Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

*wanted* Japanese Akita pup

• 05-01-2011 4:08pm
    Registered Users Posts: 93 ✭✭

Hi im looking for a Japanese Akita pup anyone know where i can get one please get back to me thanks
    Tagged:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭toadfly

What age pup do you want?

Rescue or breeder details?

• Registered Users Posts: 93 ✭✭ajaydohc

3 or 4 months and id prefer a breeder

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 6,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cherry Blossom

have you contacted the breed club?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭andreac

Try contacting these people:

http://www.modelvill-akitas.com

http://www.mamoruakitas.webs.com/

http://www.honeylaneakitas.com/

I highly recommend any of them. I think the second link have some puppies at the moment.

alright sound thanks

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 6,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cherry Blossom

Sounds like you want one in the next 5 minutes :p

• Registered Users Posts: 4,973 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

All the links posted are for American Akitas, not Japanese, American Akitas are much bigger and have masks or patches of colour, But Japanese Akitas look more like giant Shiba Inu and are very rare in Ireland.

edit: Here is a kennel that have the Japanese type in Northern Ireland
    http://www.omega-kennels.com/

Theres not a Japanese Akita in Ireland anymore, its either the American or the Akita Inu.:)
    Maybe the Op can have a look at all the links and let us know which one they are looking for.

andreac wrote: »
    Theres not a Japanese Akita in Ireland anymore, its either the American or the Akita Inu.:)
    Maybe the Op can have a look at all the links and let us know which one they are looking for.

haha True, its funny that the IKC put the Akita Inu(Japanese Akita) with all the spitz Nordic breeds into group 5 and the American Akita(Great Japanese Dog) into Group 2 along with all the Mastiff and bull breeds. Maybe its because he has some Tossa in the mix.

Nope they didnt, all the Akitas are in group 5. I show, and all the Akitas are in Group 5.:)

Well here is a grab of FormNO1 from the IKC website for when registering a litter, It has American Akita in group 2 and Akita Inu in group 5.:p

still 1a.jpg
    142136.jpg

Sorry, but thats obviously a mis print. Trust me i know, all Akitas are in Group 5. I own and show rotties, and the Akita isnt in Group 2.

Heres a schedule for a show next month, see where Akitas are in Group 5,
    http://dogshowentry.ie/OnlineEntries/Doc/Schedules/NDC_Sch11.pdf

Taken from FCI website:
    http://www.fci.be/nomenclature.aspx

Trust me, i know im right on this one.:) Im showing week in, week out and i know lots of people who own and show Akitas and they are not in Group 2.

Showdogsireland.com Top Dogs, Group 5, note both Akitas in it.
    http://showdogsireland.com/Topdogs2.asp?Year=2010

I will contact the IKC and see if they can fix the misprint.:)

Doesnt surprise me with the IKC to be honest, they are a joke to deal with.

ok im confused haha i want a akita dosent have to have papers i just want a pet dont mind where its from :-p

ajaydohc wrote: »
    ok im confused haha i want a akita dosent have to have papers i just want a pet dont mind where its from :-p

To be honest, you should really not have this type of attitude when it comes to buying a pedigree pup.
    You need to do lots of research on the breed and breeders and make sure you are buying from a reputable breeder that health tests and breeds responsibly.
    There are lots of puppy farmers out there breeding bad quality, unhealthy dogs so please be very aware of this.

Contact the people i have given you info for and chat to them about puppies and go from there.

OP, it's very important that you get this pup from a reputable breeder especially with this breeds stubberness and you would want a pup in the best health especially with a dog so big as even minor bone defects in a pup will have a huge impact on the dog when it grows to adulthood given their size. You want to be very careful with temprament also as restricted breeds have enough problems without having any fuel to add to the fires of ignorant people who think they eat babies for lunch :rolleyes:

oh right ya i was reading that about them alright but i dont want a show dog or anything i just want something that can keep me busy in my spare time i dont want anything to cheap or to expencive if you know wat i mean

• Registered Users Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

oh right ya i was reading that about them alright but i dont want a show dog or anything i just want something that can keep me busy in my spare time i dont want anything to cheap or to expencive if you know wat i mean

OP I'm not really getting why you want an Akita from your posts. Have you ever met one? What is it about them that makes you passionate about the breed? There's lots of other breeds that can keep you busy in your spare time and lots of rescue dogs that can do the same. Are you aware that as a restricted breed you will have to keep your dog muzzled and on a short lease outside in a public area?

If you are going down the breeder route then buying a good pup is going to cost you regardless of whether you want the dog for a pet or to show. Even if it is to be a pet you still need to buy from a reputable breeder.

Please also take into consideration how difficult Akitas are to rehome in this country. If your circumstances change (and these dogs live for up to 12 years or more) and you have to give up your dog it will be a nightmare trying to find somewhere to take him.

Sorry, but sounds like you just want an Akita just because:rolleyes:

I dont think you realise the work involved in these dogs, they are not for the novice owner or first time dog owner. They are more than just to keep you busy in your spare time. Dogs, all breeds are a huge commitment, not just something to get up to in your free time.

Akitas are a tough breed to own and take a huge amount of training and handling and are not for an inexperienced dog owner.
    Have you owned a dog before?

yep the girlfriend has an akita and they have had no problems with theres and it welcomes any strangers into the house when i first went into the house d dog just came over and gave me its paw and ya i know about d dog on short leash and all that as i got to walk there one they have learned me alot about them to be quite honest and ye iv had a doberman pincher ..

In that case I'm sure you are well aware of the mass of health problems the Dobermann can have, the Akita has it's own problems and the parents of any puppies should be tested for all genetic problems in the breed to make sure the breed stays as healthy as possible. If the breeder only breeds dogs free from all these problems, people like you who end up with the pups don't end up with the massive vet's bills to pay to control these genetic health problems and half the battle is won before you even start ;). These dogs are an expensive breed, that's just a fact of life unfortunately, you could always try and find a rescue one that's a little bit older as the rescue would already be able to tell a bit about it's personality/health etc.

if im correct do these dogs not grow up with just one owner so a rescue dog wouldnt treat me as an owner?

No, thats nonsense really. All dogs once brought up responsibly with care and training will be fine. Most dogs have more than one owner anyway when they are in the homes of families, couples etc.

alright thats what it said when i was reading up about them on a few sites but at least i know more about them now the more info i can get on them the more it will help if i really decide to get one.. have any of yous got an akita your selfs?

I don't but have a neighbour that breeds them and doesn't make a good job of it :rolleyes:.

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭adser53

I've 2 myself and to be honest man, and I mean no offence by it, you need to think long and hard about it because Akitas aren't your normal, run of the mill kind of dog and your posts don't fill me with confidence that you've thought it through fully.

You say your girlfriend has one and it's great with strangers etc. But this was clearly because a lot of time, effort, training and care went into the dog. It didn't grow up to be such a nice dog by your girlfriends family just spending their "free time" with it. They need a lot of time and committment.

I can appreciate why you like the breed, personally I can't see how anyone couldn't love them (I'm biased of course :p) but far too many people get them on a whim cos they look cool or they know someone with one that's great and they don't realise what it takes to own an Akita.

You say you know about the Restricted Breed legislation (:mad:) so I won't waste time on that.

Akita's, if they don't get enough socialisation as young dogs, can (I say "can" because even though I've never seen it, it is documented to be the case) be dog aggressive and they also have a high prey drive so couldn't be trusted around small animals they're unfamiliar with. They are VERY stubborn and headstrong and are almost too intelligient for their own good. They don't train easily as they simply won't do anything that THEY don't want to do and they get bored very easily with repetitive methods. Letting them off leash (yes, I know that's illegal here but either way) can be a gamble because they just won't come back if they dont want to.

And you've mentioned that you heard they're a "one owner" type of dog and while I agree with Andrea that this is untrue, their dedication to their family and owners is legendary for a reason. They want nothing more than to be with you and spend time with you. If you have any intention of leaving the dog out the back alone all day, then forget about it, the dog will be miserable. They become bored easily and can become destructive if they aren't stimulated enough. Consider the size of them coupled with little or bad training and you'll have a nightmare to walk and keep.

Whether you want a pet or a show dog, the importance of researching the breeder cannot be stressed enough and the benefits of doing your research and paying the extra are repaid a thousandfold. Is it worth the risk of getting a potentially sickly and/or aggressive dog for the sake of saving a few quid? It'll cost you more in the long run. Trust me.

I don't mean to sound so negative about akitas because they are an incredible breed and I often recommend them to people but I only do that in cases were I feel the potential owner is willing to put the time and effort into the dog. I'm just posting this so you have some idea what you're letting yourself in for. Put in the work and you'll have an amazing companion for many years

fair play for that mate what kinda dogs would ya's think i should get if i dont get a Akita and id have loads of time for d dog as im not working

• Registered Users Posts: 108 ✭✭Gunnerkid

hay guys just saw this thread I was thinking myself of getting a american akita, but one thing I have heard is that when they grow up they do not get along with other dogs is this true??? is there no way of socializing them well with other dogs??

fair play for that mate what kinda dogs would ya's think i should get if i dont get a Akita and id have loads of time for d dog as im not working

What would you be looking for in a dog? Would it live inside the house? Do you have small kids living there or visiting? How active is your lifestyle, how much time would you want to spend exercising the dog, are you interested in agility or anything like that? Do you want something you don't have to put much effort into grooming wise? Do you have a large secure garden, how high is the lowest part of the fence?

Also if you got a job tomorrow would you still have enough time?

Lot's of questions I know, but you haven't really given much info on your circumstances.