Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Unpopular opinions

• Registered Users Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Apparently not liking Tom Cruise is an unpopular opinion on this thread, so that's mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Zcorpian, kinda mixed messages: you say you would like a woman who likes to shop... then you say you don't want her to be materialistic. Are you sure you definitely know what you want? I'm not having a go.

Trinity isn't a wanker college by the way - try not to be negative about stuff like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭roadrunner16

I like Adam Sandler and his movies.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

"The wrote:

Let people donate to whatever charity they want, the world's still a better place if some donkeys get rescued.

And how do you know people who donate to donkey sanctuaries don't donate to other charities?

Effective altruism is a better way of thinking when donating to charity. All charities are not equal in cause or management.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

Zcorpian, kinda mixed messages: you say you would like a woman who likes to shop... then you say you don't want her to be materialistic. Are you sure you definitely know what you want? I'm not having a go.

Trinity isn't a wanker college by the way - try not to be negative about stuff like that.

Well not materialistic towards what I own and what I don't own, probably should have been clearer with that, like when it comes to things like owning a car, I've known many a guy who only managed to pull only because they owned a car, funny enough 3 dudes I know had to sell their car and go without a car for quite a while due to money issues and the others were sort of emergencies and the girlfriends all f**ked off literally a week after the car went. Plus I hate other vain stuff from the opposite sex like not living in a swanky area or not having like a top notch apartment. Nothing worse than a user...

Women and their clothes is sort of a given, I wouldn't deny a lady her style

• Registered Users Posts: 23,654 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

zcorpian88 wrote: »
    Well not materialistic towards what I own and what I don't own, probably should have been clearer with that, like when it comes to things like owning a car, I've known many a guy who only managed to pull only because they owned a car, funny enough 3 dudes I know had to sell their car and go without a car for quite a while due to money issues and the others were sort of emergencies and the girlfriends all f**ked off literally a week after the car went. Plus I hate other vain stuff from the opposite sex like not living in a swanky area or not having like a top notch apartment. Nothing worse than a user...

Women and their clothes is sort of a given, I wouldn't deny a lady her style

There are quite literally millions of women out there who aren't anything like the women you describe, whether they're too chavvy for you or their standards are "too high" or whatever. I mean, I'm not having a go either but this being the unpopular opinions thread, your opinion really isn't all that unpopular, at all, and I've heard it from a lot of men about women, and from a lot of women about men.

I don't know whether they want a relationship, or they just want a one night thing, and they don't even seem to want to know what they want themselves. Half the time they want one thing, and then they go and settle for something else, and then they blame the other person for not being what they wanted.

Well quelle surprise like, y'know?

The idea of anyone's relationship being contingent on a car, or even anyone believing that it is, is so depressing. It's slum mentality. Really primitive. Sometimes I wish the world had a back door, so I could go outside for a smoke.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I think woman beaters deserve a degree of sympathy. I also see them as victims in their own right; victimised by their childhood household, in which their father was almost certainly violent to their mother or them. And victims of the time in which they were brought up, when cognitive therapy was far more stigmatised than it is today. Some people never had a chance of normality. I think that's sad.

The idea of anyone's relationship being contingent on a car, or even anyone believing that it is, is so depressing. It's slum mentality. Really primitive. Sometimes I wish the world had a back door, so I could go outside for a smoke.

Leave the door ajar there, I'm just behind you :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

There are quite literally millions of women out there who aren't anything like the women you describe, whether they're too chavvy for you or their standards are "too high" or whatever. I mean, I'm not having a go either but this being the unpopular opinions thread, your opinion really isn't all that unpopular, at all, and I've heard it from a lot of men about women, and from a lot of women about men.

I don't know whether they want a relationship, or they just want a one night thing, and they don't even seem to want to know what they want themselves. Half the time they want one thing, and then they go and settle for something else, and then they blame the other person for not being what they wanted.

Well quelle surprise like, y'know?

Well I would imagine that my opinion on standards would be seen by women as a sweeping generalization that paints a lot of Irish women that are in their late 20's-30's to be picky and are always looking for something portrayed by whatever they read/watch on tv (which is more than likely based in another country) and they expect that to be the norm for them even though we are a different society and culture all together in comparison to their expectation.

I think women are great altogether.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Have you ever actually met a Muslim in person? I've only ever met absolutely lovely ones. Given the current environment towards them as of late, that seems to be a more unpopular opinion.

Why do you just assume that he hasn't met a Muslim or muslims to have an opinion like that. I had a muslim boyfriend for over 3 years and friends now and met his family and others and yes they are nice people but their culture and views are very narrow minded and oppressed.

The relationship had to end because of cultural difference. How could you continue and have a future with someone when they think being gay is wrong.

After being with a Muslim, I really hate their culture because it affects you, no matter how hard you try for it not too it does.

Islam isn't just a religion, its a lifestyle.

fin12 wrote: »
    Why do you just assume that he hasn't met a Muslim or muslims to have an opinion like that. I had a muslim boyfriend for over 3 years and friends now and met his family and others and yes they are nice people but their culture and views are very narrow minded and oppressed.

The relationship had to end because of cultural difference. How could you continue and have a future with someone when they think being gay is wrong.

After being with a Muslim, I really hate their culture because it affects you, no matter how hard you try for it not too it does.

Islam isn't just a religion, its a lifestyle.

In fairness though, you've spoken more about their culture, than Muslims themselves. I would never say something stupid like "I hate Muslims", because there's so many different cultures within cultures, like Westernised Muslims and Middle Eastern Muslims, Indian Muslims, you couldn't possibly just tar them all with the one brush like that, not if you went out with one Muslim for three years or thirty years.

Your opinion that their culture is narrow minded and oppressed isn't an unpopular opinion either in the West at least.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

In fairness though, you've spoken more about their culture, than Muslims themselves. I would never say something stupid like "I hate Muslims", because there's so many different cultures within cultures, like Westernised Muslims and Middle Eastern Muslims, Indian Muslims, you couldn't possibly just tar them all with the one brush like that, not if you went out with one Muslim for three years or thirty years.

Your opinion that their culture is narrow minded and oppressed isn't an unpopular opinion either in the West at least.

ya Im talking about their culture because that's what the poster said that he hated Muslims and their culture. I hate their culture and their religion but I dont hate them because I know underneath all that hardcore religion stuff can be a very good heart and a decent person.

fin12 wrote: »
    ya Im talking about their culture because that's what the poster said that he hated Muslims and their culture. I hate their culture and their religion but I dont hate them because I know underneath all that hardcore religion stuff can be a very good heart and a decent person.

I know what you're saying, but as you pointed out yourself - Islam isn't just a religion, but a way of life, and depending upon where you are in the world, Islam is going to have a different cultural influence than somewhere else in the world. Is the experience of Muslim born and raised in Glasgow for example the same as the experience of a Muslim in Mumbai?

Of course it isn't, just like the experience of a Roman Catholic born and raised in Dublin would be very different culturally speaking from a Roman Catholic in Rio de Janeiro.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭3rdDegree

I never saw Rock of Ages because it never made sense to me that one of the main characters would be a hair metal singer in his 40s-50s in the 1980s.

If you're that fussy about plot holes in silly, entertaining and funny movies, then you were probably wise to avoid this one alright!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Means Of Escape

National Identity cards should be compulsory that contains the holders finger prints , photo and PPS number .

One could be requested to produce this ID card by the gardai /revenue /customs etc at any time .

Non compliance should carry a fine

Each person entitled to reside in this country should have 12 months to present their passports to avail of the card.

zcorpian88 wrote: »
    I'm a more traditional guy....

There's where you're going wrong, right there.

You can thank me in a few months when it's all worked out for you.

Cheers. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

Swimming is a ridiculous excuse for a sport. Freestyle is grand. Fire eight people into a pool and see who can cover a set distance in the quickest time. The rest of it is bollox. Backstroke, breaststroke and butterfly, especially butterfly, is the aquatic equivalent of the Ministry of Silly Walks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Swimming is a ridiculous excuse for a sport. Freestyle is grand. Fire eight people into a pool and see who can cover a set distance in the quickest time. The rest of it is bollox. Backstroke, breaststroke and butterfly, especially butterfly, is the aquatic equivalent of the Ministry of Silly Walks.

Swimming is amazing. We come from water and we go back to water. The diving and swimming Olympics are fascinating.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

It's amazing that we're completely useless at competitive swimming. I remember poor Melanie Nocher bursting into tears and dodging an RTE interview in London. In fairness It is embarrassing when you're way way off an Irish Championship time in an Olympic heat.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,265 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

It's amazing that we're completely useless at competitive swimming. I remember poor Melanie Nocher bursting into tears and dodging an RTE interview in London. In fairness It is embarrassing when you're way way off an Irish Championship time in an Olympic heat.

I remember being in a pub the night Michelle Smith won, we were fierce competitive that night!

Only for those goddamn Olympic drug testing people...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭Pumpkin PJs Fan No.9

Coldplay have recorded some pretty good records... especially the stuff produced by Jon Hopkins and Brian Eno.

so there...

"Still... An Awesome ****ing Pumpkin!!"

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭Dunford

Links234 wrote: »
    I don't think he slipped at all, Edge of Tomorrow was downright incredible, hands down one of the best movies of 2014 by far. The Mission Impossible movies are always good fun, and he was the best thing about Tropic Thunder. I've not seen Oblivion, but I've heard that's pretty good too. Jack Reacher was decent, nothing amazing but not terrible by any stretch.

Going back a while, he was awesome in Collateral.

he was fantastic in tropic thunder, youre right.

Children have parents, communities and government who all play a part in supporting children in need. Animals don't, therefore that's why I personally choose animal charities to donate to, also childline and make a wish if I see them out and about.

Animal charities get grants from the Government, Dept of Agriculture, I think. Some get grants from Greyhound Board if they take in greyhounds.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,656 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Our "modern" society is actually devolving from what it was say 30 years ago

Grown adults obsessed with stuff like Facebook and Twitter, competing with each other for the most "likes" (validation/group acceptance) or to show how "liberal" they are by jumping on whatever SJW crusade is currently trending. A disturbing element of this is how dissent from the "approved" stance is not allowed at all - those who even dare question it are to be ridiculed, marginalised and ultimately dismissed. It seems that tolerance and freedom of expression is now only for those who are fully on board with the group think.

Then you have the excuses for everything... Anto isn't a junkie scumbag, he's "disadvantaged", it's not Mary's fault she overextended herself in the Good Times, her friends/family/the Government "forced" her into it etc.
    Related are "experts" trying to come up with some negative pseudo-psychology reason for innocent/normal behaviour... FFS there's an article today that suggests that kids who are picky eaters may have mental health issues! :rolleyes:

A dose of good old-fashioned cop on is badly needed in a lot of these cases!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Saying you don't drink alcohol is a not very popular opinion, In Ireland anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 820 ✭✭✭BunkMoreland

The wrost kind of threads on boards are the 'RIP' circle jerk grief porn threads.

Only when it's someone you don't care about.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,265 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

National Identity cards should be compulsory that contains the holders finger prints , photo and PPS number .

One could be requested to produce this ID card by the gardai /revenue /customs etc at any time .

Non compliance should carry a fine

Each person entitled to reside in this country should have 12 months to present their passports to avail of the card.

Excellent idea actually, only people with something to hide would object to this.