Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Barn find Glastron ssv178

• Registered Users Posts: 605 ✭✭✭breghall

Looking forward to this... Nice find Fergal.

Any foam at all in it or was it made without?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,320 Mod ✭✭✭✭fergal.b

breghall wrote: »
    Looking forward to this... Nice find Fergal.

Any foam at all in it or was it made without?

Yep lots of foam filling up all the nooks and crannies I need to get at :(

20150717_075952_zpslpkjmonc.jpg

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,320 Mod ✭✭✭✭fergal.b

I cut out a cardboard template of the transom.

20150718_095701_zpsjyzbcgim.jpg

Then epoxied two prices of 3/4" marine ply together and marked out with the template making it 1/2" bigger top and bottom to allow for the offset of the transom when I cut it,side on it looks like a parallelogram.

20150719_155827_zpspks2dads.jpg

To finish off I gave it a few coats of epoxy then covered it in fibreglass cloth.

20150719_204832_zpstz1ugwpy.jpg

Glued up ready to go :)

20150722_132511_zpshg1i4vpv.jpg

20150722_135351_zps9jgweepp.jpg

I also picked up some burgundy/grey vinyl to make a start on the seats and the padding.

20150722_195221_zpsmbbaeysk.jpg

Stringers done and glassed in thank God thats over :)

20150723_152420_zps7fzwiq1m.jpg

A bit of extra support for the transom I still have a bit more to do on each side.

20150725_151503_zpsimu2mupv.jpg

Floor in and epoxied coated. I planned on putting a grey rubber backed carpet down but today I found a remnant of black rubber back for €15 so I grabbed it :)

20150725_151428_zpssdyc4oic.jpg

After all that hard work I needed some retail therapy "My style" :D my wallet wasn't too impressed :(

20150724_154230_zpsubb3ubna.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

All proper honest to god 'marine' stuff, no corners cut to save a few bob. How much did the RPM-o-meter cost just out of interest? I sold an 85mm one the other day that's nearly 20 years old and had a bitteen mould growing inside it on ebay and it still made £25 GBP

€50 on sale :) I try not to cut corners as to the safe running of the boats electrics and so on as it's one of the main things that can leave you dead in the water but for cosmetics I cut every corner to get the best look for the cheapest makeup :)

• Registered Users Posts: 495 ✭✭Hifive

Marine parts direct must send you gold plated Christmas cards!

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭insebayguy

YES!! My life has meaning again. This makes me feel so emasculated and yet empowered, at the same time, it's a weird feeling.
    Love seeing your projects. I'll be all over this one :)

Thanks insebayguy I hope you wont be disappointed :)

Not much I could do on the boat today with the rain so I dropped the gearbox to change the impeller.

20150727_164002_zps09zckgpx.jpg

A good bit of wear on the blades and the o ring was broken.

20150727_165006_zpsb5digjfl.jpg

I also started to removed the old decals using a heatgun and then thinners to get the glue off it turned out to be a very messy and sticky job.

20150721_154322_zps5uslrqxu.jpg

After a quick lick of paint, just waiting on the new decals to arrive.

20150727_191926_zpsqdunuvtw.jpg

As the work is getting a bit much for me on my own I decided to drop out to the DSPCA in Rathfarnham and pick up this little girl, not as nice as a mercury face plate but close enough :)

20150727_122252_zpsbpe6bufg.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,961 ✭✭✭spaceHopper

The best little hardware store in the world Churchtown stores sell a spray called sticky stuff remover that is great for that kind of job. One of the lads in work managed to beat them by finding something they didn't have first time in years

• Registered Users Posts: 228 ✭✭bluezulu49

fergal.b wrote: »
    After a quick lick of paint, just waiting on the new decals to arrive.

Hi Fergal,
    I envy your abilities and am very impressed by your painting among all of your other skills. Which paint did you use for the motor and how did you apply it?
    Thanks,
    Bluezulu49

Cheers, nothing fancy for this one just Halfords gloss black over the etching primer "you need this for aluminium" and then a few coats of clear lacquer.

I decided to go with a new water pump kit as the top looked liked it had overheated so better safe than sorry. I also picked up a new prop :) it had a 13x19 but I went for a 13x21 as I think it will be better for all round boating instead of water sports where the 19 would give a better hole shot.

20150728_135259_zpspj2ylctt.jpg

This thread goes from strength to strength. Pussy pics & Hole shot..? No idea what that is but sounds like the name of a golf themed porno movie. All this along with great pics of this mans craft ;) Any chance you're looking to adopt a 36 yr old geezer? You can claim for me on your tax free allowance. I have a beard and I wipe my own ass. I'm not much hassle really

insebayguy wrote: »
    This thread goes from strength to strength. Pussy pics & Hole shot..? No idea what that is but sounds like the name of a golf themed porno movie. All this along with great pics of this mans craft ;) Any chance you're looking to adopt a 36 yr old geezer? You can claim for me on your tax free allowance. I have a beard and I wipe my own ass. I'm not much hassle really

:) A hole shot is when you are taking off from standing still it's handy for getting a skier up on the water quick instead of pulling through the water and ripping their arms off. I already have an adopted 20 year old girl although she was 3 months old when I adopted her now she is in collage and using up all my boating funds :( so thanks but no thanks :D

• Registered Users Posts: 989 ✭✭✭martin6651

Fergal, Question did you cover the surfaces with cloth that were glued together
    and what glue did you use.

martin6651 wrote: »
    Fergal, Question did you cover the surfaces with cloth that were glued together
    and what glue did you use.

If you mean the two bits of the transom yes after they were glued I covered them in cloth. The glue is a thickened epoxy called SP 130 it's a pinky brown when mixed and I just found it handier than mixing epoxy resin and filler.

20150722_223559_zpscd5tsj5x.jpg

That's the impeller done :D

11781693_10152924852707041_8613016205974275199_n_zps77ksudwu.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 989 ✭✭✭martin6651

Sorry Fergal what I meant was did you cover the inner surfaces(the side you put the glue on) with cloth before you glued up.

martin6651 wrote: »
    Sorry Fergal what I meant was did you cover the inner surfaces(the side you put the glue on) with cloth before you glued up.

Yep I did just to make sure it was fully sealed.

:) A hole shot is when you are taking off from standing still it's handy for getting a skier up on the water quick instead of pulling through the water and ripping their arms off. I already have an adopted 20 year old girl although she was 3 months old when I adopted her now she is in collage and using up all my boating funds :( so thanks but no thanks :D

If you change your mind let me know. I come with a nice wife and 3 ready made, well behaved (mostly) grand kids for ya ;)

My Sims Super V is in ****E. Left it in a 20' container in a mates yard for storage. Turns out it was removed from the container last year at some stage, dragged across a yard (so the tyres, which were flat, came off the trailer). Somebody saw fit to throw metal poles into the boat (on top of the cover). The poles shredded the cover and the boat filled with rain/snow/sleet, maybe even piss. It sat there, like that for AGES. The brand new battery was completely submerged, along with the fuel tank etc.
    All they had to do was open the plugs (bungs, is it..?) in the transom and it would have been grand. Head melted!!

That's why watching you work your magic on this boat gives me hope and inspiration for my own :)

If you change your mind let me know. I come with a nice wife and 3 ready made, well behaved (mostly) grand kids for ya ;)

My Sims Super V is in ****E. Left it in a 20' container in a mates yard for storage. Turns out it was removed from the container last year at some stage, dragged across a yard (so the tyres, which were flat, came off the trailer). Somebody saw fit to throw metal poles into the boat (on top of the cover). The poles shredded the cover and the boat filled with rain/snow/sleet, maybe even piss. It sat there, like that for AGES. The brand new battery was completely submerged, along with the fuel tank etc.
    All they had to do was open the plugs (bungs, is it..?) in the transom and it would have been grand. Head melted!!

That's why watching you work your magic on this boat gives me hope and inspiration for my own :)

I think I did one of them :)

006-1.jpg

012-1.jpg

Must be time for you to do another one so ;)

No thanks I never do two of the same thing :)

Thats the engine done.

20150729_145027_zpsvdkjjbha.jpg

20150729_182159_zpspl3byf8i.jpg

20150730_180559_zpsulwd3tl1.jpg

20150730_180616_zpstmx3kuin.jpg

20150730_180712_zpsab2j2ngw.jpg

20150730_180800_zpsbdixodty.jpg

How much did the ould prop set you back?

€150 now don't be asking me the price of anything else for God sakes my wife could be reading this :eek:

Ok grand, was hoping you had a cheap supplier of cheap props somewhere and were getting them for a pennies. Bought one the other day that nearly cost me a week's dole

Thinking of picking up another boat, just the boat, and transferring everything from my one onto the "new" one. There was a Sims Super V on Donedeal a while back for €300.00. It was up for ages. I've contacted Donedeal and they have forwarded my details to the seller so hopefully I get a result there. Like I said, the one I have is in ribbons. When I noticed that it was filled with water I levelled the boat out to get access to the battery and as the water ran to the bow it was leaking out all over the place from various cracks and previously patched up holes. Also, the supporting beams on the trailer were bunched so the boat has been leaning heavily on 2 metal posts and this has weakened the hull and caused serious dents. Not too sure it has been too compromised or is even saveable. Question is, the Tohatsu engine on the current boat is Bolted on and the bolts seem to be welded sealed. Mike Clinton reckons he may have done the job himself (prevents theft apparently). Is it a problem removing them..? Can it damage the bracket/clamp for holding the engine on the transom?

Start up a new thread and post some photos, you might be able to zap them off with a dremel.

Cheers Fergal. Might do just that. Engine looks sharp by the way :)