Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Poker over proxy?

• 06-01-2005 8:28pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭

Lads,

I want to play poker for real dosh while i'm in college over 888.com's pacific poker but it wont let me connect while i'm in college....

I've downloaded http proxy but god bless me i havnt a clue how to configure it to work with pacific poker, so now i can only play it on the weekends at home. Any chance that any of you lads have a similar problem and have fixed it? i hope this is the right forum to post this in!

Cheers for the help,

Vinny

• Registered Users Posts: 559 ✭✭✭ZygOte

ive had a similiar issue in work here, i tried to use VChandler but no joy, it used to work but not any more, the reason for is not working here is that the client software although running through https for security does not conform to RFC standards so basically our firewall wont allow the traffic to be passed through, only solution is to use a dumber forewall :) ie one that does not do stateful inspection of the traffic as it passes.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

yea i cant change the firewall here in dcu, so i'm looking for a way to get it through! anyone?

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭tariqbutt

I dont know about changing the proxy settings but in trinity college for example, you can not play pacific poker online (the flash loads up to 70% then stops, I assume because of a firewall), however if you use the java version of pokerroom it works fine. You should give that a try.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭BrendanB

Yeah, it's a bit tricky, but I think it's usually possible depending on your configuration. The basic tool is port forwarding in PuTTy. You need somewhere you can SSH to that's outside the wall, e.g. matrix in TCD (netsoc's box) and I think there's a similar setup in DCU. The point is that the ports you need are open on the outside box, but not inside the wall, but you can SSH between them. There are general instructions in the putty documentation but roughly speaking you set up the port on localhost to bounce to the outside address and then point the client to localhost. You can find the ports used with various tools, I used Internet Security Suite's traffic monitor.

The only point that might be messy is pointing the client, but I think there's a workaround with DNS stuff.

Brendan.

cheers brendan i'll look in to it and let you know how i get on!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Try Party Poker, I had a lap top from work that the firewall prevented my accessing poker servers....except Party Poker's server

i need 888.coms one to work, thats where all my money is!! ports 21 22 23 80 and 1080 are open in dcu...

i got an email from pacific poker :
    Dear Member,

Thank you for contacting us at Pacific Poker.

In some cases, you will not be able to connect to Pacific Poker if your
    computer is using a Firewall or Proxy Server. Consult your Network
    Administrator, NSP (Network Service Provider) or ISP (Internet Service
    Provider) support service or use another connection. In order to connect
    to our servers you will have to open ports 701, 4095 and 4096, 8500,
    8520 in the firewall.

Thanks again for the opportunity to explain. We are always available for
    your comments. Please do not hesitate to contact us at any time.

Regards,
    Paul.G
    Member Support Representative
    Pacific Poker

any one know how to use these settings to get by my firewall?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭NiSmO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭jpr1973

why dont you buy a reconditioned laptop for less than 200 euro and a 3g broadband connection for 20 p/m and you can then play in college, in your flat during the week. Surely if your any good you can call that a good investment

• Registered Users Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭fatguy

yea i cant change the firewall here in dcu, so i'm looking for a way to get it through! anyone?
    Get a 3G wireless internet thingy and bypass DCU's network altogether?

Your best bet would be to ask on Redbrick. I guarantee someone there has had a similiar problem, and that's where the real nerds in DCU hang out. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

you used to be able to play on most poker sites over the wireless network. been meaning to pop by and asked them if they'll open it up again.

• Registered Users Posts: 200 ✭✭The_Daddy_H

Try use ssh to forward a port to a computer at home

ssh -D portnumber

the set say firefox to use that port.

I use it to get around a certain county's firewall at the moment, works pretty well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭shanethemofo

o2 Broadband is only a tenner per month for students.
    I just dl'd and tried pacific poker there and i can tell you that it does work.
    It works with any other sites i've tried so far as well (Pokerstars, Fulltilt, Ipoker, ongame)

• Registered Users Posts: 153 ✭✭Stoko

o2 Broadband is only a tenner per month for students.
    I just dl'd and tried pacific poker there and i can tell you that it does work.
    It works with any other sites i've tried so far as well (Pokerstars, Fulltilt, Ipoker, ongame)

^^best idea^^

Dont trust random proxy sites... you never know what you getting into.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

bar using 3g (best solution)
    maybe using logmein or teamview to connect to a machine outside the network. (ie home machine)
    As long as you have broadband at home you'd be grand

actually just thinking, this is probably pointless advice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Jacobsenja

Hi, I was looking long time for poker client which working with proxy. Now I can play poker for real money during work in my web browser I use Chrome. I know many are blocked by proxy servers so this is some solution I play on www.stargames.com

• Registered Users Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Donkathon

I would strongly advise against going near this site above me, just screams scam to me for some reason. Plenty of other option with less risk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Jacobsenja

This site is well know casino the poker is just small addon to this site. On poker table mostly playing casino players so the playing level is very low, just check 2.5$ NL table what’s going on it :) Anyway is easy and fast to withdraw via moneybookers or other methods. Maybe you know something similar with more players working with proxy without others net, mobile land etc. I’m working on ship and internet is via satellite most things is block except this one which I know.