Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Icon "nightclub"

• Registered Users Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭highlydebased

constantg wrote: »
    was in smyths and icon tonight. my god the band (2 guys with a gimpy attitude) were the WORST i have ever seen or heard in this city. Can't remember their name now, but I'm going to find out and make it my business to avoid them forever more! Butchered every song they tried, had to be talked back to the table and told it was a bad idea to convey my opinions to the guitarist!!

Mid week Icon bouncers want to fill the place and as long as you're the right age (what's with the yoyo age limit? Everytime i go there its different) and not a complete D*** to them you'll be ok. At the weekend they're just gimps.....

Personally its the bouncers who annoy me in Icon. Place could have a little more AC, but largely just the shower that work the door and CONSTANTLY watch you inside. Costellos is a dive, but the troublemakers are stopped at the door and then its largely cool inside. Had one of the barmen tell me to settle down one night, but that was totally deserved!

I feel you can be a d*** at the door, fair enough it is your job after all, but inside, well I'm not 5 so PFO and let me do my thing and not mess with other ppl...

PlanB were there last night I think

• Registered Users Posts: 666 ✭✭✭constantg

Yeah thats them, thanks!! They were SH1TE!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 TheMrs

So glad to see some more disillussioned people here. I hate going out in Limerick. We only ever end up in Costelloes and even at that my urge to go out is less and less. I think people have less of a shelflife in Limerick/Ireland anyway. I feel like a cougar at 31! T rooms and Icon are full of faket anned/hair straightended to within an inch of it's life 'blonde' girls and drunken jocks. The 'scene' in Limerick is pretty depressing really. Tom Collins and Bourkes I can just about handle. Nancys, well I never bought into that cult.

TheMrs wrote: »
    So glad to see some more disillussioned people here. I hate going out in Limerick. We only ever end up in Costelloes and even at that my urge to go out is less and less. I think people have less of a shelflife in Limerick/Ireland anyway. I feel like a cougar at 31! T rooms and Icon are full of faket anned/hair straightended to within an inch of it's life 'blonde' girls and drunken jocks. The 'scene' in Limerick is pretty depressing really. Tom Collins and Bourkes I can just about handle. Nancys, well I never bought into that cult.

cougar at 31? lol...........jesus im gonna be fecked then!! settle petal i'd say ur grand :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 TheMrs

:D at constantg.... Seriously though, I'm not the only one to feel that way about the Limerick/Irish secene. I find it very young/immature. So many clones and drunken gee bags.... I need to embrace my old fartness I suppose. :p

TheMrs wrote: »
    :D at constantg.... Seriously though, I'm not the only one to feel that way about the Limerick/Irish secene. I find it very young/immature. So many clones and drunken gee bags.... I need to embrace my old fartness I suppose. :p

well mrs if you ever feel like doing so send me a pm and we'll engage it together and show those whippersnappers whats what :D

• Registered Users Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

Am I the only one seeing the irony in people saying others are stuck up, nobs etc? When I go out I concentrate on my own night out, I barely notice what sorts are in the pub. I find it stange and a bit, nay a lot, sad that people do this.

Costelloes may be, well, laid back, buts its a dank dark hole, and I've been there many times before anyone asks. A night out is what you make of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 871 ✭✭✭savagecabbages

Good point. People need to stop caring who (supposedly) judges them and get on with their own night/life etc.
    When the Art college are in town, Costelloes can have a far more pretentious crowd than Nancys or anywhere else. Still love the place, I dont let that put me off as far as i'm concerned its MY night our, and it still has the same laid back atmosphere and majority of good crowd.

....the shower that work the door and CONSTANTLY watch you inside. Costellos is a dive, but the troublemakers are stopped at the door and then its largely cool inside...

Costelloes is all rosy, but when a fight starts inside theres only the customers to stop it. I've seen my worst 'inside a premises' fight in Costelloes simply because there was nobody there to stop it. 4 or 5 minutes of one group beating another into a pulp... I'm sure the icon bouncers agree that its much easier to spot trouble brewing and deal with it before all hell breaks loose -hence the watching

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Yeah thats them, thanks!! They were SH1TE!!

I got to see about an hour of their set last night. I have to say, I totally disagree with you. For just two guys and a guitar they did a very good job. The songs they played weren't the best, but every pub covers-band has to play the old reliable rubbish.

• Registered Users Posts: 395 ✭✭Simon Adebisi

They are better than Free Beer anyday.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

The Guests (band) that play in Nancys on wednesday nights are great!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Vanolder

It would be interesting to see some of the ages here as a comparison to who likes what. Your interests change obviously with age and what you put up with / enjoyed at your early twenties is obviously not gonna float your boat in your late twenties/ early thirties.

But there have been some decent points raised . Particularly about cramming pubs with as many as possible, this really gets on my Tits and puts me off hitting many spots in town.

A night for me would usually consist of mickey martins, wicked chicken and then costellos. Aesthetically, we all know costellos ain't much to look at but the crowd for the most part are chilled, slightly older and approachable. Musically it also offers the only real alternative to some of the ****e played in every other club in town. As pointed out tho, it does have it's problems in the rare times trouble kicks off.

I think tho overall what's really sad is that old fashioned pub culture is dying out. The kind where you can have craic with the barman or randomers in a bar. Many of the younger crowd, and I know economics play a part, arrive into pubs hammered after drinking at home for hours and it's just about continuing this when out. And I am not solely on about the bigger bars, the smallers ones have been killed due to lack of numbers but when you do get the odd few young folk in, it's naggins in the jacks and staying to them selves in a corner.

In short, nancys is a hole and the icon are wa*kers :-)

I am 32 by the by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭TheInquisitor

I've never had any trouble with the icon. I suspect many people don't like it because they can't get in. Normally go nowadays to either Flannery's/Nancy's first then either Angel lane of icon. Your always guaranteed a decent crowd and rarely any trouble.

Costello's is a hole. Sticky carpets, cans of beer and a crowd of misfits.

Stopped going to Trinity rooms and Molly's a long time ago when they started leaving 16 year olds in.

The ardhu is a great place aswell for a quite pint/chat during the week and its also brilliant for a match. Rarely does a pub do both well.

Im 24

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Costello's is a hole. Sticky carpets, cans of beer and a crowd of misfits.

I'm pretty sure Costello's replaced their infamous carpets (upstairs at least) in the last six months or so. Also, misfits is a bit harsh! :o
    The ardhu is a great place aswell for a quite pint/chat during the week and its also brilliant for a match. Rarely does a pub do both well.

+1 on this though. Top pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

I thought Icon was meant to be the scum hole night club.
    And your right about the age thing,it seemed to change every night.

Only went to go to Icon once.Walked up the the bouncer and asked if it as 18 or 21 tonight.He just looked at me and siad "**** off yeah ****in prick!".No idea how to respond but two mins alter I was laughing about it too my friend.

Trinity bouncers werent great either tbh.A few of my friends who were girls ahd the **** kicked out of them by lads and the bouncers threw the girls out(When it was the lads just went up and started on them).Glad trinity is losed own.It was kinda cool but at the same time so so "Elongated!"You could get lost so easily.

Angel lane I love to bits,never had a bad night there but the bouncer scare me hah anda they arent great at controlling the crowd when theres a que.

Costies love to bt but yeah its a dark hole hah.Mollys is,well only ok.The Bouncers there are half n half really tbh.

Are there any good pubs in the city actually that are open late enough.I've only been the charlies once but it was a bit loud.Good craic though.

I'm pretty sure Costello's replaced their infamous carpets (upstairs at least) in the last six months or so. Also, misfits is a bit harsh! :o

If they did fair enough. I was dragged there at the beginning of college 6 years ago. I was so shocked at how bad it was that night, after a few people that said they liked it, that i made sure to go back there 2-3 times over the next few months. There was no change. It was horrible. Half the crowd wearing trenchcoats. The other half were goths.

As far as i can determine the only people that go there are people that find it difficult to get into regular pubs/clubs.

I remember being horrified by the toilets aswell. Can't remember why though.

If they did fair enough. I was dragged there at the beginning of college 6 years ago. I was so shocked at how bad it was that night, after a few people that said they liked it, that i made sure to go back there 2-3 times over the next few months. There was no change. It was horrible. Half the crowd wearing trenchcoats. The other half were goths.

As far as i can determine the only people that go there are people that find it difficult to get into regular pubs/clubs.

I remember being horrified by the toilets aswell. Can't remember why though.

So you are making your judgement on 6 years ago?? And on a college night out?

My mates and I would walk into any club in town but we choose costellos as it's not full of judgemental fools like your self. I'll have to pull out the trench coat to ward off the rest of the clowns.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭highlydebased

Certainly not. Each to their own (scene) and all that- costies is another version of nancy's :p

True about the jacks though.

Vanolder wrote: »

My mates and I would walk into any club in town but we choose costellos as it's not full of judgemental fools like your self. I'll have to pull out the trench coat to ward off the rest of the clowns.

Every night is a college night out when your in college! And yes i am. I gave it a chance. I gave it 3-4 chances. It was shíte each and every time. I would actually describe it as a den for future ( if not current) Left wingers and socialists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

TheInquisitor, you're way off the mark about Costelloes methinks......

Every night is a college night out when your in college! And yes i am. I gave it a chance. I gave it 3-4 chances. It was shÃ*te each and every time. I would actually describe it as a den for future ( if not current) Left wingers and socialists.

Good for you mate. Put everyone neatly into a box and keep them there. Makes life much easier to navigate. Best stay nice and cosy in your comfort zone and away from all the freaks.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

Oh brilliant, just what was needed, another icon is sh1t, costellos is great, no costellos is smelly and icon is cool thread

I just notice the trend that the pro-icon crowd brand all costelloes goers as lefty weirdo hippies, just because of their clothes.........

• Registered Users Posts: 207 ✭✭AlanOB

I'm a right-liberal and I go to Costello's, so that blows that theory out of the water!

From my wide circle of friends, some frequent the Icon, some frequent Costello's, others frequent neither. I can't say there's any defining characteristic that each group has in common.

TheInquisitor has a lot of growing up to do I reckon.

Good for you mate. Put everyone neatly into a box and keep them there. Makes life much easier to navigate. Best stay nice and cosy in your comfort zone and away from all the freaks.

Will do. Thanks for understanding!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Will do. Thanks for understanding!

You don't even live here anymore!!!:D

I've pretty much ended up sticking wit Costellos lately because Icon is full of scumbags and Angel Lane still think it's 2007.

Never any trouble in Costellos, even has beer pong now, but the jacks are appalling!

seachto7 wrote: »
    I just notice the trend that the pro-icon crowd brand all costelloes goers as lefty weirdo hippies, just because of their clothes.........

Ah nobody said that in fairness, smelly crusties is what they said...

and of course once you have designer clothes on, you're not a scumbag. There's a reason certain types of bands play in Smyths to a certain type of crowd.

I only wear designer clothes because I'm rich and like to show off that fact. I often light my cigarettes with 20euro notes to drive the fact home. Don't see any of the sheep doing that :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,207 ✭✭✭hightower1

Every night is a college night out when your in college! And yes i am. I gave it a chance. I gave it 3-4 chances. It was shíte each and every time. I would actually describe it as a den for future ( if not current) Left wingers and socialists.

I dont know if I'd go as far as to say its full of socialists and left wingers but costellos like any other place in Lim has a particular clientel alright. More emo / hipster / alternative types I would say. More tollerible than scobes but can still grind on ya after a while.

Seems like there is no club to go to in limerick if you dont have any strong views on life or assign yourself to a particular click.
    What if I dont wear tracksuits(icon)? What if I dont wear trendy skinny jeans / fake glasses(costellos) ? What if I'm not Polish (Trinners)?
    Late pubs are the only true melting pots in the city imo.