examined and could see the foreskin had again torn, but this time from hardly any significant activity. I was really frustrated and angry.

I was now 4 months and 2 ops after 'the end of my problems' and still seemingly no better off. I tried to remain calm and give it a few days as I was busy with work and personal stuff so I knew I could do nothing about it for now anyway. The same thing happened again 5 days later. I immediately contacted the doctor via email and let him know exactly how frustrated and unhappy I was and demanded that he outline exactly what we needed to do to resolve things once and for all from here. In fairness to him he agreed to do this but after a phone call he asked me to allow the foreskin to regenerate for up to another 4 weeks and if I still wasn't happy he would do whatever was necessary at that point. Reluctantly I agreed.

Miraculously, (hyperbole I know, but that's how it felt) that was the last set back I had. It's now about 6 weeks later and I've *touch wood* had no issues since. I intend posting a third time soon to outline how things are now in more detail and a few other bits and pieces. If anyone has any questions, I'll try to answer them there as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 tiger21

Hi guys, im having the snip next month. Just wondering how long it will be before i can do physical work and play sports? Looking forward to the operation so i can have it over and done with, just hope im not laid up for too long. Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭decdev

Hi all thanks for this great thread at the doctors today and going to be refered in due course cheers

I went for consultation to get the circ done, but doctor said there wasn't anything medically wrong with my foreskin so told me to try stretching, which i did & now can pull foreskin back pretty easy.

only problem now is sensitivity :( i havent been forced to get used to it by the removal of foreskin so struggling, tried leaving uncovered in boxers but no luck, was in agony last time a girl got hold of the glans uncovered!

got prescribed a cream by doctor for it, anyone have any luck with this?

were you lot at that level of sensitivity before the operation, thinking i might end up getting it done anyway if this fails as it seems the glans has been covered too much of my life & thats the only way it will adapt.

tiger21 wrote: »
    Hi guys, im having the snip next month. Just wondering how long it will be before i can do physical work and play sports? Looking forward to the operation so i can have it over and done with, just hope im not laid up for too long. Thanks
    About a week for physical work, all going well, and use plenty of protection and support around him. Sports take a bit longer depending on what sport really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭jantheman91

If anyone has ever had this done in Clane hospital do you know if you'll be knocked out or put under local?

Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,272 ✭✭✭Deedsie

Deedsie wrote: »
    Hope that helps. Look back a few pages, lots of questions answered

• Registered Users Posts: 14 dura01

Hi All
    I was circumcised over six months ago and suffered major infections after opp and could not resum normal life for about a month after op . I have still a major loss of sensation during bjs ans can feel a thing is this normal , and the scars still hurt when penis is erect , I said this to the urloigist on review and he recomended Instagel a local anaesthetic gel for masterbation ect , It gets very sore and tender for days after same, anyone any more advise ,
    I'm due to see uroligist again in a couple of weeks

I had my partial circ done on Thursday in the US. I did local anesthetic and didnt feel a thing, so I recomend that over full knockout. I took an ipod with me, but had a really hot nurse by my side so I was chatting to her all the time during the operation and just turned the music off ))) surprisingly they sent me back home without any painkillers and said that if hurts just take 600 advil. Its been 2 days and I haven't taken any pain killers and can walk just fine. I went to work the next day. Today I took my first shower and removed bandages. After I removed them I started to bleed a little bit, didn't do a very good job washing because without the bandage it was very sensitive (stitches are so sharp and skin and head are really sensitive) The only pain I experience is at night when I get uncontrollable erections. Surprisingly I get an erection every hour, so haven't been sleeping very well. So far so good. I will update in a couple of days.

P.S. I found that wrapping head in toilet paper helps with sensitivity. You will have to wear tights for this and not boxers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭MakeEmLaugh

A friend of mine recently learned that he has an unusually tight foreskin, and that a circumcision is required. He has never been able to ejaculate from sex before (though he can when masturbating). He is planning on having the circumcision, despite reservations about the discomfort and sensitivity. His doctor assures him that it will be worth it.

Has anyone here undergone a circumcision because they were not able to ejaculate from sex before, and if so, are they able to do it now? Is it a large improvement? Since my friend says he has never been able to climax from ordinary penetrative sex before (which is quite sad, in a way), the thought of being able to do that now seems too good to pass up on.

Any advice from those with personal experience of this is greatly appreciated.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 MunsterOlly

Felt like I had to write here.. 27 year old and went for op today in malahide .. Was a long term sufferer so bad skin had split all around foreskin... Anyway took the plunge today and all I can say is that the doc in this clinic is fantastic ... I chose not to be sedated as I had a long drive home after ... I had no pain what so ever even the needle to numb didn't hurt infact I watched the whole thing .i was buzzin after the op web I saw the results.. Now it's only day one but I will keep ye informed ... Don't know why I left it so long to get done ... If you are worried about the op don't be ..

• Registered Users Posts: 2 dubdrog

never posted on any forums before (hate typing) had this op done today between 4 and 5pm home about 2 hours absolute doddle (well so far) age 46, foreskin started getting too tight to retract about this time last year (don't know why) i thought it would free itself up but it didn't so i went to my gp late september, he sent letter to consultant in beaumont, i was seen within 6 to 8 weeks and received letter about 6 weeks ago confirming appointment for today, sorry i don't have the exact dates but i didn't know i would be posting this information up. anyway i had this done on the public health system under general anesthetic in st. josephs raheny which is part of beaumont, (lovely little hospital). personally i wasn't too bothered about having to expose myself so to speak(maybe its an age thing) but for those of you who are younger than me (which is probably the majority on here) don't put it on the long finger, don't be apprehensive its usually only 1 minute at the doctors, 1 minute at the consultants plus a 15 minute op and sure your knocked out for that! hope this helps anybody considering this option. p.s no point in waiting your just going to do it in the end so just do it and move on. GOOD LUCK!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Madelyn Mealy Guano

Alrite guys, I’m a young lad – 23 yo and I suffer from phimosis.

I’m unable to retract my foreskin and find it quite painful to try. This problem makes sex quite painful and thus has had a knock on effect on my ability to form relationships! I believed this was ‘my lot in life’ and used to get quite depressed about it. Tried researching on the internet but some of the websites seemed a bit dodgy and then I found this thread!

Have to say it’s a relief to know I’m not the only one and reading this thread has been really helpful and informative.:) Seriously considering getting it done asap!

I do have a few questions though :
    How long after consulation before you can operation?

How long after the operation roughly before you become ‘operational’ ie sex, masterbation ?

Also, does anyone know the total costs of the process ie GP visit, consultant fee and operation fee? I want to try get it done myself rather than on my insurance and have to deal awkwardly with my parents!

Also where did you guys get the procedure done? public/ private? heard of a clinic in malahide - is it worth looking into?

Cheers!!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,272 ✭✭✭Deedsie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I've saved up the cash to get this done, but I'm slightly concerned about sensation being lost. As it stands, I have problems - takes me over an hour to finish... Sometimes 2 hours. Great for the girl, but not for me. I fear that with circumcision, this could turn into a 24 marathon. I don't have phimosis or anything...

Thoughts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

dlofnep wrote: »
    I've saved up the cash to get this done, but I'm slightly concerned about sensation being lost. As it stands, I have problems - takes me over an hour to finish... Sometimes 2 hours. Great for the girl, but not for me. I fear that with circumcision, this could turn into a 24 marathon. I don't have phimosis or anything...

Thoughts?
    Why are you getting it done?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭RGDATA!

Thoughts?

thinly veiled brag? ;)
    just kidding, good luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

tbh wrote: »

Thoughts?
    Why are you getting it done?
    I'll send you a pm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭jantheman91

Got this done yesterday guys it's a doddle to be honest.

Only one question, i understand that health related questions are prohibited but i don't think this is one.

Has anyone that has got it done noticed blistering of the glans? Wasn't there before so i assume it's the local injection to numb the penis?

Any information is highly appreciated.

PS: Any questions pm me!

Thanks,

Jan.