Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Kerry GAA Discussion Thread Mod Warning Post #4167

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Mayo1

I am banned

• Registered Users Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

^ ^

So is there many from the Kingdom travelling up in the morning? I myself won't be but it will be interesting to see though how many Dubs can actually find Parnell Park. They don't seem to be used to attending another GAA ground except Croke Park :P

• Registered Users Posts: 4,254 ✭✭✭LeoB

Just glancing at a few posts and now understand why there were so jokes when I was growing uo;)

Just to reply on a serious note. Ciaran Whelan getting bad press again. Lets face it he is more sinned against than most players. Darragh O'Se for example had one or two things pointed out against him in the media and it appeared to me a few Ref's were pretty hard on him, unfairly in my humble opinion. If people are going to say Whelan is at silly buggers its a little unfair, it is very easy to stir up a little campaign against a player by saying he is at it again. Its also emailing R.T.E and raising some silly point about what a player does. This happen believe me. We had it in Hurling with goalies and the small square.
    Tomorrow Kerry will win I think by a few points
    AS for Kerry 2009? They will win All-Ireland and remember you hard it hear first, from a Dub:)
    By the way Kerry4sam Dublin fans prefer to play away than at home in Parnell Park. Unless you are away every wekend you will have noticed they travel in good numbers and bring a great bit of crack to towns when they do travel. For the people making their way up tomorrow have a safe trip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

LeoB wrote: »
    Just glancing at a few posts and now understand why there were so jokes when I was growing uo;)

Just to reply on a serious note. Ciaran Whelan getting bad press again. Lets face it he is more sinned against than most players. Darragh O'Se for example had one or two things pointed out against him in the media and it appeared to me a few Ref's were pretty hard on him, unfairly in my humble opinion. If people are going to say Whelan is at silly buggers its a little unfair, it is very easy to stir up a little campaign against a player by saying he is at it again. Its also emailing R.T.E and raising some silly point about what a player does. This happen believe me. We had it in Hurling with goalies and the small square.
    Tomorrow Kerry will win I think by a few points
    AS for Kerry 2009? They will win All-Ireland and remember you hard it hear first, from a Dub:)
    By the way Kerry4sam Dublin fans prefer to play away than at home in Parnell Park. Unless you are away every wekend you will have noticed they travel in good numbers and bring a great bit of crack to towns when they do travel. For the people making their way up tomorrow have a safe trip

Seeing as I'm the one who described what Whelan did in the Mayo game as "silly buggers" I'll expand on it a bit. What I was mainly referring to was the incident where when holding the ball with both hands Whelan used it to push against Peadar Gardiner's head. It was after the whistle had gone, pretty sure for a free to Mayo and it's quite difficult to describe accurately mainly due to how frankly bizarre it was. The ref gave Whelan a talking to and a black card/ticking. Whelan was also involved in another incident where he seemed to commit what to my eyes could have been a yellow on Moran (I think) but if it had been given would probably have been harsh. Neither of the incidents were especially dirty but on another day he could have easily got the line - the Gardner incident was just bizarre and seemed to be as a result of frustration - I'd say Gardiner was more confused than anything else. Overall to describe it as silly buggers doesn't strike me as remotely unfair and I'd be very surprised if many Dublin supporters who saw the game would disagree with me.

As to the notion of Whelan getting bad press, it's really kinda amusing as I doubt that little if any notice has been taken of his behaviour in the Mayo game, silly and all as it was. The only place where conceivably might have been noticed was possibly by the Dublin management seeing as he is being rested for the game today, which struck me as a bit odd when I saw it considering Dublin's position in the league. What I think about the notion of a campaign against Whelan being stirred up, I think that's just wandering into paranoia territority.

I would also disagree strongly with the notion that he is more sinned against than most players. He is a high-profile player who has a track record of letting his temper get the better than him and in my opinion in his career he has been slightly fortunate in terms of his dealings with referees/officalfdom.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,769 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

As to the notion of Whelan getting bad press, it's really kinda amusing as I doubt that little if any notice has been taken of his behaviour in the Mayo game, silly and all as it was. The only place where conceivably might have been noticed was possibly by the Dublin management seeing as he is being rested for the game today, which struck me as a bit odd when I saw it considering Dublin's position in the league. What I think about the notion of a campaign against Whelan being stirred up, I think that's just wandering into paranoia territority.

Would agree with this certainly - I hadn't heard he did anything against Mayo until I read this post just now, and I'm not exactly insulated from the world of GAA reporting...

Now that kerry are the league final I hope they don't take the foot off the pedal in the second-half. We're going okay at the moment & we certainly could have the beating of them. Cooper & Donaghy need to get more ball in the second-half and get them over the bar.
    Dublin had two goal chances in the first-half and if they had gone in, I'm not sure we'd pull back the points.

fair result 1.15 - 1.15

• Registered Users Posts: 4,254 ✭✭✭LeoB

That was a good match today. Dublin probably sick at not collecting both points but I think Kerry will be happy. They have loads left in the tank. Dublin a lttle fragile but improving

Just back to the Whelan the petty stuff he does goes on in all games. It went on today in Parnell pk. I am not condoning it. My point is if Spillane or O'Rourke decide to pick up on it during Sunday game they can make life hell for a player. Were Kerry not the victims of this on more than one occasion. I am not defending Whelan as such but here he is picked up again when far worse is going on.

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭ADTR

A draw was a fair result. Dublin probably should of won it though.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭Grudaire

LeoB wrote: »
    That was a good match today. Dublin probably sick at not collecting both points but I think Kerry will be happy. They have loads left in the tank. Dublin a lttle fragile but improving

Just back to the Whelan the petty stuff he does goes on in all games. It went on today in Parnell pk. I am not condoning it. My point is if Spillane or O'Rourke decide to pick up on it during Sunday game they can make life hell for a player. Were Kerry not the victims of this on more than one occasion. I am not defending Whelan as such but here he is picked up again when far worse is going on.

Sure since it's a Kerry thread we should surely be discussing Paul Galvins inability to tackle the ball :P

Ah no, great game today - exciting close tough without being rough. Very very good. Thankfully Kerry weren't scoring the points they sometimes can!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭gerocks

I nearly kicked in my TV twice today.
    Sean Sullivan drives me up the wall!
    Always looking to score the spectacular point!
    Thought Star done really well for the goal,a great dummy pass to Mahony.
    That Dublin number 2 will be sore tomorrow morning,Galvin shook him with a shoulder.
    I thought we were lucky to get a draw.
    Good fight back but Dublin should be kicking themselves for letting this one slip through their fingers.

gerocks wrote: »
    I nearly kicked in my TV twice today.
    Sean Sullivan drives me up the wall!

I've said it many times before - he's not good enough to get on the Kerry team in any capacity imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

I am sure you are all delighted that not a single Kerry player got hit with that terrible affliction that they so often get late on: The seventieth minute cramp. It had cleared up in the All-Ireland Final too I noticed. Still, I am sure it will strike again, especially when you are only a couple of points ahead in a match late on. Usually starting with Gooch, it tends to spread like wildfire through the team.:D Wouldn't it be much better to try and protect a lead by trying to add another point or two to it, rather than lying on the grass with a foot stuck up in the air and someone holding it? Well, as I said, it appears to have cleared up for now. Let's hope it stays that way, whatever is on the scoreboard. Good match today though.

Flukey wrote: »
    I am sure you are all delighted that not a single Kerry player got hit with that terrible affliction that they so often get late on: The seventieth minute cramp. It had cleared up in the All-Ireland Final too I noticed. Still, I am sure it will strike again, especially when you are only a couple of points ahead in a match late on. Usually starting with Gooch, it tends to spread like wildfire through the team.:D Wouldn't it be much better to try and protect a lead by trying to add another point or two to it, rather than lying on the grass with a foot stuck up in the air and someone holding it? Well, as I said, it appears to have cleared up for now. Let's hope it stays that way, whatever is on the scoreboard. Good match today though.

Jeez I really don't know why people go to the bother of making posts like these giving out about one team doing what every other team, invariably including the OP's own, do as well under the correct circumstances...

It really is just pure shít-stirring...

• Registered Users Posts: 102 ✭✭deeno1975

I thought that Kerry were all over the place yesterday, starting out with Moran in full forward and Donaghy in midfield, what was that all about?? They only got going when the gun was to the head, must have something to do with the game not having anything at stake (for the Kerry boys anyway).

Also this aimless kicking into the full forward line, have we not learned from the All Ireland last year, the Dubs handled it well, break the ball and have an extra back to sweep it up... The secret is out, time to adapt again.

Kerry definately had the best players out there yesterday but I'd question had they the best team and best tacticts. It's close to championship now so tactics and players shoud be close to being ready. I'm afraid to say based on yesterday we're on a collision course with Tyrone with the same ammunition and plans...

deeno1975 wrote: »
    I thought that Kerry were all over the place yesterday, starting out with Moran in full forward and Donaghy in midfield, what was that all about?? They only got going when the gun was to the head, must have something to do with the game not having anything at stake (for the Kerry boys anyway).

Also this aimless kicking into the full forward line, have we not learned from the All Ireland last year, the Dubs handled it well, break the ball and have an extra back to sweep it up... The secret is out, time to adapt again.

Kerry definately had the best players out there yesterday but I'd question had they the best team and best tacticts. It's close to championship now so tactics and players shoud be close to being ready. I'm afraid to say based on yesterday we're on a collision course with Tyrone with the same ammunition and plans...

I think it's just the case that the management are intent on trying out as many different players in as many different positions as possible before the real business starts. I don't think you'll get any real idea of what Aces Jack is keeping up his sleeve until well into the championship. I'd imagine he's very wary of giving Mickey Harte any info early in the campaign.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Where do I start.

Firstly lets commend Dublin on their fine point taking. The beautifully taken free from 45 years was delight to watch in the first half.

Thought their defenders did exceptionally well under the high ball and Walsh was anonymous, not through lack of trying but simply because his man got up and punched that ball away time after time.

I had omited Galvin from my prefered line up- I take it all back- he was fantastic yesterday- tenacious when players around him just weren't putting in the effort. I felt sorry for him to miss an open goal that surely would have seen him pick up man of the match.

Sean O Sullivan should be given a job in Mayo and let him stay there kicking putrid wides and bulling away with the head down. The goal was as a result of his brutal missed pass to Donaghy. Not since the days of Mike Frank has a player infuriated me so much, twice there were free men on the edge of the square and gimp head has to kick from an impossible angle- the last kick was utterly indefencible when there were free men outside him and the clock almost up.

Moran was fantastic again. He has surely nailed down his berth in midfield, Donaghy played well, the defense is a worry with Aidan O'Shea, Mark O'Shea and now Riedy out- that was Kerry's first goal conceeded in the league.

Sheehan was rubbish but bless him he tracked back and tried, Darren O'Sullivan was lazy, he was jogging along beside his man. If he put as much pace into defense as attack he'd be a much finer player.

Kerry looked disinterested. The wacky first half rotations were gimicky and time after time the half backs would turn over ball and then just lump it into empty space or the arms of the Dublin half backs. Where the hell is the benefit in that? Is that possession football. My hole. Kerry were really at sea.

However- 6 points down and Gooch came out to organise the attack excellently. He does the same job for the crokes- his vision is amazing. I think he really should be moved to the half forward line and leave Donaghy and Walsh inside to make hay.

Dublin were really up for this game. Kerry were not. Yet we still came away with a draw- this is mainly due to Quirke and Moran nailing down midfield when the Dublin midfield picked up an injury. We were lucky. But Dublin will know they should have closed this out, look it, they were in the final, playing for nothing but the mark of a good team is putting bad ones to the sword ritually. Kerry sat back- it worries me. They should never be complciant.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Thanks for that Mr. I, missed the highlights but that was a good summary of it all.

keane2097 wrote: »
    Jeez I really don't know why people go to the bother of making posts like these giving out about one team doing what every other team, invariably including the OP's own, do as well under the correct circumstances...

It really is just pure shít-stirring...

Dublin aren't prone to seventieth minute cramp, whatever our failings. It seems as Kerry specialise in it, except when the scoreboard doesn't require it. You'd nearly think they have training sessions in how to get cramp.

There is strong physical stuff that people often refer to as cynical play, and it is. But I, and most fans, hate this kind of soft cynical play. Things like cramp, and players just passing the ball around to each, joined by the inevitable cheering in the crowd, is annoying and not what we come to see. As I said, wouldn't it be far better to kill off a game with another score.

Teams sometimes engage in the soft cynical stuff and then get caught out and the opposition go up and get the score they need, leaving less time for another score. Soft cynical play can backfire. Adding a few scores is a far better way to kill a game. Whatever the team, I prefer to see a team finish with a flourish than the soft cynical play.

Teams like Kerry have the quality and confidence to do that. An underdog finding themselves on the brink of a win might get a bit nervous and try to hold on, but the big teams shouldn't. With a couple of minutes to go, Gooch would be far better getting his foot behind a ball to knock it over the bar - something even the opposition fans can appreciate - than having his foot held by a team mate or physio, when there is not a thing wrong with him. Another score will scupper the opposition's chances more than any soft cynical play will.

Flukey wrote: »
    Dublin aren't prone to seventieth minute cramp

That's just cos they're not prone to seventieth minute lead I'm afraid.

After the match yesterday, myself and a few other Dublin friends crossed the pitch towards the exit. As we did we passed near Gooch, who was surrounded by kids and was signing shirts and posing for photos with them. One of the lads commented on how nice it was to see it, and it was. I didn't approach for a photo or to get him to sign my Dublin shirt :) but love him or loathe him, we respect him for the quality player he is and what he can do when he plays the game.

Yes, we loved when he missed that sitter of a free in front of the posts, but he is a great player and character, as his moments for those fans after the game showed. While we might not want him to score when he does so, as GAA fans we'd much rather see him taking shots at goal right up until the final whistle, rather than lying on the ground for the purpose of timewasting. I am sure the many purists in Kerry don't like to see it either, and prefer to see football until the final whistle. Be it from Gooch, another Kerry player, or a player from any other county, including my own, I hate to see that soft cynical stuff. Most GAA fans, including yourselves, probably do too. If you want to use up some time and kill the game, then go for another score.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I thought Kerry were out of sorts yesterday and I thought complacency had crept into the team.I am sure O Connor was weary of Dublin though and must have lamblasted the team at half time but Kerry were outplayed for large periods of the game.

People say Tommy Walsh was quiet but I disagree.I thought he was one of the Kerry forwards that really tried particularly in the first 20 minutes.He's not skillful but his strength was needed by Kerry and no matter how much Cullen bullied him he never lost his feet.

On the issue of the long balls into the full forward line,it was stale and predictable.Dublin actually played them at their own game at the start trying to knock in long,high diagonal balls but this didn't work until a chest high diagonal ball was kicked in.The Kerry half back were ragged and were roasted on many occasions.They weren't expecting the style of game from Pat Burke,Davoran and co.

Midfield was touch and go but Magee acquitted himself nicely.I'd definitely have him mark Moran or O Se.Scanlon wasn't at the races.I've said this time and time again that he is no good for Kerry.He lacked conviction and never looked threatening.

Diarmuid Murphy....found out by a potent attack once the weak full back was exposed.Reminds me of Kerrys problems from last year.Needs to be scrapped in my opinion.

Standouts for Kerry were Gooch in the final 15-20 minutes,Aidan O MAhoney,Galvin and Donaghy.Kerry looked like they missed Declan O Sullivan big time.Darren O Sullivan was found wanting.He never really got into the game.O Connor should have had him on the bench for an impact sub role but Kerry got away with it.

Dublins problem came back to haunt them again although you could forgive them against a very talented Kerry team who look primed to take back Sam.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Lads, I've copied this from the actual match thread as I want a Kerryman's persepctive on this:

"How Donaghy wasn't yellow carded was an absolute joke.

First he caught Cullen around the neck (granted I would've accepted a black card for that as it could've been accidental although the letter of the law would state otherwise) and two minutes later, he clearly kicked a Dublin player on the ground right in front of McEneaney after fouling him. Yet again, no action???"

I'm not on a witch hunt here as I think Star is a fantastic player but does anybody think that he got away with it and although we should have held out at the end, Donaghy staying on the pitch was a massive contributory factor to the end result as he laid on O'Mahony's goal and also scored the equaliser.

I'm really starting to get a pain in my rear with these new disciplinary rules as there is simply no consistency in their application and twice it has led to players playing a direct part in beating us (Seán Kavanagh in our first game being the other).

• Registered Users Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

dcr22B wrote: »
    Lads, I've copied this from the actual match thread as I want a Kerryman's persepctive on this:

First he caught Cullen around the neck (granted I would've accepted a black card for that as it could've been accidental although the letter of the law would state otherwise) and two minutes later, he clearly kicked a Dublin player on the ground right in front of McEneaney after fouling him. Yet again, no action???"

I'm not on a witch hunt here as I think Star is a fantastic player but does anybody think that he got away with it and although we should have held out at the end, Donaghy staying on the pitch was a massive contributory factor to the end result as he laid on O'Mahony's goal and also scored the equaliser.

I'm really starting to get a pain in my rear with these new disciplinary rules as there is simply no consistency in their application and twice it has led to players playing a direct part in beating us (Seán Kavanagh in our first game being the other).

Donaghy has gotten away with it against us in the past and low and behold he got away with it on Sunday again.Remember his professional foul on Shane Ryan in 2007?

But instead of bitching about Donaghy,we should be concentrating on how our backs could let him turn and put that point over as well as contribute to the goal.This is something Dublin need to correct instead of wondering about what ifs and could've,should've,wouldves.

I think we should have got even tighter in defense and crowded them out.Tyrone have done this to Kerry in the dying stages of the 2005 and 2008 AI Final.We tried to keep them at the sideline at the terrace end.Whilst you can't blame Dublin for this,I believe it was obvious that we should have gone on the defensive and held on to that 1 point lead by crowding out the large rectangle up to the 20m line because that was the only answer Kerry had.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭mystic86

I thought it was a great game, really enjoyed it.

I think people really need to remember that Dublin were playing basically to avoid relegation whilst Kerry were already through to the final before the game started and thus the main reason for the difference in the level of performance from both teams.

Dublin scored some fantastic points. After 60 minutes were gone I undoubtedly thought Dublin deserved to win. At the final whistle though I thought the draw was fair.

Kerry's forward play is very dissapointing.

Paul Galvin was great. Dont agree with people on Boards who say Sean O Sullivan was terrible, he hasnt got any game time hardly. Also, Moran was great?! Come on! I disagree.

Darran O Sullivan and Brian Sheehan, I have serious doubts about ye on this team. I thought Maher and Quirke did well when they came on.

Thats my opinion anyway.

P.S. Seamus Scanlon, please never attempt to score a point from the foot again.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,361 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

dcr22B wrote: »

Right, and no Dublin player should have gotton a yellow card at all.

... Not even Ross McConnoll for his foot-trip on Darren O'Sullivan after around 10mins.
    Or Ger Brennan for hitting both Gooch and Aiden O'Mahoney after scores... or number 20 (Pat Burke??? ... he was a baldy felleh) for a similer high tackle.

Come on you are completely nit-picking! I think ye outplayed us for most of the match and deserved the points, but Pat McEneaney did ye a favour many times. Mostly ignoring Donaghey being pulled for the whole match.

So don't be complaining about one or two incidents in the match.

On Topic: Moran looked good for a while but faided... Quirkes introduction was a masterstroke, though not unexpected (was shouting at the screen for 5 mins before he was brough on)

Forwards were poor.
    Backs were solid: Tommy Griffin, Tomás Ó Sé and Aiden O'Mahoney were immense!
    Maher a Future Star.

With all due respects DDC1990, I think Ger Brennan was quite lucky to stay on the pitch as he had a poke at Darren O'Sullivan at one stage during the 2nd half.

The reason I am stating what I am about Donaghy is that it did make a difference to the overall result and once again McEnaney has shafted us. It could prove crucial as we need to preserve NFL1 status for this squad to progress and I really have my doubts about it now.

Obviously, we're not going to see eye to eye on this one so we'll just leave it at that. By the way, thanks for pointing out more refereeing inconsistencies as it just proves to me even more that these experimental rules are just not the answer IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

lads, i wouldnt be reading too much into this game for both sides. these games mean nothing once may comes. its from here on until June/July that things matter and will shape how the year pans out.

True enough but at the same time it's vital that we preserve NFL1 status for 2010 and Sunday's draw may prevent us from doing that.