Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

What age did you start drinking alcohol?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,688 ✭✭✭hynesie08

First sip-8, my aunt thought it would be funny to give me a sip of her Malibu and pineapple, took a sip and puked in the glass.

First drink-11, same aunt (bitch). Came into Dan Lowries in mosney parched, she handed me a smithwicks shandy, downed it in one.

First time drunk. 15 at a gaffe party. No real story there.

Highlight of it all is still walking into a pub with my granddad the day after my 18th and having my first legal drink with him.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Powers Whiskey?

Nah, bit early for me.

Even on a Friday?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,940 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

First sip would have been 11 i think.
    First time drunk was 13 older mates 15th birthday in a field 3 cans and i was hammered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 728 ✭✭✭9bred4

Started proper drinking at 17!

Side note, some of ye are really bitchy on this. Relax the flaps lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Around 4 :eek: myself and my siblings decided it would be a good idea to try some whiskey :eek: luckily enough the mother caught us before we drank too much :) After that about 7 or 8 tasted Guinness. Started drinking pints around 17 didn't try pints of Guinness until 23 and didn't look back.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,663 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

I've no excuse, in vino veratis, on my posts to boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 728 ✭✭✭9bred4

Manach wrote: »

I'm gonna be stealing that Latin phrase thanks :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Early teenage years, my neighbour started after his holy communion.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭Reiketsu

When I was 14 my parents let me drink in the house. At the same age I used to go to a friends and be honest about the fact I was going to be having a few drinks. My parents were okay about it because I never came home really steaming and I never lied about where I was or what I was doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭pablo128

13. In Mosney. We swiped the drink, a full bottle of Pernod and a few bottles of sparkling table wine, from a nordie birds chalet.
    Me, her, and my mate and 2 brothers all got hammered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

12. Me and 2 mates used to chip in for a flagon of Old Somerset and a couple of cans of Scrumpy Jack. My brother's mate would get them for us, and we'd drink them down in my shed on a Saturday afternoon.
    Good old times.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Manach wrote: »

veratis ?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2lru4dJ4J6g

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

17. I spent a year or two of doing a decent amount of drinking, but the novelty has worn off.

I'd enjoy a cold cider with dinner, but few and far between.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Drank Baileys when I was 3 or 4, asked for milk and my incompetent father decided to give me Baileys.

But I don't drink now nor smoke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Started on Celebration Cream when I was about 8. Moved on to Alter wine as an Alter boy and G&Ts in my late teens. Now mostly Burgundy, Merlot, Brandy or White Rum based cocktails.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Shane-KornSpace

When I was 14.
    Drank half a bottle of cheapo red wine up in Tick-Knock on the Wicklow Mountains.
    Every couple of weeks after that, I'd be at a house party getting locked on four cans of Budweiser :)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

15, vodka or cider. All went downhill from there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

9bred4 wrote: »
    I'm gonna be stealing that Latin phrase thanks :D

Check the spelling first though.

(Not meant as grammar natzi post)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

• Registered Users Posts: 627 ✭✭✭House of Blaze

15 if you don't count that time I quaffed a whole set of mini licqueur's in my uncles house because of the pretty colours they were!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

Survey says....

Jagershot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭smellmepower

11 or 12 at a school disco.Friend stole lots of miniature bottles from his parents drinks cabinet (rum,vodka,gin etc) and we mixed them together with some red lemonade.We thought we were very sophisticated until we started projectile vomiting a few hours later.

We also drank a bottle of red wine between us in a field beside the school around the same time, with similar results only the school caretaker (who was always trying to sell us stolen phones and chipped playstations) saw us and brought us home.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

After I turned 18. I technically had a taste off a friend's can of Dutch at a party when I was 17, but I wouldn't count it as drinking.

I just wasn't too impressed with the whole underage drinking scene. Didn't want to do my body any unnecessary harm, or get into any trouble over something I saw as stupid.

Glad I held off, fecking love a good beer now.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,421 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Alcohol.. Not till 18 but I sniffed petrol since I was 4!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

15, but never drank to much when I was younger, I used to smoke the funny fags a lot though, much better craic

• Registered Users Posts: 6,186 ✭✭✭emo72

im going to pixies tomorrow in marley park with my 16 yo son. should i allow him a sneaky pint or 2? he hasnt asked and isnt pushing for it. he wont even mention it. i know what im gonna do, but what do you guys think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭mrsbyrne

In the summer holidays when I was 16. I was maudlin love with a 21 year old farmer. Told him I was a 19 year old student nurse down home from the Mater. He wouldn't have gone near me if he knew I was still in school. He brought me into the hotel on a Sunday afternoon and asked me what did I want to drink. I looked for a Bacardi and Coke cos that's what all the nurses drank. It nearly choked me.
    We had a passionate fling. He had a Mark 11 Ford Escort with yellow headlights and what he called " layback" seats and a tape deck. I could tell you the reg even now 33 years later.
    Of course it all ended in September when he passed me on the road in me school uniform and him on his way to the creamery with the milk.
    He never spoke to me again.
    I sometimes see him in the shops with his teenage daughter. He studiously avoids me.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 6,068 Mod ✭✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

Got given my first drink on holidays with my family when I was 12. My parents were always open about alcohol, and they always let us have tastes and all. I'm not interested in drinking now, tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

didn't touch a drop till I was late 17, only problem is I haven't stopped since.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,343 ✭✭✭buyer95

I believe I was about thirteen when some of my friends got their hands on naggins and smuggled them into the local teeny boppers disco. Those were the days, passing the bottle around taking slugs and burning the throat off yourself. Us being young and completely inexperienced drinkers meant that we would be absolutely steamed for the " no alcohol " disco. Never did us any harm with the girls mind you, even then dutch courage always helped! Those were the days.