Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"I believe in Kevpants" (S&SS Off Topic thread)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭GASMANN

No...im pretty sure not being a fat b*stard is what i need.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Barry.Oglesby

Anyway don't use straps. Sack up and do some grip work. Grip like a stevedore of old that's what you want.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,027 ✭✭✭COH

No...im pretty sure not being a fat b*stard is what i need.

Aw there there petal, you're not fat. Just really really really really ridiculously weak.

and fat :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

COH wrote: »
    Aw there there petal, you're not fat. Just really really really really ridiculously weak.

and fat :P

at least my back operates correctly :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Would yis not just do pulldowns? They're much easier.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,373 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Are you at the stage where grip is a limiting factor rubadub?
    Not really, I just found my old straps and was looking for a use for them, just wanted to see what its like doing pullups with them.

I have been doing isometric grip exercises on my bike recently, just trying to bend the handlebars & bar ends in different directions.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Barry.Oglesby

Instead of Strength Sports they shoulda just called this forum Grumpy Old Fitness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

I use straps for pullups when my hands are in bits.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

Just saw a picture of Benni Magnusson.
    160kg and in good shape. Veins visible on biceps.
    Hyoooge man

• Registered Users Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Da Za

I love Benni

Before anyone gets in there...............

Fixed

I'm a Benni

Just saw a picture of Benni Magnusson.
    160kg and in good shape. Veins visible on biceps.
    Hyoooge man

pic?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

http://i51.twitgoo.com/1zggsqg.jpg

Hope he makes an appearance in the Arnolds this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Anyone know how much a guest pass to Ironside is? IDFPAs in a couple weeks and I need to have at least one session on a monolift before it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Anyone know how much a guest pass to Ironside is? IDFPAs in a couple weeks and I need to have at least one session on a monolift before it...

I have no idea but I still have some of mine that you can have, shoulda just asked ya loon! :pac:

Deadly! I thought yours and his were all gone. I'll probably head out next week sometime so, thanks! :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Have I missed something here, the IDFPA are using a monolift now!?!!?!? :eek:

Deadly! I thought yours and his were all gone. I'll probably head out next week sometime so, thanks! :)

his are all gone, mine are not! :pac:

hmmm must check how many I actually have, I know theres deffo one for sure!

Hanley wrote: »
    Have I missed something here, the IDFPA are using a monolift now!?!!?!? :eek:

..... Maybe I'm wrong!
    his are all gone, mine are not! :pac:

hmmm must check how many I actually have, I know theres deffo one for sure!

Deadly, training next week so! :)

You are wrong...they dont...

All the better. I don't like monolifts....

• Registered Users Posts: 348 ✭✭Wood

single lift thing

When/how are you heading down?

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭daveyc21

Its free but the idfpa generally dont use a monolift. You are more than welcome to pop down to run through a comp prep as we have a few experienced guys down here.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

Edit: too slow

All the better. I don't like monolifts....

I heard they dont like you either

..... Maybe I'm wrong!

Deadly, training next week so! :)

Grand, I can train Monday Tuesday Friday after 5.30...

Wood wrote: »
    When/how are you heading down?

Think I'm driving down on the Saturday morning. You goin?
    daveyc21 wrote: »
    Its free but the idfpa generally dont use a monolift. You are more than welcome to pop down to run through a comp prep as we have a few experienced guys down here.

Wow, deadly, thanks a million man. Should be in next week!
    I heard they dont like you either

• Registered Users Posts: 348 ✭✭Wood

Think I'm driving down on the Saturday morning. You goin?

Yeah I'm gonna head down and deadlift. Gives me an excuse to wear some lycra in front of loads of men. Trying to lose some unnesscessary fat before hand so i don't have to compete with the 110kg lads. I might have a go in the equipped section too. Even though i don't have a suit. For the sake of the extra €15 i may as well have an extra few lifts

I take it you're squatting then?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭JayRoc

..... Maybe I'm wrong!

What was the last thing I said to you?
    "Read the rule book when you get a chance"!!!

Seriously, it's worth throwing your eye over just to make sure there are no surprises on the day, especially considering you've never actually attended a comp before even as a spectator.

Here, never say I don't do anything for you...

http://www.idfpa.plus.com/Referees2007.pdf

I read it straight after Hanley pointed out my mistake!

Wood wrote: »
    Yeah I'm gonna head down and deadlift. Gives me an excuse to wear some lycra in front of loads of men. Trying to lose some unnesscessary fat before hand so i don't have to compete with the 110kg lads. I might have a go in the equipped section too. Even though i don't have a suit. For the sake of the extra €15 i may as well have an extra few lifts

I take it you're squatting then?

Yeah, I'm gonna do all three lifts. Never competed before so it's mostly just to see how things go tbh; don't expect to shatter any records ;)