Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Opinions on Payout structure

• 15-09-2008 6:50pm
    Registered Users Posts: 679 ✭✭✭

As per title of the thread, I'm looking for opinions on the proposed payout structure. I’m running a tournament with 80 players max and we wish to pay the top 10% of the field. The buy in is €63 + 7 and I am hoping to get some feedback on the payout structure before I circulate it to the players that have registered.

Place – Percentage – Payout*

1st: 30% €1,512
    2nd: 20% €1,008
    3rd: 12% €605
    4th: 10% €504
    5th: 8% €403
    6th: 6.5% €328
    7th: 5.5% €277
    8th: 4.5% €227
    9th: 3.5% €176

100% €5,040*

*Payout based on 80 players x €63 = €5,040

There will be 10 players at each table as we start. As the structure pays 9 players, I was thinking it would be better if we played down to 9 players, so that everyone at the final table would be paid..

Suggestions and opinions would be very welcome.

Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

Fine well spread out ( Make it easier on yourself and just round them off)

Neill

• Registered Users Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Round the prizes off so that youre not stuck giving out coins.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭DAMO72

round all the figures down and you can pay 10th €60 . the breakdown is fine otherwise

• Registered Users Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

bohsman wrote: »
    Round the prizes off so that youre not stuck giving out coins.

Was editing when u wrote , Great minds think alike . See u in Killarney Oscar will be in touch this week . U are running one of the events

Neill

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 218 ✭✭CelticPhantom

A prize breakdown that I would consider fair would be based on the table below. Note that I would also round the numbers to the nearest €10.

Players|<7|8-20|21-30|31-40|41-50|51-100|101-150|150+
    Places
    1st|66.67%|50.00%|45.00%|40.00%|34.00%|30.00%|12.50%|9.52%
    2nd|33.33%|30.00%|25.00%|24.00%|20.00%|20.00%|11.67%|9.05%
    3rd| |20.00%|17.50%|16.00%|15.00%|12.50%|10.83%|8.57%
    4th| | |12.50%|12.00%|10.00%|9.00%|10.00%|8.10%
    5th| | | |8.00%|7.50%|8.00%|9.17%|7.62%
    6th| | | | |6.00%|6.50%|8.33%|7.14%
    7th| | | | |5.00%|5.00%|7.50%|6.67%
    8th| | | | |2.50%|4.00%|6.67%|6.19%
    9th| | | | | |3.00%|5.83%|5.71%
    10th| | | | | |2.00%|5.00%|5.24%
    11th| | | | | | |4.17%|4.76%
    12th| | | | | | |3.33%|4.29%
    13th| | | | | | |2.50%|3.81%
    14th| | | | | | |1.67%|3.33%
    15th| | | | | | |0.83%|2.86%
    16th| | | | | | | |2.38%
    17th| | | | | | ||1.90%
    18th| | | | | | | |1.43%
    19th| | | | | | | |0.95%
    20th| | | | | | | |0.48%

Based on 80 players paying €63 into the prize pool this would give prize breakdown as follows :

Place|%|€|........|Your %|Your €
    1st|30%|€1,520| |30%|€1,512
    2nd|20%|€1,010| |20%|€1,008
    3rd|12.5%|€630| |12%|€605
    4th|9%|€450| |10%|€504
    5th|8%|€400| |8%|€403
    6th|6.5%|€330| |6.5%|€328
    7th|5%|€250| |5.5%|€277
    8th|4%|€200| |4.5%|€227
    9th|3%|€150| |3.5%|€176
    10th|2%|€100| | |
    |100%|€5,040| |100%|€5,040

Note that this should not be taken as gospel. I too would like feed back on the values in the table above.

Sometimes tournament pay a "flatter" structure to ensure that more money is given to the people in lower places. In this case I would skim some money in order to ensure that 10th place gets at least twice their buy in. i.e. 10th = €130 - Let 1st = €1,500, 2nd = €1,000.

As it is our numbers are fairly similar, so you could go with your intial idea and just round the numbers to the nearest €10.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 482 ✭✭Mont

A prize breakdown that I would consider fair would be based on the table below. Note that I would also round the numbers to the nearest €10.

Players|<7|8-20|21-30|31-40|41-50|51-100|101-150|150+
    Places
    1st|66.67%|50.00%|45.00%|40.00%|34.00%|30.00%|12.50%|9.52%
    2nd|33.33%|30.00%|25.00%|24.00%|20.00%|20.00%|11.67%|9.05%
    3rd| |20.00%|17.50%|16.00%|15.00%|12.50%|10.83%|8.57%
    4th| | |12.50%|12.00%|10.00%|9.00%|10.00%|8.10%
    5th| | | |8.00%|7.50%|8.00%|9.17%|7.62%
    6th| | | | |6.00%|6.50%|8.33%|7.14%
    7th| | | | |5.00%|5.00%|7.50%|6.67%
    8th| | | | |2.50%|4.00%|6.67%|6.19%
    9th| | | | | |3.00%|5.83%|5.71%
    10th| | | | | |2.00%|5.00%|5.24%
    11th| | | | | | |4.17%|4.76%
    12th| | | | | | |3.33%|4.29%
    13th| | | | | | |2.50%|3.81%
    14th| | | | | | |1.67%|3.33%
    15th| | | | | | |0.83%|2.86%
    16th| | | | | | | |2.38%
    17th| | | | | | ||1.90%
    18th| | | | | | | |1.43%
    19th| | | | | | | |0.95%
    20th| | | | | | | |0.48%

Based on 80 players paying €63 into the prize pool this would give prize breakdown as follows :

4th|9%|€450| |10%|€504
    5th|8%|€400| |8%|€403
    7th|5%|€250| |5.5%|€277
    8th|4%|€200| |4.5%|€227
    9th|3%|€150| |3.5%|€176
    10th|2%|€100| | |

Note that this should not be taken as gospel. I too would like feed back on the values in the table above.

Sometimes tournament pay a "flatter" structure to ensure that more money is given to the people in lower places. In this case I would skim some money in order to ensure that 10th place gets at least twice their buy in. i.e. 10th = €130 - Let 1st = €1,500, 2nd = €1,000.

As it is our numbers are fairly similar, so you could go with your intial idea and just round the numbers to the nearest €10.

Paying out 1st place between 9% and 13% for a tournament that has more than 100 people is horrendous - 1st place should get a minimum of 25% no matter how many are playing - we should reward the winners and not the losers - people are getting too miserly regards payouts, preferring flatter payouts - fair enough 10% getting paid but i would like to think there is a massive difference between coming 10th and coming 1st

• Registered Users Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Mont wrote: »
    i would like to think there is a massive difference between coming 10th and coming 1st

who can flip better? :P

• Registered Users Posts: 338 ✭✭ElectraBlue

4th|9%|€450| |10%|€504
    5th|8%|€400| |8%|€403
    7th|5%|€250| |5.5%|€277
    8th|4%|€200| |4.5%|€227
    9th|3%|€150| |3.5%|€176
    10th|2%|€100| | |

It's a decent pay out for a €70 tournament!

Having the same payout structure for 50 and a 100 people is terrible aswell, no way would I pay 10 in a 50 runner tourney.

Mont wrote: »
    Paying out 1st place between 9% and 13% for a tournament that has more than 100 people is horrendous - 1st place should get a minimum of 25% no matter how many are playing - we should reward the winners and not the losers - people are getting too miserly regards payouts, preferring flatter payouts - fair enough 10% getting paid but i would like to think there is a massive difference between coming 10th and coming 1st
    Just looking at the prizes for first place. There is a massive drop after 50 runners:eek:
    bohsman wrote: »
    Having the same payout structure for 50 and a 100 people is terrible aswell, no way would I pay 10 in a 50 runner tourney.
    Would you pay 8 in a 50 runner tourney?

Thanks for the feedback lads. I will revisit this and try to streamline (unflatten) the payouts better. Hopefully have this up later on today.

Latest breakdown :

Players|<7|8-20|21-30|31-40|41-50|51-60|61-70|71-80|81-100
    Places
    1st|66.67%|50.00%|45.00%|40.00%|37.50%|34.50%|33.00%|32.50%|32.00%
    2nd|33.33%|30.00%|25.00%|24.00%|23.00%|22.00%|21.00%|20.75%|20.50%
    3rd| |20.00%|17.50%|16.00%|16.00%|15.00%|14.00%|14.00%|13.50%
    4th| | |12.50%|12.00%|11.00%|10.00%|10.00%|9.25%|9.00%
    5th| | | |8.00%|7.50%|7.50%|7.00%|7.00%|6.50%
    6th| | | | |5.00%|6.00%|6.00%|5.50%|5.25%
    7th| | | | | |5.00%|5.00%|4.50%|4.25%
    8th| | | | | | |4.00%|3.50%|3.50%
    9th| | | | | | | |3.00%|3.00%
    10th| | | | | | | | |2.50%

This would give :
    Place|New %|New €|....|Old%|Old€|........|Your %|Your €
    1st|32.50%|€1,630||30%|€1,520| |30%|€1,512
    2nd|20.75%|€1,050||20%|€1,010| |20%|€1,008
    3rd|14.00%|€710||12.5%|€630| |12%|€605
    4th|9.25%|€460||9%|€450| |10%|€504
    5th|7.00%|€350||8%|€400| |8%|€403
    6th|5.50%|€280||6.5%|€330| |6.5%|€328
    7th|4.50%|€230||5%|€250| |5.5%|€277
    8th|3.50%|€180||4%|€200| |4.5%|€227
    9th|3%|€150| |3.5%|€176
    10th|| | |
    |100%|€5,040| |100%|€5,040||100%|€5,040

You could also skim from 1st, 2nd and 3rd if you want to pay 10th place.
    I.E. 1st = €1,600, 2nd = €1,000, 3rd = €700, 4th = €450 and 10th = €100.

Would you pay 8 in a 50 runner tourney?

Depends on my angle, if I want people playing a cash game after, yes the more the merrier. Ideally Id always pay 10% but I know a lot of players want more paid so Id usually pay 12% or so - anything under 100 runners would be 10%+1 paid.