Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Notes etc. - Do not post copyright material

• Registered Users Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭WanderingSoul

Pressure & The Atmosphere

Pressure
    • Pressure is force per unit area.
    • Pressure = Force / area
    • Nm−2 or Pa

Picture8-3.png?t=1275778602

• To increase the pressure, reduce the are the force is applied to or increase the force.
    • Pressure in a liquid is dependent on density and depth.

The Atmosphere
    • Atmospheric pressure is caused by the weight of the atmosphere pushing down.
    • Normal atmospheric pressure is 1013 hectopascals (hPa).
    • A barometer is used to measure atmospheric pressure.
    • Atmospheric pressure decreases as altitude rises.
    • In space there is no atmospheric pressure.

The Effect of Atmospheric Pressure on Weather.
    • High atmospheric pressure gives good, dry and settled weather.
    • Low atmospheric pressure gives bad, wet, windy and unsettled weather.

Everyday Applications of Pressure
    • Flight: An aeroplane flies because of the difference of pressure above and below its wings.
    • Hydraulic Brakes: Liquids can transfer pressure easily from one place to another. The pressure transfered can then be used to lift a large force.

Energy

Energy
    • Energy is the ability to do work or move something.

Forms of Energy
    • Kinetic energy: energy due to movement. Eg: Falling rocks.
    • Potential energy: energy due to its position. Eg: Stretched elastic bands.
    • Light energy: energy from the sun or a bulb can turn the vanes of a Crooke’s radiometer.
    • Sound energy: energy caused by vibrations.
    • Electrical energy: energy from moving charges made by a generator.
    • Chemical energy: energy stored in chemicals like oil or food.
    • Nuclear energy: energy that holds the nuclei of atoms together.

The Principal of Conservation of Energy
    • States that energy cannot be created or destroyed but can only change from one form to another.

Energy Sources
    • Our primary source of energy is the sun (light & heat, wind & waves, hydroelectricity through evaporation)
    • There are two types of energy sources: renewable and non-renewable.
    • Renewable sources are sources replaced naturally.
    • Non-renewable sources of energy that cannot be replaced.

Picture10-1.png?t=1275778604
    Picture11.png?t=1275778607

Energy Converters
    • A light bulb: electrical energy ---> heat & light energy
    • A speaker: electrical energy ---> sound energy
    • A microphone: sound energy ---> electrical energy
    • A battery: chemical energy ---> electrical energy
    • A plant: solar energy ---> chemical energy
    • A car: chemical energy ---> kinetic, heat, light & sound energy

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,836 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

physicsteacher.ie is really good for notes iswell lads :)
    Or so mo chairde told me anyhow.. I have a revision book so Ive never actually checked..

I have a revision book too. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Closed ac

Any on Density & Flotation Alexis? For some reason I find that chapter difficult.

DKZ wrote: »
    Any on Density & Flotation Alexis? For some reason I find that chapter difficult.

Yep, there's some (not that much) in this post (near the end).

I can type up a bit more on D&F in more detail though tomorrow, if you want?

That'll do me! Thank you! :D

No problem Damien. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 402 ✭✭Tommyrawr

Rinne me stadeir ar an dan "Na blatha Craige" a scriomh Liam O Fleabhairtaigh,ta an teama/mhothúchán ______ sa dan seo.
    Sa Dan seo ta an file buarthe faoi na blathanna mar ta siad ag fasann ar aill in aice na farraige.Ceap an file go bhuil na Blathanna go deas ach Nior maith leis an ait mar ta se salach agus dorcha.
    Thug An file iomhanna den naduir chun pictuir réalaíoch den naduir a thuairt duinne
    Is soileir go bhuil eolas maith ag an file ag a timpeallacht mar deir se sa dan nach beidh an grian ag taitneamh go minic, ach nil na blathanna buartha faoi sin.

Is iomai mhothúchán a nochtain go bhuil ______ an teama/mothucan sa dan mar ta an file buartha faoi na blathanna mar fasann siad ar aill in aice na farraige
    Ag an deireadh deir na blathanna go bhuil siad sona sasta ann mar is maith said an ceoil na farraige agus tá siad faoi draíocht na farraige. Ta se soleir go bhuil an teama/mhothúchán _________ ann

this is me template for it if worry or sea comes up

Tommyrawr wrote: »
    Rinne me stadeir ar an dan "Na blatha Craige" a scriomh Liam O Fleabhairtaigh,ta an teama/mhothúchán ______ sa dan seo.
    Sa Dan seo ta an file buarthe faoi na blathanna mar ta siad ag fasann are aill in aice na farraige.Ceap an file go bhuil na Blathanna dead ach Nior maith leis an ait mar ta se salach agus dorcha.
    Thug An file iomhanna den naduir chun pictuir réalaíoch den naduir a thuairt duinne
    Is soileir go bhuil eolas maith ag an file ag a timpeallacht mar deir se sa dan nach beidh an grian ag taitneamh go minic, ach nil na blathanna buartha faoi sin.

Is iomai mhothúchán a nochtain go bhuil ______ an teama/mothucan sa dan mar ta an file buartha faoi na blathanna mar fasann siad ar aill in aice na farraige
    Ag an deireadh deir na blathanna go bhuil siad sona sasta ann mar is maith said an ceoil na farraige agus tá siad faoi draíocht na farraige. Ta se soleir go bhuil an teama/mhothúchán _________ ann

Thanks Tommy! :D

Right hand corner put the 9h or whatever hour
    Mme. Anselmet, -Feminine older Person (use vous for older people)
    M. Jackque's, - Male older
    Michel,
    Aurelie, (use Te for same agegroup)

Juste un petit mot pour vous/te dire que- Just a quick note to say

Reasons
    J'ai appelé à votre maison
    , mais vous n'y étiez pas. - I called to your house but you were not there
    vous/Te dormiez- You were asleep
    vous étiez au travail- You were at work
    vous/te visite votre/Ton famille - you were visiting your family/relatives

je Sortir a (time)h - i have left at ___

je vais a la (grand) ville pour im going to the city for
    /mon cheveux a coupé a la chez la coiffeur/ my hair cut at the barbers/ hairdressers
    nage dans ce piscine publique/ to go swimming in the public pool
    d'aller au cinéma pour voir Sex and the city 2 - to go the cinema to see ''sex and the city 2''

(je vais) a la plage im going to the beach
    /a la discotheque/ to the disco
    a la boite de nuit/ to the nightclub
    au parc/ to the park
    au centre commercial to the shopping center

Pour le Matin- for the morning
    /Le soir/for the evening
    le midi/ for midday
    la nuit/ for the night

Je Serai de retour - i Will return
    Pour - For
    avant-Before
    apres- After
    15/3 heures - 3 o clock
    la Diner the dinner
    le déjeuner - the lunch
    La petit déjeuner - the breckfast

á tout á l'heure, - See you later

(your Name)

Sa Dan seo ta an file buarthe faoi na blathanna mar ta siad ag fasann ar aill in aice na farraige.Ceap an file go bhuil na Blathanna go deas ach Nior maith leis an ait mar ta se salach agus dorcha.

Edited xD sorry

• Registered Users Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭kevin12345

Hey does anyone have any notes on a cluiche or turas campala?? Thanks :D

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭whistlin_boy

Tús an Scéal:
    • Is cuimhín liom go maith é. Chun na fí¬rinne a rá ní dhéanfaidh mé dearmad air go tapaidh.
    • Tús an tsamhraidh a bhí ann agus bhí scrúduithe na scoile díreach críochnaithe againn.
    • Bhí sé thart ar an scoile deireanach.
    • Bhí an ghrian ag taitneamh agus bhí sé ag scoilteadh na gcloch. Bhí sé te agus bhí sé ag éirí níos teo. Ní raibh oiread is puth gaoithe ann. Bhí mé marbh leis an teas ach is aoibhinn an aimsir fós.
    • Ar dhúisceart dom bhraith mé go háinnis agus mar sin d’fhan mé sa leaba ar feadh leathuair eile. Bhriath mé níós fear nuair a eirigh mé thart ar a seacht.
    • Tar éis mé féin a ní agus a ghleasadh bhain mé an chístín amach. Ma ba ghnách dom bhí ocras an domhain orm. Bhí friochadh ollmhór réidh dom – íspíní, slísíní, ubh, putóg bhán agus dubh, trataí, tósta agus tae. Mise á rá leat go ndeárna sé an jab, gan dabht. Mo mham, bheinn caillte gan í.
    • Le bolg lán, d’ fhág mé an teach ar a __________.
    • Chuamar go stad an mbus agus fuaireamar an bus go ______________.
    • Dá mbeadh a fhios agam cad a bhí chun ar tí tarlú nuair a dhuisigh mé an lá sin, mise á rá leat, go bhfanfainn me sa leaba/sa Éirinn.

Corp an Scéil:

-Ní chreidfeá cad a tharla
    -Dá mbeadh a fhios agam cad a bhí ar tí tarlú, mise á rá leat go bhfanfainn sa leaba/ go léimfinn as an leaba níos luaithe.
    -Cuireadh é ar shíntean agus tógadh é go dtí an t-óspideal

Críoch an Scéil:
    • Bhí mé ar scamaill a naoi. Léim mo chroí le háthas. Is ar éigean a bhí mé in ann caint. Ní raibh mé ábalta mo chluasa a chreidiúnt. Bhí mé sna tríthí gáíre.
    • Bhí mé in isle brí. Bhí mé ar tí caoineadh. Bhraith mé na deora ag teacht. Bhímé go dubhach brónach tar éis an nuacht seo a chloistéail.
    • Mise á rá leat gur/nár chodail mé go sámh an oiche sin. Tá cuimhne/eachtraí an lae sin chomh sóiléir i m’intinn go dtógfann an leabhar gur tharla sé inné. Dá mairfinn go dtí an céad ní dhéanfaidh mé dearmad ar an lá sin go deo.
    :D:D:D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭Ally7

Thought it was about time that I contributed to this thread! I saw in another that poetic techniques in english is likely to come up, so I covered them for The Road Not Taken.

The Road Not Taken - Robert Frost

Poetic Techniques

Metaphors - The paths in the woods is a metaphor for choices in life

Imagery - "two roads diverged in a yellow wood"

Alliteration - "wanted wear", this adds to the melodious effect of the poem

Assonance - "grassy, passing, as, having", also adds to the melodious effect of the poem

Symbolism - the yellow leaves of autumn in the forest symbolises the poet is in the middle age bracket

hehe thanks ally =] im studying that one atm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Mayoegian

Rinne me staidéar ar an dán "Na blátha Craige" le Liam O Fleabhairtaigh. Is é
    téama den dán seo
    Sa Dán seo, tá an file buartha faoi na mbláthanna mar bíonn siad ag fás ar aill cois farraige. Ceapann an file go bhfuil na Bláthanna go deas ach ní maith leis an áit mar tá sé salach agus dorcha.
    Tugann an file íomhánna den nádúir chun pictiúr réadúlach a thabhairt dúinne.
    Is soiléir go bhfuil grá as cuimse ag an file ar an timpeallacht mar deir sé nach mbeidh an ghrian ag taitneamh go minic, ach níl na bláthanna buartha faoi sin.

Is iomaí mothúchán a nochtann go bhfuil ______ an téama/mothúcún sa dán mar tá an file buartha faoi na mbláthanna mar fasann siad ar aill in aice na farraige.
    Ag an deireadh, deir na bláthanna go bhuil siad sona sásta ann mar is maith leo ceol na farraige agus tá siad faoi dhraíocht na farraige. Tá sé soléir go bhfuil an téama/mothúchán _________ ann

I had to correct quite a number of things there. It is vital that you get your tenses right, and the endings correct. You alternated between past and present in that piece, and a lot of the verbs were wrongly conjugated. Also, there were quite a few spelling mistakes. It's not 'bhuil' it's 'bhfuil'. You said 'is maith siad', it's 'is maith leo'. Something you'll be learning in 5th year is the Tuiseal Ginideach, so it's understandable that you said 'an ceoil na farraige', but it's 'ceol na farraige' as the 'the' is included in the 'na'.

The most important thing for all of you to remember is to make absolutely sure that you are using the correct tense and you have the correct form:) If anybody wants me to correct their notes I'd be more than happy to oblige:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭Kyromancer

Kyromancer wrote: »
    Leite Dhonncha Pheig - An Seabhac.

Bhí Donncha pósta le Neil. Bhí cúigear sa chlann - Donncha, Neil, Máirín, Peats, agus Neil Óg. Bhí Neil slachmhar, néata. Rinne sí obair an tí go néata. Ach mo bhrón, bhí sí dearmadach. Gach tráthnóna, rinne sí dearmad salann a chuir sa leite.

Bhí clampar sa teach gach tráthnóna, mar chaith Donncha an leite amach. Bhíodh eagla ar Neil bhocht.

Mar réiteach ar an scéal, d'éirigh siad as an leite. Tráthnóna amhain, bheartaigh Neil an leite a dhéanamh arís agus smaoinigh sí ar an salann. Bhí sí lán sásta. Chuaigh sí amach go dtí cró na mbó.

Tháinig Donncha isteach. Chonaic sé an leite is chuir sé mám salann ann. Amach leis. Ansin tháining Máirín isteach, agus rinne sí amhlaidh. Tháinig Geanc isteach ansin is chuir sé mám salann sa leite. Ar deireadh, tháining Neil Óg isteach is rinne sí an rud ceanna.

Ansin tháinig an clann go léir isteach. Bhí Neil lán sásta. Chuir Donncha spúnóg leite ina bhéal is ansin lig sé béic uafásach as mar bhí an iomarcha salann sa leite.

Bhí Neil bocht croí briste. Anois ólann siad tae gach tráthnóna.

So, how's that? My Irish isn't great, so there could be spelling mistakes and the like.

I also just found out how hard and tedious it is to type in Irish. I was going to post up a few more answers, but I'll just do one short poem for now.

Mayoegian wrote: »
    :) If anybody wants me to correct their notes I'd be more than happy to oblige:)

I'd appreciate if you could offer feedback on the quoted sample answer above. Thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Mayoegian

Kyromancer wrote: »
    Leite Dhonncha Pheig - An Seabhac.

Bhí Donncha pósta le Neil. Bhí cúigear sa chlann - Donncha, Neil, Máirín, Peats, agus Neil Óg. Bhí Neil slachmhar, néata. Rinne sí obair an tí go néata. Ach mo bhrón, bhí sí dearmadach. Gach tráthnóna, rinne sí dearmad ar an salann sa leite.

Bhí clampar sa teach gach tráthnóna, mar chaith Donncha an leite amach. Bhí eagla ar Neil bhocht.

Mar réiteach ar an scéal, d'éirigh siad as an leite. Tráthnóna amháin, bheartaigh Neil ar an leite a dhéanamh arís agus smaoinigh sí ar an salann. Bhí sí lán sásta. Chuaigh sí amach go dtí cró na mbó.

Tháinig Donncha isteach. Chonaic sé an leite is chuir sé mám salann ann. Amach leis. Ansin tháining Máirín isteach, agus rinne sí amhlaidh. Tháinig Geanc isteach ansin is chuir sé mám salann sa leite. Ag an deireadh, tháining Neil Óg isteach is rinne sí an rud céanna.

Ansin tháinig an clann go léir isteach. Bhí Neil lán sásta. Chuir Donncha spúnóg leite ina bhéal is ansin lig sé béic uafásach as mar bhí an iomarca salann sa leite.

Bhí Neil bocht croíbhriste. Anois ólann siad tae gach tráthnóna.

So, how's that? My Irish isn't great, so there could be spelling mistakes and the like.

I also just found out how hard and tedious it is to type in Irish. I was going to post up a few more answers, but I'll just do one short poem for now.

The words in bold print I had to correct. Very few mistakes-so maith thú!:)

Your first botún was you didn't put the 'ar' after dearmad. You have to say 'Rinne mé/sé etc. dearmad AR something!

Your second botún wasn't really a mistake as such, but you swapped tenses. You said 'bhíodh'. While that's grand to use that, it's a different tense to what you have been using, so to be on the safe side, I'd stick with 'bhí'.

Your third botún was 'bheartaigh'. Beartaigh takes 'ar' after it, so I've fixed that for you. If you want you could use Shocraigh instead as they both mean decided.

Your fourth botún was 'Ar Deireadh'. It's much better to say 'Ag an Deireadh' or 'Sa Deireadh'.

You then just forgot the fáda on 'Céanna'.

Your final botún: You said 'croí briste' it's 'croíbhriste'.

Otherwise, your Irish isn't bad ar chor ar bith! You had very few errors:) If you have a few more for me to correct I'll do that too! I had said on here that I'd put up a list of Irish phrases, but with all my study I found that impossible! So sorry guys! I'll make it up to ye though by correcting some of your essays or if ye have maths problems I'll do that for ye too:D

• Registered Users Posts: 20 conlor27

anyone have any notes on the poem "the listeners" by walter de la mere by any chance??
    thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 12 mag_red286

dese notes havae just saved my life....dere da only reason dat i mite pass da junior cert!!! tank you so much!! any one lookin 4 notes should check out skoool.ie nd da revise wise books r rly gud!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 31 Zoticon

for science all u need is
    'essentials unfolded junior cert science' by paul cooke published by the celtic press
    my teacher says not to use da book just use that

• Registered Users Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

Zoticon wrote: »
    'essentials unfolded junior cert science' by paul cooke published by the celtic press

Tis a bit late to be buying books now tbh...

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭whistlin_boy

Ally7 wrote: »
    Thought it was about time that I contributed to this thread! I saw in another that poetic techniques in english is likely to come up, so I covered them for The Road Not Taken.

The Road Not Taken - Robert Frost

Poetic Techniques

Metaphors - The paths in the woods is a metaphor for choices in life

Imagery - "two roads diverged in a yellow wood"

Alliteration - "wanted wear", this adds to the melodious effect of the poem

Assonance - "grassy, passing, as, having", also adds to the melodious effect of the poem

Symbolism - the yellow leaves of autumn in the forest symbolises the poet is in the middle age bracket

You forget allegory a form of extended metaphor, for which the poet uses one story to symbolize another;)

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭leemurta

any chance of some notes on Goodnight mr tom for english for the themes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Foirfe

Sample for Bean Paidin, An Gnathrud or Caimileiri plz

• Registered Users Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

Foirfe wrote: »
    Sample for Bean Paidin, An Gnathrud or Caimileiri plz

Small bit late...

Okay, this is tipped to come up tomorrow.

Factors Hindering Economic Development:

Case Study - Sudan.

Sudan is an extremely poor country which scores a high 89/100 on the human suffering index. It is Africa's largest country with a population of 31 million. Its population density is very low at 12 people per km squared.

Factor 1 - Climate:

The north of Sudan is a mix between desert and semi-arid land around the River Nile. Away from the Nile the population is sparse and the people are nomadic. The south is sparsely populated, it is part of the Sahel desert and suffers from drought.

Factor 2 - Rapid Population Growth:

Sudan is in stage 2 of the demographic transition and therefore has a very high birth rate. The economy is based of agriculture. Children are seen as an asset to help work on the farm, as technology such as tractors is unavailable.

Factor 3 - Economy:

Sudan exports mainly unprocessed raw materials, e.g. raw cotton. Over-reliance on cotton as a cash crop has prevented growth in the economy, as the price of raw cotton has dropped significantly in recent years.

Factor 4 - Arms, Expenditure & War:

Sudan has two ethnic groups: Arabs in the north are in the majority while Blacks in the south are in the majority. The Arab controlled Sudanese government imposed a strict Islamic regime in 1983 which led to a civil war. The disruption of farming, food supplies, education and health services took a major toll on the south. Over one million people died in the civil war and millions became war refugees. In 1993 Sudan spent nine times more on the military than on health services.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Namabillion

Zoticon wrote: »

I have that too it is really helpful

Glacial Erosion & Deposition:

Cirques/Corries: A cirque is an armchair-shaped depression on the side of a mountain. It is the birthplace of the ice. It is formed by freeze-thaw action. Snow accumulated in a hollow on the mountainside and over time was transformed into ice. When temperatures rose during the day melt-water entered the cracks of the hollow and froze at night. This freeze-thaw action widened and deepened the hollow. The glacier moved downhill due to gravity. Cirques which contain lakes are called tarns. An example or a cirque is Lough Bray, Co. Wicklow.

Drumlins: Drumlins are small rounded hills, up to 60m in height. They were formed when boulder clay, found in moraines, was compressed into small hills. In appearance they resemble half an egg and when they appear in groups they form a basked of eggs topography. Sometimes they may have been drowned by the rising sea level and the ice had melted forming drowned drumlins. An example of a drumlin is in the Sligo-Monaghan drumlin area.

Industry: (Tipped to come up)

Factors Affecting Industrial Location:

Before companies decide to locate a new factory or business they must first consider the following important factors.

1. Resource Materials - Resource materials are important inputs into the factory and factories try to locate either: as close to the resource material as possible or where they can access they resource material easily, i.e. near a port if the resource material is bulky.

2. Labour - Factories locate where they can get a large educated workforce such as in cities and towns.

3. Transport - Factories locate near major roads, rail, port and air terminals to transport their outputs as quickly and cost efficiently as possible.

4. Markets - The marked is the place where the product/output of the factory is sold. Factories locate as close as possible to their markets or locate where they good access to their markets.

5. Services - All companies require telecommunication, electricity and water services, all of which are provided for in Ireland espeically in designated industrial estates.

6. Capital - Companies need money to invest in building factories and setting up businesses to be able to develop and expand their industry.

7. Government/EU Policy - Irish governments policy is to provide grants to promote industrial development through the IDA. The government lowered the rate of corporate tax to 12.5% to entice foreign companies to Ireland. This is known as Direct Foreign Investment.

Light Industry:

Case Study - Intel

A light industry usually processes small or lightweight raw materials into finished products, e.g. the manufacture of computer parts.

Intel are an American multinational corporation (MNC) which make computer components such as micro-processors. They employ 3,200 workers directly and over 1,000 workers indirectly through spin-off industries. They are located just off the M4 motorway at Leixlip on the Dublin/Kildare county boundary.

Factors affecting Intel's location:

1. Transport - The factory is accessible via the M4 and M50 to Dublin airport and the roll-on, roll-off ferry at Dublin port. The port tunnel speeds up the delivery of Intel's outputs.

2. Markets - 25% of Intel's world sales are in Europe and they chose this site because they could use Ireland as a spring-board to access the European market.

3. Labour - Dublin has a well-educated workforce which meets Intel's demands.

4. Services - 9 million litres of water a day from the River Liffey are used by Intel.

5. Government policy - The IDA provided grants to Intel to locate their factory here and the government lowered corporate tax to 12.5%

Heavy Industry:

Case Study - Aughinish Alumina:

A heavy industry usually processes heavy and bulky raw materials into finished products, e.g. the use of iron ore to make steel.

Aughinish Alumina is located on Aughinish Island 28km from Limerick City on the Shannon Estuary. The factory refines 1.5 million tonnes of bauxite into alumina annually. Aughinish Alumina employs 700 workers directly with many other spin-off industries.

Factors affecting Aughinish Alumina's location:

1. Transport - The factory is located on a deep-water marine terminal on the River Shannon near the town of Foynes.

2. Resource material - The heavy and bulky bauxite (input) is imported from the Republic of Guinea (on the west coast of Africa)

3. Markets - The output alumina is exported by ship to Scandinavia and the UK to be processed further into aluminium.

4. Labour - The factory is located within commuting distance of Limerick city which provides workers.

5. Services - Water is provided by the local River Deel

6. Governemt Policy - The Irish government provides grants and incentives for industrial development.