Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Annoying traits of radio presenters.....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Cassidy28

Gareth o Callaghan from 4fm is in love with himself so much, he seems to think that he is above everybody else, well if I met him I would.....

Shay Byrne rte risen time,this morning he said it was raining fair enough,but he also said that the wind was howling on his way into work, There was no fcuken wind this morning,also why does he talk so quietly,it's as if he does not want anyone in rte to hear him :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

Joe duffy and his "funny fridays" trots out the usual unfunny dinosaurs lurking in rte towers for a couple of hours and do incredibly unfunny "skits" while they all guffaw at each other..

would be interesting to see the number of listeners that drop off on frunny fridays and dont listen to the socialist prince of ballymun...that gets paids 400k a year to talk shiite to people with non-issues.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,401 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Jaysoose wrote: »
    would be interesting to see the number of listeners that drop off on frunny fridays and dont listen to the socialist prince of ballymun...that gets paids 400k a year to talk shiite to people with non-issues.

He's from Ballyfermot.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,393 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Dercola wrote: »
    Ian Dempsey constantly feeling the need to sing along to, or add his own sound effects to every fcuking song!! Christ man, give it a rest...

That wrecks my head alright, especially when you are taping the song to listen to it later, ruined I tell ya, ruined! Never able to get any clean tapes of songs off that breakfast show and they play some decent tunes. ;)

George Hook and his fondness of that Yank who comes onto his show once a week (I think one or two more shows may be following hit lead)
    Yer man is a nut job (the Yank) as well.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

I had a little experiment a few years ago when i started to wonder what my life would be like without any radio so i switched the thing off .It stays off except for the news it was distracting me and messing with my concentration .

• Registered Users Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Cassidy28 wrote: »
    Gareth o Callaghan from 4fm is in love with himself so much, he seems to think that he is above everybody else, well if I met him I would.....

On air personas, or what you pick up of them, and the actual off-air person aren't always the same you know. I know Gareth... he's pretty much THE nicest guy in radio and to say that he's in love with himself couldn't be further from the truth.

If you met him you would..... what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mr Magners

Dub Ste wrote: »
    I'm sure this has been mentioned on here,but this really pisses me off,cutting songs off before they finish cause you've got to go to the news/ad break/run out of time.

This is not brain surgery,if a song is say 3mins 28secs,then make sure you have 3mins 28 secs,OR DON'T PLAY THE F*CKING SONG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:mad::mad::mad:

Dempsey,I'm looking at you..............:mad:

^^^This

He does it constantly and it's always something really upbeat like some of David Guetta's stuff, he starts talking just before it gets to the best bit.

I likes a bit of dance in the morning to wake me up a bit!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

Dub Ste wrote: »
    I'm sure this has been mentioned on here,but this really pisses me off,cutting songs off before they finish cause you've got to go to the news/ad break/run out of time.

This is not brain surgery,if a song is say 3mins 28secs,then make sure you have 3mins 28 secs,OR DON'T PLAY THE F*CKING SONG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:mad::mad::mad:

Dempsey,I'm looking at you..............:mad:

Im guessing you havent ever presented a radio show. No its not brain surgery but its certainly not as easy as it sounds on paper. As a presenter you never ever play every single song scheduled in a given hour in full. The breakfast slot is without doubt the busiest one of the day,
    Dempsey is doing a variety of things which include:

juggling faders,
    listening to his producer in his ear, (try doing it when u are talking yourself)

factoring in mario rosenstock and how much time he's likely to take, which varies because its live,

taking callers on air,

doing interviews,

making sure all the adverts scheduled are actually played,

dempsey could also be playing extra sound effects off a hot key pad which further complicates things,

he's also taking traffic updates

theres news and sport updates too which need to be timed

all the while dempsey is trying to sound upbeat for his thousands of listeners

so with all that going on and the necessity to keep links lively it is inevitable that not all songs in a given hour will be played in full. I think he does a bloddy good job personally.

All the while dempsey is

Bard wrote: »
    On air personas, or what you pick up of them, and the actual off-air person aren't always the same you know. I know Gareth... he's pretty much THE nicest guy in radio and to say that he's in love with himself couldn't be further from the truth.

If you met him you would..... what?

Greet him with a nice smile and a hand shake :).

• Registered Users Posts: 313 ✭✭noddyone2

All the lip-smacking at the start of every sentence (all the readers) on the Six-one news and Sharon ni bheolain pouting and ah- ah- with every question. No punctation, especially Eileen Whelan. The big swallow during the weather forecasts. As for the 'northerly component'. Bless me, for I have probably sinned by writing this.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,975 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Is it just me or has the standard of Matt Coopers delivery and presentation gone downhill recently.

He sounds like he's always choking on spittle at the end of his sentences. Its like he is trying to get too much out before breathing/swallowing or something.

And he is making a lot of mistakes too, words in wrong places etc. Slow down Matt, engage your brain first.

Getting less professional overall imho.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,393 ✭✭✭✭kippy

NIMAN wrote: »
    Is it just me or has the standard of Matt Coopers delivery and presentation gone downhill recently.

He sounds like he's always choking on spittle at the end of his sentences. Its like he is trying to get too much out before breathing/swallowing or something.

And he is making a lot of mistakes too, words in wrong places etc. Slow down Matt, engage your brain first.

Getting less professional overall imho.

Matt is earning (I would reckon) close to 100K per annum for a few hours "work". He was never that "good" in the first place so I doubt he is improving.
    I would LOVE to be a presenter on one of the prime time radio stations. Piece of piss to be on the "crazy money a year" bracket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

kippy wrote: »
    Matt is earning (I would reckon) close to 100K per annum for a few hours "work". He was never that "good" in the first place so I doubt he is improving.
    I would LOVE to be a presenter on one of the prime time radio stations. Piece of piss to be on the "crazy money a year" bracket.

why dont you send in some 'demo tapes'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Squ

That wrecks my head alright, especially when you are taping the song to listen to it later, ruined I tell ya, ruined! Never able to get any clean tapes of songs off that breakfast show and they play some decent tunes.
    Dempsey sounds like a cheap pub dj when he does the singing along crap..
    Anyone who's been to the orchard in applewood on a thursday knows what i'm on about..

To be fair to Matt, he's is on air for 2.5hrs daily, and often has to have informed and intense debates over complicated issues of the day.

Compare that to Joe Duffy, who is on air for 75mins daily, and spends most of each show listening silently, and occasionally saying "God Bless you", "dear dear", "51551", or "thats shocking" to people moaning about often irrelevant nonsense.

Now that's money for nothing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,224 ✭✭✭Going Forward

Moncrieff's vocal tics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Eh? Ah! Ummmmm, indeed.

etc

He's be nothing without them.

• Registered Users Posts: 442 ✭✭Arpa

The only person with a listenable voice is Johathan Healy.

Right from the offset it's downhill.

Chris Donoghue...jesus man learn to pronounce "th". Sometimes they have a guy called Ian Geider or something, he has a similar problem.

Also anyone hear that AXA ad recenly, "Hi, I'm Aoife from AXA....", she can't pronounce "th" either. "Over tirty tree tousand" Aggravating. I have to mute my phone when she comes on.

After Chris Tom Dunne...good God, stop liking everyone and talking about your kids. Good taste in music, ****e personality.

Johnathan Healy...no faults found

Moncrieff...where did he get that accent and why is he so antagonistic towards his texters who are in the most part only trying to be funny. And as someone mentioned, "eh, eh, eh, eh" before a question.

Hook - Spitting into the microphone like he's had a stroke. Never should have been given a job on radio. Sick of hearing about "da lavly ingrid" or "when oi waaas playing grugbeee"

Off The Ball Guys - No faults with these lads

On a side note Paulo Tullio on Moncrieff of a Thursday is a delight. Not just for his insight on food but his ability to tell a story in a beautifully eloquent and grammatically sound way is a breath of fresh air.

I would still prefer Newstalk though to any of that RTE ****e with mooney and duffy.

My twopence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Arpa wrote: »
    The only person with a listenable voice is Johathan Healy.

Right from the offset it's downhill.

Chris Donoghue...jesus man learn to pronounce "th". Sometimes they have a guy called Ian Geider or something, he has a similar problem.

Also anyone hear that AXA ad recenly, "Hi, I'm Aoife from AXA....", she can't pronounce "th" either. "Over tirty tree tousand" Aggravating. I have to mute my phone when she comes on.

After Chris Tom Dunne...good God, stop liking everyone and talking about your kids. Good taste in music, ****e personality.

Johnathan Healy...no faults found

Moncrieff...where did he get that accent and why is he so antagonistic towards his texters who are in the most part only trying to be funny. And as someone mentioned, "eh, eh, eh, eh" before a question.

Hook - Spitting into the microphone like he's had a stroke. Never should have been given a job on radio. Sick of hearing about "da lavly ingrid" or "when oi waaas playing grugbeee"

Off The Ball Guys - No faults with these lads

On a side note Paulo Tullio on Moncrieff of a Thursday is a delight. Not just for his insight on food but his ability to tell a story in a beautifully eloquent and grammatically sound way is a breath of fresh air.

I would still prefer Newstalk though to any of that RTE ****e with mooney and duffy.

My twopence

Tom Dunne is painfully boring, the way he does that fake laugh while talking is awful.
    I agree with your Hook statement, sounds like he is in recovery in a nursing home, he should be sent home.
    Bobby Kerr on a Sunday morning is okay, but sounds like he has been force fed snack boxes for the last 3 years, you can actually hear his flabby jaws slapping together when he speaks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 675 ✭✭✭DT100

Oh God..Bobby Kerr's voice goes through me like a dose of syrub of figs!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

Have to agree about Moncrieff, his incessant stammering is very annoying and his sarcastic tone is unnecessary. He's an intelligent at times articulate presenter, but the stammering detracts from his show.

Jonathan healy is really excellent and could quite easily replace Sean O rourke and do so for a fraction of the wage. The same could be said of Matt Cooper, arguably the best presenter on radio in the country and could fit perfectly into pat kenny's slot and would again do so on a reduced salary in comparison with kenny.

Talking history is excellent on newstalk as is the off the ball show, far superior to anything similar on rte. I think its only a matter of time before we hear some newstalk / today fm voices on rte, in the same way that many of the news journalists have been poached from tv3.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

All Radio is Bad for you if you are doing something; because it divides attention but some well focused people seem to cope well .

• Registered Users Posts: 44 hightide

Whenever Pat Kenny is doing an interview ,He always finishes by saying "finally i should ask you" ..

Why do DJs think it's funny to say they are "broadcasting from the top of the '*' building?

*Insert half wit DJs name here.

They then further illustrate their credentials by playing something by Brian McFadden.

Easily the most annoying thing on radio these days is Des Cahill's sports reports in the early morning show.

Has that fella got serious nasal/sinus problems? He sounds like he needs to see a doctor.

He's constantly sniffing, snorting, out of breath before the end of sentences, swallowing spittle etc when he's trying to do his report.

How do they vet people for jobs? Surely for the radio one of the main requirements would be a decent speaking voice with no annoying traits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Hmm he is terrible in a way more than was once the case, last week was listening carefully to his diction and he sounded like he had tissue in his cheeks - a la Marlon Brando in the Godfather.

He always sounds as if he's dribbling onto the desk!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Squ

He always sounds as if he's dribbling onto the desk!
    Though he'll never hold a candle to George Hook.
    Good lord, i'd hate to be the cleaner in opera lane! Fecking mop required to clean up his mike guard.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭Col200sx

Floody, or whatever he calls himself on Today FM at weekends, with his constant line:

"Floody on Today FM with more music, less talk".......

Ya, that's cos you've got nothing to say.........