Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Question about sick leave

• 19-10-2014 9:06pm
    Registered Users Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭

Ok so I work in south west.

Have to be in galway for a weekend, 160 mile trip one way.

Then school Monday.

Then I have to be in Dublin on Tuesday to see a specialist.

So, I need to take that Monday off. Don't wanna drive 160 miles to south west, then up and down to Dublin again.
    My question is

Can I take an uncertified sick day the Monday, then I'll get a cert for Tuesday? I remember hearing before about not being allowed to from uncertified to certified...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭happywithlife

But sure if you were genuinely off on uncertified sick leave that didn't resolve itself like you thought it would so you ended up at docs on certified leave you'd be going from uncertified to certified leave. I've never heard of not being able to do that. It'd be different going from certified straight into uncertified - I can understand why that wouldn't be allowed.
    Only other alternative is to take a personal day

• Registered Users Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭Moody_mona

Happywithlife is right, you can go from self certified to certified but not certified to self certified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭dobsdave

Dont think a consultant will give a cert for a standard appointment?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,381 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

i don't think the question should be if you can go from uncertified to certified. It seems that you are heading to Galway for a weekend and rather drive back for work for Monday, which by the way isn't a major deal, you want to pull a sickie and want the approval of people on this forum, because you're going to be off work on Tuesday?

Sorry, teachers and other public service workers get a bad enough rep as it is without backing up someone who just wants to take Monday off.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Rainbow trout you don't have all the facts. And I won't be going into them. But I can't go south west, galway, south west, Dublin, South west in 4 days. I'll say no more.

Anyways, I'm entitled to take 7 uncertified leave anyways, so whether or not you're happy with me taking a Monday off, it's my legal right to do so.

Also, dobsdave, surely a consultant will have to provide a cert to show I was at their clinic rather than sitting at home on my couch all day?

Rainbow trout you don't have all the facts. And I won't be going into them. But I can't go south west, galway, south west, Dublin, South west in 4 days. I'll say no more.

Anyways, I'm entitled to take 7 uncertified leave anyways, so whether or not you're happy with me taking a Monday off, it's my legal right to do so.

Also, dobsdave, surely a consultant will have to provide a cert to show I was at their clinic rather than sitting at home on my couch all day?

I might not have all the facts but you can only expect replies based on the information that you post

I expected answers to my question.

Not debating the rights and wrongs of when I take my uncertified days

• Registered Users Posts: 12,393 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

I'm entitled to take 7 uncertified leave anyways,

so whether or not you're happy with me taking a Monday off, it's my legal right to do so.

Indeed you are correct re allocated time but I find the tone of the posting somewhat flippant and from my experience, its this attitude has gotten our self certified leave cut to a bare minimum.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭smallgarden

Do personal days still exist? If so that could be an option

• Registered Users Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭solerina

Do personal days still exist? If so that could be an option

Yes they do...you are allowed take 5 in a school year. We are still able to take them and our system involves putting a page on the staff room door, others fill in and supervise your classes...what goes around comes around so everyone that needs one gets their day off and no one abuses the system in our school.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭seavill

solerina wrote: »
    Yes they do...you are allowed take 5 in a school year. .

on the agreement of the BOM/VEC I belive?

I'll probably just take an uncertified day Monday and get a cert for Tuesday.

Fingers crossed it's ok.

I rang the asti but they were pretty useless as.usual

Ps it has zero to do with teachers attitudes as to why our sick leave has been cut.

It's been cut because the country has no money.

Teachers rarely if ever take their full leave entitlements and that is widely recognised.

• Registered Users Posts: 473 ✭✭derb12

I'll probably just take an uncertified day Monday and get a cert for Tuesday.

Fingers crossed it's ok.

I rang the asti but they were pretty useless as.usual

What would you expect the ASTI to say to you? "Go ahead and call in sick even though you are not actually sick??"

You are basically treating uncertified sick days as extra holidays. Why don't you just be honest about it and request a personal day? Or, dare I say it, just get a good night's sleep and do the long drives, or take the train if there is one.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,475 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Teachers rarely if ever take their full leave entitlements and that is widely recognised.
    Sick days are for when you are sick, not an amount of days to aim at because you are "entitled " to them.

They're for when I don't feel up to working

Nor do I feel like going to a doctor for a medical cert.

That Monday will be one of those days.

I expected the asti to be able to clarify whether you could go from uncertified leave to certified and vice versa and they were unable to answer me.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,393 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

They're for when I don't feel up to working

Nor do I feel like going to a doctor for a medical cert.

That Monday will be one of those days.

I expected the asti to be able to clarify whether you could go from uncertified leave to certified and vice versa and they were unable to answer me.

The ASTI wouldn't touch the question because it could be a journalist or someone else waiting to write a story about planned sick days.

You are planning a sick day which is a lot different to not feeling up to working which is genuinely intending to go to work but unable to do so.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,264 ✭✭✭✭ted1

TheDriver wrote: »
    The ASTI wouldn't touch the question because it could be a journalist or someone else waiting to write a story about planned sick days.

You are planning a sick day which is a lot different to not feeling up to working which is genuinely intending to go to work but unable to do so.

Visiting a consultant might not even warrant a sick cert.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,475 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Ah Jesus lads can ye not talk about this stuff in private.
    Can ye not understand how this looks to joe soap. Public servants get a hard rap on lots of things but talking about being entitled to x uncertified sick leave and personal days just a throws petrol out there for begrudgers to go to town on, it does read poorly that OP wants to pull a sick day to avoid a long drive.

Surely OP knows someone who they could ask without bringing this out into public.

Discression, what ever happened to discression.

Paranoid people on here.

If 3 and a half uncertified days a year is a stick to beat us with, I'd love to know what other jobs are getting!?

Nothing about the fifty personal days I haven't taken that I was entitled to in the last ten years. Worked every single one of them.

Simple question, can you go uncertified to certified? If you don't know the answer, then please don't comment.

TheDriver wrote: »

A journalist wanting to know can you be uncertified then certified the next day? Shocking stuff in that newspaper :rolleyes:

Paranoid people on here.

If 3 and a half uncertified days a year is a stick to beat us with, I'd love to know what other jobs are getting!?

Nothing about the fifty personal days I haven't taken that I was entitled to in the last ten years. Worked every single one of them.

Simple question, can you go uncertified to certified? If you don't know the answer, then please don't comment.

Entitlement and need are two different things. You are viewing those days as some 'legal' right to time off. They are there if a situation arises where you have a genuine need to take a day, not surplus holidays.

I haven't taken a personal day in 14 years. I haven't needed one. I don't see that as a reason to pull a sickie.

Personal days aren't there for you to take 5 extra days holidays a year. It is this kind of attitude that has resulted in cuts to sick leave to teachers.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,264 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Paranoid people on here.

It's 3.5 days in a 9/10 month calendar.
    As for personnel days, that's another joke

They ARE a legal right to time off school.

They are there for when they are needed.

As ice already said I NEED one this time, not want a lie in, NEED one.

My question was about certified to uncertified leave.

People dont seem to read the thread at all in certain cases, just jump on a silly moral bandwagon.

Ps as I've already said, it wasn't our attitude that git our sick leave cut, it's a lack of money in the country

• Registered Users Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭BKWDR

Can tell by your over all attitude you are quite the teacher.

I think you already have your answer, is briseadh mór finished now?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,475 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

You don't need it, you want it, two different things. I'm actually quite shocked that someone plans on taking days, because they feel they can. It's not fair on colleagues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

You don't need it, you want it, two different things. I'm actually quite shocked that someone plans on taking days, because they feel they can. It's not fair on colleagues.

welll hold on a second bhobc :pac back up the truck

We're making a lot of assumptions about the OP...

1. It might be because of an ongoing illness which would make the Journey very difficult on the monday.

2. There is an assumption that the OP is making their way by car in full health.

Just doing devil's advocate etc. the Op wishes not to be drawn on reasons and just wants simple answers, we can't infer their justification is illegitimate without knowing their circumstances fully..

. hence why we should just either
    A. Give the advice
    B. Not give the advice

In saying all that, you're not going on the lash on monday or just pulling a sicky are you OP? I have a feeling its not as clearcut as that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Sigh, this is part of the reason the bad rep exists. Sick leave is a safety net, it's not a goal and it's not something you are entitled to take unless you are, you know sick? I once heard someone say she was"booking Portugal for Christmas" as she had "sick leave to use up" - ffs :(

Armelodie wrote: »
    welll hold on a second bhobc :pac back up the truck

We're making a lot of assumptions about the OP...

1. It might be because of an ongoing illness which would make the Journey very difficult on the monday.

2. There is an assumption that the OP is making their way by car in full health.

Just doing devil's advocate etc. the Op wishes not to be drawn on reasons and just wants simple answers, we can't infer their justification is illegitimate without knowing their circumstances fully..

. hence why we should just either
    A. Give the advice
    B. Not give the advice

In saying all that, you're not going on the lash on monday or just pulling a sicky are you OP? I have a feeling its not as clearcut as that.

Finally somebody who actually read the entire thread and talks sense and doesn't fill in their own blanks.

Anyways, I have my answer from the asti. You can not mix certified and uncertified leave. Nor vice versa.

Interesting as I'm sure it happens almost every year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Finally somebody who actually read the entire thread and talks sense and doesn't fill in their own blanks.

Anyways, I have my answer from the asti. You can not mix certified and uncertified leave. Nor vice versa.

Interesting as I'm sure it happens almost every year

If the blanks weren't there they wouldn't need to be filled. With all the energy OP has expended replying to anyone who posts something unpalatable, the reasons could easily have been put forward...