Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Crohn's Disease

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

threads merged. Thanks Faith.

• Registered Users Posts: 237 ✭✭nerdysal

Hey Everyone

I suffer from Crohn's disease too. It's time for my sob story!!! I was diagnosed in August 2005 when I was 15. It was triggered off by how stressed I got doing the Junior Cert. Anyway, I had all the usual tests and examinations and then my doc (the wonderful Prof O' Donoghue) decided to put me on Pentasa and Steroids.

Unfortunetly in September 2005, I started getting this awful pain in my back and my upper left abdomen. I had a high temperature aswell. On the 19th of September (never forget that day for as long as I live) I was in a lot of pain and then I got sick and the pain trebled in its intensity. I was screaming and screaming with the pain. Mam and Dad bundled me into the car and drove to A & E. I was taken in immediately. The doctors were extremely worried. I had to be overdosed with morphine I was screaming that much. Turned out I had steroid induced pancreatitis. I was the youngest person to ever get it and the only person to get it from steroids! Apparently, I could have died...

After that, I was taken off the steroids (can never go on them again- but that's a blessing in disguise to be honest) but left on the pentasa. I think that was the most miserable period of my life. I was 6 and 1/2 stone and I looked like a skeleton. My Iron was down, my protein was down and I was in so much pain. I didn't go back to the hospital until May 06. This time Prof decided to try Infliximab. This stuff was great! I had about 4 infusions and after each one I felt fab but then they only lasted for 4 weeks and you could only get them every 8weeks.

So then in October 2006, I started with Humira. The self administered injection. This was the second most scariest thing I had to do!!! I dreaded the thoughts of it. I thought it was working ok. But my iron never came up and neither did my protein and my weight never got above 7 and 1/2 stone. So to help with all those things, in July 2007 I went on a tube feed. This gave me a really great boost. My weight got up to 8 and 1/2 stone, my Iron went up a little and my protein got up to 26.

But sadly my tale of woe doesn't end there. In November 2007, I was getting awful pains in my lower right abdomen (so bad they were running down into my leg) and my GP told me to go back to A & E. There I was told that they had tried everything. Their only other option was surgery. So I was put in the capable hands of Mr Hyland. They removed 12 inches of my ileum and a tiny bit of my colon (only like an inch or something).

Due to the operation I missed two months of 6th year. Yes, I'm doing my Leaving Cert this year. Not the best thing for the ould Crohn's. but the funny thing is after the operation, I have learnt to relax and have realised my health is more important. I got 420 in my mocks (didn't panic once) and I only need 300.

There are still things I can't eat (and really miss) like popcorn and baked beans! I have been able to eat weetabix since the operation and I had onion rings since and they didn't affect me either :D
    I'm currently taking Imuran. The Prof was apprehensive about prescribing them because there is a small risk of pancreatitis with them. but I have been on them for 3 months now and there hasn't been a peep out of that stupid pancreas!!!

It's nice to have this thread to talk about stuff

Sal

PS: There's a great website for teenagers suffering with UC and crohns. It's an american website www.ucandcrohns.org

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,278 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

Sal- you really had it rough. Well done re your mocks- you're an inspiration to some of the others of us. Taking an extra year to do leaving cert as you have discovered is not the end of the world- the very best of wishes in June. It does always tend to get stressful around exam times- so make sure you don't over do things. The very best of good luck to you, Shane.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

Hi all...Coming up on 4 years since I was diagnosed - hit me in 6th year (perfect timing!). Put off going to the doctor though, I think out of fear (for anyone reading, this is the worst possible thing to do!!!)...The parents did cop that something was amiss though so off to the doctor I went.

Had to go for a few scans - barium drink, colonoscopy, etc. Was in the hospital the mid-term week (i.e. the week before Leaving Cert mocks) but went in and faced the exams anyway! Still keeping this attitude of not letting it get me down or stop me in any way (I'm a stubborn lad when I want to be). Was put on Imuran (still on them to this day and for foreseeable future) but could be a lot worse.

Still don't tell many people though - hard to bring up in conversation, its been 4 years and I have known people all that time, people would get worried for no reason, etc. And I keep myself to myself most of the time anyway! Glad I stumbled upon this thread though...

🤪

smccarrick wrote: »
    Sal- you really had it rough. Well done re your mocks- you're an inspiration to some of the others of us. Taking an extra year to do leaving cert as you have discovered is not the end of the world- the very best of wishes in June. It does always tend to get stressful around exam times- so make sure you don't over do things. The very best of good luck to you, Shane.
    Thanks Shane!!! I haven't actually taken an extra year. I was diagnosed at the start of 4th year. So it didn't matter how much time I missed. And I've managed to battle through 5th year and 6th yr. I always made sure to keep up with work and even go ahead of the teacher because I was always afraid that something like the operation would happen. What's kept me going to be honest is the fact that I'm a big Nerd. I love learning and I don't want my illness to hold me back. If anything it has made me all the more determined.
    Trust me, I'm not going to get stressed about the LC. Naturally I'm going to be nervous but I've learnt my lesson. My health is so much more important.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

nerdysal wrote: »
    My health is so much more important.

I also had this change of perspective - you realise that there are better or bigger things in life...Hope you get on OK!

🤪

It really is key to getting better. Alot of people rebel against their doctors and pay for it... it's just not worth it though!

Sabre0001 wrote: »
    I also had this change of perspective - you realise that there are better or bigger things in life...Hope you get on OK!

Ditto- I gave up a high stress job and accepted a paycut for a job that interests me a lot more and has the flexibility to work with whenever I get a flare-up.

On a related note- I'm on Imuran, along with a bewildering array of other medications at the moment. I've noticed in the last 4 or 5 months that I seem to be very very prone to periodic 1-day stomach bugs, accompanied by splitting headaches, which a day in bed along with Stemitil appear to take care of. Has anyone else come across similar sympthoms?

I'm going to have a tough week ahead. Went to my doctor today and I've been put on a course of antibiotics for a week. have to stop taking the Imuran.
    Hopefully they won't affect me too much. I've never been so well so I might just be able to cope with them better! Fingers crossed.

I've only been on the imuran 3 months and I'm on a small dose of 50mg so I haven't been affected in that way from them...

Hey I was just wondering do any of you suffer from joint problems as a result of the crohns? I had to go to physio because of my back and I'll probably have to go back with my hip. Everytime I run my hip kind of stops working and I fall flat on my face.
    Anyone else suffer with this or anything similar?

nerdysal wrote: »
    Hey I was just wondering do any of you suffer from joint problems as a result of the crohns? I had to go to physio because of my back and I'll probably have to go back with my hip. Everytime I run my hip kind of stops working and I fall flat on my face.
    Anyone else suffer with this or anything similar?

I have to get an annual Dexa bone density scan (thanks to 15 years of cortisone use). I've broken bones all over the place- and while I do have a worrying low density spinal column- my jaw, ankles, knees, wrists and fingers are more of a problem. I've been prescribed Vitamin K and Calcium which I'm supposed to take a few of every morning- they taste vile though- if anyone had any suggestions for a better way of bulking up their calcium intake I'd be grateful. (Obviously the Vitamin K can cause liver problems etc- which is also an additional worry.......)

WOW! You have a lot more trouble than me!!! It's not the bones that I have the trouble with it's more the muscles and that around the joints I think! I had a DXA scan last year and apparantly I have bones like cement. That's down to the 2 litres or more of milk I drink a day!! Thankfully I'm not one of the many crohn's sufferers who are lactose intolerant. I don't know what I'd do if I was!!! I was only on steroids for a month and then I had a near fatal reaction to them so I can't ever go on them again. But I'm glad about that!

• Registered Users Posts: 716 ✭✭✭gaffmaster

hmmmmm a Crohn's thread aaayyyeeeee???

I have that!

Since 2002. Total remision now. thanks to infliximab (off it now), puri nethol (coming off it in october) and asa colon (on it forever).

Hope you are all enjoying good health. Getting crohn's changed my perspective on life completely. I never stress about anything anymore.

Nerd - great that you don't give a poop about your leaving cert. Pretty much everyone i know is doing something completely different to what they thought they wanted to do when they were 17. the leaving cert is so far from the be all and end all that the system makes it out to be. Enjoy your last year in school man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 mad_fish

Hey realise this is an old thread but really heartening to hear so many people dealing with crohns and getting on with their lives.

Was diagnosed with it myself a year back, am very lucky in a way as my dad has had crohns for close on 20 years and seen the signs before it got too bad, Am on the imuran nearly 3 months and has started to kick in, so feeling much better than I have in several months!

As everyone else who has this knows, reacting to your symptoms quickly can help, the sooner you get on meds the less damage is done to your system, though i know a good doctor helps too ( my dad went undiagnosed for several years, i managed to get scoped about 3 weeks after i went to the doctor).

My 2 cents on crohns is always take your meds, try and listen to your doc about the treatments, no matter how scary they sound, and look to your friends and family for support, it makes the disease and all the crap that goes with it a lot easier to deal with! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭ladybirdirl

OMG guys, can't believe so many of the population on here have Crohn's

I'm only a year into my diagnosis..tried the Pentasa, nearly killed me.Can manage the Asacolon tho which is weird.

I can't pin down any foods but am trying the homepathy route as I don't tolerate meds well

I agree that it does force you to think about where your priorities lie...has anyone changed job( I think smcarrick you mentioned you did)to find something to work around when you're ill. my question is how has it been since you made that decision

Ladybird

I agree that it does force you to think about where your priorities lie...has anyone changed job( I think smcarrick you mentioned you did)to find something to work around when you're ill. my question is how has it been since you made that decision

Ladybird

Yes- I was techspec in an American company which will remain nameless, and the stress of the job was slowly killing me. I took a pretty big paycut to take a job in the civil service. Everyone said I was insane at the time- but its a nice job, working with colleagues who I get on with, very varied work, it has travel involved, and I get to use my qualifications (IT, Finance and Forestry). If I'm sick, I'm sick, and not expected to try to kill myself (though I have ended up in official meetings in Brussels and Rome hoping that I wouldn't actually collapse).

Money isn't everything by a long shot- your health and your sanity should rate far higher on the scale than most people give them credit for..........

Thanks smccarrick, I'm coming to that conclusion:)

Even though I work for a bank & they have been good, I do think all the cr*p that goes with some office jobs can exacerbate illnesses like Crohn's. I also find that I tend to keep trying to stay in the routine & in fact that makes me worse:rolleyes:
    I also get the 1 day bugs & the headaches...man I turn into a raving lunatic! I'm trying to get up the courage for the bone density scan.Has anyone else has the B12 trouble? I just cannot get my body to product B12 & I get sooo fatigued it's just not funny

Ladybird

Yes- I get regular Neocytamen injections (my GP showed me how to do the injections and let me practice on an orange till she was happy for me to do them myself). Re: the dexa bone density scan- its something that any of us who have been long term users of steroids should get done frequently.

Re: regular bugs- the Imuran and some of the other medications leave you open to these- its unfortunate. I also get really incredibly bad headaches- and frequent 1 day vomitting bugs. My Crohn's consultant has made an appointment for me with a neurologist- not 100% sure what the story is with it.......

I am soo behind on all this obviously :D

My G.P. isn't the mae west tbh, she does the injections for a few weeks then takes bloods every few months & starts again, all very haphazard. Hmm....must look into getting them myself

I dont' take Imuran, lots of asacolon & prednisolone & entercort. Actually to be fair my consultant is fantastic.. Prof O'Morain, works out of Tallaght. I had been with Vincent's & found O'Donoghue a pain & not very good. Different strokes for different folks I guess, lots find him very good.

Has anyone been down the road of taking anti depressants for crohn's.... lots of the consultants & GP's want to prescribe it, apaprently it relaxes the CNS but I'm not convinced.

TO anyone just diagnosed I would say hang in there.. & thanks everyone (smcarrick) the info on here has been re-assuring & interesting

LB

I'm 18 and have had crohn's since I was 15. I know it's not the same as a job but I have decided to do a college course way below the points that I achieved. It's a small college and a lovely course... I don't see the point in spending another 3 years stressing over exams. The last week waiting for the results nearly killed me!

Prof O' Donoghue- He is my consultant and I couldn't have asked for better. He has been absolutely brilliant! He had the sense to insist on operating on me last November rather than to wait and see... I found out after the operation that my crohn's would probably have caused me to be seriously hospitalised months later (they had to remove a foot of my ileum!!). But you're right different strokes for different folks. Although I have to say you're the first person I have ever heard say that!!! He's the most sought after Gastroenteroligist in the country!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭E.T.

Is there anyone here who has mild Crohn's? I nearly feel bad posting after reading all the posts above, but at the moment I'm having a mild flare up for the past 6 months (mild pain ALL the time, running to the loo a good bit, backache, fatigue). I'm on Asacolon 1600mg a day, and had a 3 month course of entocort and still feel wrecked. Are there any other options for mild cases? Not due to see my specialist til the end of next month, went to my GP the other day and he said he couldn't do anything or change my meds, that I'd be better off leaving it til I see the consultant.

E.T. I've done the asacolon & entercort route...my last flare up was like that.
    You might ask your GP to check your B12..that might be low & causing the fatigue!
    Not many other options I can think of, I'm starting reflexology, apparently it helps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭silversurfer

there'a good resource forum called 'healingwell', looke like it's located in USA.
    They have forums for loads of illnesses and one of them is Crohns.

I've been officially diagnosed over 3 years now.

I was diagnosed mid 2005 with Crohns Disease after a Colonoscopy and half a year
    of hell.
    I had to get another colonoscopy January 2006 as things were not improving AT
    ALL.
    And it turned out there was no improvement in the crohns.
    All I had been given was Pentasa and the steroid tablets (deltacortril), so the inflamation and bld was stopped, but the running to the jacks several times a day and the pains etc... was still a daily occurance

Since then I was given imuran tablets (immune system suppressant)
    which caused severe nausea, I could hardly keep anything down, and the
    thought of any food was a complete turn off.
    So they added Maxolon tablets (anti nausea) to the mix.
    Two weeks later I had to phone the specialist and tell him I was stopping the imuran, as I had nausea and extreme tiredness. I was walking around like a zombie, completly exhaused and never fully alert.
    I have to point out, I was told this was an unusual reaction to Imuran.

I had a bone density scan and was confirmed with Osteopenia, due to all the steroids (in one 52 week period, 1 year, I was on the steroids for over 36 weeks)
    [Osteopenia is the term used for bones that have become somewhat less dense than normal,
    but not as severe as in osteoporosis. A person with osteopenia is at risk for getting
    osteoporosis in later life].
    So I was put on Osteofos D3 sachets (Calcium and Vit D3 supplements) and a once weekly
    Foxamax Calicum absorber to help with the bones.
    These days I take Ideos chewable tablets (Calcium and Vit D3) daily and the fosamax weekly

I was off the Imuran and Maxolon, not even two days, and felt pretty good. Of course the Crohns was still there.
    Next were steroid injections (into the vein) to stop the Crohns and finally get it under control?

Next I started Methotrexate 15mg (2.5mg x 6), once weekly and folic acid (to keep white blood cells in order and reduce side effects).

Since then I was on Remicade infusions in the Hospital, these take about two hours for the actual infusion and lots of waiting
    I started these in Feb 07

Brfore the Remicade infusions are done they need to do a Manuoux test, this was done a few weeks before the remicade, to check for TB.
    This is where they inject a small solution under the skin of the arm (and mark it)
    only takes a few minutes and three days later, at the same time of day, the specialist/ doctor checks the location on the arm to see how big the reaction to the solution is.
    I've since found out that the Mantoux is normally checked every few hours or something like that.

The 1st the Remacide Infusion
    Arrived in the hospital at 09:00
    Checked in (with a book to read) and waited
    10:30 doctor placed needle in arm (one of the things they place for attaching a drip later)
    11:30 Went for chest x-ray, if this not clear they will not give the infusion.
    12:00 Lunch Provided, quite nice actually
    Saw specialist and given information on things to watch out for during infusion.
    15:30 finally got all-clear from x-ray
    Remacide infusion started
    5mg of Remacide per Kg of weight (I'm 80kg)
    400mg total and some saline, all in a small drip bag
    Doctor flushed vein (through previously placed needle thing) with a small syringe of saline solution to make sure the vein was ok.
    Then the drip was attached.
    Two and 1/2 hours later the infusion was finished (fell asleep for a hour), no side effects noted except for a headache and had my tea near the end of the infusion.
    Monitored for another hour and went home on the bus, as you're not allowed to drive afterwards.
    Will hopefully see improvement in under two weeks.

Asked doctor about stopping the methotrexate after my 4th or 5th infusion (1 infusion every two months) as my wife and I were thinking about having another child and this is too dangerous for the child with the DNA altering methotrexate.
    I've been on the methotrexate for 16 months at this stage.

So I went off the methotrexate sept 07
    Looks like the methotrexate is out of your system in about a month, but the DNA damage is not corrected for about 6 months after you stop.

So january 08, developed antibodies to Remicade and developed Arthritis, probably as a result of this, but I never got a really clear answer on this.
    So am now off the remicade, after 6 infusions, and crohns is getting worse again.

Had to go back on the Methotrexate in Feb 2008.

Unable to change to Humira until antibodies are gone and definately can't go back on Remicade at the moment.

It's now Sept 2008, I've switched specialist and after DNA results and several consults, Have been told I could go on Remicade again or Huimra, but my Rheumatologist (for the crohns arthritis), has strongly suggested not to go back on the Remicade.

I chose to try the Humira, and avoid the complications of antibodies and days off work to get the infusion.

Before starting Humira you need to have no chest infections and have had a Mantoux test.
    I've had the mantoux and my chest is clear, so off we go.

The 1st the Humira injections are completed in the hospital, in case you have any problems.
    And I have to get the injections from the chemist, using a form from the specialist.
    So I've already read up on the Humira injections and had asked for the 'Pens', as these are an automatic dispense pen and easier than an injection. Medicine is kept in the door of the fridge at home, between 2 and 8 degC?

Arrived in the hospital at 09:00, and back out by 12:30
    Checked in (with a book to read, I always take a book) and waited
    A humira rep arrived and go's through the humira and gives a nice big folder with loads of info to take home.
    The nurse demonstrates the use of the 'Pen', with a fake one she has.
    and proceedes to show me how to inject my stomach. It's quite easy and not very sore.
    I've 4 injections to get, and I do the last two.

I've to wait for two weeks to get the next two injections and then every two weeks it'll be 1 injection.
    Your local doc can give these if you're not looking forward to this.

So I'm feeling reasonable, but too soon to tell yet.
    Should hopefully only take a few weeks to kick in.

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭MORISH

Hi all, just found this thread and am a fellow chron's sufferer

I have had chron's for 13 years now, in the beginning i was on pentasa and zoton which managed to keep me reasonably healthy although as a college student at the time i wasn't really taking as good care of myself as i should have been.

Then about 3 years ago i had a very bad flare up and ended up having a ileoceacal resection, unfortunatly that didn't go quiet as smoothly as i hoped and i ended up with a abdominal fistula for 1 year, when i first had the fistula i was hospitilised on TPN ( feeding directly into the bloodstream) and then i was on elemental 028 a liquid food formula for another 4 weeks after the TPN i begged my surgeon to stop it as i was starving which i took to be a good sign. But alas the fistual continued and i started infliximab had 3 sessions in total and the fistula closed but reopened after 3 months, so i ended up having a second surgery exactly 1 yr later to close the fistula, which thankfully has stayed closed.

I have remained mostly well since the second surgery but a few flar-ups that have been treated with entocort with good response most of the time. Some of you have had Dexa scans and investigation for bone density, i have never been offered or investigated like this, although i suffer from joint and bone pain continously, maybe i need to get this looked at. I also broke my foot quite easily last year, luckily i only had prednisolone on 3/4 different occasions.

Unfortunalty Dec 07 i started to feel unwell but only in minor ways, had another colonoscopy (i HATE picolax)!! and it showed some recurrence and then at the beginning of this year i was started on cellcept, i was just wondering if anyone else has ever been started on this drug.It's usually used in post transplant treatment. I haven't been as well this year as i would have liked, ended up with lots of small infections, and at one stage i had such pain they investigated me for gallbladder problems but it was negative. For last month i'v been off work and on entocort again!! This disease can be a real life stopper. So if anyone else is on cellcept i'd love to hear from you, as i'm wondering if its really a treatment that works or is just giving me more complications than the chron's itself.

I'm going to pull my hair out... I feel so so so well but yet my blood tests show that my protein is ridiculously low at 15, I'm anaemic and they are also showing inflammation. It's so frustrating! I had a colonoscopy on Tuesday and they found some crohn's in the large bowel :mad:. Also, I have to have a biopsy under an anesthetic because I might have a fistulae which might be caused by my medication which took my docs ages to find :mad:

I'm sorry I'm just so annoyed...

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,475 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

is anyone taking Tysabri for Crohns?Am starting it for MS but a friend with Crohns is looking into it for himself

nerdsayl I know how you feel, i had a fistuala after my 1st surgery and it's earth shattering, especially if your feeling ok. What medication are you taking that could cause it? My cousin had a fistuala last year he didn't even know he had chron's until it appeared. Your unlucky with your protien too, 15 is very low, but its not anything your doing it's just this fecking disease!!

I'v been off work for ages now, had scans on mon so am waiting for results, but i'm finding it very hard to swallow and my mouth has ulcers too, so i'm really fed up and with christmas around the corner its worse with all the lovely food, and i dont feel like any of it.

I share in your frustration!

By the way if there are is anyone out there who is thinking of buying a house, i am 30 and have just bought my first home and had major problems getting life assurance, so i know it might not be something you think about when your younger but if you have chron's it is worth trying to get it when your younger and hopefully at a healthy stage in the disease. Cos i'v had my trouble with chron's but from what i'v read on this thred there are people who have it worse than me. Just a thought. I did get it in the end with canada life and i have just been approved to upping the amount so that when i move to a bigger house the life assurance is there to cover it, so i dont have to go through the whole rejection process again.

Just found out the results of my scans and the chron's is affecting my small bowel as well as where i had my bowel resection, so it looks like i'll be going on the wonder drug infliximab, at least i know it works and will hopefully be back to good health by the new year.

I went to my consultant today and i have to start on humira injections,
    Silversurfer how are you getting on with them since you started, have you noticed your chron's improve. How long did it take to start to feel better?

I was on Humira injections! Unfortunetly, my crohn's had got to a stage that couldn't be dealt with medically so I was handed over to surgery. But while I was on the Humira I did feel significantly better... if my crohn's got bad again I would ask my Doc to prescribe them!!!