Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Islamic State militants planning for 'large-scale' attacks on Europe

• 25-01-2016 11:09pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 333 ✭✭

The Islamic State group has honed the ability to launch global attacks and is set to focus more on Europe following the Paris massacre, the chief of EU police agency Europol says.

Rob Wainwright told a news conference that "the so-called Islamic State had developed a new combat-style capability to carry out a campaign of large-scale terrorist attacks on a global stage — with a particular focus in Europe".

Mr Wainwright was unveiling the findings of a new Europol report on changes in how the jihadist group operates, coinciding with the launch of the agency's new counterterrorism centre in The Hague.

"So-called Islamic State has a willingness and a capability to carry out further attacks in Europe, and of course all national authorities are working to prevent that from happening," he added.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-01-26/islamic-state-planning-large-scale-attacks-on-europe-europol/7114274

ISIS just released a video of the Paris attackers where they are beheading people and talking about the (future at the time) attack in Paris. The end of the video strongly suggests that the next target is the UK. Worrying stuff.

Hypothetically speaking, what would happen if Ireland was attacked by these lads? We are on their "list". I'm really curious how we would react in general. We have never been attacked by an external enemy in modern times and it's not a scenario we ever expected to be in. We feel safe on this isolated island, we have a knowing that if anyone attacked us the world would react on our behalf. But can we really just take an attack like that and leave it to the rest of the world to retaliate?

Or do we just continue with the "ah sure it will be grand" philosophy.

It's a morbidly interesting thing to think about.

I know I would be beyond furious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Pretty sure if they attacked ireland/planned it....they'd get pissed off with the cold and wet and soon make back for the backarse of Syria

• Registered Users Posts: 20,408 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

DEFCON3.

Or orange alert.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

But ,but ,but

Edward snowden said it's all fake and not to worry

• Registered Users Posts: 879 ✭✭✭risteard7

The RAF would be straight over if needed. Something we forget

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

ISIS attacking Ireland would be a bit like the IRA attacking a tree during the troubles. Pointless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

You'd be mad to give a f*ck about ISIS attacks.

You've a better chance being killed on the road than ever being involved in one of those attacks.

4 out of 5 people in the Bataclan theatre on the worse night of violence in France since WW2 got out unharmed and many didn't even know what they were running from.

The papers would be shocking boring if they had nothing to hype.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Menas wrote: »
    ISIS attacking Ireland would be a bit like the IRA attacking a tree during the troubles. Pointless.

We're a pretty soft target were democratic, western ,and not exactly prepared to deal with a spectacular terror attack like Paris or else where

• Registered Users Posts: 9,675 ✭✭✭buried

F**K these fundamentalist pigs. They're fascist trash who are totally bats in the head. If you start changing your life, where you want to live, where you want to visit, where you want to go etc just because this utter trash spout their utter f**king fascist, hyped, violent, propaganda gibberish then they've already won.

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

risteard7 wrote: »
    The RAF would be straight over if needed. Something we forget

The RAF wouldn't be able to help in a Paris type attack.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 333 ✭✭BigJackC

Pretty sure if they attacked ireland/planned it....they'd get pissed off with the cold and wet and soon make back for the backarse of Syria

Yes, Paris is known for its balmy weather during the winter. Good man.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,635 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

BigJackC wrote: »

Well, Paris is known for food, culture, music, wine, architecture and generally sophisticated lifestyle. And Ireland..., well,...isn't. And it does have a summer. Ireland only has one season.
    But weather aside, we may not a big enough target, so far being a small country on the periphery of Europe has been an advantage. But if they do attack, we are utterly fcuked. Will they Gardai saunter up to them and say "Is this your rrocket prropelled grrenade launcher? Do you have any idea how fasht your prrojectile was going?".
    I would feel safer being protected by the London Philharmonic Orchestra.
    But in the end you can't worry too much about a few extremists. There always have been and always will be violent people who want to kill everyone. The problem is evolution. We're barely down from the trees and we have just about gotten a tiny bit intelligent. In another 500000 years, we might evolve into a nicer, more gentle species.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

:pac: :pac:

Fcuk knows why people think they'd bother with anything in ireland outside of Shannon airport??
    Upon arriving in Shannon they most likely wouldn't bother blowing the place up...twud only improve it?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,545 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Nuke ourselves from orbit.

It's the only way to be sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,545 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Nuke ourselves from orbit.

It's the only way to be sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭Elessar

We'd have to get Teresa Mannion to do the emergency broadcast

• Registered Users Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

I think we should ask Irish travellers to make ISIS call out videos in response to Daesh

"Here Mohammad, I hear ye were talkin' ****e about my cousin Nancy...I'll fúckin' knock lumps outta any of yiz junkie bastards. I'll fight ye in Rathkeale handball alley and we'll settle this once and for all"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

I think we should ask Irish travellers to make ISIS call out videos in response to Daesh

"Here Mohammad, I hear ye were talkin' ****e about my cousin Nancy...I'll fúckin' knock lumps outta any of yiz junkie bastards. I'll fight ye in Rathkeale handball alley and we'll settle this once and for all"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭corsav6

Elessar wrote: »
    We'd have to get Teresa Mannion to do the emergency broadcast

Or just get her to meet them when they arrive, that should send them packing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

ElChe32 wrote: »

King of the Travellers v Leader of Isis.

No Holds Barred, bareknuckle fight to the death. The Prize? Peace on Earth.

Only on Sky Pay per View

You can just hear the Ads on Sky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

Set the IRA on them. They won against the taliban before.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,637 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-01-26/islamic-state-planning-large-scale-attacks-on-europe-europol/7114274

ISIS just released a video of the Paris attackers where they are beheading people and talking about the (future at the time) attack in Paris. The end of the video strongly suggests that the next target is the UK. Worrying stuff.

They have been trying to attack the UK capital for the last couple of years, and Al Qaeda in Iraq before them. For all the attacks that have been foiled, which don't get much press coverage, they only have to get lucky once.

Taking this into consideration I do worry about taking the tube at peak hours sometimes, but then I'm more likely to be killed while driving or when crossing the street.
    We all complain about having a bad day at work, but imagine you are an intelligence operative who fails to prevent a terrorist attack due to a double agent or faulty intelligence.I wonder has MI5 sent agents over to join isis with a view to them infiltrating the top brass of Isis. You would want to have some some courage to take on such a role.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

They have been trying to attack the UK capital for the last couple of years, and Al Qaeda in Iraq before them. For all the attacks that have been foiled, which don't get much press coverage, they only have to get lucky one.

Taking this into consideration I do worry about taking the tube at peak hours sometimes, but then I'm more likely to be killed while driving or when crossing the street.
    We all complain about having a bad at work, but imagine you are an intelligence operative who fails to prevent a terrorist attack due to a double agent or faulty intelligence.I wonder has MI5 sent agents over to join isis with a view to them infilitrating the top brass of Isis. You would want to have some some courage to take on such a role.

You'd also wonder if ISIS have done the same to MI5. Have moles inside.

In the history of warfare, double-agents were always a feature of operations.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭coolbeans

You'd also wonder if ISIS have done the same to MI5. Have moles inside.

In the history of warfare, double-agents were always a feature of operations.

It's not really warfare though is it. I live in London and despite all their meddling in Iraq and Libya I've more chance of being killed crossing the road than hurt in a terrorist attack. Despite all the hyperbole we're the safest most secure generation that ever existed. The actual threat from these losers is less than miniscule.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,505 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

i think we would make a good target for them.
    we have major economic ties with uk and usa.
    we have military connections with usa through the Shannon debacle
    we have connections all over the world and are loved the world over
    an attach on us would really shack up the world
    we have little to no chance of stopping such an attack
    they could do what they want
    our main defence is a guard and his notebook

• Registered Users Posts: 7,505 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Wolf Club

Gatling wrote: »
    But ,but ,but

Edward snowden said it's all fake and not to worry

Wasn't one of Snowden's points that the sheer bulk of data collected made it more difficult to determine what were legitimate threats?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

And decades of experience against the IRA and gangland criminals and an army who are constantly involved in UN missions around the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

ISIS need to be defeated and fast. Not just in a military way either. The whole makeup of some of these countries is what is wrong. Add to this unneeded Western aggression like the Iraq war and you have a very dangerous situation.

Now, visualise the situation in these countries? I will make up a fictional country. The Islamic Emirate of Wadia has in recent years known nothing but war and turmoil. Bickering among its now deposed royal family lead to civil war with the country's economy collapsing. Soon, a communist government took over. A popular 'Islamic revolution' occurred in the mid 1980s and was lead by a deranged Mullah who has set up a personality cult. Of course, Wadia has oil. The West backed up and armed mad Mullah and the USSR sent weapons to the fragile communist administration. Soon, the USSR lost interest and the revolution took over in 1987. Many ex government members were executed, as were top army officers and all communist or royalists were rounded up and executed in the reign of terror from 1987 to 1990. The regime got more and more anti-Western especially since money to it was stopped after the West and the USSR improved their relationship. Meanwhile, the new 'Islamist' Wadi regime enforces a dress code for women, a beard code for men, bans alcohol and gambling, and imposes draconian laws to punish anyone who disobeys.

The world is more interested in the collapse of the Berlin wall, improved relationships between the 2 superpowers and the fall of Eastern European communism. Wadia like all its Middle Eastern neighbours is just seem as a petrol pump and while the world publically denounces its violent and repressive regime, they still buy oil from it and tolerate it.

Meanwhile, the regime gets madder and madder. Cinema, music, festivals, TV, radio, coffee, tea, certain foodtypes, soft drinks, most books, sport and the Koran in the native language all get banned. Each citizen is instructed to participate in marches denouncing America, Russia, Israel and Wadia's neighbours and posters of the mad Mullah or Emir of Wadia are everywhere. Sponsorship of violent terrorism is rife. Sunni Islam of the Salafist variety is the only legal religion and many Christians, Shias, Jews and atheists have been executed.

Meanwhile, the mad Mullah and his inner circle live it up and keep all the wealth for themselves. They disobey every law that would end up with the people getting executed. At the same time, the people live in fear and poverty. The country increasingly isolates itself from the world and bans tourism. Children are educated to hate certain countries. Suddenly, you have a massive disaffected youth with nothing to do (remember there is no alcohol, pubs, cinemas, sport, TV, radio, music, concerts, festivals, etc. and meetings are discouraged unless organised by the state) and are taught to hate the West. Many Wadian citizens are encouraged to join terrorist groups and Wadia shelters al Qaeda and other such groups and has many terrorist training camps on its soil.

Then, a major terrorist attack on the West takes place. Wadian natives have been identified as the major organisers. The US declares war on the Islamic Emirate of Wadia after the administration would not cooperate. As of 2015, 15 years of war have destroyed the country. The regime is long gone and the mad Mullah is dead but now ISIS have taken hold and the state is full of youths who have no hobbies (as they were banned) and who are full of hatred.

Now, Wadia does not exist. But it demonstrates the backstory of many Middle Eastern, Central Asian and North/West/East African countries. Societies have been stripped bare of culture by warped dictators and thus leave citizens bored. But nature does not like a vacuum and the hatred preached by governments in the middle east means that since drinking, sport and music are often banned, they exchange their beer glasses, footballs and guitars for guns, bombs and bullets. When the West invades and many civilians die, all the brainwashing the regime did guarantees genuine hatred and a quest for revenge.

This is what created ISIS and other groups. This mentality has to stop. Dictators have banned innocent passtimes and the West and other powers have meddled in places and have between them created a monster that has lead to ISIS and other extremism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Ireland is listed among ISIS' enemies but then again so are most other countries. I believe a directly sanctioned attack on Ireland is possible but very remote. Anything major will be planned to target a strategically important country such as France, the UK, Russia, China or the US. If a direct attack was planned, Shannon airport or a foreign embassy would be most likely targets.

But what is not remote is the possibility of an ISIS inspired attack. There's nothing to stop some madman with a gun shooting people on streets, in restaurants or in shopping centres because he disapproves of people dressing in a certain way or drinking or socialising or whatever. ISIS have requested people to do things like this. Another possibility is attacks like we saw in Cologne.

The other side of the coin is ISIS using Ireland as a gateway to the UK. They could collaborate with dissent republican elements who could help them in an attack against a common enemy. Innocent Irish people could die if they hijacked a plane to fly into some UK landmark a la 9/11.

The scenarios of ISIS inspired madmen killing or raping people is possible. The scenario of ISIS teaming up with dissident IRA and using Ireland as a base or hiding place when planning an attack on the UK is most likely already happening. We do need to be very careful about who we leave into our country when it comes to refugees from Syria and Iraq. Even more serious is leaving in Irish citizens who went to fight for ISIS and other anti-Assad elements in Syria. Al Nusra, al Qaeda, etc. are every bit as bad as ISIS and are all splinters of the same stick. The lesson here is we may have our eye on ISIS but one of the others may be planning something and we are not taking notice of them. We need to keep our tabs on all these and policy on who is left into Ireland and indeed any country needs to be strict.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Corpus Twisty

buried wrote: »
    F**K these fundamentalist pigs. They're fascist trash who are totally bats in the head. If you start changing your life, where you want to live, where you want to visit, where you want to go etc just because this utter trash spout their utter f**king fascist, hyped, violent, propaganda gibberish then they've already won.

Nice sentiment, but me and the Missus are having serious doubts about the two weeks we booked in syria. The brochures looked lovely, but feck it. We're thinking of changing it to a week in Lanzarote.