Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

WAR: Wicklow Adventure Race Glenmalure

123457»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,834 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

The sports splits are up now, as I guessed I lost time on the descent after my slight injury but made up for it in the river and hay section, maybe I should take that triathlon malarky up after all !

• Registered Users Posts: 871 ✭✭✭smurphy29

Having been pleased with my performances in GF and Achill, this was my first disappointing showing. A few mistakes...

Should have strapped up my knee. It felt fine in the lead up to the race but early on the first mountain run I could start to feel it. After practically walking the first descent of the second run, hopped into the ambulance and they strapped it up, and I felt much better after that, but I certainly lost some time with that error.

Then my puncture - some of you may have sped past me just after the bridge on the second cycle as I grappled with a simple puncture. Had changed a puncture before, but never under race conditions and the sight of people passing me by made me flustered and panicked as my spare tube was failing to inflate properly... turns out my pump wasn't working, but I kept thinking it was another puncture in the spare! Eventually, with some assistance - thank you lads! - got my tyre back in order and finished the race, but lost a staggering 40-45 minutes. An expensive lesson learned, though.

Still, a grand race with some seriously tough climbs, especially on the bike. Three 60k races in five weeks might have been dipping into the well once too often for me, but I've enjoyed a first season of adventure racing. Have a bit of experience in the tank, so I'll look forward to next season with gusto.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,617 ✭✭✭Enduro

Cheers Enduro. Are you taking part?

I'm new to these type of events, but do I detect a bit of slagging over what constitutes a "real" adventure race? :confused:

I don't have a training partner or group that I could compete with so I guess that rules me out. I guess I'll just have to be more social at other events and try and find some other like minded sadists!;)

I didn't take part for several reasons.

There is no hard and fast definition of what an adventure race is, but the Wikipedia entry on the subject describes it very well, and would be fairly universally accepted. The 3 core sports are usually considered to be hill running/walking, Mountain Biking and Kayaking. So, if you're road biking, you're not really adventure racing. I've been racking my brains to think of any examples outside of Ireland where adventure races don't have mountain biking, and I can only think of one race. Mostly you'd be expected to be self sufficient and do your own navigation (as part of a team) as well.

I'm more frustrated than slagging. Road biking is so much duller and less interesting than mountain biking. Personally, I'm completely bored with the road-bases races here. I'd love to see all the people doing the WARs, ROARs and GF give one of the proper adventure races a go. It would be great for the sport, and even better for the racers themselves!

If you don't have someone to race with and you want to team up then there a few things you can do... As you say youself you can actively search out people at races. IMRA races have in the past been a great place to pick up teammates for ARs. You can use forums like this one and the IMRA or Sleepmonsters forum to find teammates. You could also contact the race director and let them know you're looking for a teammate. This happens all the time, even in the big international races. They'll be able to put you in contact with other people who contact them looking for teammates.

fluboy wrote: »
    Maybe your right, but you have missed my point. I thought that the terrain on the second run was impossible to run on. In War Glendalough, both runs were equally a tough but at least you could run if you were strong enough. :

You're wrong. It's perfectly runnable. Its a great run, in fact. The weakness there is with you, not with the race. Rather than trying to get the race made easier you should try and improve your own running ability, or else just stick to less technical races.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

4 stars (good)
    Hey Enduro,

I'd like to step up to some of the longer races next year, weekend, multi day races.

Any recommendations for 2011 events to keep an eye out for? I know the Cooley raid is next month but work commitments rules that one out.

Best of luck in the Worlds!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Yes that was me totally oblivous to the fact I had it left on from the last transition, felt like a right numpty when someone told me on the summit.:rolleyes:

That was me. Sorry I didn't throw any money in for your impromptu collection at the top :p

• Registered Users Posts: 13 ChazMichael

4 stars (good)
    Really enjoyed this Adventure Race on Saturday. Very well organized. Well done guys! Just my second AR after doing ROAR a few weeks ago. Sport class in both cases. Time to improve the training and join the Elite's for next year! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 33 earsandasmile

Enduro wrote: »
    I didn't take part for several reasons.

There is no hard and fast definition of what an adventure race is, but the Wikipedia entry on the subject describes it very well, and would be fairly universally accepted. The 3 core sports are usually considered to be hill running/walking, Mountain Biking and Kayaking. So, if you're road biking, you're not really adventure racing. I've been racking my brains to think of any examples outside of Ireland where adventure races don't have mountain biking, and I can only think of one race. Mostly you'd be expected to be self sufficient and do your own navigation (as part of a team) as well.

I'm more frustrated than slagging. Road biking is so much duller and less interesting than mountain biking. Personally, I'm completely bored with the road-bases races here. I'd love to see all the people doing the WARs, ROARs and GF give one of the proper adventure races a go. It would be great for the sport, and even better for the racers themselves!

If you don't have someone to race with and you want to team up then there a few things you can do... As you say youself you can actively search out people at races. IMRA races have in the past been a great place to pick up teammates for ARs. You can use forums like this one and the IMRA or Sleepmonsters forum to find teammates. You could also contact the race director and let them know you're looking for a teammate. This happens all the time, even in the big international races. They'll be able to put you in contact with other people who contact them looking for teammates.

Some great advice here, thanks.

I would certainly aspire to trying some of the events you describe here. However, with a young family and the cost of buying/ renting some of the equipment required and learning some of the skills needed for these I think it will be a few years before I'd be ready.

The beauty of WAR, GF, ROAR etc. is that they cater for people like myself. I suppose their role is twofold; they can be completed and enjoyed by anybody with a decent level of fitness and without any specialist skills, i.e navigation, rope work etc.. Also, they serve as a feeder to the types of events you mention. I would expect that a lot of people taking part in these would step up to the races you mention.

nerraw1111 wrote: »
    Hey Enduro,

I'd like to step up to some of the longer races next year, weekend, multi day races.

Any recommendations for 2011 events to keep an eye out for? I know the Cooley raid is next month but work commitments rules that one out.

Best of luck in the Worlds!

Thanks for that! Luck is always a good thing to have for the expedition races :)

And as for races to look out for...

CLEC : Usually on in July. The traditional format here is teams of 3, but there was pairs last year as well. A classic race, taking anything from 3.5 to 8 or 9 hours to finish. The mountain biking is outstanding, and always brings a huge grin to even the most experience rider's face. Good running, and a short kayaking section on Sit on Tops as well. Course is marked, so theoretically no Nav is required. Post race party is legendary. The sole road bike race is completely pointless, as it misses the best reason to do the event (the mountain biking. In summary, if you can do GF/ROAR/WAR, then you can do this. Similar distances, but with MTBing instead of road biking (Take note earsandsmile!!!)

Beast of Ballyhoura: Usually on the august bank holiday. The hardest race in Ireland, and possibly the best, but has been completed successfully by many novices over the years. Race takes about 30 hours for almost all teams (optional sections ensure that). Mixed teams of 4. Takes place in the ballyhoura region of Cork/Limerick/Tipperary. Makes full use of the Ballyhoura MTB trails, and this year included some amazing natural trails as well. Also does the near impossible of putting in kayaking sections using the sit-on-tops that are actually great fun, the "combat kayaking" sections. Usually has one or two interesting surprise events included as well. One of the team needs to be able to navigate. The winners get the best trophies I've ever seen. Great atmosphere throughout the weekend.

Ballyhoura Blitz: Baby brother of the beast. A short one day race that is notble for making good use of the ballyhoura MTB trails. Course is marked. Just running and MTBing in the race.

CCAR (Causeway Coast Adventure Racing) series: Usually both a short and long course are laid out. Very novice friendly races. Ivan (the RD) usually throws in a few intersting surprise events. Teams of 2 or 4. One needs to be able to navigate. Well organised races, and great fun to do.

Cooley Raid: A bigger brother to the CCAR races. A 24 hour race in traditional AR format. One of the team needs to be able to navigate. Given its autumn slot in the calendar, can get quite gnarly with the weather. I've yet to do this one myself, as I keep getting calendar clashes, but I keep hearing great reports about it.

Kilbroney challenge: Another one day race. Can be done in pairs or solo (I think). Another one I keep missing due to clashes, but always hear fantastic reports about it. Mountain biking and hillrunning sound superb in it. The Mourne mountains are a super setting for adventure sports.

I know I've left something out, and will post when I remember!

And remember... in many ways the longer races are much easier to do. The tempo is much slower and more relaxed. And they are more social... there's usually plenty of chat and banter within and between teams.

If you can complete these races then there's nothing to stop you giving some of the big mult-day races abroad a go! It's the same stuff, just scaled up over a longer distance and timeframe.

• Registered Users Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Fi H

I think you are missing Ras na Riochta :)

As for the CLEC tarmac I really enjoyed it this year cause it let you do a race alongside the teams who were doing the real mountain biking race so you got a taste of what they were going through while being able to do your own race. It was my favorite race despite getting lost in the woods and having to ring home for moral support. Definitely great party after.

I for one would not even have considered doing an adventure race with mountain biking in it earlier in the year but with a few of the road biking ones under the belt I am now starting to consider these. As I've said before though, my problem is more with them being team events :)

Enduro - i'm following you now to make a positive comment after all your anti road racing ones ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

4 stars (good)
    Cheers Enduro, much appreciated

• Registered Users Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

4 stars (good)
    I found the second run or should I say hike to be too tough and dangerous. Very few people could run on that terrain. They need to change this run section or I, and from what I heard on the course yesterday, wont be back next year.
    ThisRegard wrote: »
    Hi fluboy, at many of these events there are sections where few people can run, they can be very technical and challenging, for example not many people would manage to run the height of Croagh Patrick. Even at the IMRA races there's sections were the majority of people have to slow to a crawl.
    I disagree. Ran the 2nd route recently with DPA. Obviously it would be more difficult after a run and cycle but practice, practice.. Or use a deliberate walk run strategy to conserve energy.
    Doubt I will ever be that strong. One thing that you can’t take away from the course was the views of the Wicklow countryside. Unbeatable

Hi Fluboy, the Croghanmoira run was tough but definitely runnable. Did you find it too hard to run down or to run up? I found the run down quite tough but it's a matter of practising your descending. Technique, leg strength (and ankle strength) and confidence are all required to be a good descender. These can all be improved on. I've improved my descending in the last year or two but I've a long way to go.

On the way back up to Croghanmoira I chose a run/walk strategy to conserve strength but Beth McCluskey was like a metronome and just kept chipping away at the hill until she was at the top. She ran the whole thing. Sometimes a hike is the best option for a competitor but it wasn't unrunnable.

In other IMRA races I have a deliberate policy of walking before I *have* to. Works for me!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

4 stars (good)
    Had a look at the splits there.

I was second fastest in the river run/obstacle course! I thought it was great craic. Managed to throw myself at the haybales and roll over without losing too much momentum. Couldn't quite catch the Belpark lad who I was racing on the final bike leg.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

4 stars (good)
    Had a look at the splits there.

I was second fastest in the river run/obstacle course! I thought it was great craic. Managed to throw myself at the haybales and roll over without losing too much momentum. Couldn't quite catch the Belpark lad who I was racing on the final bike leg.
    You had a great race, flying past me on that second run. :) My obstacle time was 2 mins longer on winsplits than on my printout. Not sure why.

Re the runnablity of the second run, I fell on Croaghanmoira because of dodgy ankles and a lack of concentration, not because of the terrain. S'pose that skill comes with practice.

• Registered Users Posts: 108 ✭✭Q7

Oryx wrote: »
    You had a great race, flying past me on that second run. :) My obstacle time was 2 mins longer on winsplits than on my printout. Not sure why.

I think the splits for the obstacle also include the time stop for the downhill cycle section near the end.

• Registered Users Posts: 481 ✭✭trinewbie

4 stars (good)
    Hi Fluboy, the Croghanmoira run was tough but definitely runnable. Did you find it too hard to run down or to run up? I found the run down quite tough but it's a matter of practising your descending. Technique, leg strength (and ankle strength) and confidence are all required to be a good descender. These can all be improved on. I've improved my descending in the last year or two but I've a long way to go.

On the way back up to Croghanmoira I chose a run/walk strategy to conserve strength but Beth McCluskey was like a metronome and just kept chipping away at the hill until she was at the top. She ran the whole thing. Sometimes a hike is the best option for a competitor but it wasn't unrunnable.

In other IMRA races I have a deliberate policy of walking before I *have* to. Works for me!

Totally agree, Croghanmoira was 100 percent runnable, the descent on both sides is less technical than the descent through the switchbacks of the miners from WAR back in April. Both sides of Croghanmoira allowed for some really speedy descending.

Fluboy, if its descending thats holding you back you just need more time in the hills, switch the old brain off on descents and go for it...Dont imply that an event is unsafe of too difficult just because you underestimated the challenge of the race...The organisers did a fantastic job on the day - The course was as described and the event was very well run. Savage day out:)

The full set of photos from Croaghanmoira are up on Action Photography's site
    here

• Registered Users Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

Enduro wrote: »
    CLEC : Usually on in July. The traditional format here is teams of 3, but there was pairs last year as well. A classic race, taking anything from 3.5 to 8 or 9 hours to finish. The mountain biking is outstanding, and always brings a huge grin to even the most experience rider's face. Good running, and a short kayaking section on Sit on Tops as well. Course is marked, so theoretically no Nav is required. Post race party is legendary. The sole road bike race is completely pointless, as it misses the best reason to do the event (the mountain biking. In summary, if you can do GF/ROAR/WAR, then you can do this. Similar distances, but with MTBing instead of road biking (Take note earsandsmile!!!)

Cant believe i never heard about this race, i couldnt design one suited to me better myself:D

Ill defo be doing this nexy year, roll on 2011:D

• Registered Users Posts: 481 ✭✭trinewbie

4 stars (good)
    The full set of photos from Croaghanmoira are up on Action Photography's site
    here

Thanks SJ - is it possible to get an original soft copy of one of the pics?

trinewbie wrote: »
    Thanks SJ - is it possible to get an original soft copy of one of the pics?

On condition that you were running when I snapped you :D. Sent you a PM...