Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

when to introduce second dog?

• 29-10-2010 11:20pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭

I have a collie and I'm thinking of adopting a rescue dog for a number of reasons:

1. for company for other dog as myself and OH work during the day
    2. having recently begun volunteering in a dog shelter I would love to give one of these beauties a home
    3. I just love dogs!

thing is our collie is just shy of 5months and we are still training him and making great progress so worry that a second dog would disrupt this

we have a nice big secure garden so we have enough space
    I'm just worried he would be too lively for an older dog so hoping to get a dog under 2 or 3 maybe?

basically, should we hold off for a few months?

any suggestions or advice would be very welcome and appreciated:)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Sigma Force

Might be a good idea to get a dog of similar age and full of beans at 5 months unless very traumitised before they get to rescue they are generally full of beans and accepting of new things so it might be a good time to get another one.
    A older dog might be an option just depends on the older dog, some older dogs are full of beans and love to play and some older dogs are just big grumps and have no time for young pups.
    Since you are volunteering it might be an idea to perhaps see if you can bring your pup along, choose perhaps a few dogs and pups and get your pup to visit each one and see which one he gets along with the most.

My two girls, 7yrs and 11 yrs have no time for our 1 and half year old pup the 11 year old dog will sort of play with him eg chase after him when he nicks her ball but she's not really that bothered with him, the 7 yr old completly blanks him even when he jumps up in her face, she acts like he's not even there. At the same time though he's brought a bit more life into them, they tend to play a bit more he livens up the place.

At 2 or 3 years old dogs are generally still fairly puppyish though after about 3 some tend to become more 'grown up' but again it depends on the dog, my parents 7 yr old dog would be more playful but she also gets fed up with our youngest acting the eejit lol.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭lrushe

magentas wrote: »
    thing is our collie is just shy of 5months and we are still training him and making great progress so worry that a second dog would disrupt this

I think you've answered you're own question here. Your dog is only 5 months old and still being trained, he needs your full attention at the moment. He hasn't even hit those teenage years yet! I would say wait another year, then by all means rescue him a friend. Once you have him settled and properly trained bringing in a second dog will be a lot less stressful for all involved.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,819 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

I can see some merit in waiting but your pup is at the perfect age to easily accept a newcomer. If the new dog is reasonable trained especially recall then the pup will learn from it. If you wait until your dog is older he may be more territorial.

I was walking my two & we literally found an abandoned 6 month old pup. I ended up bringing him back home there & then. This is the second time that I have just come home with a new dog & my existing dogs have always been fine.

The shelter are bound to get a suitable dog & you will be able to try him out. I would do it when you find the right dog rather than waiting for the right time. Two dogs ( even three !) are so much easier than one. Within ten minutes of letting him off the lead my pup is shattered - from trying to catch a Greyhound !. Dogs have an inbuilt instinct to get on with each other as it was essential for the well being of the pack.

Well done for volunteering !

• Registered Users Posts: 657 ✭✭✭portgirl123

Have you thought of maybe fostering for the shelter. that way you can see how your guy copes with another dog. If it doesnt work out no harm done. you might this way come across a dog that your guy gets along with and then you will have your new addition

Good idea. I could never foster - I would end up keeping them all !.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭magentas

hey guys,

thanks so much for all your replies some very valid points.

maybe I should have mentioned that our fella is just the friendliest little thing you could come across and gets on fantastically with other dogs!

we bought him to puppy training and socializing classes at 9weeks and he meets and plays with all kinds of dogs in the park where we walk him every day.
    I think the thing would be finding a second dog that would react well to him and have no issue with other dogs.

We were thinking of waiting because of his training
    TBH I was out of work when we got him and that worked to my advantage really because I had plenty of time to give him which he needed at that young age but now I'm back working and it's not fair on him being in the garden for 8hrs on his own.
    he could become bored and destructive

I've wanted to adopt for a while now
    the dogs would be company for each other and they will get plenty of attention
    walks every morning before work and good long walk after work

discodog you make a good point in saying that he may be too territorial if we wait a while

there's pros and cons and I can see everyones points

sigma force, excellent idea to bring him with us to shelter and see how he gets on with the dogs out there and how they respond to him

thanks for all the advice guys:)

I should of said a bit more territorial. We think like humans & we can easily assume that dog A won't get on with dog B. In reality provided that we react in a positive way most dogs get on just fine. Our dogs will look to us as to how to react as they see us as leader.

When I just had two dogs I was driving home & spotted a dog that I knew had escaped. I grabbed him & literally plonked him next to my two in the back of the Jeep. They had never met but were instantly OK.

You could take your guy to the rescue but dogs behave differently in a rescue when they are surrounded by other dogs. Christmas could be a good if you are going to have some time off.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Discodog wrote: »
    Christmas could be a good if you are going to have some time off.
    I don't know about fostering, but many shelters won't rehome around Christmas. The amount of excitement that usually surrounds Christmas could stress dogs out more than usual too.

The shelter that the OP volunteers with would be OK with this. It depends on what kind of Christmas you have planned. It can be a good time if you get a lot of time off. I am planning a spay for Christmas as I will have time off to look after the patient.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭mymo

My older dog was about 10 months when we got the younger one, he was quite good on the training front and still young and playful (still a pup himself really). It worked great.
    If you are considering an older dog, thats another story. From what you say then about his training, it shouldn't be a problem, just find one that will be calm but still playful, and has the basic training.
    I found training the younger dog was so much easier than the older one, she just followed everything he did, it was very cute.:D
    If the rescue will allow(should imagine they'd be fine if you volunteer regularly), christmas is a good time, you'll be home and have time to settle them.
    I got both pups in the summer, my daughter was home and we had time to train and settle them before the routine of school started.

mymo wrote: »
    I found training the younger dog was so much easier than the older one, she just followed everything he did, it was very cute.:D

I am seeing the same thing every day & it's brilliant. The pup often looks at the other two to see what they are doing. I never had to show him the bed. When I say "on your bed" he watched the others & copied.

Even funnier whenever I tell him off, in a joke way, he looks at the others & they realises that it is fun. His tail never stops wagging. He stole a sock today & seeing the reaction of the other two, he tried to put it back !.

• Registered Users Posts: 210 ✭✭amira

magentas wrote: »
    hey guys,

thanks so much for all your replies some very valid points.

maybe I should have mentioned that our fella is just the friendliest little thing you could come across and gets on fantastically with other dogs!

we bought him to puppy training and socializing classes at 9weeks and he meets and plays with all kinds of dogs in the park where we walk him every day.
    I think the thing would be finding a second dog that would react well to him and have no issue with other dogs.

We were thinking of waiting because of his training
    TBH I was out of work when we got him and that worked to my advantage really because I had plenty of time to give him which he needed at that young age but now I'm back working and it's not fair on him being in the garden for 8hrs on his own.
    he could become bored and destructive

I've wanted to adopt for a while now
    the dogs would be company for each other and they will get plenty of attention
    walks every morning before work and good long walk after work

discodog you make a good point in saying that he may be too territorial if we wait a while

there's pros and cons and I can see everyones points

sigma force, excellent idea to bring him with us to shelter and see how he gets on with the dogs out there and how they respond to him

thanks for all the advice guys:)

Hi magentas,
    i know the post its a bit old.. but i'm now in a similar situation as you were.
    I got a pup this xmas and i had time off and all an it was grand. But now i feel horrible leaving the dog on his own all day. I have my mum coming at lunchtime, she feeds him and plays with him a bit, but i'm seriously considering adopting a second one.
    It's also that where i live there are not many dogs around and my poor pups is always so happy when around other dogs.. i think he needs more company and socialising, so was thinking of getting another one.

Did you went for the adoption in the end? How did it go?
    being a volunteer and in the same situation as myself, i wanted to ask you.. I didnt adopt my current dog coz i was told they would never give me a dog knowing that i was working full time and that the dog will be a considerable amount of hours on his own.
    Do you think this changes if there is already a dog in the house? they wont be alone, they'll have each other, and they could share the big garden and the dog flap :rolleyes: