Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

problems with OC - 2500k + Asrock Z68 Extreme4

• 21-08-2011 4:49pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭

ok im no expert on the matter, but im completely dumbfounded here..

Tried to go to 4.5/6/7ghz on the CPU (which runs very cold under the H80) and have disabled everything in the BIOS pretty much, and no matter how high i go the CPU underclocks to 4.3ghz under load. its not overheating cause im only up to 1.240V vcore and 57C on the hottest core under load (@4.3ghz :()

tried with prime95 and intel burn test. both scale it back until i stop the test.

tried ramming up the vcore to ~1.38v when going for 4.8ghz and no change. wouldnt boot until i upped Dram to 1.45v too which is fine now and passing intel burn testing @ 7.8Gb used so mem is ok.

its perfectly stable though :). im actually typing this on the PC while running the burn test..

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 669 ✭✭✭A+-Guru

not all 2500ks can reach 4.5,

just to give you some idea of my results I am using a p8p67 evo board coupled with some corsair xms 3 ram.

I need 1.4v to reach 4.7 stable, 1.3v for 4.5, i also found the offset mode proved to be unstable @ 4.7 with the same on load vcore as a my static vcore, so I have gone for the option of a static 1.4v vcore.

dont be scared of pushing the vcore up, intel has a max recommended vcore of 1.5v although I would not run near that I would be happy to run up to 1.45v 24/7

there is a big difference in voltage degration and thermal degration, as long as you stay a good deal away from the TJMAX you will be fine.