Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all,
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.
Thanks all.

Ish - where does it come from?

• 14-01-2013 3:10pm
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 11,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Hello there,
    I have an interest in etymology but I am an amateur with an interest. I was talking with a friend at the weekend and we wondered where '-ish' comes from. E.g., I'll see you there, about 7-ish.

From searching online it seems to come from old English '-isc' which in turn comes from German 'isch' but does anyone else have anything to add to that? The search wasn't particularly informative, maybe some of you would know where to look.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Boulevardier

This thread on wordreference.com may throw some light on it:

http://forum.wordreference.com/showthread.php?t=54053

• Registered Users Posts: 139 ✭✭Janey_Mac

miamee wrote: »
    Hello there,
    I have an interest in etymology but I am an amateur with an interest. I was talking with a friend at the weekend and we wondered where '-ish' comes from. E.g., I'll see you there, about 7-ish.