Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

That fancy youtube thing! - Music for Oulwans 'n' Oulfellas

• Registered Users Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭Rubecula

Psychodelic trousers time

WHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA :eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,357 ✭✭✭cml387

In full, the farewell concert by The Seekers, shown on the BBC on 7 July 1968.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,007 ✭✭✭✭looksee

The Seekers farewell -

Dress - check
    Hair - check
    Memories - definitely!

thanks for that!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,631 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Just back from London. I'm still overawed by the stageshow.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭BrensBenz

trashcan wrote: »
    Written by Graham Gouldman of 10CC fame, trivia fans.

I knew that! Does that make me a sad case?

Saw a very interesting programme about the Hollies last week. Did'ja know that most of their recordings were done in Abbey Road studios? There was a lot of toing and froing, during sessions, with the members of another, well-known beat combo.

And did'ja know that "Long Cool Woman in a Black Dress" was written by their lead singer, Allan Clarke, who also played the rather difficult guitar intro because their lead guitarist, Tony Hicks, couldn't quite get it right?

And did'ja know that the recording of the steel drums on "Carrie Anne" was so off key that all sorts of 1960's boffinry was needed to use the recording?

Oh, so much information, so little time to tell yiz!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭Jellybaby1

Brens you sound just like himself. Y'suck up all this useless information and spew it out whenever the fancy takes you. :D Maybe you are himself in disguise!

Jellybaby1 wrote: »
    Brens you sound just like himself. Y'suck up all this useless information and spew it out whenever the fancy takes you. :D Maybe you are himself in disguise!

Useless informa........USELESS inf??????? Whoh??

Lucky I didn't start on The Searchers or Brian Poole and the Tremeloes or Creedence Clearwater Revival. I could fill forums with vital data on those three.

Did'ja know that John C. Fogarty of CCR wrote the Status Quo classic, "Rockin' All Over The World"? Useless information!?!?! Hhrrumfff!

What's Mr. Jellybaby's specialist subject? Bet I could whup him in a quiz about wood-turning chisels or oil filter removal tools.

BrensBenz wrote: »
    ....What's Mr. Jellybaby's specialist subject? Bet I could whup him in a quiz about wood-turning chisels or oil filter removal tools.

His specialist subject is usually music/bands/singers from 60's, 70's, 80's. He regularly amazes me with useless information about who the lead guitarist was in which band, before so-and-so, and what type of guitar he played, and how many Weetabix he ate for breakfast!! He often comes out with useless information on people I've long forgotten. Still doesn't remember the ould weddin' anniversary mind! :rolleyes: And yes, you could definitely whup him in a wood-turning competition, but I don't believe that would bother him at all.

Is there anything more irritating than listening to a radio DJ talking all over your favourite bit, when the pesky singer takes a break, usually the intro or the outro? Today, some criminally untalented airhead DJ on FM radio, in love with her acquired Cavan / Kansas accent, insisted on telling me some useless information about herself while drowning out all of Dennis Wilson's masterpiece intro.

Just in case any of yiz were equally appalled by this.....this.....this DJ, I've attached a link. The intro lasts just 10 seconds or so but takes effect within 3 or 4 seconds, i.e. faster than any known pharmaceutical.

"Da dum Ta, Da dum Ta, Da dum Ta, Da dumdum Ta"....

Ahhhhhh, that's better.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8fUyRp0NEzo

Just found this and it's magic! Part of a Beach Boys concert in 1964.

Five handsome, clean cut, clean shaven kids, in matching clothes, matching Fender guitars, simple pop music with great vocal harmonies (see Surfer Girl and In My Room), all from the troubled genius Brian Wilson (the tall one with the bass guitar, singing falsetto), Mike Love doing the Watusi, playing to an audience of enthralled kids and a few bemused parents.

Made my day! Feel free to mock.....I'm not listening to yiz!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bGp1a4O29oI

Yep, I liked the B.Boys, except for one song......Good Vibrations! I make no apology, I never took to it. Clean cut, maybe, but I can't forgive chewing gum while you sing to me.....yuck! disgusting! I don't want to see what you have been chewing. :mad:

Yep, I liked the B.Boys, except for one song......Good Vibrations! :mad:

This must be a banning offence? With possible legal, ethical, medical and ecumenical repercussions too!

"Don't like Good Vibrations"?!?!? Janey Mac! Car 54, where are you? Break out the handcuffs and bring this......this......person to the Eye and Ear Hostible for an emergency lugs checkup.

Did'ja know that Brian (genius) Wilson engineered most of their recordings (between nervous breakdowns) but was so deaf in one ear that he couldn't hear stereo? Unlike Mozart, Beethoven and that lot, he could "hear" four part harmonies in his head but even "Good Vibrations" was originally recorded in mono because of his hearing handicap.

Good to see him looking well on that BBC 4 (TV) space filler based on "God Only Knows".

"Don't like Good Vibrations"?!?!? Janey.....Janey Mac!

Don't care whatcha say.......still don't like Good Vib! :p

Well, how about something completely different? OK, I know the quality isn't great but, for me, it conjures up a time when things were simple and pleasant. And, although I can still hear my late dad saying that Tommy Makem looked like "a right bowld bowsie" (rogue), I could listen to him for hours.

Did I ever tell yiz that I met Mr. Makem at a St.Patrick's Day Fair in Fort Worth, Texas, in 1988? In a stall selling musical instruments, I was playing something Irish on a (dreadful) metal-fronted guitar. The owner of the stall joined in (fair play to him - he never heard the tune before) and a small crowd gathered. My skin wasn't designed for Texas sun, and it showed. A Norn Arsh voice from the crowd said "one of these players isn't from Texas....and I bet I know which one!" With his big, bold grin, it was Mr. Makem.

We had a little chat and I thought he was a charming man. Later, at the concert with Liam Clancy, I was trying discreetly to get a photo of them for my parents. Makem was introducing the next song when he stopped, stared at me and told the lighting guy to point the beam at me. He muttered something about my guitar playing which I didn't really hear because, talk about "scarleh"! I was on fire, so I was! Morto.....but not quite devistahid, dough buh!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RZ0kAZJy_3o

PS: On my interweb machine, there are little icons attached to several, underlined words in bold font in the text above. They may not appear on your machine but, if they do, why not send a message of thanks to Mr. Bill Gates?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

This song used to give me the shudders, when it came on the radio on a Sunday night. It meant not long till bed and a whole week of school tomorrow.

Remember those days when there was only the one B&W TV channel.

The Youtube thingy has been disabled so: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KVZIx3tuxws

Thank you, now I'm all cuddily wuddily tucked up in bed! :)

This song used to give me the shudders, when it came on the radio on a Sunday night. It meant not long till bed and a whole week of school tomorrow.

Great / horrific memory - thanks. Cliff Adams and his Singers, with some mad flooter on accordion. Uugghhh!

When I was renovating my boat in the late 1990's, (after hours in my place of work), I usually had the radio on. "Sing Something Simple" was the starting pistol for any electrical / pneumatic tool loud enough to drown out the approaching dirges from the wurless. The bowels of the boat made a great soundbox for the tools and failing that, I had ear defenders to muffle the radio.

Oh well, it was only a half hour long and, I seem to remember it was followed by either the marvelous Pam Ayres or the one and only David Jabobs.

PS: The boss, an Ozzie, ex-military despot, had welded the hangar radio tuning knob to BBC Radio 2 because it once broadcast "Two-Way Family Favourites" and played "God Save the Queen" or, as he had it "Gud Sive the Quine" last thing at night.

Here's some fun music, with musicians making it look easy. I know it's five minutes long but it's worth it!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UGaY7E3cRa0

I wanted to send a musical gift to Brens on his recent good medical result. We saw this guy live in Dublin many years ago and we loved him, serious musicians know him well. Hope you enjoy:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=owNFDPIPoSk
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZGmTqlsUtRg
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LXtT62YT3Rc

I wanted to send a musical gift to Brens on his recent good medical result. We saw this guy live in Dublin many years ago and we loved him, serious musicians know him well. Hope you enjoy:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=owNFDPIPoSk
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZGmTqlsUtRg
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LXtT62YT3Rc

Many thanks for these - they will be in my car wurless tomorrow! Mr. Keaggy is on my list of players I listen to when I think I'm playing well. Soon puts me back in my place!

And, although he's doing the impossible, he has brain space left over to look like he's enjoying the music. (Hint at those Irish traditional players who always look either bored stiff or resentful of having to play.)

Saw him live in Dallas many years ago at a trade show! Too many yeehaw-heads there so he didn't get the attention he deserved, despite him performing a lot of gospel type songs. He's a master of hammer-ons and strange string tunings so it's difficult to copy his playing style, though Martin Simpson comes close.

Thanks again.

Slightly off topic - apologies - but I wondered where yiz stood on the latest technology debate, i.e. vinyl records versus everything else.

A vinyl-head has just given me an ear-bashing about the "superiority" of records over all other media. Won't hear of tape or CDs and laughs at MP3s. For me, vinyl means lots of clicking noises, then "Thummmmm", then cracklecracklecracklecracle, then music ruined by cracklecracklecracklecracle, then silence, some more clicking noises before silence breaks out again.

There are dozens of records in my attic, a nice old turntable and huge speakers but I couldn't be bothered using them. I've replaced most of the vinyl tracks with youtube I mean digital versions and I still regularly hear magical little flourishes, even on MP3, that vinyl kept hidden.

I remember similar stuff when FM radio arrived. "Oh, you can't beat music from the Medium Wave."

Are these vinyl-heads right? Is the sound from vinyl superior? What does "superior" mean?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,007 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I was, in my youth, given a copy of the Beatles White Album when it first came out, sadly it didn't last long - problem with vinyl. I listened and enjoyed. Many, many years later I listened to some of the music from it on Youtube and was absolutely amazed at the depth of sound I was hearing, a whole different experience. So I am with you there Brens.

looksee wrote: »
    I was, in my youth, given a copy of the Beatles White Album when it first came out, sadly it didn't last long - problem with vinyl. I listened and enjoyed. Many, many years later I listened to some of the music from it on Youtube and was absolutely amazed at the depth of sound I was hearing, a whole different experience. So I am with you there Brens.

Phew! I thought I was alone. There are lots of twiddley bits on the CD and MP3 versions of Beatles albums that were hidden by vinyl.

Nowadays, the old, dusty, delicate stylus has been replaced by a laser, thereby (pretty-well) eliminating one source of loss of detail. Amplifying digital signals is easy so perhaps the vinyl-heads have an impression of inferiority because many CD / MP3 players are supplied with poor speakers.

I took some care to attach the best speakers I could to my set-up. I care not a jot about the mockery and complaints bestowed on me simply because they're huge dust collectors - they do their job very well so be off with you, you, you rascals you!

I don't believe vinyl is 'superior', but it has what you might call a cult following by some people. I suppose its like Brens who loves his older cars, with all the mechanical bits, rather than the computer run autos we are sold today. I don't think the vinyl-heads should berate anyone for preferring modern technology, after all something will replace that in a few years time and then we will be saying our cd's and mp3's were much superior! Har har, what goes round comes round. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 12,631 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Both analog and digital systems have pros and cons. Wiki provides some pointers without demonising one side or the other.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_analog_and_digital_recording
    Truth is that if you want quality you have to spend money on it irrespective of which side of the analog/digital fence you sit. You get what you pay for.
    If I were pushed for an answer I would say that euro for euro vinyl is the more pleasing choice but I'm notoriously oldschool.
    Best solution is to use both...or just support live music. :cool:

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭0lddog

This thread went fierce serious

Anyway, in the name of a bit a nostalgia anyone not remember this ?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ENblHOxi1c4

Here is an oldie for you to smile to:

This was a protest song about decimal currency when it first became legal tender in UK:

Remember this?