Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Bangernomics car of the week/day - Part II

• Registered Users Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭NewApproach

rocky wrote: »
    about 300 difference in tax no?

I thought the tax bands capped out at 3 litres?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

BX 19 wrote: »
    Fresh NCT, Nissan V6 smoooooooothness. Lovely colour too.

Full-14624829.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3979304

I'd never get insurance for the flipping thing but I agree with you she'd be a great buy for the right person.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,264 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Cheap alfa 145 a fun car 13 months NCT and will tax for 6 months €1350, not a bad little car cheap enough to run and easy to insure.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4296917

cracking little car but way overpriced, good luck with sale ;)

alias no.9 wrote: »
    cracking little car but way overpriced, good luck with sale ;)

Price down to €1100 now so someone was listening.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

Telling ye it was the dude who posted it here first was doing a bit of free advertising:P

Can you blame him??

I'm delighted I found this thread, I have to pick up a wee thing at the end of January for €1000 - €2000 that'll last me a year or two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Jayop wrote: »
    Can you blame him??

I'm delighted I found this thread, I have to pick up a wee thing at the end of January for €1000 - €2000 that'll last me a year or two.

Mileage? Fuel? Max tax? Body type?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

dgt wrote: »
    Mileage? Fuel? Max tax? Body type?

All that came into dgt's mind was 'Challenge accepted'

Not too bothered really, just a steady yoke.

Mileage as low as I can get for the money, I'm realistic, but I wouldn't want over 120k
    Prefer a diesel but a 1.4 or 1.6 petrol would do, not putting up big miliage
    same for tax, small engine petrol or 1.6/1.8 diesel
    anything but a 3 door really.

Mileage as low as I can get for the money, I'm realistic, but I wouldn't want over 120k

NCT Jan 14, 750

Far from perfect bodywise
    Full-16131824.jpeg

NCT till March, 750

Full-16204278.jpeg

NCT till Oct, 1750

Guessing ex Garda
    Full-15805551.jpeg

NCTtill Jan 14, 890

Full-16206780.jpeg

NCT till Jan 14, 1250

A diesel car, but the regulars can guess what it is..... Hence no picture! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Barry Barry

Anything diesel in your price range will most likely have astronomical mileage. You could get a petrol easily enough with sub 120k though.

If you want a diesel,
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4297422

If you want a petrol,
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4210842

No mention of an NCT stopped me putting that one up ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Ya, there's under and over... presume its a 2997 cc or what ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

dgt, how did you miss this !!! I even checked back a pile of posts to make sure you hadn't popped it up already.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4297287

The Primera's we're the direction I was looking. They sound like a box of hammers trundling up the road, but for the money you can pick them up at it's hard to complain.

That wee 307 looks like a decent motor. I worked with renault so I wouldn't have the same hang ups a lot of people would have about French cars.

Thanks lads, gave me plenty to think about, and when I get a few bob together at the end of January I'll be back begging for advise!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭rocky

Yes but the 730 is just under I think...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BMW_M60

2997cc

Saab Ed wrote: »
    dgt, how did you miss this !!! I even checked back a pile of posts to make sure you hadn't popped it up already.

Is there a runnng joke with dgt and 406's then??

Saab Ed wrote: »

I thought about it too! But the TD is cheaper with a longer NCT (and more reliable :pac:)

But a cracking find nonetheless :)

1997 Ford Escort Ghia estate, 60k miles, NCT until 11/13. €800
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4296056

2000 Nissan Almera saloon, NCT until 6/13 and tax until 8/13. €995.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4296080

1998 SAAB 93 Convertible, NCT until 5/13. Now isn't really the best time to buy a convertible but you could use that as a haggling tool. €950
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4149544

Is there a runnng joke with dgt and 406's then??

Er...... I hung that coat up a while ago :p

Exhibit a, b, c, d, e...... Plenty more :pac:

No mention of an NCT stopped me putting that one up ;)

NCT'ed until 2/13. Not really a lot so I'd leave that one out..

1997 Ford Escort Ghia estate, 60k miles, NCT until 11/13. €800
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4296056

2000 Nissan Almera saloon, NCT until 6/13 and tax until 8/13. €995.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4296080

1998 SAAB 93 Convertible, NCT until 5/13. Now isn't really the best time to buy a convertible but you could use that as a haggling tool. €950
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4149544

The Almera an the Escort look like decent machines especially with test and new(ish) tyres. But I'm pretty sure I don't live in a 80's cop show so the soft top Saab is a nono! ;)

NCT'ed until 2/13. Not really a lot so I'd leave that one out..

Did you ring and ask? :eek::)

http://carsireland.ie/add.php

Pop any reg in here and it'll give you NCT expiry date, tax expiry date, owners etc

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

rocky wrote: »

Yes but the 730 is just under I think...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BMW_M60

2997cc

What an epic guess lol

• Registered Users Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭Bigus

Only 65000 miles 2005 a few honest marks but 2.0 killing it ......would be ok for near a grand asking 1750

Loadsa room for hair dryers in the hatchback too

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4236615

Full-15914272.jpeg

http://carsireland.ie/add.php

Pop any reg in here and it'll give you NCT expiry date, tax expiry date, owners etc

Something to add to I've learned something new today :D

Bigus wrote: »
    Only 65000 miles 2005 a few honest marks but 2.0 killing it ......would be ok for near a grand asking 1750

Loadsa room for hair dryers in the hatchback too

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4236615

Full-15914272.jpeg

Those 2lt Coupe's are lovely to drive if you don't mind a stiff ride. I had on up from Sligo to Dublin once for a spin and I have to say she could move.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,095 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Sellers comment: "The 406 hdi was the best car ever made"

EEEK!!... Why do people feel the need to write in these sort of bullsh!t comments when advertising a car? These kind of comments tend to put me off as I'd guess the seller is gonna spout bs about other aspects of the car in hand...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭Bigus

Drive it for a year and get your money back....true bangernomics with bit off the asking price 1124cc

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4273963

Full-16093013.jpeg