Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Armed Police in Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭PhotogTom

I'd be pretty confident this story is true. My source is a golfing buddy of mine when I live in America who was a Captain of Detectives in a major American city. One of his postings was in charge of the police detail at the airport.

This would have been many years ago - say early 90s. So this was long before Twin Towers, etc were attacked and visible, armed presence was not as acceptable. He had several teams of under cover police "armed" with H&K MP5's that fit into a case that looked much like a brief case. These guys were meant to patrol the airport. But, as he was told at his retirement party, the several hundred rounds of 9mm was very heavy. So they started carrying the guns with little or no ammunition. All they really did was follow attractive women around the concourse while making inappropriate comments over their earpiece radios.

Makes you wonder just how effective all that armed presence is? Just sayin.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

ted1 wrote: »
    I feel safe in the knowledge that we have no requirement for armed patrols on our transport hubs.
    I think tourists do. I always laugh at the ones on the UK. I really do't think they know how to handle them, and feel threatened by there presence.

Just curious, what makes you think they don't know how to handle them? I believe they have to re-qualify a few times a year in order to carry those firearms.

• Registered Users Posts: 960 ✭✭✭guttenberg

Remmy wrote: »
    Just curious, what makes you think they don't know how to handle them? I believe they have to re-qualify a few times a year in order to carry those firearms.

I think Ted means tourists don't know how to act around armed police. Can they be approached and asked directions? will they engage in friendly chat or shout at them to back off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

guttenberg wrote: »
    I think Ted means tourists don't know how to act around armed police. Can they be approached and asked directions? will they engage in friendly chat or shout at them to back off?

Most tourists will be from countries where all Police are armed.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,241 ✭✭✭✭ted1

guttenberg wrote: »
    I mean the police don't know how to handle them, they have zero experience pointing a gun at a human with intent to kill them. More than likely if they had to use them there would be civilian casualties, look at the poor Brazilian fellow killed on the tube station in England a few years back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

I mean the police don't know how to handle them, they have zero experience pointing a gun at a human with intent to kill them. More than likely if they had to use them there would be civilian casualties, look at the poor Brazilian fellow killed on the tube station in England a few years back.

Ah would ya get off it. When police are armed, they go through strict training on where and when a gun should be produced or used. It's not 'more than likely' that there would be civilian casualties.

Gardai have to write written reports every time they take out their extendable baton, and face disciplinery action if it was uncalled for. So imagine the risk of producing and aiming a gun in a situation where civ casualties are possible - they'd go to jail, and they'd know that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

And no, they don't need a swat team for Dublin Airport. What they need are more segways and yet another rebranding!!

• Registered Users Posts: 680 ✭✭✭AllthingsCP

discus wrote: »
    And no, they don't need a swat team for Dublin Airport. What they need are more segways and yet another rebranding!!

Aww mate brilliant!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,654 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

EireGun wrote: »
    I watched this video on YouTube of armed Gardai in Ireland (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aObal19T5zk), and now I'm interested. I just have a few questions regarding armed Police here...

In Dublin Airport, are there any armed units (like RSU/ERU) that are stationed at the airport? I can't find much information on the web, but seeing that Dublin is one of the busiest airports in Europe it wouldn't make much sense if there wasn't a dedicated armed response there. What about the other airports? I understand there are GNIB Detectives (armed?) at our airports, but are there any US/UK-like armed Police patrolling overtly or covertly? What about any Defence Forces personnel at the airport? Another question about the airport (and others), does Ireland have any air marshals at all? I read before that the ARW/SDU/ERU are the only armed units capable of carrying out such tasks. But how common, if all, is it?

Just regarding the embassies, are the security officials at the US & British (and other) embassies in Dublin armed? And are there armed Gardai guarding the embassies outside? What about US Pre-Clearance at Dublin & Shannon, are their officers armed? I've heard before that they are, but apparently according to the law they are not!?

And lastly, I understand the RSU does not operate in the Dublin region. Why is this, and when will the capital city have it's own RSU units?

Forgive my ignorance. Thanks in advance.

airplane2.jpg

Bloody hell, you sound like a terrorist doing a bit of homework. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

Irish Customs similar to UK Border force have different divisions for Airports, Naval Ports, And Public roads, they have the power to stop and detain you make arrests, but as far as i know do not carry arms

There are so many things wrong with this post I don't know where to begin correcting you.

There is no "Irish Customs" as such. There is Revenue Enforcement, of which customs is a part, and who bear "Custaim" on their jackets. They deal with enforcement of all customs and excise offences.
    The UK border force is unlike the "Irish Customs" in that they also have an Immigration function.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭bravestar

C'mon back when you have the slightest clue what your talking about. Oh and just so you know, the intent is to stop , not kill. Police are not assassins.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,772 ✭✭✭meathstevie

I dare say you have no knowledge at all about how Police / Garda training works when it comes to firearms.

To give you an idea inside what sort of parameters armed Police operate you can use and research an example close to home; a good few chunks of the PSNI use of force guidelines and rules are in the public domain ( purposely put there ) and can be found on the web.

Before a Garda/police officer is even allowed out of the training range with a live firearm it involves several weeks of intense training involving using the firearm and more importantly learning to asses violent situations properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭EireGun

Well, we are in safe hands when it comes to maritime activities.

abeafefb1775bcdec36d9c59ed8951225eda40a1ddddd7edccbeec5fd489fe50.jpg

Gallery of Garda Emergency Response Unit, ERU, conducting anti-terror drills in Dublin alongside other European specialist Police units... Fascinating stuff.

2e5c93fc5fcb277c88837e18ff8cc045d8487fc440729f41bab2db66c39afdf4.jpg

2e5c93fc5fcb277c88837e18ff8cc045bd7fbc67fc8696ba868c86c6503b53bf.jpg

abeafefb1775bcdec36d9c59ed895122313d8f5e682a140cfde7afe261502bf9.jpg

2e5c93fc5fcb277c88837e18ff8cc045090f6eb17831d8f7294604a69c222aa1.jpg

abeafefb1775bcdec36d9c59ed895122ac3e9fc1113ce69f87a7924bc9c8cdd3.jpg

BIARzvZCMAAF78K.jpg

2e5c93fc5fcb277c88837e18ff8cc045179445d9cbcea0653983418808531857.jpg

proxy.jpg?t=HBgpaHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0cGljLmNvbS9zaG93L2xhcmdlL2Nqczc3dS5qcGcUsAQUrAIAFgASAA&s=LLJrwtzfgpnoHpKtleUgVGk-qr03NJJXly-xVICtrRs

2e5c93fc5fcb277c88837e18ff8cc04595be9145fb9c79f75acbd37ea7933a83.jpg

90297644.jpg

2e5c93fc5fcb277c88837e18ff8cc045943fed23763553a9629e2d4daef92453.jpg

2e5c93fc5fcb277c88837e18ff8cc045f415efee9556ff85d2d592c40fa86626.jpg

2e5c93fc5fcb277c88837e18ff8cc0457dc370fe6c38db3cd32abf2996a1a888.jpg

Sniper teams and spotters from the Garda Síochána Emergency Response Unit (ERU) and Special Detective Unit (SDU) or "Special Branch"...

Garda ERU Sniper Spotter
    GardaArmedSpotter1.jpg

Armed Gardai (SWAT)
    GardaArmedTeam1.jpg

Garda Special Branch Spotters (anti-terrorism)
    GardaERUspotters1.jpg

Garda Marksmen during security operation for state visit of Queen Elizabeth II to Republic of Ireland (2011)
    GardaArmedSnipers1.jpg

Armed Gardai as part of heavy security for visit of President of the United States, Barack Obama, to Ireland in 2011
    GardaCounterAssaultTeam1.jpg

Covert Garda Marksman/Snipers embedding during rural counter-terrorism operation
    GardaERUsnipers1.jpg

Garda Counter-Snipers keep watch over Dublin City during Queen's visit to Dublin, May 2011
    GardaSniperPair1.jpg

Garda Emergency Response Unit (ERU) Counter Assault Team (CAT)
    GardaSniperTeam1.jpg

Garda ERU Counter-Assault Team
    GardaSniper1.jpg

Garda armed intervention team
    GardaSnipers1.jpg

Defence Forces Army Ranger Wing Snipers & Spotter (G2 Directorate of Intelligence)
    SniperTeamDublin1.jpg

Irish Army Ranger Wing (ARW) scout sniper keeps watch over Dublin City's Convention Centre in early 2014 during European People's Party EU meeting
    SpotterDublin1.jpg

Irish Defence Forces counter-terrorism unit at Baldonnel Casement Military Aerodrome, Dublin
    IrishArmyRangerSniperTeam1.jpg

Irish Special Operations Forces
    IrishSpecialOperationsSniper1.jpg

Irish Army ARW Snipers
    IrishSpecialOperationsAirportSecurity1.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭Chief87

Do the defence forces work with the Guards when dealing with criminal gangs? Also have the defence forces ever come into contact with the IRA?

• Registered Users Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

Chief87 wrote: »
    Do the defence forces work with the Guards when dealing with criminal gangs? Also have the defence forces ever come into contact with the IRA?

They do prison escort for serious cases along with other duties aid to the.civil power role

• Registered Users Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭bravestar

Chief87 wrote: »
    Also have the defence forces ever come into contact with the IRA?

Private patrick Kelly, RIP, comes to mind.

• Registered Users Posts: 250 ✭✭An Cigire

In November 1987 Dessie O'Hare the border fox and a another criminal.. Failed to stop at a Garda/Army VCP and the effectiveness of FN was tested...

• Registered Users Posts: 943 ✭✭✭SNAKEDOC

Maybe this question has being answered already but i dont see the RSU dealing with any issues at dublin airport as its covered by the dmr so it would fall under the operational area of the ERU would it not.

The airport has a very clear line of escalation from uniformed gardai to detectives and armed support, and clear areas for each district to cover as entry and exit points from the airport surrounds.

Someone said that we are not a neutral country and its being argued on other forums before but we provide personnell for peacekeeping duties we do not fight wars. Our garda force is primarily unarmed as are our airport security and it works so why should we have a huge armed pressence that is not needed. If the airport had armed officers two or three would not work a whole force of officers would be needed and its totally unnceessary. We have gardai stationed there and stations a short distance away who are always on hand to go straight to the airport if needed, armed officers in the airport is not needed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8 cavalryman3

npHz21I.jpg

Question: What gear are they wearing please?. thanks !

npHz21I.jpg

The North Face.

• Registered Users Posts: 376 ✭✭mcgarrett

npHz21I.jpg

Karrimor Spartan jacket

mcgarrett wrote: »
    Karrimor Spartan jacket
    Is this their jacket?
    http://www.pri.uk.com/spartan-jacket.html

Thank you.

Also, yes I know their pants are the north face thank you eire, but I was asking about their jacket and if they are wearing anything underneath.

thank you.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Is this their jacket?
    http://www.pri.uk.com/spartan-jacket.html

Thank you.

Also, yes I know their pants are the north face thank you eire, but I was asking about their jacket and if they are wearing anything underneath.

thank you.

Im always wary of these questions. Why do you want to know??

Hooch wrote: »
    Im always wary of these questions. Why do you want to know??
    To be honest, If I could have a wish now, it would be to GET RID OF ALL weapons on this earth, and anyone that has violence in them just gets that out of them, and if they still wish to inflict pain on others then may they be dragged out of this universe.

now, regarding your question:
    It is very good that you may be wary of those type of questions, I get your point ... I play airsoft and that jacket looks god dam sexy as hell !!! full stop. I don't care weather Obama himself says HEY man that jacket is not cool. Well I don't care. I know it looks good and it does. It looks cozy,sexy and warm.

Images of the Garda Síochána Special Detective Unit (SDU) from the media...

SDU_Garda_3.jpg
    Armed detectives from the Irish Special Branch carrying out surveillance over the funeral of an IRA terrorist

SDU_Garda_1.jpg
    The Garda Special Detective Unit is a section of the national Garda Crime & Security Branch (CSB), which also houses the National Surveillance Unit (NSU) and Emergency Response Unit (ERU)

SDU_Garda_4.JPG
    The Special Detective Unit is Ireland's main counter-terrorism unit

SDU_Garda_2.jpg
    SDU members ensuring no firearms are brandished or discharged at the funeral of a republican dissident

SDU_Garda_5.jpg
    Heavily armed Garda Special Branch officers in their crowd control role

These are a collection of publicly available images of An Garda Síochána carrying out Close Protection (CP) duties...

Garda_Close_Protection_SDU.ERU_8.jpg
    Motorcade of President of Ireland/Uachtarán na hÉireann Mary McAleese [former]

Garda_Close_Protection_SDU.ERU_6.jpg
    President of the United States of America, Barack Obama and First Lady Michelle Obama after disembarking from Marine One in the Republic of Ireland

Garda_Close_Protection_SDU.ERU_5.jpg
    First Lady of the United States ("FLOTUS") was protected by armed Close Protection Officers (CPO) from the Garda Special Detective Unit

Garda_Close_Protection_SDU.ERU_7.jpg
    US Ambassador to Ireland Daniel M. Rooney with a bodyguard from the Irish Special Branch (right)

Garda_Close_Protection_SDU.ERU_4.jpg
    NATO's Supreme Allied Commander (Europe), Admiral James G. Stavridis of the United States Navy was protected by the Garda Emergency Response Unit (ERU) on his tour of Ireland

Garda_Close_Protection_SDU.ERU_3.jpg
    Former Prime Minister of the United Kingdom, Tony Blair, was protected by a close protection detail from the Garda SDU on his visit to Dublin

Garda_Close_Protection_SDU.ERU_1.jpg
    Queen Elizabeth II on her 2011 visit to the Republic of Ireland was protected by the Special Detective Unit, Emergency Response Unit, Irish Army Ranger Wing (ARW) and Directorate of Intelligence (G2)

Garda_Close_Protection_SDU.ERU_2.jpg
    Advance and defensive drivers from the Garda ERU chauffeured the Queen in an armoured Land Rover Range Rover

IrishARW_CP_Lebanon_2014+1.jpg
    Taoiseach Enda Kenny was protected by a VIP Close Protection (CP) Bodyguard team from Ireland's Defence Forces special operations force, the Army Ranger Wing (ARW) on his recent visit to Irish Army troops in Beruit and southern Lebanon, June 2014.

IrishARW_CP_Lebanon_2014+2.jpg
    The Irish ARW close protection operatives overtly carried Steyr AUG assault rifles, with a shortened barrel for Close Quarters Combat/Battle, concealed SIG Sauer semi-auto handguns and wore suits, sunglasses and earpieces. They accompanied Enda Kenny on his flight, helicopter trip, vehicle journey and formed a protective "diamond" around Mr. Kenny as he met Irish peacekeeping troops at their base in southern Lebanon.

IrishARW_CP_Lebanon_2014+3.jpg
    Members of the Garda Special Detective Unit (SDU) and Garda Emergency Response Unit (ERU) also protect the Irish leader.

Dramatic pictures of a team of four plainclothes armed members of the elite Garda ERU chasing and apprehending a suspect at gunpoint, believed to be involved in an abduction, following a high speed chase through Dublin, after a suspected 'tiger kidnapping' hostage taking. Two shots were fired during the incident by ERU officers, no one was seriously injured or killed.

tige001.jpg

tige002.jpg

Unrelated;

gardai-fired-a-number-of-shots-at-the-scene.jpeg