Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Lads. W.T.F?

• Registered Users Posts: 45 Murphy7777

davgtrek wrote: »
    I'd like to see what would have happened to her if she did this to the head of state in France,England or imagine USA !!! Ask your Polish friends what would have happened her with Polish police !!She got off lightly and the Guards in Ireland generally show restraint & respect on a level that is probably unique across the world.

"the Guards in Ireland generally show restraint & respect on a level that is probably unique across the world" …..since when?? I have seen way too many guards in Ireland on power trips pushing people with extreme force to the ground, hitting them etc. I was arrested before for being drunk and disorderly (even tho I didn't do anything except answer back to a smart comment made by one of the guards who could not deal with being "spoken" to like that)and I can tell you they showed anything but "restraint & respect" towards me. Absolute scumbags some (not all) of them

• Registered Users Posts: 10 flyingmachine

I'd like to see what would have happened to her if she did this to the head of state in France,England or imagine USA !!! Ask your Polish friends what would have happened her with Polish police !!She got off lightly and the Guards in Ireland generally show restraint & respect on a level that is probably unique across the world.

Id also love to see her Kenny/Burton if they were in Greece/Turkey

• Registered Users Posts: 10 flyingmachine

Id also love to see Kenny/Burton if they were in Greece/Turkey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 762 ✭✭✭PeteFalk78

Serves her right.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,057 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I'd like to see what would have happened to her if she did this to the head of state in France,England or imagine USA

What would have happened in those places?

Would she be roughed up any more than the guy who tried to assassinate Ronald Reagan, or the man who fired shots at the queen?

You're another one that imagines that they'd be shot dead in an instant for standing in front of a car I suppose :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Murphy7777 wrote: »
    "The Guards in Ireland generally show restraint & respect on a level that is probably unique across the world" …..since when?? I have seen way too many guards in Ireland on power trips pushing people with extreme force to the ground, hitting them etc. I was arrested before for being drunk and disorderly (even tho I didn't do anything except answer back to a smart comment made by one of the guards who could not deal with being "spoken" to like that)and I can tell you they showed anything but "restraint & respect" towards me. Absolute scumbags some (not all) of them

It's not all about the Police Force either....

Remember our Policing strategies have been developed largely in tandem with the UK,with lots of focus on "Community based Policing Initiatives" and assorted other buzzy,soft-focused stuff.

The Community aspect works well enough,just as long as those involved don't have to perform the more realistic role of a Policeman....ensuring that people obey whatever laws are legally enacted to regulate the society they exist in.

Once you get a situation where a Police Officer has to take action to ensure the law is upheld,then the Community stuff disappears in a puff of blue smoke.

I'd be confident of seeing a lot more Deployment of Public Order Units from here on in,even if only to ensure the Fiona's of this world are'nt facilitated to "just bang on his bonnet" whenever the mood occurs.

In some ways this will give the "revolutionaries" and "activists" a renewed zeal in their chosen field,as it will be seen to underline the Oppression inherent in all Statist societies.

That will be a victory for some but a defeat for the remainder of us....:o

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users Posts: 613 ✭✭✭SeaDaily

What would have happened in those places?

Would she be roughed up any more than the guy who tried to assassinate Ronald Reagan, or the man who fired shots at the queen?

You're another one that imagines that they'd be shot dead in an instant for standing in front of a car I suppose :rolleyes:

I might be wrong in saying this, but I think the world has probably changed a bit since those clips from last century which you posted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I think the first two lads had it under control and the third wasn't needed. At the same time though I can see why he came across to help. It was a bit heavy handed, IMO, but if she's gonna jump in front of a car holding the Taoiseach and bang on it she should expect to be swiftly removed.

All in all, don't run in front of cars causing trouble and this won't/shouldn't happen.

SeaDaily wrote: »
    I might be wrong in saying this, but I think the world has probably changed a bit since those clips from last century which you posted.

Well nobody has been shot or killed by the Secret Service or SO14 / Queen's Guard since, either. And there's been more than a few incidents of security breaches between then and now (far more serious than what happened outside of Mansion House too)

People seem convinced that what this woman did would have led to her been shot in the US or UK, which is just a bizarre belief to have. Maybe she would have been tackled in a similar way as she was by Gardai, but more likely she wouldn't have been able to get so close to the car in the first place.

People have flung sandals and gotten into elevators with US presidents while armed over the last few years and none of them were shot as a result!

May they all be struck down with cancer of the genitals though

7MTgRvB.png

Posted by a garda and 'thanked' by a few more.

Well done lads

• Registered Users Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭percy212

Enda is a nobody. You can hardly compare him to Obama (who is actually targeted by dangerous people). We have a young woman who is attending a protest, and makes a dash for Enda's car. The gardai should expect that behaviour and be prepared to restrain and escort such protesters away from the action SAFELY. Flinging her around like a bean bag doesn't speak well of gardai training or attitude. This is ENDA KENNY we are talking about again. He is in no danger from anyone except himself.

Got what she deserved in my opinion. Don't throw yourself at a car and the Gardai won't have to throw you away from the car. Common sense, really.

Do you not sometimes pretend to be a photographer?

You should look more closely at what is happening

jgEfAOe.png

The Incredible Bulk's colleagues already had the situation under control before he launched himself in front of the car and almost got ran over :o

• Registered Users Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Miike

7MTgRvB.png

Well done lads

That pic, and those who liked it...a tribute to An Garda Síochána. Shameful and vitriolic.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

The Incredible Bulk's colleagues already had the situation under control before he launched himself in front of the car and almost got ran over :o

I like this notion of under control, if you play the video in slow motion you will see that the woman was still resisting and more importantly there was less than 0.5 seconds between the time guard 1 and 3 for a hold of her. If you watch closely and slowly you will see that when the first two get a hold of her she is facing away from the car and throws herself backwards towards the car, milliseconds later guard 3 pulls her in the opposite direction that she was throwing herself and she ends up going flying.

Yes it was a heavy throw but it was an effective response to somebody who has acted in a threatening and violent manner, who then repeatedly attempts to wriggle away from the guards and get closer to the car.

At the time of the throw the woman was still trying to get nearer to the car, you can come to your own conclusions but I think quickly getting her out of the situation was necessary as a result of her actions.

Even if you look at the video as it is on Facebook, you can clearly see that at 6.9 seconds she is first touched by a guard and by the start of the 8th second she is already thrown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Miike wrote: »
    That pic, and those who liked it...a tribute to An Garda Síochána. Shameful and vitriolic.

Not sure what that's got to do with this thread but I'll bite. I can only speak personally of course but I thanked the post because he pointed out the absurdity and danger in blockading and attacking a Garda Station. I didn't agree with wishing harm on people but the Boards thanks system isn't that complex that you can be specific. Hope that clears it up for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Your one had a really annoying voice though. They should have picked her up and thrown her down again. Oh my gawwwd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

Murphy7777 wrote: »
    I was arrested before for being drunk and disorderly (even tho I didn't do anything except answer back to a smart comment made by one of the guards who could not deal with being "spoken" to like that)and I can tell you they showed anything but "restraint & respect" towards me. Absolute scumbags some (not all) of them

I'd imagine you deserved it somehow.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,475 ✭✭✭✭guil

7MTgRvB.png

Well done lads
    Can you really blame him for thinking like that. I can only imagine the amount of horse**** the guards have to endure with these so alled peaceful protests. Add to that the possibility of having to knock on someone's door to tell them someone isn't coming home etc. last year my mother in law passed away suddenly and two guards had to come to the house and stay with her until she was brought to the morgue. That must of been absolutely terrible for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 27 DirtyLeeds14

With camera phones everywhere don't get why the Gardai in question would do something so stupid. The politicians there supposedly protecting will be the first to turn on them.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,804 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Wanna throw a bit of context with that snapshot?

• Registered Users Posts: 3 i15

it sucked :(

• Registered Users Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

7MTgRvB.png

Well done lads

I'm not a Garda,nor associated with the force in any way,but apart from the "Cancer of the Genitals" bit, I'd stick an oul "Thanks" there as well.

Watching how the various "Anti" groupings have attempted to manipulate their "Peaceful Protestery" into some form of National Mantra is all I need to thank this fellas post.

I'd hope that that poster would reconsider the "Cancer of the G's" bit,perhaps replacing it with offering these "Activists" a year's residence in whatever Nirvana they purport to believe in today.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

guil wrote: »
    Can you really blame him for thinking like that. I can only imagine the amount of horse**** the guards have to endure with these so alled peaceful protests. Add to that the possibility of having to knock on someone's door to tell them someone isn't coming home etc. last year my mother in law passed away suddenly and two guards had to come to the house and stay with her until she was brought to the morgue. That must of been absolutely terrible for them.

While I understand your fundamental point about thanking the post, I still feel I need to ask: You think because a member of AGS is exposed to a certain level of 'abnormality' in their working life that it is okay for them to say something like that, in a fashion that could easily be described as "lashing out" on a public forum?

I can absolutely understand the levels of frustration that is experienced when the "peaceful protesters" exhibit behavior like the ones spoke about in this thread but I still don't think that's good enough and it certainly doesn't merit comments like that.

jgEfAOe.png

Yes, looking closely I see a garda, to the left of the screen, at 2 seconds in, make a bolt out of screen.

'Garda 3' as he's now known (the hi-vis garda) turns and follows this Garda immediately. As Garda 3 gets to the front of the car, his attention is drawn to a woman who is fighting off Gardai trying to get to the car.

He quickly assists with the removal of her, and swiftly exits to the left (where he presumably catches up with whatever caught the other garda's attention at 2 seconds).

As an aside, Garda 3 comes into physical contact with the woman about half a second after the Garda on the right. As he approaches from the front of the car, only one Garda is dealing with the "peaceful protestor".

• Registered Users Posts: 13,804 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

AlekSmart wrote: »
    I'd hope that that poster would reconsider the "Cancer of the G's" bit,perhaps replacing it with offering these "Activists" a year's residence in whatever Nirvana they purport to believe in today.

Just to throw a bit of context to it, and i know people seeing that for the first time would be (rightly) annoyed, but hopefully this explains my actions.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=92917992&postcount=9769

• Registered Users Posts: 10,475 ✭✭✭✭guil

While I understand your fundamental point about thanking the post, I still feel I need to ask: You think because a member of AGS is exposed to a certain level of 'abnormality' in their working life that it is okay for them to say something like that, in a fashion that could easily be described as "lashing out" on a public forum?

I can absolutely understand the levels of frustration that is experienced when the "peaceful protesters" exhibit behavior like the ones spoke about in this thread but I still don't think that's good enough and it certainly doesn't merit comments like that.
    I never thanked any post so please be sure before making assumptions.

Just to throw a bit of context to it, and i know people seeing that for the first time would be (rightly) annoyed, but hopefully this explains my actions.

I hadn't seen that follow-up post before now. Fair play

guil wrote: »
    I never thanked any post so please be sure before making assumptions.

I hadn't assumed you had thanked it. I was referring to other posts but my reply had poor structure, my apologies.

Atleast you apologised. The context didn't help but the apology certainly goes a long way :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Atleast you apologised. The context didn't help but the apology certainly goes a long way :D

certainly not the kind of behaviour or apology you'd expect from the likes of a hairy-knuckle-dragging-violence-fetishist as the average gard is portrayed round these parts some time