Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Let's talk about John Gilligan

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭sopretty

Jarrod wrote: »
    And yet, the journalists still spend time going around to see what path he swipes.

At least she acknowledges he's a wee bit different to the rest of us. Most people would sweep a path, but no, John has to swipe it. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Jarrod

sopretty wrote: »
    At least she acknowledges he's a wee bit different to the rest of us. Most people would sweep a path, but no, John has to swipe it. :pac:

I genuinely had no idea what she was trying to say at that bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

I read in the Sunday papers 'he travelled to the UK under a false name'

Is this in itself not illegal? The Gardai escorted him to the boat

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Giligan sucks cock

Too old and not down with the modern gangster.

Get the papers get the papers......

• Registered Users Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

If you type like that do you reckon you find it easier to read posts of a similar nature by others? :pac: A bit like when mobiles first came out and teenage girls were a lot better at shorthand codes and abbreviations than us laads who were more competent with how to use predictive text on aaa Nokia (nobody really seems to use text speak anymore with the frequency they did years ago)

the short jist of it seems to be attempting to portray Gilligan as some sort of modern equivalent of the men of 1916. I suppose he must be some semblence of hero to people who smoked hash in the mid 90's :pac:

i smoked copious amounts of hash in the early/mid 90s and to me he's just a little prik.It should be noted though,the little fuker always had quality product.looked exactly like a 9bar of "hash" if we can even call it that these days but that was where the similarity ended however.These days the word soapbar automatically starts bells ringing,and rightly so too.in the mid 90s yellow soapbar,or banana soap as we nicknamed it in finglas was a highly desirable product,smelt nice,tasted nice,spread nice,burned nice and got you stoned NICE.Its not nostalgia on my part either,The little bollix was quite the stickler when it came to quality control it would seem

• Registered Users Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

The guy who bought Gilligan's Jessbrook Equestrian Centre in Kildare for a song from the Criminal Assets Bureau is now selling it already. He says his son met with an accident and can no longer run the place.

Seems strange to invest millions doing up the place and then sell it less than a year into the investment. If his son could no longer run the place I would have thought they could easily find someone who can, especially being based in the horsey part of Kildare where the equestrian business is most concentrated in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Muahahaha wrote: »
    The guy who bought Gilligan's Jessbrook Equestrian Centre in Kildare for a song from the Criminal Assets Bureau is now selling it already. He says his son met with an accident and can no longer run the place.

Seems strange to invest millions doing up the place and then sell it less than a year into the investment. If his son could no longer run the place I would have thought they could easily find someone who can, especially being based in the horsey part of Kildare where the equestrian business is most concentrated in Ireland.

Think the clue is in the bolded bit....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Let's talk about John Gilligan baby.
    Lets talk about him and ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Dirty scumbag. Let him pay for his actions.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Jumboman

I'd say Gilligan is trying to buy the place back.

• Registered Users Posts: 135 ✭✭Albertofrog

i smoked copious amounts of hash in the early/mid 90s and to me he's just a little prik.It should be noted though,the little fuker always had quality product.looked exactly like a 9bar of "hash" if we can even call it that these days but that was where the similarity ended however.These days the word soapbar automatically starts bells ringing,and rightly so too.in the mid 90s yellow soapbar,or banana soap as we nicknamed it in finglas was a highly desirable product,smelt nice,tasted nice,spread nice,burned nice and got you stoned NICE.Its not nostalgia on my part either,The little bollix was quite the stickler when it came to quality control it would seem

So basically you financed his lifestyle.
    Nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭FluffyAngel

'Who ?"

• Registered Users Posts: 8,356 ✭✭✭corner of hells

'Who ?"

Just a bloke who sang a bit loud in the choir.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Jumboman

Just a bloke who sang a bit loud in the choir.

According to Gilligans supporters all he ever did was sell a bit of hash:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

Dirty scumbag. Let him pay for his actions.

He did pay for his actions....didn't he??

• Registered Users Posts: 33,727 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Ah sure birds of a feather flock together and the grim reaper is never too far away in his line of business, far as I know he isn't an undertaker, he got out of prison and he nearly got a life sentence to be spent in a grave.

I guess with his line of work you don't keep your enemies closer than your friends...