Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
31-03-2012, 00:45   #16
GarIT
Registered User
 
GarIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4,401
Quote:
Originally Posted by EarthlyPangaea View Post
No. A 2GHz dual-core CPU is not marketed as a 4GHz CPU....despite what you'll see on eBay and the likes.
I every even thought of that example, I was just thinking circuits from LC physics.
GarIT is online now  
Advertisement
31-03-2012, 13:55   #17
yoyo
Moderator
 
yoyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dublin 6
Posts: 9,696
Quote:
Originally Posted by EarthlyPangaea View Post
No. A 2GHz dual-core CPU is not marketed as a 4GHz CPU....despite what you'll see on eBay and the likes.
Do people really market CPUs like that on ebay . Looks like I have a 9.4Ghz CPU so .

Nick
yoyo is offline  
31-03-2012, 13:58   #18
PseudoFamous
Registered User
 
PseudoFamous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3,322
Send a message via Skype™ to PseudoFamous
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoyo View Post
Do people really market CPUs like that on ebay . Looks like I have a 9.4Ghz CPU so .

Nick
Sit the hell down, my 2500K is running at 17.2gHz >_>
PseudoFamous is offline  
31-03-2012, 14:00   #19
Torqay
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5,807
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoyo View Post
Do people really market CPUs like that on ebay . Looks like I have a 9.4Ghz CPU so .

Nick
Looks like that's not enough to calculate the speed properly... 4 x 2.4 = 9.6
Torqay is offline  
Thanks from:
31-03-2012, 14:01   #20
yoyo
Moderator
 
yoyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dublin 6
Posts: 9,696
Quote:
Originally Posted by Torqay View Post
Looks like that's not enough to calculate the speed properly... 4 x 2.4 = 9.6
Small typo I swear

Nick
yoyo is offline  
Advertisement
31-03-2012, 20:17   #21
theTinker
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 628
OP here.

As i continue to read about this stuff today. It seems that processors have obviously become alot more efficent and performance outputting. However, It seems software has expanded hugely to use the resources.

It also seems the last couple of years. Hardware has grown alot faster than software needs. So overall, things are faster, but just not by a huge amount that you'd notice.
Most applications fail to use multi processors effectively so the hardware resources are left to waste.

With the advent of Ivy bridge. It seems a big reduction in power consumption, which i believe will reduce heat output.
Q: Will this reduction in heat output on ivy bridge allow processors to once again start increasing thier speed in a way similar to before?

I think we're still a 4-5 years off the types of speeds I was hoping for.
(weblogic in a couple of seconds, a full build of a project in 20-30 seconds).

It also seems that my might i7 920 2.7ghz, is already fairly outdated. Althought not much ghz is labeled on other new models, it seems the new models already output better performance.
So perhaps its time for a upgrade again

For a build machine though, Im thinking faster quad core > slower 6 core unless software gets alot more multithreaded capable fast.
theTinker is offline  
31-03-2012, 20:23   #22
Karsini
Abort, Retry, Fail?
 
Karsini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dublin
Posts: 12,527
Send a message via Skype™ to Karsini
Quote:
Originally Posted by theTinker View Post
OP here.

As i continue to read about this stuff today. It seems that processors have obviously become alot more efficent and performance outputting. However, It seems software has expanded hugely to use the resources.

It also seems the last couple of years. Hardware has grown alot faster than software needs. So overall, things are faster, but just not by a huge amount that you'd notice.
This has always been the case. Windows XP would run like a rocket on current hardware, just as Windows 95 would if you put it on a Pentium III.

Quote:
Originally Posted by theTinker View Post
For a build machine though, Im thinking faster quad core > slower 6 core unless software gets alot more multithreaded capable fast.
This can be true. The performance differential between the Core i5 2500k and i7 2600k can be insignificant in some applications.
Karsini is offline  
31-03-2012, 21:13   #23
PseudoFamous
Registered User
 
PseudoFamous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3,322
Send a message via Skype™ to PseudoFamous
Quote:
Originally Posted by theTinker View Post
Q: Will this reduction in heat output on ivy bridge allow processors to once again start increasing thier speed in a way similar to before?
What do you mean? My 2500K is running at 4.3GHz at the minute, and I haven't even bothered pushing it to the limit yet. There's also at least one person running the same chip on 5GHz on the PC Building & Upgrading forum, without major overvolting, IIRC. Is that not high enough yet?
PseudoFamous is offline  
31-03-2012, 21:29   #24
theTinker
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 628
Quote:
Originally Posted by PseudoFamous View Post
What do you mean? My 2500K is running at 4.3GHz at the minute, and I haven't even bothered pushing it to the limit yet. There's also at least one person running the same chip on 5GHz on the PC Building & Upgrading forum, without major overvolting, IIRC. Is that not high enough yet?
I wasnt looking into overclocking. Its for new PCs in work that im thinking of, and we dont OC in work due. Everything usually has to be stock stuff and stable to the nth degree.

I was looking at the 3930k processor. Hopefully it comes down in price a little but it seems easily able to OC to 4.3ghz without any issues. Thats 6 cores of that.
Perhaps that processor will offer the speed im looking for.

my 2.7ghx i7 920 seems like a childs toy in comparison to it.

Cheers for all the info guys. Been a good saturday brush up on the new tech out.
theTinker is offline  
Advertisement
01-04-2012, 09:39   #25
Tea_Bag
Registered User
 
Tea_Bag's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Going nowhere, sloooowly
Posts: 4,898
why go splashing out on a very expensive six core when your code is being compiled on a single thread?

fwiw, If you want to send me some code that you've timed on your rig for how long it takes to compile, ill run it from an SSD on an i5 2500K @5Ghz and you can compare times to weigh up the pros and cons of an upgrade.
Tea_Bag is offline  
01-04-2012, 21:47   #26
theTinker
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 628
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tea_Bag View Post
why go splashing out on a very expensive six core when your code is being compiled on a single thread?

fwiw, If you want to send me some code that you've timed on your rig for how long it takes to compile, ill run it from an SSD on an i5 2500K @5Ghz and you can compare times to weigh up the pros and cons of an upgrade.
I couldnt imagine a quicker way for me to lose my job
But thank you for the good intentioned offer!

Im going to do some search now for information on compiling code in multiple threads. Im not sure if it can be done, but perhaps the javac can be tamed in some way!
theTinker is offline  
01-04-2012, 23:56   #27
Tea_Bag
Registered User
 
Tea_Bag's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Going nowhere, sloooowly
Posts: 4,898
ah well if you'd prefer some open source material, I'd be indifferent to what I'm actually compiling

if you find a good way to thread javac keep us updated.
Tea_Bag is offline  
02-04-2012, 01:21   #28
GreenWolfe
Registered User
 
GreenWolfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Bloated Museum of Treachery
Posts: 1,624
Quote:
Originally Posted by theTinker View Post
I couldnt imagine a quicker way for me to lose my job
But thank you for the good intentioned offer!

Im going to do some search now for information on compiling code in multiple threads. Im not sure if it can be done, but perhaps the javac can be tamed in some way!
I think the Java compiler in Eclipse is multithreaded, according to this anyways.

Try your current setup and time a specific projects time to compile. Get Eclipse, import that project into it and see if there's a difference.
GreenWolfe is offline  
Thanks from:
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet