Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭yomtea98

What do ye think?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,400 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

I'd probably have played Coughlan, and I'm a bit worried about Mac at full back. But it's all very marginal.

• Registered Users Posts: 482 ✭✭Treble20

Coughlan unlucky not to be starting up front. The backs picked as much as I thought. Good to see Lorcan back in the team at midfield.

• Registered Users, Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Worried about McDonnell at FB tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Worried about McDonnell but its not like we have lots of cover for the fullback line. Murphy and Ellis were possibilities but I wouldn't like to see either thrown in to a Munster final. Good to see Lorcan back.

Coughlan unlucky but both Cian Mc and Harnedy did very well IMO against Clare. Interesting to see if Lehane stays in the corner.

Would love to see Naughton come on with 15 to go to run at Limerick in this heat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Thinkstoomuch

Its as clear as day he knows the only way to get ball in to the full forward line is by at least breaking even at half foward and unlike our clueless football.manager has a spefic game plan in which he will tackle one of limericks strongeast aeras.

I agree with Cronin in the half forward line as you have 3 ball winners taking undue pressure of harnedy where he really had to be man of the match for Cork just to even compete against Clare.

The concern for a lack.of mobility here is eased by the pace and direct running of Harnedy.

The other advantage of Cronin at 12 is he will move to midfield for puckouts and limerick have to send some one with him to mark him thus leaving space for Kearney and Harnedy to run through the centre.

Id say Cronin will spend a lot of time at 11 with Cian actually at 12.
    Lehane is a good goal scoring tbreat and he being close to goals is a big help.

I expect him at times to play a roaming role moving outfield thus O Farell espiceally and Horgan will have space inside.

Cork are doing the right thing not putting Cian.Mac or Cronin on Riche Mac as that would be sucidal as its like for like and no one will beat him under the high ball.
    He reminds me of the rock in hes day in that a fast forward like O Farell who gets low quick ball can turn him and cause him problems.

Coughlan and Moylan are good subs to have.Horgan stepped up the last day so he needs to be consistent now.

Im glad Mcloughlin.starts but i would have preffered at have back.With him there he could make it rock solid.
    And he has this superb ability to sweep up and is very fast and better than Kenny under the dropping ball.

Id say Egan will mark Hannon and Id have no worries their.I expect Joyce to have a huge game.He is made for days like this.

Mcdonnell is a huge risk.JBM and wrongly dropped him stone cold after the 2012 league final.He never had faith in him since as a 3 is now in a huge game shorn of confidence.

Confidence is everything for a full back.

I can understand in one way why Mcloughlin is at midfield with Kearney as you need pace,energy ,young legs for such a role in such a hot day.

I would have started Spillane at full back with Mcdonnell at 5 if he really was hell bent in Lorchan at midfield.

I understand you can not look beyond any game but i do feel their is an exeception to every rule.And if we loose we may play KK in a quater final.Thats the exception.

If mcdonnnell is roasted who goes in for the KK game.
    At best if Mcdonnell does well and if we still loose has JBM really the belief he has improved so much he could tackle Riche Hogan,Walter Walsh or round 2 with Eoin Larkin having been knocked to the floor in round one.

It was imperative Spillane saw game time anywhere on the field even on sunday.

Overall its a strong team with a strong bench bar two passengers who i would not even have to carry the bags on the bus for the team,but we are very weak in one key aera.

Overall though it has a good strong spine and shape to it.

All pundits have gone for Limerick on the tipp game.But as Tippereary proved since they are a team with serious problems and were without Corbett and could have still beaten limerick.
    Everbody expects Limerick to win.

Have they and John Allen finally turned a corner.They may well win but people seem to think Allen is a great tactian after one game.How many games did he loose on the sideline for them before.

We will know if the last game was a one off or if he is indeed a good manager on sunday.
    I feel we have an advantage on the line with JBM and Ger C.

The famous quote that in sport it is not those that inflict the most pain but those that endure the most pain that earn success.
    Who ever the Munster Champions are this year,it certainly will be true as both Cork and Limerick have endured their fair share of pain both on and off the field with player strikes,rebuilding new teams and both loosing two league finals and heart breaking championship defeats over the last few years.

Who ever wins will have came through the dark side and seen the light and be worthy winners.

May the best team win!!

Worried about McDonnell but its not like we have lots of cover for the fullback line. Murphy and Ellis were possibilities but I wouldn't like to see either thrown in to a Munster final. Good to see Lorcan back.

Coughlan unlucky but both Cian Mc and Harnedy did very well IMO against Clare. Interesting to see if Lehane stays in the corner.

Would love to see Naughton come on with 15 to go to run at Limerick in this heat.
    Naughton days are over.Id say if sweetnham and Pebbles were not absent he would have been cut from the panel with Cussen.

One belt of Mcnamara and Naughton would be cancelled out.All the talent he has is useless when Maher proved last year when he hit naughton and Cronin had to baby sit him and got lucky he was not sent off all cause Naughton had no B***s to stand hes ground.
    He is unfortunately afraid of hes own shadow.

Ellis is physical but lacks the speed
    of hurling and speed of mind for this level.He was roasted by Dowling in 2011 in the U21 final.He is more a half back if anything.

yomtea98 wrote: »
    1. Anthony Nash
    Kanturk

[FONT=arial, helvetica, sans-serif]2. Shane O'Neill 3. Stephen McDonnell 4. Conor O Sullivan
    Bishopstown Glen Rovers Sarsfields
    [/FONT]
    [FONT=arial, helvetica, sans-serif]5. Tom Kenny 6. Christopher Joyce 7. William Egan
    Grenagh Na Piarsaigh Kilbrin
    [/FONT]
    [FONT=arial, helvetica, sans-serif] 8. Lorcan Mc Loughlin 9. Daniel Kearney
    Kanturk Sarsfields
    [/FONT]
    [FONT=arial, helvetica, sans-serif]10. Seamus Harnedy 11. Cian Mc Carthy 12. Pa Cronin
    St. Ita's Sarsfields Bishopstown

13. Luke O'Farrell 14. Patrick Horgan 15. Conor Lehane
    Midleton Glen Rovers Midleton
    [/FONT]
    [FONT=arial, helvetica, sans-serif]16. Darren McCarthy Ballymartle
    17. Kilian Murphy Erin's Own
    18. Pa O'Mahony Midleton
    19. Colm Spillane Castlelyons
    20. Mark Ellis Millstreet
    21. Stephen White Ballygarvan
    22. Rob O'Shea Carrigaline
    23. Cathal Naughton Newtownshandrum
    24. Jamie Coughlan Newtownshandrum
    25. Stephen Moylan Douglas
    26. Michael Cussen Sarsfields
    [/FONT]

a point of interest is 6 of corks panel named for Sunday are more than likely set to start with the U21 team 3 days later.They could have a Senior munster medal before they if they ever won at U21 level.

It will be astonishing if JBM pulls it off and really shows what a joke the U21 and minor set up is.

Cahalane would be their if he stayed with this team.

We have a splendid bunch of U21 hurlers for wed night,with Cadogan training with the seniors ,ten members of the panel involved or been involved with JBM set up this year.

We have 5 footballers,Cahalane,Hallisey,Wall,Sugrue,Cadogan all expierence of winning tight big games in munster with the footballers with Joyce ,Lehane,Spillane and Jamie C giving it serious back bone.

Sum talent ,to at the very least beat Tipp and be competive in the Munster final if only we had a Manager.

Cork beat Waterford Munster Junior football final 1-18 to 0-9.

Well done to all and their was a few of the U21s in involved.A second munster title this year for them.Rory O Sullivan goaled,a fine player,captain last year of the U21 only for a cruciate injury.

Himself and Sean Kiely should be on the senior panel.

I was not at this tnght....saving myself for Sunday and possibly sat night.

i posted here last week about road works in Buttevant.

Its moved to the far end of the town about a mile outside and down to one lane with big delays at times.

Buttevant has the horse fair Cahermee tommrrow too so their may be delays in the town with the cleaning up afterwards and their is bound to be people from that still their the weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 451 ✭✭Meursault

The famous quote that in sport it is not those that inflict the most pain but those that endure the most pain that earn success.
    Who ever the Munster Champions are this year,it certainly will be true as both Cork and Limerick have endured their fair share of pain both on and off the field with player strikes,rebuilding new teams and both loosing two league finals and heart breaking championship defeats over the last few years.

That quote is not sport-related at all! Its a famous quote from the Cork Lord Mayor Terence McSwiney during the War of Independence!

Given the weekend, it is a great rallying call nevertheless!!

Rebels Abu

• Registered Users Posts: 17,764 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 Mod ✭✭✭✭SeaFields

keane2097 wrote: »

ye tipped limerick? Nah we dont wanna look at that atall boi :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Not one Rockies player on the Cork panel for Sunday. Boy how times have changed!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,520 ✭✭✭Zardoz

Are they using the stands for this or is it all on the pitch. Stand seats a nightmare for a 70 min match, never mind 3 hours of the Boss

Stands are in use.
    God help anyone sitting in the uncovered stand ,they will need a knee operation afterwards.(I believe the covered stand seats arent too bad)

grenache wrote: »
    Not one Rockies player on the Cork panel for Sunday. Boy how times have changed!
    good point.No barrs men either.

Their is 3 barrs men on the line though with Allen,Ger Cunnigham and JBM.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Who cares where lads are from once they're good enough. I've experienced plenty of the "who you know/where you come from" crap at club level, should have no bearing on the team

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,022 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Wish the match was today - seriously looking forward to this one.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,520 ✭✭✭Zardoz

Is the match sold out or are there Terrace tickets still available ?

• Registered Users, Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Girls playing Kerry in the Munster ladies football final today!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,022 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Girls playing Kerry in the Munster ladies football final today!

Cork 1-15 v 1-16...a couple of late Kerry points wins it for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 165 ✭✭CorkonianRebel

ShamoBuc wrote: »

It was very close as a free by Geraldine O'Flynn right at the death came off the post!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

ShamoBuc wrote: »

Christ not another loss. .Hopefully we can win the hurling tomorrow, it would make up for the ladies and our foorballers last week.

To be honest I had a sneaking suspicion that Kerry would win, I didn't expect cork to be feeling as fast as this. I do fully believe that they can regroup from this and come back through the qualifiers

• Registered Users Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

SeaFields wrote: »
    ye tipped limerick? Nah we dont wanna look at that atall boi :pac:

I did say after the U-21 debacle against Tipp that I would never tip Limerick again...... but looking at everything as unbiased as I can possibly be, I think we'll just edge it. Our bench looks stronger.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

I would prefer to see Limerick as favourites. It would suit the Cork players down to the ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭yomtea98

Cant wait

To be honest I had a sneaking suspicion that Kerry would win, I didn't expect cork to be feeling as fast as this. I do fully believe that they can regroup from this and come back through the qualifiers

Jesus i thought Cork would win...Kerry still hold the record.They will bounce back,hopefully Cork and kerry in an all ireland final.

whats the craic with the qualifers???are they one away from the quater finals and is it similar to the men,that you.play beaten Provinical winners in the quater finals??!

when is the draw for the qualifers???

Amprodude wrote: »
    I would prefer to see Limerick as favourites. It would suit the Cork players down to the ground.

i agree...Limerick expects ??they have not been comfortable in.that role before.
    we will see tommorrow have things changed.

Cork are very low key and while training has been open to the public it has not been as high profile in its launch compared to Limericks two last week.

Cork are very quiet and talking to a fella tonight,training has been going well.

Limerick will say the same do.I think they spent a weekend down in fota.

Fireball07 wrote: »
    I did say after the U-21 debacle against Tipp that I would never tip Limerick again...... but looking at everything as unbiased as I can possibly be, I think we'll just edge it. Our bench looks stronger.
    it does slightly up front with Allis,Downes and Dowling.We have Moylan and Coughlan do.

I know Niall moran is their but i am not worried about him too much.He is hit and miss,more miss than hit at times

Ye have two young excellent corner backs on the bench in Carmody and Dempsey.We have the same in Murphy and O Mahony.
    the bench is pretty even after that.