Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Did the celtic tiger kill ireland

13»

• Registered Users Posts: 18,064 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

the_syco wrote: »
    I remember when pints were about £2.50, and you could get 4 pints of Guinness, a bag of Tayto, and get change from a tenner.

Ah the good old days, when you'd get a free bag of Tayto with 4 pints.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Boombastic wrote: »
    I agree with the OP. Even in the recession in the 80's, we were happy and had the craic.

Some rose tinted glasses you have there.

Times were a lot worse back then despite what Joe Duffy and his misery porn will tell you

• Registered Users Posts: 879 ✭✭✭risteard7

old hippy wrote: »
    There's nothing like a bit of bleary eyed revisionism, xenephobia and the like to make you yearn for yesteryear :rolleyes:

Where's the chap who says he's ready for the accusations of racism gone? Has he emigrated?
    How many polish people claim social welfare in Ireland and are on the social housing list? Switch it around and how many Irish are in Poland? Very few id say

I think other nationalities should have to go to there respective embassy for financial assistance should they need it. When the Celtic tiger ended the immigrants didn't go back home like many thought they would so the Irish taxpayer is left to foot the social welfare bill.

Would there be so many young unemployed in Ireland without immigration no i don't think so. A lot of the lower paid retail, hotel jobs etc are taken. A person who was born here should have the first choice. I have worked these jobs i know what its like. In 20 years time we will be like the uk is.

Peolpe then say "what about the irish abroad" In Aus or America lets say, you have to work or your in the gutter you cant just stay there or are entitled to benefits. When your visa is up your gone.

I am not totally against immigration but it needs to be capped. btw i only used poland as an example

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

Ireland is messed up but its all going to get better in about 10 years time. Wait and see.

I am pie wrote: »
    5 pints and drive home....I hope to god you never ever do this again on any road anywhere.

Believe it or not, but there was a time in the early 80's when even the annual Christmas anti drink driving campaign on TV stated explicitly that it was perfectly acceptable to drink and drive.

The campaign said they would prefer if you didn't do it, but if you absolutely "had to"(!?!) then the slogan went "if you do.... just two will do!". Shocking to think that was as recent as about '83 or even '84 I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

People only seemed to be fapping their money away, so no great loss!

New shoots are emerging.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

That's not true at all.

The Tiger died on 2001/2002. That's when the housing market ponzi scheme started to take off.

there never was a tiger.

its like the emperors new clothes - people "pretending" to see them when they weren't there at all.

No celtic tiger in ireland - ever. Anyone that says there was needs to re-read the emperors new clothes as they didn't understand it the first time. :D

I am pie wrote: »
    5 pints and drive home....I hope to god you never ever do this again on any road anywhere.

You might think you're grand after 2 pints, but you aren't. You would be irresponsible, over the limit and driving with impaired reactions. The fact that all you can talk about is having a fag and a few pints says fck all really about Ireland. Is that what we should aspire to? A fckin fag and a few pints.

Fck sake cop on.

you get up on the wrong side of the bed or something? People DID drink and drive - it was allowed. life didn't start when you were born you know.

The E.U happened. The experience of Europe under a United currency, a centralised policy forum and stifling red-tape killed almost every country it has touched. I would struggle to name one country today that has its original character left, or an iota of individualism, or a happy populace, as a result of E.U membership. It has been a disaster. See Greece, Spain, France, Italy, Ireland, etc etc for examples.

The Euro has pretty much also blighted every country it has touched. It is the Mcdonaldisation of europe - everywheres becoming samey, square and rule-ridden. Unemployment is rife and devastating, the rich are ever richer and the poor ever poorer. And more people are poor. The ability to survive by doing nixers or operating in the black economy is gone for the normal people, strangled by rules and regulations. Our governments say this is good. I say it is bad, and will get worse. People need to get by, it's sort of the point of life.

Someone will be on in a minute to mention how bad the catholic church was. I'll fail to see the relevance and will agree to disagree.

can't agree with anything you said there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

risteard7 wrote: »
    Would there be so many young unemployed in Ireland without immigration no i don't think so. A lot of the lower paid retail, hotel jobs etc are taken. A person who was born here should have the first choice. I have worked these jobs i know what its like. In 20 years time we will be like the uk is.

Can you translate Japanese? In that case, I'm sorry my wife took your job.

Can you teach art? In that case, I'm sorry my mom took your job.

In 20 years you will never be like the UK because you are a bigot. Your type will be consigned to the bitter bins of history and Ireland will be all the better for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭Seanachai

old hippy wrote: »
    Can you translate Japanese? In that case, I'm sorry my wife took your job.

Can you teach art? In that case, I'm sorry my mom took your job.

In 20 years you will never be like the UK because you are a bigot. Your type will be consigned to the bitter bins of history and Ireland will be all the better for it.

I think Risteard was referring to service industry jobs not specialist/professional jobs which traditonally had a more diverse makeup anyway. There does seem to be a lot of immigrants employed in the service industry and unskilled/semi-skilled labour and while it's their right as EU citizens to fill these positions there should at least be a study to see if there is an imbalance in the recruitment of native Irish citizens.

There's nothing bigoted about wanting immigration capped to a healthy balanced level where it doesn't negatively affect the country. Some of the more ruthless Irish employers like to exploit immigrants also and can basically work them to the bone without much protest whereas they would be less likely to get away with it employing Irish people. I've seen this myself in construction and other jobs where the employer basically used them as paid slaves controlling almost everything in their lives , accomodation , transport etc.

It's lower class Ireland that is affected the most. The others are oblivious to whats going on because they have their high end jobs which immigrants dont compete for.

The immigration policies need to change. Why should any tom, dick or harry be allowed fly in on a plane who, lets be honest coulnt give a toss about Ireland compete 50/50 with irish people?

Seanachai wrote: »
    I think Risteard was referring to service industry jobs not specialist/professional jobs which traditonally had a more diverse makeup anyway. There does seem to be a lot of immigrants employed in the service industry and unskilled/semi-skilled labour and while it's their right as EU citizens to fill these positions there should at least be a study to see if there is an imbalance in the recruitment of native Irish citizens.

There's nothing bigoted about wanting immigration capped to a healthy balanced level where it doesn't negatively affect the country. Some of the more ruthless Irish employers like to exploit immigrants also and can basically work them to the bone without much protest whereas they would be less likely to get away with it employing Irish people. I've seen this myself in construction and other jobs where the employer basically used them as paid slaves controlling almost everything in their lives , accomodation , transport etc.

Yea I welcome immigration as long as its capped. lets be honest we have a very attractive social welfare system too. People are still comming here yet were bankrupt and have high unemployment? I wonder why. We are being taken advantage of left right and center. And anybody who thinks differently needs to get off their high horses.

If the irish taxpayer is happy to keep funding this thats fair enough.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

risteard7 wrote: »
    Yea I welcome immigration as long as its capped. lets be honest we have a very attractive social welfare system too. People are still comming here yet were bankrupt and have high unemployment? I wonder why. We are being taken advantage of left right and center. And anybody who thinks differently needs to get off their high horses.

If the irish taxpayer is happy to keep funding this thats fair enough.

No, you're not being taken advantage of. And your culture remains intact. Relax.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭Seanachai

I think that healthy immigration is great for cultural exchange , some new blood in the gene pool etc. We can be a lot more diverse in our makeup ourselves than we might think anyway. I do get nostalgic for the stronger sense of community that we had even back in the early 90's and I miss the slower , less materialistic way of life. I didn't go for the flash lifestyle , cars , houses etc during the boom it's just not the way I am even if I had lots of money. Sitting in one of the celtic tiger overlit glass tabled bars is not a good night out for me.

I also realise that things are always changing and if a culture is strong then it's not going to die because of a crazy economic period. It's more of a personal thing anyway and the individual will stay true to their roots and heritage if they want to. If they hate everything about old Ireland and just want to live in a mcmansion or plush apartment and avail of all the convenience and luxury of modern life then so be it. Too much convenience is not living for me personally , I like places and people to have character and soul and the celtic tiger seems to have taken some of that away.

People that are money driven and predujiced against people who don't follow their ethos don't interest me , it's like Damo Dempsey sings , 'I don't care about your house , I don't care about your mansion....'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

Look at NYC. The crime rate was out of control for several decades. Central park was no go zone, upper Manhattan and lower were both crumbling. The city ended up filling for bankruptcy.

Now it is one of the safest, modern and wealthiest cities in all of the USA. Partly down to Bloomberg the mayor. He is one of Americas greatest business men. We need a business man/ women running the country and get it back in shape. Not some teacher or someone from labour ( who do things to please the unions and the "working people" but screw anyone with a decent job).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

hfallada wrote: »
    Look at NYC. The crime rate was out of control for several decades. Central park was no go zone, upper Manhattan and lower were both crumbling. The city ended up filling for bankruptcy.

Now it is one of the safest, modern and wealthiest cities in all of the USA. Partly down to Bloomberg the mayor. He is one of Americas greatest business men. We need a business man/ women running the country and get it back in shape. Not some teacher or someone from labour ( who do things to please the unions and the "working people" but screw anyone with a decent job).

Surely Giuliani, a former lawyer, would surely get more credit for turning around New York with his policy of zero tolerance then Bloomberg would.

Interestingly enough, according to wikipedia:
    Giuliani supported protection for illegal immigrants. He continued a policy of preventing city employees from contacting the Immigration and Naturalization Service about immigration violations, on the grounds that illegal aliens should be able to take actions such as sending their children to school or reporting crimes to the police without fear of deportation

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rudy_Giuliani

• Registered Users Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

So, it's bye bye, Ms Hibernian Pie,

Galway races, fascinators,

Now, the river's run dry,

Good old boys day-drinkin' Merlot wine,

Singin': get the f*cking money in! get the f*cking money in!

• Registered Users Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Freddy Smelly

If you hang on for a bit, someone who cares will be along in a minute. Probably.

sorry noone will be along due to budget cuts but you are more than welcome to wait die on this trolley in the meantime