Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

October 2015 Babies Club

• Registered Users Posts: 222 ✭✭orlyice

I am similar to you Nono, haven't had morning sickness. I suffer from depression and as soon as I found out I was pregnant My consultant took me off my medication straightaway which had me very sick for the past 10 days. So it's only now I know what are pregnancy symptoms and what were due to the meds. TBH Being pregnant is better for my depression than any medication.

No morning sickness yet, long may it continue for us ��

My mam rang me this morning to tell me to be very careful today seeing as it's Friday the 13th! ��

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭nono2012

Aw you gotta love the mammies :) I got an ear-load of advice from mine yesterday :) O that's great that you have no sickness either, thought there was something wrong with me..
    :( These pregnancies are a happy time in all our lives and long may that feeling last :) ..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭spottybananas

nono2012 wrote: »
    O that's great that you have no sickness either, thought there was something wrong with me.. :(

Not everyone gets sickness/nausea, about 75% do so 25% don't, I didn't get any vomiting, fair bit of nausea earlier on but never got sick. Actually out of 6 pregnancies close to me (including me) this year only one had actual vomiting.

Hopefully I will stay in the 25% group!!!! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

I haven't had any vomitting either, but I was standing in the queue in the supermarket yesterday and I thought I was going to puke everywhere.... I was in a complete panic (to myself).

I have just switched my consultant and secured an appointment with a new consultant. Reason being, when I did further research on my original consultant and also when I told my GP who I was attending, she made a face. So that was out.

Still can't get over this tiredness!! :eek:

cruais wrote: »
    I haven't had any vomitting either, but I was standing in the queue in the supermarket yesterday and I thought I was going to puke everywhere.... I was in a complete panic (to myself).

I have just switched my consultant and secured an appointment with a new consultant. Reason being, when I did further research on my original consultant and also when I told my GP who I was attending, she made a face. So that was out.

Still can't get over this tiredness!! :eek:

I would be the same if I heard something negative about the consultant, especially on the first. Hope ur new one has good rep :) also fair play for not puking. Oh bring on trimester 2 and all the energy that is rumoured to accompany it!

Is anyone thinking of having an early scan? Or has anyone had one on a previous pregnancy? Any thought/opinions? I would love to know my dates, I'm somewhere between 5-6 approx (GP guessed from hcg levels) and 7.5 weeks using dates. I presume a scan would be way more accurate? My first scan is the 18th March so I could wait for that but I have no patience! It's not that far away!

orlyice wrote: »
    I would be the same if I heard something negative about the consultant, especially on the first. Hope ur new one has good rep :) also fair play for not puking. Oh bring on trimester 2 and all the energy that is rumoured to accompany it!

Is anyone thinking of having an early scan? Or has anyone had one on a previous pregnancy? Any thought/opinions? I would love to know my dates, I'm somewhere between 5-6 approx (GP guessed from hcg levels) and 7.5 weeks using dates. I presume a scan would be way more accurate? My first scan is the 18th March so I could wait for that but I have no patience! It's not that far away!

My first scan is scheduled for March 4th which will make me around the 8/9 week mark. If its something you are thinking of, well then I would say go for it.

I just really wanted one for reassurance purposes :)

• Registered Users Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Typer Monkey

I have a private scan booked for the 23rd feb. I'll be almost 9 weeks. I'm very impatient so just don't want to wait til my first appointment on the 16/03. I'm starting to show so I reckon I'll have to tell work soon so I just want reassurance that everything is developing ok before I do. I'm a gaurd in a specialist unit where there is no light duties so there'll be a big hoopla and I'll have to move stations as soon as I tell my boss. It'd be very difficult if I did all that and then the pregnancy wasn't developing so I just want the reassurance before I do.

My first scan is scheduled for March 4th which will make me around the 8/9 week mark. If its something you are thinking of, well then I would say go for it.

I just really wanted one for reassurance purposes :)

Wow cruais, that's no distance away! You won't feel that coming around. Really exciting. Which hospital are you going to?

yea I want one for reassurance too, hmmm will have to chat to the hubbie about it later. He doesn't see the point in going a few weeks before our actual scan. Rang MD ultrasound in Limerick today, told them the situation and they said I could come at the end of next week.

I have a private scan booked for the 23rd feb. I'll be almost 9 weeks. I'm very impatient so just don't want to wait til my first appointment on the 16/03. I'm starting to show so I reckon I'll have to tell work soon so I just want reassurance that everything is developing ok before I do. I'm a gaurd in a specialist unit where there is no light duties so there'll be a big hoopla and I'll have to move stations as soon as I tell my boss. It'd be very difficult if I did all that and then the pregnancy wasn't developing so I just want the reassurance before I do.

Wow, that really soon! Pity about having the upheaval of changing stations and that there is no light duties. I work for the guards too but am a civilian so all I have to worry about is carrying too much paperwork!

Do you mind me asking, did you need a referral from your gp? I spoke to place in Limerick about a scan and they wanted a referral letter, is that the norm? They also cost €120 which seems to be the norm.

No GP letter required. I'm getting it done in a private local women's health clinic for €100. I just did a Google and they popped up.

orlyice wrote: »
    Wow cruais, that's no distance away! You won't feel that coming around. Really exciting. Which hospital are you going to?

yea I want one for reassurance too, hmmm will have to chat to the hubbie about it later. He doesn't see the point in going a few weeks before our actual scan. Rang MD ultrasound in Limerick today, told them the situation and they said I could come at the end of next week.

Im going to Holles Street in Dublin, I have heard good reports about it so am hoping for a good experience also! ;)

I am not going with a separate company for the early scan. It is part of my consultant fees, and it was given as an option as its no extra cost so I jumped at that.

Its my first pregnancy, so I am all eyes and ears to everything! :)

I am the same in regards my job. I cannot work at my current role whilst I am pregnant and so as soon as I tell the boss, I will be moved to another department which I am not looking forward to and so, like you, am trying to keep it to myself for as long as possible!

• Registered Users Posts: 807 ✭✭✭poconnor16

I've only rely started in my role, there about 5 months...dreading telling them. If I start to show I might have to tell them earlier. I'm paranoid that I won't me made permanent which is silly I know.

I am the same in regards my job. I cannot work at my current role whilst I am pregnant and so as soon as I tell the boss, I will be moved to another department which I am not looking forward to and so, like you, am trying to keep it to myself for as long as possible!

Yeah it's a difficult balance isn't it? Of course I don't want to be doing risky things but it's part of the job and as soon as I tell my sergeant he's responsible for my safety and immediately puts you on light duties so it's obvious to everyone. The 12 week secrecy thing is tough in our types of jobs really.

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Well, morning sickness just kicked in today (6 weeks) :( I thought I'd evaded it...! Well, I haven't puked, but just nausea, not ideal in work.

Anyone else getting food cravings? I went through a phase of craving Coca Cola for a few days (never touched the stuff before), then toast and now I just want something salty. Also went completely off milk in any form- even in tea :(

• Registered Users Posts: 14 MsGrumpy

I have been suffering from nausea for the last few days, only a few hours in the morning. Hopefully it doesn't turn into being sick, I've just started a new job so I don't want to be taking time off.

The only craving I have is for mayonnaise, I cant get enough of it. Ive started drinking alot of water, I feel like I'm dehydrated all the time. Other than that everything is good. Still waiting for my hospital appointment.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭heldel00

Delighted to say I'm part of the club girlies! Due 10th October.
    Did a test on Friday and was with the doc this afternoon. Married last June and this is first so to say we are excited is an understatement!
    Feeling 100% thank god. Told my family this eve but not saying another word to others for few weeks.
    Still doesn't seem real!

• Registered Users Posts: 807 ✭✭✭poconnor16

Congrats Heldel00 and welcome! Is this your first? Exiting times, enjoy it 😊
    Cravings - salty and savoury, just rubbish really. And lots of water. I'm gone right off cereal, think it's the milk.
    I'm 5 weeks and I was a teeny bit queasy today...last time it didn't kick in untill 8 weeks.
    Sucking in mint humbugs right now, great for the sick feeling!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭heldel00

poconnor16 wrote: »
    Congrats Heldel00 and welcome! Is this your first? Exiting times, enjoy it 😊
    Cravings - salty and savoury, just rubbish really. And lots of water. I'm gone right off cereal, think it's the milk.
    I'm 5 weeks and I was a teeny bit queasy today...last time it didn't kick in untill 8 weeks.
    Sucking in mint humbugs right now, great for the sick feeling!

Yeah it's our first and first grandchild on both sides so will just be carnage! :D

Hi Ladies :) Congrats and welcome Heldel00 :) SO I got my app for Limerick, Its just my first 8 week app to make future appointments and get to know our families medical history, No scan just bloods etc. First Scan should be limk and then onto Ennis for all the other appointments :) excited and nervous.. still no sickness yet but I hit the 6 week mark tomorrow so hoping I wil stay that way :)

• Registered Users Posts: 27 hawii50

Hi all
    I hope you don't mind me joining the party! Found out last week that I am due on the 8th of October, very excited. It will be our first so we are both over the moon. My hubby lives in another country and we take turns travelling each weekend to see each other so this is extra special as it will allow us to spend 6 months in the same country! Congratulations to you all btw! Exciting times!

• Registered Users Posts: 57 ✭✭Bingwhoosh

Hi all, looks like i'm joining in too. Just tested positive this morning so by my reckoning will be due 24th of October. This will be our second with our first lg turning 2 the beginning of October. Fun times ahead!!

Woohoo Congrats Bingwhoosh and welcome :)

• Registered Users Posts: 207 ✭✭venusdoom

Hi girls, congrats to all. Im joining the club too, wont get to go to docs till fri though. Feeling so tired and dizzy already, not to mention the boobs! Ouch! Completely feels different to my last pregnancy already. All going well I should be due 22nd oct.Looking forward to chatting and moaning with you all! :-)

Great to see this thread getting more frequent posts!

Getting busy here now, congratulations heldel00, hawii50, bingwhoosh and venusdoom, the more the merrier :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 Elly_Welly

I'm almost 7 weeks and finally found a doctor who's willing to see me next week. Apparently it's because doctors here want women to pass the most 'dangerous' stage of pregnancy before they start providing care. I'm starting to put together a list of questions to ask her, not sure where to begin...!

Feeling terribly nauseous all the time :( I'm currently living on a diet of crackers, rice cakes and fruit! Doesn't help that my work colleagues insist on eating cheesy toasties and egg sandwiches beside me :S Company dinner is coming up late next week- all you can eat... eep!

Elly_Welly wrote: »
    I'm almost 7 weeks and finally found a doctor who's willing to see me next week. Apparently it's because doctors here want women to pass the most 'dangerous' stage of pregnancy before they start providing care. I'm starting to put together a list of questions to ask her, not sure where to begin...!

Feeling terribly nauseous all the time :( I'm currently living on a diet of crackers, rice cakes and fruit! Doesn't help that my work colleagues insist on eating cheesy toasties and egg sandwiches beside me :S Company dinner is coming up late next week- all you can eat... eep!

You're right about smells. They are starting to get to me too now. The girl at the desk in front of me, sprays herself with body spray every 30mins, which is making me gag sitting at my desk. I can't say anything to her as nobody knows yet, but come on! How much spray do you need lady!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭spottybananas

Elly_Welly wrote: »

There's not a whole lot that happens or needs to be done before 12 weeks anyway, I only went 2 weeks after I found out (at 6 weeks) to get the hospital referral started, if it wasn't for that I would've left it until around 10-12 weeks myself to go. What questions do you have? People here can probably help with pregnancy related ones, unless it's specific to where you are living and what hospital you are going to.