Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would Katie Taylor beat an average man in a fight?

• 10-08-2012 6:11pm
    Registered Users Posts: 320 ✭✭OMARS_COMING_

Lets say for arguments sake that an average man is :

5ft 10, 14 stone, keeps somewhat active and has little fight experience.

Would he beat Katie Taylor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

Katie would knock the crap out of most men who have no training

• Registered Users Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

No.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Caveman1

Yes IMO, she could not only block all your shots but she would be lightening quick, she's also very powerful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Forest Demon

Yes (unless he hit her with a chair)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Do you mean a boxing fight or a straightener :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur

Yep.

She'd knock the bollox out of you OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

No, A better question would be "If Katie Taylor was in a ring with an average man, and she was handcuffed, could an average man manage to hit her?" The answer to that is also no. If you doubt me, hop into a ring with a good boxer. Or even an average boxer. You'll find the answer fairly fast.:) If she was allowed hit back, bits of you would break. Like your arms, for example, and your ribs. And your neck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭ Koda Savory Motorbike

No.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Caveman1

Asking two different questions in Thread title and OP, Pretty confusing

• Registered Users Posts: 475 ✭✭223vmax

Katie Taylor - I'd hit it....

• Registered Users Posts: 8,237 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

223vmax wrote: »
    Katie Taylor - I'd hit it....

and then run like hell before she caught you :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

Would Katie Taylor beat an average man in a fight?

Derp.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Better one: Makikomi vs Katie, for the honour Boards.

But OP, no, most men (and women) woud be utterly destroyed by her.

• Registered Users Posts: 509 ✭✭✭DanWall

I would not like to be married to her

• Registered Users Posts: 8,368 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Sure i'd say she'd probably be able to beat a few male boxers, let alone an average man. She's a tough woman and obviously has A LOT of fighting expierence.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

I would loose big time ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Diego Maradona

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭marshbaboon

Could an Olympic gold medal boxer beat up the average man.

Let me think about that.

yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scioch

Would an olympic gold medallist/world/european champion boxer beat Joe Soap is what your asking ?

Probably :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Even with a boxer that has trainin I reckon she'd do grand and win
    She is pretty quick and has a good length in her reach to pick up enough power to knock most out or down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Id kick her head in!

Pffft, where's her Jesus then eh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Good "laugh" available when meeting a pro boxer, play "slaps" with them. Thats where you hold your hands out, palms together, fingertip to fingertip with your opponent. Each takes turns slapping the back of the others hand, until one dodges their hands away and the opponent misses. Ye know the one.
    Firstly, unless they let you, you will not hit their hands, they are just too quick. Secondly, when it's their turn and they slap your hand, you won't barely see it coming, let alone dodge it and all the blood vessels on the back of your hand will burst. After 2 or three slaps, you will be unable to take another.
    Transpose that idea into "them punching you in the head". You get a whole new respect for good boxers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Tym

She's an olympic level , gold-medal winning,...yes Op, most definetly.

The majority of male boxers would probably be beaten by her, since it's mostly about tactics.

I'd say only another olympian male would have a chance.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

saw a video of her sparring paddy Barnes and she knocked lumps out of him. She'd kill the average man.

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭jurahnimoh

Throw her in the ring wit Bernard Dunne

• Registered Users Posts: 186 ✭✭omgitsthelazor

Judging from the sparring video of her holding her own against Paddy Barnes who wasn't holding back, and considering he himself went 15-15 against the Olympic gold medalist today I'd say forget about the man on the street, Katie could probably defeat a good few of the weaker males in her weight division.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,186 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

She'd stand no chance against male boxers, but she'd destroy the average man.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

I suppose the real question is would Katie be interested in such a match? I think if asked she'd laugh nicely and say "thanks for the offer, but no thanks" and walk away.

Anyone trying to assault her from behind would then have 4.6M people queuing up to knock 7 kinds of crap out of them.

Katie in a brawl in Ireland? No chance, IMHO.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

If she was fighting an average untrained man she'd humiliate any man that tried to fight her. She wouldn't have to fight though, if she just started crying the man would be at a loss at what to do.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Higher

I don't think she would to be honest.

I do a bit of MMA and we had a professional boxer from Holland sparring with us one day. When it was boxing only he was obviously killing us but then when we did MMA rounds it was really quite easy to beat him, just tackle him to the ground. I'd assume most lads following that technique could beat Katie Taylor. A boxer is no use off their feet. Especially a female one against a male who I'd assume would overpower her.