Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

A Poem a day keeps the melancholy away

• Registered Users Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭barney4001

katemarch wrote: »
    @barney4001 - that is so sad :-(

It was written by jmac from belfast forum,yes very well done i thought

Tim Máirtin Jack

I left Bangor Erris though only a boy
    With only one shirt on me back
    Though leaving the land I was in good hands
    I was with Tim Máirtin Jack
    Now Tim was both older and bigger than me
    Hard and as fit as a goat
    Our mothers were cousins from below Pullathomas
    And our fathers fished out of one boat.
    Now Tim was the finest man ever I’d seen
    Tanned with hair gleaming black
    And mice could nest in the hair on his chest
    Without bothering Tim Máirtin Jack
    He loved the good things in life that were free
    Hunting and fishing and handball,
    And he’d go to the end of the earth for a friend
    And be there when your back's to the wall
    We got on the train in the cold driving rain
    And d’you know that I never looked back
    I left family behind but I didn’t mind
    When I was with Tim Máirtin Jack.
    The morning was dark when we looked for the start
    And the Foreman said looking at me
    "Now you’re a bit small to be here at all,
    But we’ll start you off makin the tea!"
    There was a lot of abuse and I found it hard to get used
    To the cursin’, the swearing’ and damnin’
    The grub was OK, we had meat every day
    But Lord how I longed for a salmon.
    We worked hard and long and we motored along,
    And our digs were a bit of a hovel,
    We always ate well but I can still smell,
    The steak Tim would fry on the shovel.
    They said Tim was wild but he was more like a child
    He was never the first to attack,
    But when the chips they were down at night in the 'Crown’
    Lord t'was great watching Tim Máirtin Jack.
    There were good men from Kerry from Cork and from Clare,
    And the Galway boys weren’t too slack,
    But I wish ye had been with me the night up in Whitney
    The night he flattened six blacks.
    It's some time ago since I came back to Mayo
    But there’s times when I'd love to be back
    Sharing the rounds with the lads in the 'Crown'
    And me arm around Tim Máirtin Jack.
    He married a Geordie and they’re still hale and hearty
    And in that house love never lacked,
    They have a girl and a lad who won’t call him "Dad"
    They just call him Tim Máirtin Jack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

https://soundcloud.com/brainpicker/the-disquieting-muses

THE DISQUIETING MUSES

Sylvia Plath

Mother, mother, what illbred aunt
    Or what disfigured and unsightly
    Cousin did you so unwisely keep
    Unasked to my christening, that she
    Sent these ladies in her stead
    With heads like darning-eggs to nod
    And nod and nod at foot and head
    And at the left side of my crib?

Mother, who made to order stories
    Of Mixie Blackshort the heroic bear,
    Mother, whose witches always, always,
    Got baked into gingerbread, I wonder
    Whether you saw them, whether you said
    Words to rid me of those three ladies
    Nodding by night around my bed,
    Mouthless, eyeless, with stitched bald head.

In the hurricane, when father’s twelve
    Study windows bellied in
    Like bubbles about to break, you fed
    My brother and me cookies and Ovaltine
    And helped the two of us to choir:
    “Thor is angry: boom boom boom!
    Thor is angry: we don’t care!”
    But those ladies broke the panes.

When on tiptoe the schoolgirls danced,
    Blinking flashlights like fireflies
    And singing the glowworm song, I could
    Not lift a foot in the twinkle-dress
    But, heavy-footed, stood aside
    In the shadow cast by my dismal-headed
    Godmothers, and you cried and cried:
    And the shadow stretched, the lights went out.

Mother, you sent me to piano lessons
    And praised my arabesques and trills
    Although each teacher found my touch
    Oddly wooden in spite of scales
    And the hours of practicing, my ear
    Tone-deaf and yes, unteachable.
    I learned, I learned, I learned elsewhere,
    From muses unhired by you, dear mother,

I woke one day to see you, mother,
    Floating above me in bluest air
    On a green balloon bright with a million
    Flowers and bluebirds that never were
    Never, never, found anywhere.
    But the little planet bobbed away
    Like a soap-bubble as you called: Come here!
    And I faced my traveling companions.

Day now, night now, at head, side, feet,
    They stand their vigil in gowns of stone,
    Faces blank as the day I was born,
    Their shadows long in the setting sun
    That never brightens or goes down.
    And this is the kingdom you bore me to,
    Mother, mother. But no frown of mine
    Will betray the company I keep.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Crikey. Cold chills.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,535 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

A smile to remember

Charles Bukowski

We had goldfish
    and they circled around and around
    in the bowl on the table near the heavy drapes
    covering the picture window and
    my mother, always smiling, wanting us all
    to be happy, told me, 'be happy Henry!'
    and she was right: it's better to be happy if you can

but my father continued to beat her
    and me several times a week while
    raging inside his 6-foot-two frame
    because he couldn't understand
    what was attacking him from within.

my mother, poor fish,
    wanting to be happy,
    beaten two or three times a week,
    telling me to be happy:

'Henry, smile!
    why don't you ever smile?'

and then she would smile,
    to show me how,
    and it was the saddest smile I ever saw.

one day the goldfish died,
    all five of them,
    they floated on the water,
    on their sides,
    their eyes still open,
    and when my father got home
    he threw them to the cat
    there on the kitchen floor
    and we watched
    as my mother smiled.

'It is better to walk alone in the right direction than follow the herd walking in the wrong direction.'

• Registered Users Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭marienbad

The Isle of Lost dreams

T[SIZE=-1]HERE[/SIZE] is an Isle beyond our ken,
    Haunted by Dreams of weary men.
    Gray Hopes enshadow it with wings
    Weary with burdens of old things:
    There the insatiate water-springs
    Rise with the tears of all who weep:
    And deep within it,—deep, oh, deep!—
    The furtive voice of Sorrow sings.
    There evermore,
    Till Time be o’er,
    Sad, oh, so sad! the Dreams of men
    Drift through the Isle beyond our ken.

William Sharp

• Registered Users Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

By Seamus Heaney
    Late August, given heavy rain and sun
    For a full week, the blackberries would ripen.
    At first, just one, a glossy purple clot
    Among others, red, green, hard as a knot.
    You ate that first one and its flesh was sweet
    Like thickened wine: summer's blood was in it
    Leaving stains upon the tongue and lust for
    Picking. Then red ones inked up and that hunger
    Sent us out with milk cans, pea tins, jam-pots
    Where briars scratched and wet grass bleached our boots.
    Round hayfields, cornfields and potato-drills
    We trekked and picked until the cans were full
    Until the tinkling bottom had been covered
    With green ones, and on top big dark blobs burned
    Like a plate of eyes. Our hands were peppered
    With thorn pricks, our palms sticky as Bluebeard's.
    We hoarded the fresh berries in the byre.
    But when the bath was filled we found a fur,
    A rat-grey fungus, glutting on our cache.
    The juice was stinking too. Once off the bush
    The fruit fermented, the sweet flesh would turn sour.
    I always felt like crying. It wasn't fair
    That all the lovely canfuls smelt of rot.
    Each year I hoped they'd keep, knew they would not

We used to have blackberry bushes out in our back-garden growing up. Sweet, sweet berries!
    kerry4sam

• Registered Users Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

by William Henry Davies
    What is this life if, full of care,
    We have no time to stand and stare.

No time to stand beneath the boughs
    And stare as long as sheep or cows.

No time to see, when woods we pass,
    Where squirrels hide their nuts in grass.

No time to see, in broad daylight,
    Streams full of stars, like skies at night.

No time to turn at Beauty's glance,
    And watch her feet, how they can dance.

No time to wait till her mouth can
    Enrich that smile her eyes began.

A poor life this is if, full of care,
    We have no time to stand and stare.

Simply Inspiring imo,
    Hope you can take something from this poem,
    kerry4sam

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭tomasocarthaigh

Reboot Banagher Horse Fair…

Banagher Horse Fair will be held in 2015, to spite the fact it officially is illegal. Yes, there is talk of leagalizing cannabis, but horse fairs are illegal... You could not make it up... #onlyinireland

11190363_1422783698030536_1673986012_n.jpg

We will see you, as a sure thing, in September
    On the Main Street among the proud horses there
    We’ll walk among crowds, dogs, the shady folk and the shades
    At the 2015 Banagher Horse Fair…
    Make sure your car has no green diesel
    And your horse is not on hormones as well
    Bring cash to buy a nag and some naggins
    The pubs may be shut, or open, who can tell?
    What has become of a free nation
    When to hold a horse fair is rebellious to do?
    We had that freedom even under the British:
    Was it for that Babser held guns with the brave few?
    Reboot Ireland some say, stating with the rural
    Ireland is nothing without its heart…
    Its heart is here, kept alive by us, the activists
    Rebooting Banagher Horse Fair will be a start!

More Than Just Another Memory

They Took from Us

Long May Horses **** the Streets

Just Doing Our Job

• Registered Users Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Brilliant.

• Registered Users Posts: 344 ✭✭Panic E

By Charles Bukowski

The further away I am from the human race, the better I feel.
    Even though I write about the human race, the further away from them I am the better I feel.
    Two inches is great. Two miles is great. Two thousand miles is beautiful. As long as I’m able to eat.
    They feed me because I feed them. I don’t like to be near them, when somebody even brushes against me with an elbow in a crowd I react.
    I do not like the human race. I don’t like their heads. I don’t like their faces. I don’t like their feet. I don’t like their conversations.
    I don’t like their hairdos. I don’t like their automobiles. I don’t like their dogs or their cats or their roses.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭SmallTeapot

This is not a poem, but a song - so apologies if I'm breaking the rules of the thread :o .....I just thought the lyrics were quite beautiful and read nicely :)

From Eden
    By the ever excellent Hozier

Babe, there's something tragic about you
    Something so magic about you
    Don't you agree?

Babe, there's something lonesome about you
    Something so wholesome about you
    Get closer to me

No tired sighs, no rolling eyes, no irony
    No 'who cares', no vacant stares, no time for me

Honey, you're familiar like my mirror years ago
    Idealism sits in prison, chivalry fell on its sword
    Innocence died screaming, honey, ask me I should know
    I slithered here from Eden just to sit outside your door

Babe, there's something wretched about this
    Something so precious about this

Babe, there's something broken about this
    But I might be hoping about this.]

Oh, what a sin

To the strand a picnic plan for you and me
    A rope in hand for your other man to hang from a tree

I slithered here from Eden just to sit outside your door

I slithered here from Eden just to hide outside your door

Hozier's lyrics are terrific

• Registered Users Posts: 278 ✭✭chasmcb

The Trees

The trees are coming into leaf
    Like something almost being said;
    The recent buds relax and spread,
    Their greenness is a kind of grief.

Is it that they are born again
    And we grow old? No, they die too,
    Their yearly trick of looking new
    Is written down in rings of grain.

Yet still the unresting castles thresh
    In fullgrown thickness every May.
    Last year is dead, they seem to say,
    Begin afresh, afresh, afresh.

Philip Larkin

• Registered Users Posts: 3,937 ✭✭✭implausible

About suffering they were never wrong,
    The Old Masters; how well, they understood
    Its human position; how it takes place
    While someone else is eating or opening a window or just walking dully along;
    How, when the aged are reverently, passionately waiting
    For the miraculous birth, there always must be
    Children who did not specially want it to happen, skating
    On a pond at the edge of the wood:
    They never forgot
    That even the dreadful martyrdom must run its course
    Anyhow in a corner, some untidy spot
    Where the dogs go on with their doggy life and the torturer's horse
    Scratches its innocent behind on a tree.
    In Breughel's Icarus, for instance: how everything turns away
    Quite leisurely from the disaster; the ploughman may
    Have heard the splash, the forsaken cry,
    But for him it was not an important failure; the sun shone
    As it had to on the white legs disappearing into the green
    Water; and the expensive delicate ship that must have seen
    Something amazing, a boy falling out of the sky,
    had somewhere to get to and sailed calmly on.

W.H. Auden

I rewatched "The History Boys" recently and it reminded me of some great poems, including this one. Great reading of it below (mind you, I'd listen to him reading the phone book):

The Poet As Hero
    BY SIEGFRIED SASSOON

You've heard me, scornful, harsh, and discontented,
    Mocking and loathing War: you've asked me why
    Of my old, silly sweetness I've repented—
    My ecstasies changed to an ugly cry.

You are aware that once I sought the Grail,
    Riding in armour bright, serene and strong;
    And it was told that through my infant wail
    There rose immortal semblances of song.

But now I've said good-bye to Galahad,
    And am no more the knight of dreams and show:
    For lust and senseless hatred make me glad,
    And my killed friends are with me where I go.
    Wound for red wound I burn to smite their wrongs;
    And there is absolution in my songs.

Fern Hill ~ Dylan Thomas
    May 15, 2015 at 3:48am
    Now as I was young and easy under the apple boughs
    About the lilting house and happy as the grass was green,
    The night above the dingle starry,
    Time let me hail and climb
    Golden in the heydays of his eyes,
    And honoured among wagons I was prince of the apple towns
    And once below a time I lordly had the trees and leaves
    Trail with daisies and barley
    Down the rivers of the windfall light.

And as I was green and carefree, famous among the barns
    About the happy yard and singing as the farm was home,
    In the sun that is young once only,
    Time let me play and be
    Golden in the mercy of his means,
    And green and golden I was huntsman and herdsman, the calves
    Sang to my horn, the foxes on the hills barked clear and cold,
    And the sabbath rang slowly
    In the pebbles of the holy streams.

All the sun long it was running, it was lovely, the hay
    Fields high as the house, the tunes from the chimneys, it was air
    And playing, lovely and watery
    And fire green as grass.
    And nightly under the simple stars
    As I rode to sleep the owls were bearing the farm away,
    All the moon long I heard, blessed among stables, the nightjars
    Flying with the ricks, and the horses
    Flashing into the dark.

And then to awake, and the farm, like a wanderer white
    With the dew, come back, the cock on his shoulder: it was all
    Shining, it was Adam and maiden,
    The sky gathered again
    And the sun grew round that very day.
    So it must have been after the birth of the simple light
    In the first, spinning place, the spellbound horses walking warm
    Out of the whinnying green stable
    On to the fields of praise.

And honoured among foxes and pheasants by the gay house
    Under the new made clouds and happy as the heart was long,
    In the sun born over and over,
    I ran my heedless ways,
    My wishes raced through the house high hay
    And nothing I cared, at my sky blue trades, that time allows
    In all his tuneful turning so few and such morning songs
    Before the children green and golden
    Follow him out of grace,

Nothing I cared, in the lamb white days, that time would take me
    Up to the swallow thronged loft by the shadow of my hand,
    In the moon that is always rising,
    Nor that riding to sleep
    I should hear him fly with the high fields
    And wake to the farm forever fled from the childless land.
    Oh as I was young and easy in the mercy of his means,
    Time held me green and dying
    Though I sang in my chains like the sea.

~ ~ ~ Dylan Thomas ~ ~ ~ ~

Prayer

The sea took into her depths a sailor's life -
    Unaware, his mother goes and lights

a taper before the image of Our Lady
    that the weather might be fair , and his return speedy

while at the wind she always strains her ears.
    But as she prays the ikon hears ,

solemn and full of mourning,
    knowing that the son she awaits won't be returning .

C.P Cavafy

(for the week that's in it )

The Ballad of Reading Gaol (excerpt)

Yet each man kills the thing he loves
    By each let this be heard,
    Some do it with a bitter look,
    Some with a flattering word,
    The coward does it with a kiss,
    The brave man with a sword!

Some kill their love when they are young,
    And some when they are old;
    Some strangle with the hands of Lust,
    Some with the hands of Gold:
    The kindest use a knife, because
    The dead so soon grow cold.

Some love too little, some too long,
    Some sell, and others buy;
    Some do the deed with many tears,
    And some without a sigh:
    For each man kills the thing he loves,
    Yet each man does not die.

Oscar Wilde

For the week that's in it , let us celebrate 'the love that dare not speak its name '

And continuing the LGBT week

Because I liked You Better

Because I liked you better
    Than suits a man to say,
    It irked you, and I promised
    To throw the thought away.

To put the world between us
    We parted, stiff and dry;
    `Good-bye,' said you, `forget me.'
    `I will, no fear', said I.

If here, where clover whitens
    The dead man's knoll, you pass,
    And no tall flower to meet you
    Starts in the trefoiled grass,

Halt by the headstone naming
    The heart no longer stirred,
    And say the lad that loved you
    Was one that kept his word.

A.E. Housman

The Look

The heron's the look of the river.
    The moon's the look of the night.
    The sky's the look of forever.
    Snow is the look of white.

The bees are the look of the honey.
    The wasp is the look of pain.
    The clown is the look of funny.
    Puddles are the look of rain.

The whale is the look of the ocean.
    The grave is the look of the dead.
    The wheel is the look of motion.
    Blood is the look of red.

The rose is the look of the garden.
    The girl is the look of the school.
    The snake is the look of the Gorgon.
    Ice is the look of cool.

The clouds are the look of the weather.
    The hand is the look of the glove.
    The bird is the look of the feather.
    You are the look of love.

Carol Ann Duffy

The first openly gay Poet Laureate

Wild Nights

Wild nights - Wild nights!
    Were I with thee
    Wild nights should be
    Our luxury!

Futile - the winds -
    To a Heart in port -
    Done with the Compass -
    Done with the Chart!

Rowing in Eden -
    Ah - the Sea!
    Might I but moor - tonight -
    In thee!

Emily Dickinson

Stop All The Clocks

Stop all the clocks, cut off the telephone,
    Prevent the dog from barking with a juicy bone,
    Silence the pianos and with muffled drum
    Bring out the coffin, let the mourners come.

Let aeroplanes circle moaning overhead
    Scribbling on the sky the message He Is Dead,
    Put crepe bows round the white necks of the public doves,
    Let the traffic policemen wear black cotton gloves.

He was my North, my South, my East and West,
    My working week and my Sunday rest,
    My noon, my midnight, my talk, my song;
    I thought that love would last for ever: I was wrong.

The stars are not wanted now: put out every one;
    Pack up the moon and dismantle the sun;
    Pour away the ocean and sweep up the wood.
    For nothing now can ever come to any good.

W.H Auden

Can we really deny fulfilment to such a love as this ?

A.E. Housman (1859-1936) has been mentioned, who lived during a time when to be gay was a criminal offence. With the week having the significance that it does, I found this poem by Housman to be particularly poignant...

The Laws of God, The Laws of Man

A.E. Housman

The laws of God, the laws of man,
    He may keep that will and can;
    Not I: let God and man decree
    Laws for themselves and not for me;
    And if my ways are not as theirs
    Let them mind their own affairs.
    Their deeds I judge and much condemn,
    Yet when did I make laws for them?

Please yourselves, say I, and they
    Need only look the other way.
    But no, they will not; they must still
    Wrest their neighbour to their will,
    And make me dance as they desire
    With jail and gallows and hell-fire.
    And how am I to face the odds
    Of man's bedevilment and God's?

I, a stranger and afraid
    In a world I never made.
    They will be master, right or wrong;
    Though both are foolish, both are strong.
    And since, my soul, we cannot fly,
    To Saturn nor to Mercury,
    Keep we must, if keep we can,
    These foreign laws of God and man.

'It is better to walk alone in the right direction than follow the herd walking in the wrong direction.'

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,663 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

The God Abandons Antony

When suddenly, at midnight, you hear
    an invisible procession going by
    with exquisite music, voices,
    don’t mourn your luck that’s failing now,
    work gone wrong, your plans
    all proving deceptive—don’t mourn them uselessly.
    As one long prepared, and graced with courage,
    say goodbye to her, the Alexandria that is leaving.
    Above all, don’t fool yourself, don’t say
    it was a dream, your ears deceived you:
    don’t degrade yourself with empty hopes like these.
    As one long prepared, and graced with courage,
    as is right for you who proved worthy of this kind of city,
    go firmly to the window
    and listen with deep emotion, but not
    with the whining, the pleas of a coward;
    listen—your final delectation—to the voices,
    to the exquisite music of that strange procession,
    and say goodbye to her, to the Alexandria you are losing.

Translated by Edmund Keeley/Philip Sherrard
    (C.P. Cavafy, Collected Poems. Translated by Edmund Keeley and Philip Sherrard. Edited by George Savidis. Revised Edition. Princeton University Press, 1992)

marienbad wrote: »
    Stop All The Clocks

Stop all the clocks, cut off the telephone,
    Prevent the dog from barking with a juicy bone,
    Silence the pianos and with muffled drum
    Bring out the coffin, let the mourners come.

Let aeroplanes circle moaning overhead
    Scribbling on the sky the message He Is Dead,
    Put crepe bows round the white necks of the public doves,
    Let the traffic policemen wear black cotton gloves.

He was my North, my South, my East and West,
    My working week and my Sunday rest,
    My noon, my midnight, my talk, my song;
    I thought that love would last for ever: I was wrong.

The stars are not wanted now: put out every one;
    Pack up the moon and dismantle the sun;
    Pour away the ocean and sweep up the wood.
    For nothing now can ever come to any good.

W.H Auden

Can we really deny fulfilment to such a love as this ?

And to finish this historic week of great Gay poets ( heads-up Manach for our 2nd C.P. Cavafy entry)( and to Mr Nice guy for another Housman) we have Auden's tribute to the great Voltaire and the notion that the struggle never ends and who surely is on the Yes side .

Voltaire At Ferney

Perfectly happy now, he looked at his estate.
    An exile making watches glanced up as he passed
    And went on working; where a hospital was rising fast,
    A joiner touched his cap; an agent came to tell
    Some of the trees he'd planted were progressing well.
    The white alps glittered. It was summer. He was very great.
    Far off in Paris where his enemies
    Whsipered that he was wicked, in an upright chair
    A blind old woman longed for death and letters. He would write,
    "Nothing is better than life." But was it? Yes, the fight
    Against the false and the unfair
    Was always worth it. So was gardening. Civilize.
    Cajoling, scolding, screaming, cleverest of them all,
    He'd had the other children in a holy war
    Against the infamous grown-ups; and, like a child, been sly
    And humble, when there was occassion for
    The two-faced answer or the plain protective lie,
    But, patient like a peasant, waited for their fall.
    And never doubted, like D'Alembert, he would win:
    Only Pascal was a great enemy, the rest
    Were rats already poisoned; there was much, though, to be done,
    And only himself to count upon.
    Dear Diderot was dull but did his best;
    Rousseau, he'd always known, would blubber and give in.
    Night fell and made him think of women: Lust
    Was one of the great teachers; Pascal was a fool.
    How Emilie had loved astronomy and bed;
    Pimpette had loved him too, like scandal; he was glad.
    He'd done his share of weeping for Jerusalem: As a rule,
    It was the pleasure-haters who became unjust.
    Yet, like a sentinel, he could not sleep. The night was full of wrong,
    Earthquakes and executions: soon he would be dead,
    And still all over Europe stood the horrible nurses
    Itching to boil their children. Only his verses
    Perhaps could stop them: He must go on working: Overhead,
    The uncomplaining stars composed their lucid song.

W.H Auden

Vote Yes for equality , but most of all vote.

O this historic day a little bit of Wordsworth seems appropriate

from Thoughts on the French Revolution

Oh! pleasant exercise of hope and joy!
    For mighty were the auxiliars which then stood
    Upon our side, we who were strong in love!
    Bliss was it in that dawn to be alive,
    But to be young was very heaven!—Oh! times,
    In which the meagre, stale, forbidding ways
    Of custom, law, and statute, took at once
    The attraction of a country in romance!
    When Reason seemed the most to assert her rights,
    When most intent on making of herself
    A prime Enchantress—to assist the work
    Which then was going forward in her name!
    Not favoured spots alone, but the whole earth,
    The beauty wore of promise,

We just had a little revolution of our own !

I'd like to offer up one more by A.E. Housman (1859-1936) as I found it very powerful. In fact, I think they should teach this one in schools. It was believed to have been written following the trial of Oscar Wilde. Obviously the references to hair were necessary due to the laws against homosexuality at the time.

Oh Who is That Young Sinner?

A.E. Housman

Oh who is that young sinner with the handcuffs on his wrists?
    And what has he been after that they groan and shake their fists?
    And wherefore is he wearing such a conscience-stricken air?
    Oh they're taking him to prison for the colour of his hair.

'Tis a shame to human nature such a head of hair as his;
    In the good old times 'twas hanging for the colour that it is;
    Though hanging isn't bad enough and flaying would be fair
    For the nameless and abominable colour of his hair.

Oh a deal of pains he's taken and a pretty price he's paid
    To hide his poll or dye it of a mentionable shade;
    But they've pulled the beggar's hat off for the world to see and stare,
    And they're taking him to justice for the colour of his hair.

Now 'tis oakum for his fingers and the treadmill for his feet,
    And the quarry-gang of Portland in the cold and in the heat,
    And between his spells of labour in the time he has to spare
    He can curse the God that made him for the colour of his hair.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,937 ✭✭✭implausible

Mr Nice Guy and Marienbad, thank you so much for the last few poems posted. I'm blown away by the Houseman poems, especially the last one and you're right, it's perfect for school.