Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Science TR071

• 13-08-2009 12:17pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭celtic723

I know this is probably the umpteen thread and you're all tired and weary but i would just like to ask a few things regarding this course, and if anyone can add other bits of info it would be greatly appreciated.

Now i see last years entry requirement was 420 points. I got my L.C results yesterday and ended up with a graceful 485.

Is this enough to see me into this course?
    What should i prepare for?
    Is the workload fierce and heavy?
    What are the lecturers like?
    Are the hours split between that of theory and practical work?

Thanks in advance.

Entry numbers for Science is something like 200 people isn't it? It shouldn't change dramatically so I'd be surprised if it jumped to 485+ points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Craguls

celtic723 wrote: »
    Now i see last years entry requirement was 420 points. I got my L.C results yesterday and ended up with a graceful 485.

There's 300 places and you're above the average points for last year. (480)
    I reckon it'll go up by only 25 points at the most.

I got 490 myself, I'll probably see you there!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

Was 415 last year according to Qualifax.

Actually I remember from the open day, I was told they've increased the places by 30 to accommodate for the new earth sciences degree.

• Registered Users Posts: 416 ✭✭Hamiltonion

celtic723 wrote: »
    I know this is probably the umpteen thread and you're all tired and weary but i would just like to ask a few things regarding this course, and if anyone can add other bits of info it would be greatly appreciated.

Is this enough to see me into this course?
    What should i prepare for?
    Is the workload fierce and heavy?
    What are the lecturers like?
    Are the hours split between that of theory and practical work?

Thanks in advance.

Definately, points wont jump that much, even if demand soared 10% you're safe
    Heavy reading from the start, no one does but ffs keep on top!

Manageable once you keep on top and dont leave assessments to the last minute in favour of drinking. Although come Trinity term they really pile on the assessments, which is not appreciated in exam season!

In general quite good and v approachable, one in particular though in the chemistry department who I shant name is useless, cant understand him, read his writing and if you ask a question he wont have a clue what you're talking about. Hint, he looks like Hans Moleman from the Simpsons

Depends on the Subject choice, for Maths M, chem, bio and geology you're talking 28 - 32 hours a week of which 6 will be lab and 3 tutorial, though its not surprising for them to thow on/cancel extra lectures at random without notifying anyone.

Any questions PM me!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭celtic723

Cheers for the input guys. Good to have somewhere i can ask actual students about the course they are currently taking.

Appreciate it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭danishidiot

I'm hopin I'll get in with my friend......we got 475 and 470 respectively so its kind of a worry at the moment with science applications up around 30%

Whats the likelihood we scrape through?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

I'm hopin I'll get in with my friend......we got 475 and 470 respectively so its kind of a worry at the moment with science applications up around 30%

Whats the likelihood we scrape through?
    Instead of asking stupid, unnecessary questions, maybe you could try reading the thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭danishidiot

Pet wrote: »
    Instead of asking stupid, unnecessary questions, maybe you could try reading the thread.

I read the thread and understood entirely. I was asking an opinionated question not a statistical one

Although it does come across like that

CAO themselves said 11% when they published the figures, and that is for Science overall, that includes people applying from Mayo for NUIG, not just for TCD.

So there could be a small increase, or there could be none at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 wittsend90

I finished first year of TR071. It's a grand course, on saying that I hated it! I have my heart set on veterinary so I did a year of it to give me a good solid base in the sciences. especially saying as the leaving cert only skims over stuff.

Workload is pretty heavy but I think that goes for pretty much every college course.Just stay on top of it.It's difficult to juggle all the subjects you have chosen. Hours are long...Most days I was in 10 - 6 or so but that depends on your timetable.
    The lecturers are mostly really good. I found the Chemistry ones the worst & for a finish just taught myself! The biology tutorials were a good help to me as they put it in plain english.
    But most TR071 students I have talked to said that once you start specialising in your field after 2nd year you begin to enjoy it!

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭KiLLeR CoUCh

Workload will vary depending on your subjects that you'll choose when you start. If you ask about specific subjects you can get a more cohesive answer. I've done Physics, Chemistry and Maths since first year and I'm going into my third now. Hours were roughly 10-5/6 in first year and 9-6 this year.

Lecturers are as they are anywhere else, some good, some bad. Generally you'll have them from anywhere from 6 to 12 lectures. I didn't find the workload horrendous, provided you keep up to date with any assignments given and attend all labs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Michaelrsh

I got 430, would I have a chance with this course??

Michaelrsh wrote: »
    I got 430, would I have a chance with this course??

yeah you should do!

• Registered Users Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Bajingo

Definately, points wont jump that much, even if demand soared 10% you're safe
    Heavy reading from the start, no one does but ffs keep on top!

Manageable once you keep on top and dont leave assessments to the last minute in favour of drinking. Although come Trinity term they really pile on the assessments, which is not appreciated in exam season!

In general quite good and v approachable, one in particular though in the chemistry department who I shant name is useless, cant understand him, read his writing and if you ask a question he wont have a clue what you're talking about. Hint, he looks like Hans Moleman from the Simpsons

Depends on the Subject choice, for Maths M, chem, bio and geology you're talking 28 - 32 hours a week of which 6 will be lab and 3 tutorial, though its not surprising for them to thow on/cancel extra lectures at random without notifying anyone.

Any questions PM me!

Haha ye his handwriting was atrocious but ya couldnt hold it against him he was like the tiny English grandad ya never had :P...what about Michael 'thermodynamics' Jackson?!

Anyway back to your question..

Ye you should get in with that I heard someone say its supposed to shoot up by 70points which sounds riduculous to me!

Theres nothing you can prepare for just wait until ya get there and ya'll have plenty of work to do.

With regards to workload from a Bio/Chem viewpoint you dont really get a lot of work to do outside lectures and labs until the second semester and even then they're not too bad. If ya want to keep up though you will have to study a bit.

The tutorials can be helpful but personally I found the bio tutorials to be too like lectures and so I didnt go to them.
    The chem tutorials were helpful I recommend going to the basic chem tutorials they are very helpful even if you did it for the LC.

Good luck:)

http://www.google.ie/search?hl=en&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla%3Aen-GB%3Aofficial&hs=155&q=what+do+I+need+for+Science+in+TCD&btnG=Search&meta=

:o I hate when stuff like this happens. Easy to see where google's bias is!

On a serious note I've heard you can get better lab coats and kits online rather then here.

Is this true? Any recommendations?

Well I got my lab coat in Clarendon medical on clarendon street..and my dissection kit & they were a bit cheaper than in Trinity!

As for Michael thermodynamics Jackson... :mad: i despised goin to his lectures!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 416 ✭✭Hamiltonion

Its not going to shoot up 70 points, 10 max.
    Wasn't Wolfie so cute!?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Jammyc

Out of curiosity, what are the labs like? Not the actual rooms but what ye do in them? for JF anyway?:D And whats this about labcoats and disection kits?

you need a labcoat & dissection kit for biology labs....and safety goggles for chemistry labs!
    Labs are BOREDOM..well biology ones are. the only thing i liked was disecting the prawn & worm!Chemistry labs are alright...The demonstrator I had was sound out and practically gave us all the answers. Labs are meant to be three hours long but if you work fast and carefully you can be out in an hour or two!
    It helps if you have a lab partner you get on with as well!

and yeah wolfie was soooooooo cute! possibly the only chemistry lecturer i liked. & the one who did all about equilibrium & pH - he was my tutor too! deadly!

I fell asleep trough a lot of Wolfies lectures and couldnt wait for him to be gone..then he left and we got Michael Jackson I really missed Wolfie :(..is he doing any SF lecturing?

To be honest I found the actual stuff we were doing in lab to be horrifically boring especially for biology. On the other hand they're good craic to talk to your mates and meet new ones especially the organic chem labs because you basically do nothing in those labs but watch stuff boil.

Ill be checking out that Clarendon Medical place.

I'm pretty 50-50 on whether I want to do Biology or Physics (Maths and Chem are already chosen), I like them both for different reasons.

Someone sell me one of them!

Bio doesnt seem to have the most thrilling labs, but if LC Physics experiments are anything to go by...

Biology is pretty interesting..well I thought it was! I loved the developmental biology (about how we get our shape from a ball of cells and stuff - trying to put this into plain english here so apologies for sounding really unscientific). I also liked genetics! (they were both great lecturers which was half the battle!) and microbiology.
    I don't really like plants and that kinda craic so plant form and function annoyed me!Animal diversity and ecology are easy(ish) too...BY1101 was definitely my favourite last year!

As for Physics I couldn't tell you anything about it....I did foundation physics even though I didn't want a bit of it! We had to do labs which were good craic as it was really relaxed & the demonstrators were dead on! The only thing was you had to do really detailed write ups for each experiment but once you did them a few times you were grand!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭celtic723

I'm thinking of picking Geography,Biology,Chemistry.

I've a few questions based on the above choices if that's okay.

1. If i haven't done Geog... for the L.C will i be far behind and unable to keep up?

2. Is the Biology and Chemistry choices geared like the L.C with the exception that they both dive deeper into the whats,whys and whens?

Cheers again.

• Registered Users Posts: 679 ✭✭✭fungie

i did geography last year having not done it for the leaving cert. its quiet easy and there are very low hours. werent any tutorials or assignments other than 1 essay tat was due in april eventhough geography finished in january.

i did maths and physics so cant say about bio or chem.

I'm considering going for Chem Bio and Maths and just Chem and Bio for second year.

Am I getting myself into trouble?

• Registered Users Posts: 74 ✭✭DaXiS

You are crazy. He is the best lecturer you will have in Science, learn to appreciate him!

"I'm considering going for Chem Bio and Maths and just Chem and Bio for second year.

Am I getting myself into trouble? "

Not if you want to do a moderatorship in a Biology subject or Chemistry.
    Otherwise, yes

• Registered Users Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

How often do you get to wear your lab coats?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Fringe

I'm gonna wear my lab coat and safety goggles all the time.

Craguls wrote: »
    I'm considering going for Chem Bio and Maths and just Chem and Bio for second year.

Am I getting myself into trouble?

If you actually like chem and bio do them..if you're thinking of not doing this modules because you're afraid they will be hard..do them anyway..you're going to find all hard more than likely so just pick what you think you will like. If you end up not liking the module just quick it and pick another.
    I'm gonna wear my lab coat and safety goggles all the time.

Please don't :P but ye you only have to wear the coat during labs.

Finally i'd agree DaXis our tiny English lecture was the best lecturer for semester 1 after Wolfie of course!