Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I can haz general discussion? 2!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭aaabbbb

Link isn't working

I'll send you the pdf tomorrow on fb of it ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 665 ✭✭✭Alt_Grrr

thelad95 wrote: »
    I can't link it as it seems you can only access it through the e-mail but basically, it seems to be mainly for arts and science subjects, where there will be a common entry, you can choose up to four subjects and eventually major in one. Kind of reminds me of the American system.

Here is what the key points they are proposing are:
    KEY COMPONENTS OF A MAYNOOTH EDUCATION

 Innovative teaching and assessment that challenges students to analyse, reflect, think critically, communicate clearly and work in teams

 A unique first year programme that combines lectures with small group learning to support students’ transition to university

 Fewer and simpler entry CAO entry routes, making choices easier and allowing students to specialise either immediately or over time

 Greater flexibility and choice, with the ability to take major and minor options within most degrees

 New and interesting subject combinations, including more opportunities to combine subjects across the arts and sciences

 Ability to pursue a modern language alongside any degree

 Elective options outside a student’s core discipline

 Extensive opportunities to learn outside the classroom through accredited co-curricular activities such as work placement, volunteering, or study abroad

 Electronic portfolios to capture students’ cumulative achievements over the course of their degree

• Registered Users Posts: 119 ✭✭GrandBlaa

When they say stuff like...

"Innovative teaching and assessment that challenges students to analyse, reflect, think critically, communicate clearly and work in teams

A unique first year programme that combines lectures with small group learning..."

Don't they realise that a huge majority of students choose modules purely to avoid group work/presentations?

GrandBlaa wrote: »
    When they say stuff like...

"Innovative teaching and assessment that challenges students to analyse, reflect, think critically, communicate clearly and work in teams

A unique first year programme that combines lectures with small group learning..."

Don't they realise that a huge majority of students choose modules purely to avoid group work/presentations?

I used to think that was true for everywhere, but it really seems to be a cultural hang up we have here.

Small group learning isn't necessarily about group work, it could be tutorials/labs/lectures in a smaller group with a bit more interaction or questioning. Like trying to teach using the Socratic method.

Yeah students hate that stuff here, but offering more of it will make it harder to avoid. Also I think group work and projects are generally a good thing. And I have had some awful group projects.

• Registered Users Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Zemuppet

I'd enjoy more tutorials as social interaction is limited in lectures mostly. Presentations i wouldn't mind but no more group work than is needed. I can't stand having to deal with lazy brats who couldn't be bothered contributing.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

I don't see how common entries and smaller group sizes/tutorials can be accommodated at the same time. This will just lead to even more lumping of ~400 1st years into JH1 for intro modules.

Group work is often disastrous especially for spoilt first years who are used to others picking up the slack. Christ I've dealt with some idiots this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭I Am_Not_Ice

Group projects wouldn't be so frustrating if there was a clear division of labour among group members, each of whom could then receive their own mark reflecting their own individual contribution. A shared workload doesn't necessarily have to imply a shared grade.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

I dropped Geography and then Anthropology the second I learned they had group work. Zero interest.

Group projects wouldn't be so frustrating if there was a clear division of labour among group members, each of whom could then receive their own mark reflecting their own individual contribution. A shared workload doesn't necessarily have to imply a shared grade.

There's a thing called sparkplus where you can rate other team members and get a quote score. Even at this, you're dealing you're dealing with fools. I had a project before Christmas and we had a meeting at 1 o clock three days before the submission date. One person didn't show up and left no message to say where they were or whatever. They later posted in the group chat on FB ''sorry everyone, couldn't get out of bed lol. Did ye get much done?'' I felt like decapitating them.

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭I Am_Not_Ice

They later posted in the group chat on FB ''sorry everyone, couldn't get out of bed lol. Did ye get much done?''

What an utter, irredeemable, twenty-four-and-a-half-karat gobsh1te.

I've been involved with group projects from both sides.

Generally they work better if people have to keep logs of their work and minutes of meetings...AND you have some mechanism to tell the lecturer that your team mates are a bunch of lazy good-for-nothings.

That way then you can give individual grades or at least account for the dead weight.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,831 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Tbf I've been lucky enough to have been on more good team than bad teams for assignments. Although one last semester got messy with people wanting to leave things as late as possible, and one this semester seems to be going in the same direction..

On a different note, has anyone here been to one of the balls before? We're going to the business ball on Thursday and I was wondering how it is? Like is it a dinner dance type thing? Are they fun?

deise_girl wrote: »
    Tbf I've been lucky enough to have been on more good team than bad teams for assignments. Although one last semester got messy with people wanting to leave things as late as possible, and one this semester seems to be going in the same direction..

On a different note, has anyone here been to one of the balls before? We're going to the business ball on Thursday and I was wondering how it is? Like is it a dinner dance type thing? Are they fun?

I'm not sure, some people think it will be kind of like a debs. I'm going to the Maynooth ball instead. It's unfortunate they're scheduled so close together.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,438 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

I'm not sure, some people think it will be kind of like a debs. I'm going to the Maynooth ball instead. It's unfortunate they're scheduled so close together.

Fancy dresses, dinner (I think - could be finger food either - I went twice and it was different each year), band and/or DJ. So pretty debsy I suppose.

Yea I think we're going quite debs-y
    We have tried for Maynooth ball tickets but it seemed too much effort so settled for Business Ball, hopefully it'll be grand anyway.

Emmm anyone know if people tend to predrink for these events, or would they attend them sober...
    Excuse the cheeky question :pac:

deise_girl wrote: »
    Yea I think we're going quite debs-y
    We have tried for Maynooth ball tickets but it seemed too much effort so settled for Business Ball, hopefully it'll be grand anyway.

Emmm anyone know if people tend to predrink for these events, or would they attend them sober...
    Excuse the cheeky question :pac:

Predrink to feck :P Obviously, act sober as the tickets say R.O.A.R so the bouncers can tell you to go home if they think you're drunk and disorderly.

Did anyone else get stopped by two mormon fellas on campus today? Two nice chaps but I just told them I'd no interest and walked on.

Did something happen with the Maynooth Ball? Someone's not impressed judging by the post they left on the SU's wall

200 extra tickets were released. Today, they rang everyone who had bought one of these tickets (including me) and informed them they were no longer valid as letting in this many people was violating the terms of their event licence. Major faux pas to be honest.

Not the smartest move clearly...

Especially with an election next week..... It's also pretty obvious that ringing people was a move to save face and not damage their publicity by posting the notice online. They did send out an email as well

Dear Student,

It is with great regret that we have to inform you that your ticket for the Maynooth Ball has had to be cancelled.
    This year the demand for events has been higher than ever, with every event having sold out in record time. Throughout the year there has been huge disappointment from having so much demand and so few tickets available, and as such we have engaged in an ongoing review of the capacity of the venue which was expected to be concluded by last week. The initial indication is that capacity of the venue can be increased however our enthusiasm got the better of us and we made a mistake by increasing capacity when the process had not yet been concluded as the licensing process is taking longer than we anticipated.

First and foremost, on behalf of Maynooth Students Union, I would like to personally apologise for the inconvenience and disappointment caused. We accept full responsibility for the mistake and I assure you that we are taking the necessary steps to prevent it from happening in the future. We understand the disappointment is considerable, and want to make it up to you. In addition to a full refund (moneys will be returned to your account in 5 working days) we are insuring you get priority booking for tickets to our Summer Beach Ball. Where we intend on giving you VIP treatment at the event.

Once again, we apologise for any inconvenience and disappointment caused.

Kind Regards,

Ben Finnegan

Predrink to feck :P Obviously, act sober as the tickets say R.O.A.R so the bouncers can tell you to go home if they think you're drunk and disorderly.

Did anyone else get stopped by two mormon fellas on campus today? Two nice chaps but I just told them I'd no interest and walked on.
    Haha well I was hoping to have a sneaky drink but didnt know if it was going to actually start out as a classy enough event where Id want some wit about me :P
    Thats funny about the Mormons, one of my last memories with my best friend was in First Semester and we were stopped by two, we tried to tell them we were in a rush and couldnt talk and one thing lead to another and she ended up telling them thye couldnt have her address but she gave them a fake phone number!!
    200 extra tickets were released. Today, they rang everyone who had bought one of these tickets (including me) and informed them they were no longer valid as letting in this many people was violating the terms of their event licence. Major faux pas to be honest.

Thats quite poor tbh Id be pretty annoyed if I had bought one of those tickets and was then told its not going to work..

Especially with an election next week..... It's also pretty obvious that ringing people was a move to save face and not damage their publicity by posting the notice online. They did send out an email as well

Has the story spread much around the college? That post was the first and only thing I'd heard about it until I posted here.

Yea I knew nothing of that tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

I always thought "Kind Regards" was a trollop of an email sign off.

Has the story spread much around the college? That post was the first and only thing I'd heard about it until I posted here.

Not really. They're kind of lucky that the people who bought tickets would have been spread across all 4 years. If it was solely 1st years, the Freshers page would undoubtedly have become a massive bitch-fest. Word is gradually spreading though and considering it's a small enough college, I'd imagine most people will have heard something about it by next Wednesday.

Tbh, rereading that email it sounds a bit like the hotel fcuked them over. They were prob told that there was plenty more capacity only to be told that 200 was too much. I'd say they did get ahead of them selves but it's possibly a bit of a Garth Brooks situation.

It's in the SU venue! Which makes it all the more embarrassing.

Oh... Never mind!
    I thought that because it was a proper ball (or that's the impression I'm getting off it) itwas being held somewhere else.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭barleybooley

Saw a guy today walking down the street. He had a shaved head, big beard, some sort of metal t shirt, baggy jeans with chains hanging off them, a backwards beret type hat and he was carrying a handbag with a cat inside it and then he kissed it. The cat I mean, not the handbag. Made my day and I don't even like cats!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭autumnbelle

Anyone else's webmail down?