Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tips Thread (fancies go elsewhere) - READ MOD NOTE in POST 1 before posting!

• 07-01-2008 2:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭IrishMike

Mod note added 06/04/2015 by TrueDub

Right, I want everyone to read this post, very carefully, before posting in this thread..

Nobody has the right to complain about people posting on this thread or complaining that something is or isn't a tip. You're an adult, read it and move on.

There have been 3 bans over the weekend for this, and more will happen if required.

So, I say again, Nobody has the right to complain about people posting on this thread or complaining that something is or isn't a tip.

I can't make it any clearer than that.

Its not often i back horses ( infact its almost never )
    Friend of mine just rang to say he got a tip for sasso in the 2.30 in ludlow.
    Now i know he is evens but there are only 6 horses in the race.
    He is being ridden by tony mccoy and trained by Jonjo o Neill.
    Mcmanus owns him and he won his last race at a canter.
    This is a higher grade but is a poor field and he should win

• Registered Users Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I've just put 4 big ones (€4) on the nose.

If this doesn't come in, I'm broken.

*fingers crossed. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭jameshayes

just put 2 smackers on this!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭IrishMike

Well then between us we have €106 on him ;)
    Ill never ever back a nag again if he doesnt win :D

• Registered Users Posts: 39,482 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Whats the odds?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,486 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

evens he said

• Registered Users Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭ErinGoBrath

50 notes on at 2.26

Cheers for the tip Mike, fingers crossed :)

• Registered Users Posts: 39,482 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

That he did, thanks.

IrishMike wrote: »
    Ill never ever back a nag again if he doesnt win :D

I've said that too many times

• Registered Users Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

It's at 1.81 now.

I could lay it of at 1.88 and lock in 48cent profit.
    I'm in a conundrum!

Edit: I'm going to stay the course and go for the big pay day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

25 smackeroonies on at 1.91 GIDDY UP YE BOYA

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

IrishMike wrote: »
    Its not often i back horses ( infact its almost never )
    Friend of mine just rang to say he got a tip for sasso in the 2.30 in ludlow.
    Now i know he is evens but there are only 6 horses in the race.
    He is being ridden by tony mccoy and trained by Jonjo o Neill.
    Mcmanus owns him and he won his last race at a canter.
    This is a higher grade but is a poor field and he should win

Looks like now there are 5 runners not six, with the second favourite pulling out.

Sasso is now odds on with the others ranging from 100/30 to 180/1.

Good luck to everyone backing this.....

I put another few quid on Sasso to win by 5 lenghts or more @ 3.00 on PP

uh oh. bonchester looking good

Anyone watching this?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,990 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Ye wasted your cash lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭m.j.w

That was some tip. Another 50 lids down the drain

happy it was only 4 quid!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

didnt see the race..was he close?

I can only see who came 1st and 2nd online, and he wasn't in either of those 2 positions!

m.j.w wrote: »

He gave a tip it didn't win. Why the saracasm?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭IrishMike

I didnt see a gun to your head now did i?
    Your money to do as you please with it.
    It was a tip they dont always win in case you hadnt noticed

Rjd2 wrote: »
    Ye wasted your cash lads.
    Great observation.
    prendy wrote: »
    didnt see the race..was he close?
    No, 4th.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Don't shoot the messenger. Think this was a pretty good tip given that you had evens on a horse in a 5 horse race where all the others were 3/1 or longer.

Pretty [brave] putting 50 on a race you know next to nothing about IMO.

You get a tip and you decide doe yourself if it's good or not and how much if any to put on.

It's the same with all the football bets on here, as always there are no guarentees

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,802 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

adrian522 wrote: »
    Don't shoot the messenger. Think this was a pretty good tip given that you had evens on a horse in a 5 horse race where all the others were 3/1 or longer.

Pretty [brave] putting 50 on a race you know next to nothing about IMO.

You get a tip and you decide doe yourself if it's good or not and how much if any to put on.

It's the same with all the football bets on here, as always there are no guarentees

No guarantees they are the 2 most important words when gambling!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

Idiotic post of the day.

Cheers for posting it Mike. Always welcome.

Forky wrote: »
    Idiotic post of the day.

Cheers for posting it Mike. Always welcome.

Seconded

• Registered Users Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭dotsflan

Just got a tip for tartatartafuta in the 3.10 southwell hes trading at around 3.15 on betfair at the moment. got it from a internet tipster for free and hes given me three winners from three in the last three days. but remember ye dont have to back. just said id stick it on here in case maybe anyone else got a tip for it:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 10,508 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

dotsflan wrote: »
    Just got a tip for tartatartafuta in the 3.10 southwell hes trading at around 3.15 on betfair at the moment. got it from a internet tipster for free and hes given me three winners from three in the last three days. but remember ye dont have to back. just said id stick it on here in case maybe anyone else got a tip for it:D:D

Hmmm. Internet tipsters.....

If he tipped something at a larger price i might put something small on it but hell if i'd back something that low from one of those guys. Good luck anyway.

I'll have a bit on him. Cheers

Thanks a million for the tip. Winner :cool: