Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Apps for iPhone / iPod touch

• 20-01-2010 7:55pm
    Registered Users Posts: 26 Dazzer B

Hi everyone just bought a 3GS 16g and looking for the the best APPS to put on phone can anyone recommended good ones TKS

Best Regards

Darren

• Registered Users Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

facebook (if you use it), cube runner, accu weather, paper toss, papi jump are some of the ones i use

• Registered Users Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Dannyboi3k

Palringo for using MSN etc...

• Registered Users Posts: 26 Dazzer B

tks for the replys guys will check them out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭Pittens

There are 100,000 apps, most of them free. Discovery is an issue. Dont limit yourself to what anybody here might say ( myself included ) since we dont know what you like.

Just use the iPhone, or iTunes to browse the top lists.

Hi pittens I understand what your saying, but I was only looking for a guide line, of course I will be looking at apps myself wanted to know what other people taught were good,,,,,?

Dazzer B:)

Enjoy the phone :D
    got mine yesterday addicted to it now lol

• Registered Users Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Dannyboi3k wrote: »
    Palringo for using MSN etc...
    +1 for Palringo.
    Also try Kickscreen for high quality movie trailers about cinema, upcoming and DVD releases.
    If your into sports try out the Eurosport app too, lets you customize the layout to put your favourite sports first.

Goodman Dannyboi, about a week behind you collecting mine next monday, take it its the dogs,what apps r you going for

Dazz

Tks
    Scrubsfancris will check them out tks

• Registered Users Posts: 8,098 ✭✭✭dinneenp

Link 4- it's connect 4 against other playerS online
    admit one- film trailers, local cinema times etc.
    Sky news
    rte news
    sky sports
    drop 7- numbers game
    doodle jump- simple game
    look at pocketgamer.co.uk iPhone section fir more

To dos- good simple list
    tv guide- shows next three shows. You can customise what channels appear on your list
    shopshop- create multiple shopping lists. I use it for lists of films to watch, music to get, books to read

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭ Heaven Worried Thinner

Is there any apps for msn that don't require you to create an account?

goodman din will check them out tks

Download Pandora Box in the App Store for the latest free and paid apps and the most popular free and paid apps, its handy :)

Bryn wrote: »

Palringo lets you create an account on the app in seconds its only asking you for username and password.. simple
    Then you just log in using msn details

And Darren Pandora Box is free too

• Registered Users Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭irish1967

Jaysus lads you are going gave loads fun when ye get really into the iPhone. I started reading this thread and decided I would count actually how many apps I had on my 3g 8gb (jailbroken) Right now. Was amazed to find I had 110 !!! Some like Navigon I don't bother have on phone all the time but keep it on iTunes cause it gobbles up an awful lot of space. Having said that I still have just half of the 8gb still free.

Start loading up those apps guys!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭booyah1024

Bryn wrote: »

Beejive or IM+ are the only two good IM apps on iPhone imo.

I'm usin palringo and it's perfect :D
    sayin that I haven't bought beejive
    palringo is free and a great app IMO, does the job well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭iKeith

im+ user here and i couldnt be happier lol

How much is dat? I haven't turned on the laptop since I got this phone ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Facebook
    eBay
    TomTom Satnav
    Accuweather
    XE.com
    Lightsabre (must have)
    mplayer (jailbreak/cydia required)
    Shazam

Shazam amazed me to be honest :)
    wats mplayer?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Fingleberries

Here are ones I find great.

Shazam (amazing - I've tried to catch it out so many times)
    Amazon.co.uk (brilliant - again, been trying to catch out the lookup part where it'll find something you send a picture to them.)
    Movies Now! (Trailers and movie news, as well as showing you when films are starting in the cinemas near you)
    TVGuide
    TuneWiki (Good at getting lyrics for songs, some aren't right though but it gets more right than wrong)
    Sky Sports Football Score Centre
    RTE 2fm, RTE News

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

wats mplayer?

The iPhone port of the open source media player AFAIK. Looks like it anyway. Plays divx etc. No need to convert videos etc to mp4.

Oh and I forgot two very important apps.

DiskAid - makes your iPhone accessible via a Windows file manager - like a USB harddrive basically

*snip*

Likin them last two apps realcam :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭iKeith

careful lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭ Heaven Worried Thinner

It really amazed me aswell. Very handy app

I downloaded Palringo last night and it actually seems quite good

Cant wait guys, getting mine in the morning ..... All the replys were v much welcomed,and cant wait to get started...keep in touch

• Registered Users Posts: 823 ✭✭✭dave oc

For twitter - Tweetie 2 is a must. Thats if you use twitter! ;)

Others:
    DropBox - free
    TVGuide - free
    Dessid - paid
    Dublin Bus - paid
    iePhonebook - free
    DoodleJump(game) - free
    Papertoss(game) - free
    iDaft(game) - free
    Flightcontrol - paid
    Coloursplash - paid
    ConvertBot - paid
    Eirtext - Free
    AccuWeather - Free
    Navigon - paid

Thanks just a few... theres many more. The other suggestions above are all good too!

Pocketgamer have some good reviews.