Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 5,024 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Not really,but the sheer defiance of it all is just baffling.
    I heard today On twitter last night the Cork gaa site ,gave its dissaproval about Cork fans being so negative.In fairness like.

In fairness to Tracey Kennedy, she's probably as pissed as anyone at the goings on. A bit like harassing the bank staff behind the counters when decisions are made higher up.

Nice of us to build a stadium for Tipp, Clare, Limerick and Waterford to play Munster finals in

• Registered Users Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

lukin wrote: »
    If he did say that it's incredible. It was the first competitive game of the year for them, they had plenty of time to get ready.

Yes but that was because he was only in the job a short time and hadn't had a lot of time with the players. Ger Fitz has no such excuse.

To be fair to him, he probably didn't have as much access to the players as would have been desired.

8 of them are on the Senior Panel, the Goalkeeper is a minor, there is a few Intermediates and AFAIK a few on various County Football panels, so all in all he probably had very limited time with a full panel.

Obviously this doesn't excuse last nights performance but it may well have been a contributing factor.

In fairness to Tracey Kennedy, she's probably as pissed as anyone at the goings on. A bit like harassing the bank staff behind the counters when decisions are made higher up.

Nice of us to build a stadium for Tipp, Clare, Limerick and Waterford to play Munster finals in

Id imagine Clare can only play Munster finals in the Pairc at minor level and that Limerick/Thurles is a more suitable neutral ground when pairing them against the other 4.
    Limerick likewise only play Cork in Cork. Tipp play both Waterford and Cork (every other year) in Cork and Waterford only play Tipp there...

Surely you can see the financial benefit of a Munster hurling or football final being held in Cork to the local economy and the gaa county itself?

But i would agree that PUC needs more then just big GAA games to pay for itself. Concerts, events and possibly other codes should be strongly taken into consideration.

It would have been probably better for all the sporting organisations to pool together and build a multi-purpose arena rather than the GAA going it alone so they could utilise it the whole year round.

Whatever about whether Cork can afford a new stadium, PUC just could not continue hosting big events in the same state

• Registered Users Posts: 5,024 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Agree it needs to be knocked but its the cost that I can't figure

(Taken from Wikipedia, can't guarantee accuracy)

Semple stadium refurb €18 million
    Gaelic grounds Limerick €12 million

Both fine stadia now yet the CCB want €67 million for a stadium that may only be full once every couple of years. I'm no engineer but I'd like to know how the refurb of PUC is costing 3 or 4 times the others

Madness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Thinkstoomuch

Thats a valid point,as Cahalane,Sugure,Cadogan and Wall were all involved with the U21 panel in the football,and Sugure was involved last thur night,with the junior footballers.

Their is a few being called up to the intermediate team for tommorrow night but they were given first priority to the u21 team.

However,having said that the gap between the U21 football final in may and this game was nearly 14 weeks.

And the fact these guys were all of high level of fitness anway,it should not have been a big problem.

Clare managed to win a munster U21 title ,be very competive in a intermediate final in Nenagh that i was at,and also at senior level with a similar crossover of players between all three panels.

Ger Fitz hinted at the game Sunday affecting the lads.That was just refusing to accept any blame himself.
    If anything the game was an ideal chance of a reprieval,for them.You see it in the rubgy for example,they have a bad loss for Ireland but go back to the provinces and perform better.

The fact,is Cork played as indiviuals as seen by isolated good displays from,Coughlan,Murray,O Shea ,Cahalane ,Joyce and spillane ,and no where near a team.

From 2009 this has been evident under Ger Fitz.He fails to read a game,adapt to the flow of a game and where its clear as day a player is in trouble,he doesnt make a swtich.

In 2011 our full back withers who is not a full back,was rosted by tipp but he waited for a whole half to sub him with cahalane who he deemed not good enough to start.

He failed to start David drake and started seamus Corry ahead of him.

He in the munster final against Limerick put Aidan Walsh in full forward where he got no ball in extra time when he was unmarkable the same night at half forward.

He never swtiched Ellis and Nagle where Dowling was having a field day.

He failed to give Seamus Harnedy,any game time but used hes club man Haughney instead and brought back on lehane in extra time who was sick.

Seamus Harnedy has got six points from play in two senior starts.He was not good enough for the U21 team.

He after around 5o minutes took off our best player Nicky Kelly last year down the pairc,against Tipp when we had a 3 point lead.Then we were out run in midfield and lost the match.

Any one in Cork knows Patrick O Mahony is not a full back yet he left him there for 40 minutes.

And then he brings on stephen murphy and throws him on Bill Walsh.Why not put Cahalne or spillane on him.First ball in .murphy looses it to Walsh and gives away the penalty.

I felt so sorry for the lad.

Gerf fitz and the CCB refuse to accept ,four years in,their is time for a change.

He has never before Cork managed a team to success.Ger Cunnigham,O Grady,Eddie Murphy etc should be given the job.

JBM wanted the job in 09 but did not take it as he was not allowed be he's own man and pick he's own selectors.

Both fine stadia now yet the CCB want €67 million for a stadium that may only be full once every couple of years. I'm no engineer but I'd like to know how the refurb of PUC is costing 3 or 4 times the others

Madness

Their probably of the view,that as we are cork we have every given right to have the best stadium around,but in relation to our teams we have no given right to expect our teams to be succesful every year.

Madness

There was little enough done to Thurles in all honesty apart from roofing the whole O'Coinneann stand. As there is still poles going down through each stand i wouldnt say the roofing got much of an overhaul. i wouldnt think it could be compared to PUC which is building a new stand from scratch and roofing the opposite side.. Limerick had a new concrete bowl put in around the ground and seated the ground but both terraces and one of the stands are open air.

Cork is a whole other project around the ground also. Part of the general docklands development i thought?

A big night tonight for Cork Hurling.The only grade left where we have a chance of winning anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭Horse84

Meyler calls for Rebels to look at colleges structures
    19 July 2013

Carlow hurling manager John MeylerJohn Meyler believes Cork need to combine their college hurling sides.

The Rebel County seem to be losing ground at underage level with each passing year and Wednesday night's crushing defeat to Tipperary in the Munster U21 HC was just the latest in a long line of disappointments for the former kingpins.

"It's twelve years since Cork have won a minor All-Ireland and all the other counties have caught up and passed them," the former Cork and Wexford hurler says in The Irish Examiner.

"You have colleges in Limerick and Waterford doing well like Ardscoil Rís and De La Salle but it's the combined colleges in Waterford and Dublin that have been such a success.

"Cork have to do something similar. They could put together the colleges on the southside of Cork city together and the north colleges into their own team as well. Get lads playing at a higher pitch on better teams from an earlier stage and there will be benefits.

"Dublin started the whole thing eight or ten years ago. It was about bringing lads to the next step, they were blooded quicker and got to compete at the highest level. There are no Cork colleges around the city doing well. It's something that should be looked at.

"It's not about tradition any more. Everybody is training and everybody is moving on and working hard. There are people now in place to develop teams and put new structures in place that are working for the counties.

"Everything is far more scientific and educated and in the likes of Waterford IT you've a new kind of sports people being created and they're going back to their own counties with the skills they've picked up."

Horse84 wrote: »
    Meyler calls for Rebels to look at colleges structures
    19 July 2013

Carlow hurling manager John MeylerJohn Meyler believes Cork need to combine their college hurling sides.

The Rebel County seem to be losing ground at underage level with each passing year and Wednesday night's crushing defeat to Tipperary in the Munster U21 HC was just the latest in a long line of disappointments for the former kingpins.

"It's twelve years since Cork have won a minor All-Ireland and all the other counties have caught up and passed them," the former Cork and Wexford hurler says in The Irish Examiner.

"You have colleges in Limerick and Waterford doing well like Ardscoil Rís and De La Salle but it's the combined colleges in Waterford and Dublin that have been such a success.

"Cork have to do something similar. They could put together the colleges on the southside of Cork city together and the north colleges into their own team as well. Get lads playing at a higher pitch on better teams from an earlier stage and there will be benefits.

"Dublin started the whole thing eight or ten years ago. It was about bringing lads to the next step, they were blooded quicker and got to compete at the highest level. There are no Cork colleges around the city doing well. It's something that should be looked at.

"It's not about tradition any more. Everybody is training and everybody is moving on and working hard. There are people now in place to develop teams and put new structures in place that are working for the counties.

"Everything is far more scientific and educated and in the likes of Waterford IT you've a new kind of sports people being created and they're going back to their own counties with the skills they've picked up."

What he says is valid,but again nobody highlights the issue of how managers with no Cv's of proven success are repeatedly put in charge of Cork teams.

Not one critiscim of wednesdays night s manager or results in hes four year term.

The same paper that had said on tuesday it was one of the best underage teams in ages and felt Cork would win,yesterday soley blamed the players and said they are not good enough.
    What a difference a day makes.

It gets better,today an ex player blames newtownshandrum style of play that won Cork two all irelands for the problems underage.He would not give he's name ,but blamed Bernie O Connor for faciliting the style,to suit Ben and Jerry.

Madness.

Its blame everything and everyone bar the real problems..All the talk is now the work is being done in the development squads.

Who are they trying to fool.Cork has only five full time coaches and miles behind everyone else.Any talent got from them is wasted from minor up.

We are way behind,Limerick,Clare,Tippereary and waterford at underage.

Cork are successful from u-15 all the way up to u-17and at the very worst competitve.

As soon as they get to minor and upwards,it fall apart.It's a no brainer as to why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

Madness

This does look crazy. The Gaelic Grounds got a few games this year, but most years nothing happens. Cork is probably the same. What a waste of money.

It gets better,today an ex player blames newtownshandrum style of play that won Cork two all irelands for the problems underage.He would not give he's name ,but blamed Bernie O Connor for faciliting the style,to suit Ben and Jerry.

Madness.

Its blame everything and everyone bar the real problems..All the talk is now the work is being done in the development squads.

In fairness he didn't actually blame Newtown or Bernie o'Connor, he said there had been a tendancy within Cork Club Hurling and county set ups to try and replicate that game type when it was a style that was specifically designed for and successfull because of the particular individuals who mastered it, I think he has a very valid point to be fair.

I do agree with you on the blame game that is going on alright but even this is at least progress, upto a year or two ago the powers that be in Cork and alot of the less clued in supporters had there heads buried in the sand and convinced there was nothing amiss and it was just a cyclical thing, as they say admitting the problem is the first step. And people spouting rubbish about hurlers coming like mushrooms in Cork are not helping anyone.

If a strong traditional county like Cork starts to rest on its laurels and assume everything will be ok, it won't be long before they become a minnow, take Tipp as yer perfect example for those who don't think it can happen, 1972-1987 happened for a reason and it wasn't untill the problem was recognised and addressed that we became a respectable county again.

Rightwing wrote: »
    This does look crazy. The Gaelic Grounds got a few games this year, but most years nothing happens. Cork is probably the same. What a waste of money.

Last Sunday was the first time the Gaelic Grounds was full since the open stand was refurbished AFAIK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

Last Sunday was the first time the Gaelic Grounds was full since the open stand was refurbished AFAIK.

I think you are spot on there.

You have to ask the question, how many big stadia do we need in munster?

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭spacetrap

Rightwing wrote: »
    I think you are spot on there.

You have to ask the question, how many big stadia do we need in munster?

No it was full in 2008 for Clare Tipp Munster Final.

Tippereary 19 to Cork 18 Munster Intermediate final

Peter O Brien between play and frees around 11 points.

One and the same, a class class hurler but like he's brother before him just didn't have the physique or feet for inter county senior hurling - outfield.

He reverted to the goals for he's club about 18 months ago, having previously played there as a 16 y/o for Tipp minors, and has been a revelation. He will be part of the Senior panel next year and I expect him to be first choice for Tipp for a number of years.

Dar got 3 points tonight and made two outstanding saves, definitely one that will make the step up for Tipp, poor enough game tbh but a good win.

spacetrap wrote: »
    No it was full in 2008 for Clare Tipp Munster Final.

yeah your right my bad, but still the point remains full twice in 9 years is a complete financial disaster.

Dar got 3 points tonight and made two outstanding saves, definitely one that will make the step up for Tipp, poor enough game tbh but a good win.

The ref f*cked that game up with his constant blowing. Few of them were frees and more of them advantage could have been played. He killed any sort of flow to the game stone dead

yeah your right my bad, but still the point remains full twice in 9 years is a complete financial disaster.

Did J.P fund that pretty much though?

In the paper regarding Horgan:

Pat Horgan is expected to go in front of the GAA's Central Hearings Committee this weekend.
    The Glen Rovers man sought a personal hearing following his red card in last Sunday's Munster final,which looks set to rule him out of Cork's All-Ireland quater -final against Kilkenny on Sunday week.
    Interestingly,the referees mentor on duty in the Gaelic Grounds reported James McGrath as having made the wrong decision in sending -off Horgan.
    The former referee,deemed the Westmeath man should not have issued the Cork forward with a straight red for making contact with Paudie O'Brien.

Congrats to Tipp.
    Credit to Cork and the manager Liam Hayes who at least were competitve and even at four points down never gave up.

This team had little or no preparation in the lead up to the game with a lot of players on the Junior football last thur,the senior game Sunday,and the U21 disaster wednesday night.

Ger fitz may have thought the senior game impacted the attuiude of hes team.
    Liam hayes was in a much worse scenario,as he had to get guys that were harshly dropped of the senior panel,add in the fact,a lot were involved 2 days ago and he had a few injuries too and had little time prepare the team compared to the U21 team for tonight.

The fact they had to play the Munster champions also made it a hard game.
    Fair play to him for getting this team up for tonight.This team in contrast to the U21 team under Ger fitz,done better than expected.

Hopefully,Peter O Brien gets recalled by JBM next week.While not good enough to start,and probably lacking a bit for senior Intercounty,such are our limited options on the bench,he is certainly better than Cussen.

At the very least he trys,and will work hard and get stuck in.Lawton is one to keep an eye on next year,he got no game time wednesday night.

We quite possibly could have all our intercounty teams out of championship in hurling in July.
    Hopefully Horgan is cleared to start,and it gives us some chance.

• Registered Users Posts: 165 ✭✭CorkonianRebel

In the paper regarding Horgan:

Pat Horgan is expected to go in front of the GAA's Central Hearings Committee this weekend.
    The Glen Rovers man sought a personal hearing following his red card in last Sunday's Munster final,which looks set to rule him out of Cork's All-Ireland quater -final against Kilkenny on Sunday week.
    Interestingly,the referees mentor on duty in the Gaelic Grounds reported James McGrath as having made the wrong decision in sending -off Horgan.
    The former referee,deemed the Westmeath man should not have issued the Cork forward with a straight red for making contact with Paudie O'Brien.

That sounds very promisng but I don't want to get my hopes up in case they are dashed!!

Hopefully another good omen a result from tonights Camogie match

Liberty Insurance Intermediate Championship Cork 0-11 Kilkenny 1-5 (F/T)

That sounds very promisng but I don't want to get my hopes up in case they are dashed!!

Hopefully another good omen a result from tonights Camogie match

Liberty Insurance Intermediate Championship Cork 0-11 Kilkenny 1-5 (F/T)

Hopefully,they were far worse challenges this week,that showed more intent than Horgans and did not get red.

Hopefully justice will be done.

Credit the ladies,whether at camogie or football,they fly the flag well.

Congrats to Tipp.
    Credit to Cork and the manager Liam Hayes who at least were competitve and even at four points down never gave up.

This team had little or no preparation in the lead up to the game with a lot of players on the Junior football last thur,the senior game Sunday,and the U21 disaster wednesday night.

Ger fitz may have thought the senior game impacted the attuiude of hes team.
    Liam hayes was in a much worse scenario,as he had to get guys that were harshly dropped of the senior panel,add in the fact,a lot were involved 2 days ago and he had a few injuries too and had little time prepare the team compared to the U21 team for tonight.

Fair play to him for getting this team up for tonight.This team in contrast to the U21 team under Ger fitz,done better than expected.

Hopefully,Peter O Brien gets recalled by JBM next week.While not good enough to start,and probably lacking a bit for senior Intercounty,such are our limited options on the bench,he is certainly better than Cussen.

At the very least he trys,and will work hard and get stuck in.Lawton is one to keep an eye on next year,he got no game time wednesday night.

We quite possibly could have all our intercounty teams out of championship in hurling in July.
    Hopefully Horgan is cleared to start,and it gives us some chance.

Cheers. Hard luck tonight. Felt ye probably should have taken that point late on to level it instead of going for the juggler but thank god ye didnt to be honest. I was so sick of that borefest at that stage I dont think i could have handled another 20 minutes and that's even if the boot was on the other foot and it was Tipp with the chance to level it.

• Registered Users Posts: 165 ✭✭CorkonianRebel

Great news for Cork!

Pat Horgan wins appeal and will be available to face Kilkenny!! :)

Great news for Cork!

Pat Horgan wins appeal and will be available to face Kilkenny!! :)
    Superb news justice was done.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,290 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Had no internet for a few days, back home now - disgusted with the u21's, fair play to the intermediates, the ladies are yet again showing us the way and delighted for Horgan.

They weren't playing the Munster Champions though, as Tipp won the AI last year under the competition rules Tipp had to field an entirely new team.