Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Whats on your cao 2015?

• 04-07-2015 8:11pm
    Registered Users Posts: 108 ✭✭

I know this is the last thing you probably want to think about at the moment, but i feel that this thread might help connect people who want to do the same course and give you a chance to make friends before the course starts.

1st choice lvl 8: General Nursing W.I.T

1st choice lvl 7: Applied social studies in Social care W.I.T

what about ye?

• Registered Users Posts: 170 ✭✭AlfaJack

1st Veterinary Medicine (UCD)
    2nd Computer Science (UCD)
    That's all I put down because I honestly couldn't find anything else I wanted to do xD

• Registered Users Posts: 108 ✭✭idek1

fair play :D, no point putting random courses down for the sake of putting it down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭Gallagher1

1) Medicine- NUIG
    2) "" -UCD
    3) "" -UCC
    4) "" -TCD
    5) "" -RCSI
    6) Financial Mathematics and Economics- NUIG

Gallagher1 wrote: »
    1) Medicine- NUIG
    2) "" -UCD
    3) "" -UCC
    4) "" -TCD
    5) "" -RCSI
    6) Financial Mathematics and Economics- NUIG

i read somewhere actually there was a drop in medicine this year, cant find the article though to link it. There was a drop in nursing also so we have a good chance :)

• Registered Users Posts: 594 ✭✭✭d1234

1. Law & Business TCD
    2. Business & Law UCD
    3. Law TCD
    4. Law & Economics UCD
    5. Business & French TCD

Forget the rest after that :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭Gallagher1

idek1 wrote: »
    i read somewhere actually there was a drop in medicine this year, cant find the article though to link it. There was a drop in nursing also so we have a good chance :)

The drop (if there is any!) will be minimal! Nothing compared to the drop last year! I *should* have my points as that other exam (which cannot be named due to the onset of PTSD symptoms..) went really well :pac: I definitely think there will be a drop in nursing points if what I've read is correct so good luck come August 17th!

Gallagher1 wrote: »
    The drop (if there is any!) will be minimal! Nothing compared to the drop last year! I *should* have my points as that other exam (which cannot be named due to the onset of PTSD symptoms..) went really well :pac: I definitely think there will be a drop in nursing points if what I've read is correct so good luck come August 17th!

thanks a million, you too! if you feel the "one that shall not be name" went well, then it definitely did. fair play to you. we'll both be grand

• Registered Users Posts: 213 ✭✭The_N4sir

1. Engineering UCD
    2. Computer science UCD
    3. Engineering DIT

I forget the order after that

• Registered Users Posts: 271 ✭✭Peg14

1. Music and Modern Irish TCD
    2. Music TCD
    3. German and Spanish TCD

The_N4sir wrote: »
    1. Engineering UCD
    2. Computer science UCD
    3. Engineering DIT

I forget the order after that

yeah i'm the same it all gets a bit hazy after my 2nd choice
    Peg14 wrote: »
    1. Music and Modern Irish TCD
    2. Music TCD
    3. German and Spanish TCD

nice, I hear trinity is an amazing uni. friend goes there and loves it

• Registered Users Posts: 712 ✭✭✭MmmPancakes

1. Theoretical Physics - TCD
    2. Science - TCD
    3. Comp. Sci. - TCD
    4. Engineering - TCD
    5. Science - UCD
    6. Comp. Sci - UCD
    7. Engineering - UCD
    8. Physics & Astrophysics - Maynooth

Can't remember the other two

• Registered Users Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭Jijsaw

1. Commerce and German- NUIG
    2. Commerce- NUIG
    3. Business- GMIT
    4. Business Information Systems- GMIT
    5. Arts- NUIG

If I get 3 downwards though I'm probably repeating :o . Hopefully not though seeing as commerce is 380.

Jijsaw wrote: »
    1. Commerce and German- NUIG
    2. Commerce- NUIG
    3. Business- GMIT
    4. Business Information Systems- GMIT
    5. Arts- NUIG

If I get 3 downwards though I'm probably repeating :o . Hopefully not though seeing as commerce is 380.

Nice! You'll deffo get what you want :) do you only have 5 choices down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭Troxck

1) Applied Physics- UL
    2) Science Choice- UL
    3) Engineering Choice- UL
    4) Electronic and Computer Engineering- UL
    5) Computer Systems- UL
    6) Physics- NUIG
    7) Engineering (No preference)- UCC
    8) Engineering (Undenominated)- NUIG
    9) Computer Science and Information Technology's NUIG

I'd be happy if I got any of those options but I only really want my first choice (despite fecking up my Physics exam, still not over it haha)

• Registered Users Posts: 45 Bah_Humbug

1) Biomedical Health & Life Science - UCD
    2) Human Health & Disease - TCD
    3) Biomedical Science - DIT
    4) Science - UCD
    5) Science - TCD
    6) Medicinal Chemistry - TCD
    7) Pharmacy - TCD
    8) Human Genetics - TCD
    9) Human Nutrition - TCD
    10) Chemical & Pharmaceutical Sciences - DCU

Anyone else want BHLS? :)

Bah_Humbug wrote: »
    1) Biomedical Health & Life Science - UCD
    2) Human Health & Disease - TCD
    3) Biomedical Science - DIT
    4) Science - UCD
    5) Science - TCD
    6) Medicinal Chemistry - TCD
    7) Pharmacy - TCD
    8) Human Genetics - TCD
    9) Human Nutrition - TCD
    10) Chemical & Pharmaceutical Sciences - DCU

Anyone else want BHLS? :)

My cousin does biomed in maynooth and loves it, best of luck

• Registered Users Posts: 265 ✭✭When the Sun Hits

BESS

BESS

Thought that was slang for a second lol trinity ?

• Registered Users Posts: 5 DT229

1. Radiography - UCD
    2. Clinical Measurement Science - DIT
    3. Biomedical Science - DIT
    4. Biomedical Health and Life Sciences - UCD

Can't remember after that haha, I highly doubt that I'll get the points for radiography, but I'd be just as happy with CMS. Apart from that though...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭Jijsaw

idek1 wrote: »
    Nice! You'll deffo get what you want :) do you only have 5 choices down

I bloody well hope so :P !
    Yeah, I only have 5 down on Level 8 and then 2 on Level 6/7.
    I only want to do something with languages and I like business so I chose commerce and German and I'll be doing a diploma in French in the evenings. I'm also stuck with Galway because my parents have an apartment there so I get to live rent-free.
    There's only so many business and language courses in Galway!

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭alaskayoung

1. Medicine - NUIG
    2. Medicine - TCD
    3. Medicine - UCC
    4. Medicine - RCSI
    5. Pharmacy - TCD
    6. Human Health & Disease - TCD
    7. Biomedical Science - NUIG
    8. Science - TCD
    9. Science - NUIG
    10. Psychiatric Nursing - NUIG

:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 348 ✭✭AulBiddy

Biomedical Science DIT
    Biosciences DIT
    General Science DIT

AulBiddy wrote: »
    Biomedical Science DIT
    Biosciences DIT
    General Science DIT

Nice :) biomed seems popular this year, hope you get what you want. Let me know how you get on :)

1. Medicine - NUIG
    2. Medicine - TCD
    3. Medicine - UCC
    4. Medicine - RCSI
    5. Pharmacy - TCD
    6. Human Health & Disease - TCD
    7. Biomedical Science - NUIG
    8. Science - TCD
    9. Science - NUIG
    10. Psychiatric Nursing - NUIG

:D:D:D

Nice! I have nursing as my number one, psychiatric is really tough and challenging but I'd say rewarding. Hope you get what you want. How did the hpat go for you? My friend found it tough

• Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭Help1997

1. Accounting & Finance - NUIM
    2. Accounting & Finance- DCU

• Registered Users Posts: 13 seagull50

1. Engineering UCD
    2. Engineering TCD
    3. Engineering DCU

• Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭nickys

B.Sc. in Athletic Therapy and Training Dcu
    Sports Rehabilitation and Athletic Therapy Carlow
    Teaching in DCU

nickys wrote: »
    B.Sc. in Athletic Therapy and Training Dcu
    Sports Rehabilitation and Athletic Therapy Carlow
    Teaching in DCU

Nice one man, best of luck to ya

• Registered Users Posts: 594 ✭✭✭d1234

Interesting article with good stats re everyone's CAO choices - http://www.thejournal.ie/cao-choices-2210117-Jul2015/

• Registered Users Posts: 251 ✭✭OMGeary

1. Medicine TCD
    2. Medicine RCSI
    3. Medicine UCD
    4. Medicine NUIG
    5. Nanoscience, Physics and Chemistry of advanced materials TCD
    6. General Science UCD
    7. General Science TCD
    8. Computer Science UCD
    9. Joint Arts (Maths and Irish) UCD
    10. Physics with Medical Physics and Bioengineering DIT