Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Avoid Aprilia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,398 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

They're some chancers. Obviously they shouldn't have taken the deposit in the first place, but the whole bullshíte about getting the bike in a few days story you keep getting fed must almost be more annoying. They can at least be straight with you at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,782 ✭✭✭P.C.

P.S. Are we allowed to solicit the services of professional hitmen on this forum or is it against the charter?

It is probably against the charter, sorry.

I was in Belfast on Friday, and spoke to some of the dealers there. The difference in attitude and service to the lads down here is huge.

Crazyrabbit, another week passed. Are you driving around on a nice shiny aprillia, or are you in touch with your solicitor?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Crazyrabbit, another week passed. Are you driving around on a nice shiny aprillia, or are you in touch with your solicitor?

Solicitor. Though he's having the same trouble contacting them. A letter is on it's way out tomorrow. If no response, then we go to the courts. Had hoped to avoid that as it can get expensive and there's no guarantee of recoving costs, even when I win.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,993 ✭✭✭Wossack

sorry to hear all this crazy :(

really hope it all works out for you

• Registered Users Posts: 12,740 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Solicitor. Though he's having the same trouble contacting them. A letter is on it's way out tomorrow. If no response, then we go to the courts. Had hoped to avoid that as it can get expensive and there's no guarantee of recoving costs, even when I win.

Sorry for your trouble....unbelievable.

Actually, scratch that, its Aprilia, completely believable.....

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote: »
    Sorry for your trouble....unbelievable.

Actually, scratch that, its Aprilia, completely believable.....

Aprilia are slow..no doubt, but about 90% of the delays this time are due to Ducati Dublin. They seem incapable of transporting a bike from London to Dublin. It's been there a month now.

So the bike really does exist and is in london? Where's it being held? If it's in a crate would it be worth getting a freight company to deliver it for you?

Oh it exists all right. It's even registered here...with a licence plate waiting to be attached and all.

I'm trying to confirm the name of the place that's holding it...but since I can't get any of my calls answered, it's hard. The bike is out of the crate, so the only real transport option at the moment is a van collection.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

I wouldn't be at all surprised if this bike is actually coming from a dealer in the north.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,583 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I bought my Ducati off DD, they took a while to sort out the log book and it was very infuriating waiting for them to contact me, it actually took a thread on another biker forum being emailed to them to get their finger out.

They came through in the end though and offered me a set of tyres as a sign of goodwill. Bike had one small issue about 7 months later and I brought her up and they fixed it there and then.

The only fault I had with them is that they don't return calls, apart from that they're grand.

The bike is out of the crate, so the only real transport option at the moment is a van collection.

So much for the story they gave you about the crate not fitting in the van, then.......these guys sound more and more cowboy every day....

Btw, have you tried going around to them, in person ?

Or, writing to them, by registered post ? With a deadline for a response ?

Whatever you do, don't give them any more money til you have a bike between your legs..... I think I'd be calling it quits, tbh....

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote: »
    So much for the story they gave you about the crate not fitting in the van, then.......these guys sound more and more cowboy every day....

Btw, have you tried going around to them, in person ?

Or, writing to them, by registered post ? With a deadline for a response ?

Whatever you do, don't give them any more money til you have a bike between your legs..... I think I'd be calling it quits, tbh....

They had the bike removed from the crate after they found it wouldn't fit.

As for physically going around to them...I did that and spoke with <owner>. That's how I got the latest info. Problem is, it was just luck that I found out he was going to be in the office. 99% of the time, there is nobody there at all, and nobody answers the phone.

They had the bike removed from the crate after they found it wouldn't fit.
    ....god bless you, but.....I mean, come on......

As for physically going around to them...I did that and spoke with <owner>. That's how I got the latest info. Problem is, it was just luck that I found out he was going to be in the office. 99% of the time, there is nobody there at all, and nobody answers the phone.

Jeebus - so now what ?

Ode To The Motorist

• Registered Users Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭FGR

Fair play to you OP you have the patience of a saint.

How on Earth have you not managed to lose the plot?

Have heard these guys are gone.

Oryx wrote: »
    Have heard these guys are gone.

Just spoke to the guys from the Fiat dealership that share the same building. Basically, the closure of Ducati Dublin is 'on the cards, and will be confirmed within the next week or so'.

2nd hand information, but most likely true.

All I know is that I've paid a deposit, they have bought the bike from Aprilia and shipped it to the UK, but haven't been able to get it shipped here. So even if they are closing up shop, it makes sense to turn the bike into cold hard cash.

The word that they are already gone is doing the rounds, I heard from someone who usually has the right facts. Terrible that its so up in the air. I hope you do get some resolution.

I have to be honest though. I don't believe the story you've been told about the reason you have no bike yet. It sounds very unrealistic.

OK...went down to Ducati Dublin again.

It's official, the company is dissolved...but the owner has not declared bankruptcy.

I'm also not the only person looking for him. Seems there was another guy looking for him a few days ago because he's owed half a million!

Not sure what my options are now. Going to have to check with a solicitor on Monday. I think that if the company is dissolved by the owner, that they becomes responsible for the debts of the company if they traded recklessly, or took money/credit knowing it could not be repaid. Not sure though.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1990/en/act/pub/0033/sec0138.html#sec138

• Registered Users Posts: 13,979 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

If you can prove he took the cash when he knew the company is going under I think you can sue him, not the company. Other then that, your a un-secured creditor and you won't get squat. But for 1,000 euro I think you should just walk away. Believe me when I say this, if somebody doesn't want to pay you its impossible to get money off of them, takes a huge amount of time and eventually its bitter sweet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 simon01

Hi

Sad to see the only Ducati dealership in Ireland go bust... but I am not suprised. I tried to buy a bike off them last year, a process that started in August and ended in October and consisted of a lot of trouble on my part; dozens of phone calls etc. I was fortunate though and by chance a bike I was interested in (a black MTS 1200s) came in as a trade-in, I took it there and then. I really hope whoever traded that in got their new bike from them before all this happened.

At some point between August and October I had had given up with DD and contacted Millsport to buy a new MTS which I now own. Billy did me a very good deal on the black one which I bought in DD and delivered a brand new 2012 one to the VRT office who registered it there and then. I had no problems whatsoever and I can't recommend Millsport enough.

Two things about the above purchase that really suprised me - 1) how easy it was to deal with the VRT, delivery, revenue etc and 2) Millsport took a trade-in on my Ducati. I know it's a bit of a distance (from Dublin) but honestly it was much easier to deal them than Ducati Dublin and now that 15k (a year in my case) is the service interval it's not such a big deal to buy from the north.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 antondalli

my god wat a story!

I got myself an aprilia with a Uk reg last year. aprilia rsv 2007 Nera(black). Found it in Donegal. since then i had ordered a few parts for it from Bikeworld and they got them all correctly exepct one small part whihc they got wrong , then aprilia in italy takes a whole month of holiday in august!

but the servicing on the aprilia in bikeworld is fantastic. there is aguy ther and he does an amazing job on it everytime. wiring, lights, horn, gneral fileter service.. all of it.

parts are not cheap!!!

now I want to add some more stickers/paint on it but motorbike paintshop are never answering... does anyone know where to get stripes or stickers done somehwere in dublin please?

antondalli wrote: »
    my god wat a story!

I got myself an aprilia with a Uk reg last year. aprilia rsv 2007 Nera(black). Found it in Donegal. since then i had ordered a few parts for it from Bikeworld and they got them all correctly exepct one small part whihc they got wrong , then aprilia in italy takes a whole month of holiday in august!

but the servicing on the aprilia in bikeworld is fantastic. there is aguy ther and he does an amazing job on it everytime. wiring, lights, horn, gneral fileter service.. all of it.

parts are not cheap!!!

now I want to add some more stickers/paint on it but motorbike paintshop are never answering... does anyone know where to get stripes or stickers done somehwere in dublin please?

No idea, but could be worth giving these guys a call: http://mototechnic.ie/M1/
    Specialise in Italian bikes, a buy who used to work in Ducati Dublin runs it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,707 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

How did you pay the deposit? If its By credit card you can get yer money back

@CrazyRabbit..... Was in London, working, last week, and went to a bike shop for a gander. They sold Aprilias amongst others......anyhoo, guy pulls up on his lovely RSVR whilst I'm there, and......it keeps jumping INTO gear, from neutral, on its own......not happy.

Said he had the older Rotax V-Twin and did 40k miles on it with no trouble, but Aprilias own engine......

Ode To The Motorist

OK, I know that this is a really really old thread and necro-threading is frowned upon. But, I have one little update on the issue covered in this thread.

Have a guess what I FINALLY got this morning???

http://imgur.com/a/4JIi9#0

Yup...14 months in total since I first tried to buy this bike, and I finally have it. Do I win a prize for most patient person in Ireland?

I'll do up another post covering the full saga, and a guide on how to import a bike from the UK without paying UK VAT (that is a saga in itself). Right now, I need to figure out what the red flashing light means (I'm not kidding).

OK, I know that this is a really really old thread and necro-threading is frowned upon. But, I have one little update on the issue covered in this thread.

Yup...14 months in total since I first tried to buy this bike, and I finally have it. Do I win a prize for most patient person in Ireland?

I'll do up another post covering the full saga, and a guide on how to import a bike from the UK without paying UK VAT (that is a saga in itself). Right now, I need to figure out what the red flashing light means (I'm not kidding).

O.M.G.

Time for popcorn methinks..... :)

Ode To The Motorist

• Registered Users Posts: 2,782 ✭✭✭P.C.

You waited so long for autum to get leaves in your garden. :rolleyes:

Well done. Congrates on the new arrival.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

Fookin delighted for you crazy...you really are crazy to wait that long. Hope you have a better security system in place then just that chain mate. Bike like that be gone VERY QUICK! ;)

Wonda-Boy wrote: »
    Fookin delighted for you crazy...you really are crazy to wait that long. Hope you have a better security system in place then just that chain mate. Bike like that be gone VERY QUICK! ;)

The chain is an Almax Series IV chain, and it's attached to a Hardie Ground anchor (kinda covered in leaves in pic).
    I've also a Xena Disc Lock alarm, and will have an internal alarm/immobilizer soon. Not sure about GPS tracking unit. I've spent sooo much money already on this (another €270 in CottersMC on equipment today).