Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

The Illegal Irish in the US

• Registered Users Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭sponsoredwalk

My point in mentioning that little comment the OP quoted as a reason for
    starting this post had to do with the very concept of immigration as it
    currently stands. I don't know about any of the posters in this thread but
    I've come across quite a lot of big talk on boards about getting the
    for'nurs out to their own country & stop putting a drain on us. If you want
    some justification go to the threads on Mosney as just 1 example that was
    particularly bad. People have no right to tell us that this perspective is not
    xenophobic unless they are equally adamant about getting all of our
    diaspora back onto our shores with just as much passion. It's simply a
    double standard to do otherwise.

The interesting aspect of this perspective is that were we to follow this
    inane authoritarian logic we would snooker ourselves big time, adding at
    least 50,000 people onto the dole registers and on a search for housing
    etc... Now America is not the entire world, it would be illogical not to
    expect that the rest of the world has plenty of undocumented people.
    If Zambia is right that we cannot simply extricate these people on our
    own there is nothing that prevents us from putting political pressure on
    the U.S. to send the "criminals" back to our shores to pump up the
    economy by taking jobs that currently don't exist. Since figures are
    important I would extrapolate that number as being 100,000 because
    there has been mass emigration since the 70's (in particular) and the inane
    logic of these people would easily be extended to guarantee that the
    children of those "criminal" diaspora are still Ireland's problem, not country
    X's problem.

My point is that Ireland, and France, and the whole bloody world, should
    not be so crazy about policies like Immigration until it becomes a problem.
    That doesn't mean we deport people back to a country they left for
    good reason, nor should it.
    Like it or not Europe is becoming integrated in a serious way and moves like
    those France, Italy, Slovakia, i.e. those mentioned in the links in this post,
    and these parochial/exclusionary border laws need to be seriously
    re-evaluated so that those who fall under the hammer of our gloriously
    21st century modern policies, like the Roma diaspora, can stop being
    forced into modern ghetto's, we can end the strain we put on them
    causing them to have a 15 year shorter lifespan than us cosmopolitan
    hypocrites.

It's not so difficult to envisage Article's 13 and 14 from the Universal
    Declaration of Human Rights being applied a bit more consistently &
    less exclusionary by the general population, let alone heads of State.
    Article 13.

• (1) Everyone has the right to freedom of movement and residence within the borders of each state.
    • (2) Everyone has the right to leave any country, including his own, and to return to his country.

Article 14.

• (1) Everyone has the right to seek and to enjoy in other countries asylum from persecution.
    • (2) This right may not be invoked in the case of prosecutions genuinely arising from non-political crimes or from acts contrary to the purposes and principles of the United Nations.
    link
    I have no desire to see those in America come home unless they want to,
    I would hate to ruin people's lives because of silly antiquaited laws about
    imaginary borders that mainly serve to exclude those of us who happen to
    be 98-ish% similar in every important way. This policy goes both ways...
    If Europe is able to do it among over 20 nations, with many integrating
    the Roma minority, then countries like France and Italy shouldn't be
    fighting this to go backwards. We as people shouldn't fight it either by
    attacking those who come here for a better life & seeing as we're steeped
    heavily in it we should be championing imm/em-igration. I think we know
    who I'm talking about.

It just so happens that the Irish like to pick on the weak, the little
    brown people
    that nobody cares about whenever they can rather than
    critically look at the framework within they work. If our own population
    would just grow up and stop trying to drag others down by imposing rules
    that can't withstand criticism life would be a lot happier for those who
    are forced to travel to seek a better life. Just read about what the Roma
    population face when they return to their respective countries, how they
    see a few euro begging a day as a better life than that they experience
    at home! If people were to look at the Roma on our streets as humans
    and use that horribly altruistic trait known as empathy I think things
    would be very different. It's a similar question with Nigeria and many
    countries in the World. I believe our own nation was put to the task in
    the 1800's fighting a "no dogs, no Irish" policy but the victims have now
    become the oppressors. Will we ever learn :rolleyes: How many cyclic patterns
    will we have to go through before we realise that those concepts of
    equality that have been preached time and again throughout history
    are not just suits to don when it becomes fashionable...?

I'm not trying to scold anyone in this post I'm just trying to convey the
    way I see things & hopefully we can get some constructive conversation
    on this, on how Europe should actually be worked, as opposed to one line
    rants on the for'nurs who are the evil that dare not speak it's name...

• Registered Users Posts: 81,585 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Ireland's diplomatic ties have a lot to do with it. The only annually maintained dilomatic meeting that I am aware of happens between the POTUS and the Taoiseach every year on March 17th; the discussion regularly revolving around immigration issues. And Cultural ties between Ireland and the US are at least as strong as the political ties.

• Registered Users Posts: 746 ✭✭✭opo

My point in mentioning that little comment the OP quoted as a reason for
    starting this post had to do with the very concept of immigration as it
    currently stands. I don't know about any of the posters in this thread but
    I've come across quite a lot of big talk on boards about getting the
    for'nurs out to their own country & stop putting a drain on us. If you want
    some justification go to the threads on Mosney as just 1 example that was
    particularly bad.
    People have no right to tell us that this perspective is not
    xenophobic unless they are equally adamant about getting all of our
    diaspora back onto our shores with just as much passion. It's simply a
    double standard to do otherwise

(rant cut)

Please link to a couple of posts where individuals advocated removing illegal immigrants from Ireland - whilst simultaneously denying other countries right to do so (never mind your spin that they should be absolutely raving about it). Must be plenty according to your repetitive assertions and I for one would enjoy reading a few of them for the inexplicable logic.

Please also explain your little obsession with the word for'nurs. I fail to see your point or are you immaturely trying to caricature someone or perhaps a group of people in the negative? like those nasty racists do?

A few links to people (other than your good self) using this word on Boards as you have suggested would be interesting.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

If Zambia is right that we cannot simply extricate these people on our
    own there is nothing that prevents us from putting political pressure on
    the U.S. to send the "criminals" back to our shores to pump up the
    economy by taking jobs that currently don't exist.

Why would we do that ?? We have no legal basis for telling the US how to control their migration laws. Any pressure would be seen as an interferance.

Each country controls its own borders thats the only way it works.

There are several other pionts in your post that would bring us way OT

That post was very hard to read btw. I consider boards a leisurely past time and really long posts tend to make me zone out.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭lonestargirl

In terms of border patrol being able to ask for proof of legal status within 100 miles of the border almost 2/3 of the US population lives within 100 miles of a land/coastal border.

Image-Map.gif

Children cannot sponsor their parents for green cards until the child turns 21, there have been some instances of immigration judges declining to deport the parent of a US citizen but not-deporting is not equal to giving legal status. I am legally in the US but my visa does not provide a path to permament residency for me, however the baby I'm expecting will be born with dual-citizenship (my husband is Irish too).

I don't know any illegal Irish but I know plently of Mexicans/South Americans, the hospitality industry would fall over without them. If you are a new illegal immigrant life will be very difficult, someone who came over in the 80's probably has a driver's licence, bank account, SSN etc. Nowadays you have to proove legal status to get a driver's licence in most states, I only get a 1-year licence and have to go back each year with my immigration documents to renew it. My Employment Authorisation Card can act as proof of my legal status and I do keep it in my wallet at all times, it did in fact see a ICE field enforcement car parked around the corner from my house last week!

opo wrote: »
    (rant cut)

Please link to a couple of posts where individuals advocated removing illegal immigrants from Ireland - whilst simultaneously denying other countries right to do so

Here is a nice 86 page thread that particularly ticked me off a while ago
    due to the passion with which those for'nurs were charged with destroying
    our country, and here is a whole 29 pages of interesting logic for you on
    the topic of the Roma. If you have some questions about this thread then
    I'd advise you to read both the posts and links in this thread
    first. Here is the freshest discussion on this novel topic.
    All you need do is scour the AH forum or many areas of the politics forum
    to find similar humanistic sentiments from those fellow bipedal hominidae on
    those who, unfortunately, failed to be born inside imaginary borders that
    contained less poverty and war.
    I for one would enjoy reading a few of them for the inexplicable logic.

Enjoy it, I didn't find it particularly heart warming :(
    Please also explain your little obsession with the word for'nurs. I fail to see your point or are you immaturely trying to caricature someone or perhaps a group of people in the negative? like those nasty racists do?

A few links to people (other than your good self) using this word on Boards as you have suggested would be interesting.......

I think it's fairly obvious how I'm using the word & the negative
    connotations are obvious, I think we may as well illustrate the parochial
    attitudes grammatically in order to convey the sophistication of that which
    I am arguing against. I have no problem calling a spade a spade, in my own
    way ;)
    Zambia232 wrote: »
    Why would we do that ?? We have no legal basis for telling the US how to control their migration laws. Any pressure would be seen as an interferance.

Our citizens are illegally in another country, I think we can request that
    another government return workers who should be paying their taxes
    to fill up the coffers that we need to prepare to funnel into the other
    banks :P After all, they're just workers, hardly anything else :pac:

I like the point about the value of Mexican workers as lonestargirl pointed
    out, her point is a far grander one than just hospitality, the terror of
    immigrants is a historical fact of humanity & is responsible for far more
    good than bad. In fact I'd love to read all those case studies of immigrants
    ruining a country and weighing the statistics of that with the statistics
    on how immigration has pumped up countries and economies in times of
    need. I mean we don't want to contribute to double standards, as
    members & leaders of the free world, by enjoying the benefits of
    immigrants when it suits us and condemning them when we feel like it.
    That post was very hard to read btw. I consider boards a leisurely past time and really long posts tend to make me zone out.

I'm sorry if my posts are hard to read :P I haven't forced you to read what
    I've wrote so you shouldn't feel compelled to read/reply :P;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Our citizens are illegally in another country, I think we can request that
    another government return workers who should be paying their taxes
    to fill up the coffers that we need to prepare to funnel into the other
    banks :P After all, they're just workers, hardly anything else :pac:

On the first case , no we cant request the return of our citizens. Its a matter of jurisdiction we have none outside Ireland.

If Good Luck rang Cowan in the morning and requested the return of all Nigerians illegal in Ireland he could not do it without due process.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Easy send back 50 thousand non Irish and bring home the illegal Irish.Welcome home guys :D

Here is a nice 86 page thread that particularly ticked me off a while ago
    due to the passion with which those for'nurs were charged with destroying
    our country, and here is a whole 29 pages of interesting logic for you on
    the topic of the Roma. If you have some questions about this thread then
    I'd advise you to read both the posts and links in this thread
    first. Here is the freshest discussion on this novel topic.
    All you need do is scour the AH forum or many areas of the politics forum
    to find similar humanistic sentiments from those fellow bipedal hominidae on
    those who, unfortunately, failed to be born inside imaginary borders that
    contained less poverty and war.

I didn’t ask for links to threads or entire sub-forums. Also – this is Politics and not AH. There is a substantial difference even though you appear unable to discern what that difference is.

I suspect that having built your strawman argument – you are far too busy smashing it down to bother with facts or concentrate on what people are really saying.

I think it's fairly obvious how I'm using the word & the negative
    connotations are obvious, I think we may as well illustrate the parochial
    attitudes grammatically in order to convey the sophistication of that which
    I am arguing against. I have no problem calling a spade a spade, in my own
    way ;)

May I assume your strawman is some imaginary working class type that lacks your great skills of articulation (not to mention your self confessed sophistication)?

I didn’t ask for links to threads or entire sub-forums.
    Please link to a couple of posts where individuals advocated removing
    illegal immigrants from Ireland

I gave you what you asked for, "links to a couple of posts", now you've
    changed the rules in order to discredit me. I did predict you'd do this but
    refrained from instantly replying with that accusatory tone. I'm glad
    you've tripped yourself up with your own words. Basically you're more
    interested in discrediting me than listening to what I'm saying.

I give you what you asked for yet you accuse me of building strawmen,
    talk about dishonest. Notice I have posts that I gave you, which is what you've asked for,
    so that I actually have reasons to base my conclusions on & can show you to judge for yourself.
    You've provided very little to indicate what everyone "is really saying"...
    (rant cut)

Please link to a couple of posts where individuals advocated removing illegal immigrants from Ireland

If you had read "my rant" instead of cutting it you would have fathomed
    the point I was trying to make so please don't come on here accusing me
    of straw men and ignorance when you can't even refer to your own words
    correctly, let alone use this confusion to slander me properly.

If I was too busy ignoring facts why would I be linking everything important
    that I've said to posts or documents? Can you explain that?

If I was too busy ignoring facts why would I be linking everything important
    that I've said to posts or documents? Can you explain that?

I'm guessing that having constructed your strawman (that for'nur guy that you cannot link to) you are attempting some disjointed argument that consists of non sequiturs (such as your bizzare notion that those who advocate immigration controls should be "lusting" for illegal Irish to come) and random musings such as your talk of "imaginary borders".

You talk in one post about illegal Irish coming home to go on the dole and another that seems to think they will come home and save the banks.

On top of this there are third party links to whatever seems to float your boat at the time.

I'm sure there is a point in this multi-faceted mess but I cannot for the life of me work out what it is.

This has to be a joke...? I mean trolling has it's limits but the fact you are
    taking the small jokes I make in my posts as the serious stuff speaks
    volumes man. If you can't, for the life of you, figure out a point in my
    posts then why are you wasting everyone's time on here? I mean disrupting
    a conversation by focusing on the trivial stuff is taken as one definition of
    trolling and all we have you doing here is focusing on jokes of comments
    and jokes of mine you obviously don't find funny and ignore all my talk
    of Roma, and France, and the U.S. and how immigration is a ridiculous
    concept that could potentially make everyone far worse off.

Asking for a link for "for'nurs", I mean what age are you? If you seriously
    don't understand what I mean everytime I mention that then you'll never
    understand, but you wont find that in a link on the internet, it's not on
    wikipedia yet :rolleyes: And about the banks, I mean have you got the literary
    concept of irony down yet? I know what one person calls a witticism
    another calls dirt but you taking those comments as serious shows you
    haven't been reading my posts at all and have instead been feeding
    your own biases on this fishing trip of yours through my posts for the
    little things you want to pick out to use against me.

Twice now have we got you caught out, first changing the ground rules
    midstream about looking for posts to back up my claims and second about
    my bad jokes, that you take them as serious. Reading someone's post
    entails more than fishing for the things you're going to use to attempt to
    make someone look foolish. You still haven't got that down so unless
    you're willing to apologise for attempting to make me out to be just
    rambling, as you've claimed despite me giving you all the evidence in the
    world I'm not, I'll just report you because you're just derailing the thread
    to feed your own biases and I'm not interested in you trying to appear
    noble despite you constantly slipping up on the fundamentals...

And I like how you've ignored all that talk about my links as not
    being what you'd asked for. Have you gotten your answer from
    my response or is it still not to your satisfaction? What are the
    current ground rules on that oh-so important question you put
    to me a minute ago?

This has to be a joke...? I mean trolling has it's limits but the fact you are
    taking the small jokes I make in my posts as the serious stuff speaks
    volumes man. If you can't, for the life of you, figure out a point in my
    posts then why are you wasting everyone's time on here? I mean disrupting
    a conversation by focusing on the trivial stuff is taken as one definition of
    trolling and all we have you doing here is focusing on jokes of comments
    and jokes of mine you obviously don't find funny and ignore all my talk
    of Roma, and France, and the U.S. and how immigration is a ridiculous
    concept that could potentially make everyone far worse off.

I don't want to upset all of you. Maybe if ye got together and agreed what ye are talking about, it would all stack up.

• Registered Users Posts: 360 ✭✭Nirnias

Maybe someone here can help me.

Friend of mine moved over to the US with some guy, she was supposed to only stay there for 2 months but she stayed longer and her passport and visa have both expired, things didnt work out with the guy and he is ruining her life according to her, taking her suitcase and stuff and her money and trying to control where she goes.

She wants to move back to here to Ireland but has no money, the guy is appearently manipulating her and abusing her (dunno if this is physically or anything). Anyway she talked to the embassy over their but they were not willing to pay for her flight home.

Now i was thinking to myself, surely if she is an illegal immigrant in the US, she will get deported once she declares herself, i know that if she declares herself before 180 days have passed since her visa expiration she will only be banned from entering the US for 3 years or so.

But how does she get out of the country with no money and support? She said that they wont just deport her. Anywhere here shed some light?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 174 ✭✭troposphere

If she was in the Boston area there is the Irish Pastoral Center that would give her advice. Probably would be able to give advice over the phone or email even if she was somewhere else.

Deportation is a legal process, it is not like you show up and say you want to go home. There is the Scheduled Departure Program but that is for people who have already received orders to leave the country to show up and be deported without getting locked up.

My advice would be for her to get her family or friends to buy her a ticket home or for her to find a job as a live in nanny or something and stay for a few months and then purchase her own ticket home.

If she was really in fear for her safety she could contact a domesic violence group and many of them groups have temporary accomodation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

Nirnias wrote: »
    Maybe someone here can help me.

Friend of mine moved over to the US with some guy, she was supposed to only stay there for 2 months but she stayed longer and her passport and visa have both expired, things didnt work out with the guy and he is ruining her life according to her, taking her suitcase and stuff and her money and trying to control where she goes.

She wants to move back to here to Ireland but has no money, the guy is appearently manipulating her and abusing her (dunno if this is physically or anything). Anyway she talked to the embassy over their but they were not willing to pay for her flight home.

Now i was thinking to myself, surely if she is an illegal immigrant in the US, she will get deported once she declares herself, i know that if she declares herself before 180 days have passed since her visa expiration she will only be banned from entering the US for 3 years or so.

But how does she get out of the country with no money and support? She said that they wont just deport her. Anywhere here shed some light?

If she is in Boston or NY there are lots of irish immigrant centres for illegals who can help her.

Can you pay for her ticket? One ways are not expensive.

• Registered Users Posts: 360 ✭✭Nirnias

Actually she is in the Boston area. thats weird what are the chances of that. She said she was an hour or two outside Boston.

Me and my friend dont have a problem paying for her ticket home. But were not gunna send it to her. Reason why her mother wont help her is cause she asked for 500 euro off her mother and she then loaned it to this guy who now refuses to give it back to her as well as her stuff. (stupid i know)

The only way me and my friend are willing to bring her back is if we go over and bring her back ourselves. That way we know she is coming back and not being manipulated by this guy.

Being a student im reluctant to buy a return trip to Boston for 24 hours ha. but if worse comes to worse we will do it. Im always hearing about people getting deported, and iv known people from my time in London that got deported so i thought if she declared herself they would ship her out, but what you said makes sense. Cant expect them to just ship her out free.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 174 ✭✭troposphere

Her parents could also call the local police station where she is living and tell them the situation and that they are worried that the guy is taking advantage of her.

They would go out and do a well-being check on your friend. Nobody gets arrested or anything they just talk and normally the guy gets scared. He might even buy the ticket for her after that.

Nirnias wrote: »
    Actually she is in the Boston area. thats weird what are the chances of that. She said she was an hour or two outside Boston.

Me and my friend dont have a problem paying for her ticket home. But were not gunna send it to her. Reason why her mother wont help her is cause she asked for 500 euro off her mother and she then loaned it to this guy who now refuses to give it back to her as well as her stuff. (stupid i know)

The only way me and my friend are willing to bring her back is if we go over and bring her back ourselves. That way we know she is coming back and not being manipulated by this guy.

Being a student im reluctant to buy a return trip to Boston for 24 hours ha. but if worse comes to worse we will do it. Im always hearing about people getting deported, and iv known people from my time in London that got deported so i thought if she declared herself they would ship her out, but what you said makes sense. Cant expect them to just ship her out free.

From what i know,they will give her a ticket and she has to pay them back if she declares stranded,or else you can buy the ticket and have it at desk when she gets there to airport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

Estimates for illegal Irish in the US vary from around 25,000 to 50,000. (and the hyperlinked article for the 50,000 figure gives an interesting perspective on Irish vs. Hispanic illegal immigrants).
    ToniTuddle wrote: »
    This is most definitely true.

So why don't they change the law or have some clause in it that allows them to enter the property and question folks? What reason would qualify? They must not be that concerned with illegals.....
    One thing to also consider is that there is even a debate about using road checkpoints here to check for drunk drivers. People start taking about the Nazi's and Gestapo, so while lots of people would not care if illegals were asked for papers, if they started getting asked there would be a big backlash.

Because the US does not have a national ID card system, and some states allow (or used to allow) undocumented immigrants to get a drivers license, it is very hard to have a system that relies on on-demand proof of documentation.
    Tropo/Anyone does a child born in the US instantly have the right to stay?

Any child born in US territory automatically gets US citizenship. This has nothing to do with the parents, although many pro-immigration groups claim that the parents should be entitled to stay because deporting them would be denying US citizens the right to grow up there; in essence, the US would be deporting its own (minor) citizens by sending the parents home.
    Her parents could also call the local police station where she is living and tell them the situation and that they are worried that the guy is taking advantage of her.

They would go out and do a well-being check on your friend. Nobody gets arrested or anything they just talk and normally the guy gets scared. He might even buy the ticket for her after that.

This is basically why local police officers do not ask about immigration status in most cities - because they want immigrants to call them if there is a problem. If people are worried that they are going to be deported for calling the police, they are less likely to report crime.

• Registered Users Posts: 453 ✭✭dashboard_hula

@sponsoredwalk - I think what's meant by your posts are difficult to read is the way that the text is all bunched up to the left, are you posting from a phone?

I find it funny they have and opening for 50 thousand visas to USA today,that you can apply for from Ireland.And they have all these illegals there.Why dont they just give them to the people already there :confused:

http://www.irishcentral.com/news/Irish-citizens-are-eligible-for-the-50000-Green-Card-lottery-104202888.html

caseyann wrote: »
    I find it funny they have and opening for 50 thousand visas to USA today,that you can apply for from Ireland.And they have all these illegals there.Why dont they just give them to the people already there :confused:

http://www.irishcentral.com/news/Irish-citizens-are-eligible-for-the-50000-Green-Card-lottery-104202888.html

From the article:
    The Diversity Visa Lottery is open to natives of countries that have sent fewer than 50,000 immigrants to the United States in the last five years. Countries that are the source of high numbers of immigrants are excluded from the lottery.

From the article:

I know i saw that thanks :) Just meant instead of offering abroad just offer to the ones there already,And working that way they get rid of the non tax payers.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,872 ✭✭✭View

The US is interested in having law-abiding immigrants.

Illegal immigration is a criminal offence under US law. Why should the US reward crime?

View wrote: »
    The US is interested in having law-abiding immigrants.

Illegal immigration is a criminal offence under US law. Why should the US reward crime?

We do ;)

I know i saw that thanks :) Just meant instead of offering abroad just offer to the ones there already,And working that way they get rid of the non tax payers.

The article makes it clear that the program is for countries where there are NOT large numbers of immigrants already living in the US. If you are not a resident of one of those countries, you can apply for the lottery if you are in the US. It's not your location, it's citizenship that matters.

Also, just because you are working in the US illegally does not mean you don't pay taxes.
    We do ;)

Please explain how Ireland 'rewards' illegal immigration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭keithcan

while of course caseyann is ott saying we 'reward' illegal immigrants, it is arguable that not deporting illegal immigrants is rewarding them. And we don't do the 'deporting' thing that effectively, so...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

Illegals can and do apply for the green card every year.

There is a lot of hypocrisy on this issue from a lot of angles. Witness certain American politicians being caught out having an illegal nanny.

If all the illegals were simply deported from NYC the city would collapse. This is common knowledge.

The Irish Government funds organisations like these:
    http://www.eiic.org/

So in effect our tax is paying to help our illegal immigrants in the US! I know because I walked in there one summers day and got a job through them.

Being there illegally is a far cry from earlier in the decade.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

The simple and unfortunate fact of the matter is that Irish illegal aliens are largely ignored in the US because they are white and they are not taking jobs from "honest, hard-working Americans" - eg farming and labour jobs.

The vast majority of Irish in the US are employed in medicine, business and tech fields and are not illegal. Those that are illegal largely stick to Irish communities and work in bars and restaurants under the table.