Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

1991 Corolla GTi running costs..need a new motor; can I have a GTi, pleeeease?

• 08-07-2009 10:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7

yo!
    Has anyone had any experience of owning and running a 1991-ish Corolla Gti (Ae96 model)?? I know Corollas certainly didn't come with trip computers back then to estimate what mpg it might get but an idea from someone, firsthand would be valuable to me right now.
    I'm seriously considering one but have some reservations about MPG and all that. I'd have thought it would be a furgal little thing if not driven like it was stolen all the time, but have a lingering fear it could be a bit of a thirsty fecker - highly strung, rev happy motor etc. That said I have Autocar mags going back that far which suggest 34mpg is achievable.
    I parted company with my cherished 94 Lexus Ls400 by way of a private sale last week and have suffered an abject case of seller's remorse since. I really miss it. Anyway, circumstances dictated I couldn't really justify smoking around in a 4 litre V8 and selling it was part of the push to cut costs. For the size of it I think the Lexus was OK on juice but I found myself always watching the fuel gauge all the same. So anything must be an improvement on a 4 litre.
    Being a fairly serious petrol head any car I look at will have to appeal to me, not just any aul box. It has to be something not too many other people have. It has to be quick but frugal. And it has to be Japanese as they are most likely to give trouble free running and I'm not inclined to trust dem Germans.
    If the Corolla GTi is bought before I get to it, the only other thing I'm considering right now is a 1999 Mazda 323 Gt..it's a 1.8 and rare enough to be worth a look. The seller claims it has 130bhp but I'm starting to think it a little dubious. I'm sure he believes it has 130bhp but what I'm finding on the net indicates no more than 114 can be had from that 1.8. The Corolla is actually more expensive and of course is rarer. I could justify the additonal spending if the Corolla is reasonable to run. Like the Lexus, I've always fancied owning one.
    (by the way, Corolla up on carzone and pic below. It's NCTd, in apparently original condition so shouldn't need any remedial work as it is)
    Feedback, suggestions, tips etc welcome. Peace out!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭high horse

Link to the Corolla you're looking at?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 kolduke

This be it..
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Toyota/Corolla/GT-i-(Hi/200926194442325/advert?channel=CARS

I thought I had pasted it in when posting last night..maybe not..and I am getting older and more stoopider - 34 is just around the corner..

Still tryin in fact to get hold of yerman selling it - no answer from his mobeel. Hey, it's not your car is it?? I can't expect an impartial answer then, eh?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,218 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Look out for rust, rust and more rust. Seriously.

I've seen a few of these where the wheel-arches are literally held together by rust.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

I hate to say it but thats a grand wee Corolla which is a great attraction for theiving barstewards unfortunately.

Go for a look but dont let the heart rule the head...!

what about this..?

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=200925194341115

Or this if economy is your thing

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=200920192773448

Or even this

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=200924193085585

Had to put this in :)
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=200913192278948

As you can see you are going to chuck €3750 at a 91 car when you can have a newer, more reliable, more economical and more powerful car for less...!

Just my opinion...!

• Registered Users Posts: 279 ✭✭ep71

thats too expensive, you can buy a nice gti for around 2k these days, hi-torque is 130bhp not 150 as stated in that ad, pre 91 i think is the older tvis engine with around 120bhp, light enough on petrol just look out for rust on arches, sills, sunroof panel and boot door

Much obliged for the prompt comeback(s)..
    Rust is the enemy, I know...I used to have a 1.3 1988 Corolla xl and that was up as far as 2006 but in fact that was rot free. That car was like a Jack Russell...darting around, nimble, but no leg humping. Maybe not the best metaphor or whatever.
    Anyway I thought maybe 3750 was a bit steep but with a car that's in short supply it's hard to accurately judge what market value should be. I'd still pay 3k for it, probably! Originality is the lure - no mods, gauges on the dash or boom-box K&N power hike stuff powder puff.
    I'm fairly confident about determining whether a car is straight and true or if it's been pulled out like a bent coat hanger. As far as 150bhp goes, I've seen it quoted before along with the hi-torque tag but perhaps it's all fluff alright. I was under the impression the only engine in the gti was the same twin cam as in the original Mr2 with the same 122bhp...enough in something weighing the same as a fag packet.
    Audi A3 someone suggested...maybe (and don't want to offend any sensibilities) it's a weeeee girly.
    I was actually looking at this Audi
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Audi/A6/200927194502908/advert?channel=CARS
    It's got a v6 so should sound ok whereas 150bhp and a mountain of torque should suffice. Thing is though, I'm not sure I would have faith in VAG products. I worked in 'the trade' until recently (until the R-word came and swept my j-o-b from under me!) and anecdotal evidence suggests frailty and plenty of reliability issues in spite of Audi's reputation for build Q (which maybe doesn't extend beyond the lovely finish of the cabin).
    If the mileage on the 325tds wasn't so high (I know, how do you find a low mileage 10 year old diesel?!) at 169k it would be tempting...actually, feck it, maybe it's worth a look anyway..I had a 330d (manual) before and that car was simply brilliant. This won't be as fast, but hey...
    Anyone any thoughts on that 323gt (1999, 1.8, black, 90-ish k, being NCTd tomorrow) I mentioned? 2250 is the asking..(ono).

I should have just kept the bloody Lexus..I can hear the V8 in my sleep...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭Cionád

How about this: http://www.carzone.ie/search/Nissan/Almera/2.0l-GTI/200927194505927/advert?channel=CARS

It would look ok without the horrible alloys...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

AFAIK the pre 91 Corolla does have the same 4age engine thats found in the MR2 mk1.

That's 115BHP for Euro/American engines or ~125BHP for Jap ones. They're pretty much bullet proof engines that wil probably return around the 35 MPG quoted if not driven on the redline all the time.

I'd be looking on a club website (if they have one) for an enthusisast owner that is selling up. You can check previous posts from the seller to see what problems (if any) they've encountered too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭Ferris

3750 for a '91 corolla and its not even RWD:eek:.

I bought a nice '98 200sx for less money and its a comfortable tourer with a bit of power, not as much of a step down from your Lexus. I get between 25-35mpg depending on use and how bold i'm being.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Kartale

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Mitsubishi/Colt/Cyborg-R/200927194485718/advert?channel=CARS

Janey - I likes this, Kartale, if that is your real name...old shape Colt is kinda neat n not toooo showy. While perfect for the young bucks I might be a bit long in the tooth for it now though..I think the Playstation steering wheel is putting me off..
    Strangely, I find the Almera Gti appealing too..the aul bread van looks could be a handicap though..Seems to be a genuine Irish car too - by dint of not havin one of dem Pulsar or obscure jdm badges on the grill. Wondering about that electric blue cam cover thingy tho. Oem installation?..Nonetheless - quick, cheap too...
    The clio 172...I just couldn't..the first car i would recomment a friend not to get is a Renault. Sorry! I know they're supposed to be quare lively etc...

Maybe I'm leaning towards that 99 Mazda 1.8gt now (not on carzone now as ad expired)..might be a bit dullsville but quick enough to satisfy methinks and dependable of course.
    Although I know a place that has a clean 92 Toyota Soarer 2.5tt for sale..for 3.5k! If I thought that's not a complete funkin barstool on fuel i could just get this process over with and BUY it

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volkswagen/Golf/VR6-AUTO/200902191446036/advert?channel=CARS

Jaysus..now I just came across this..this would be an animal on petrol..I'm getting further n further away from my original objective..
    Anyway i remember CAR from 1993 or 94, thereabouts, with the front cover about the Mk3 Golf and the headline above reading 'Lemon'.

A nice boring, sensible Carina 2.0 petrol would be nice...turn of pace and econmical..plus very few of them left. Cripes I'm getting old...

• Registered Users Posts: 610 ✭✭✭green-blood

kolduke wrote: »
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volkswagen/Golf/VR6-AUTO/200902191446036/advert?channel=CARS

Jaysus..now I just came across this..this would be an animal on petrol..I'm getting further n further away from my original objective..
    Anyway i remember CAR from 1993 or 94, thereabouts, with the front cover about the Mk3 Golf and the headline above reading 'Lemon'.

lemon - yep, for an early mk3 5 door 2 litre 8v 115bhp... no thanks

the vr6 is lovely, but huge tax and 25 mpg, auto, no thanks, no amount of rubbish plastic will make it a sportscar

I've a 16v mk3 gti, love it.

• Registered Users Posts: 40 shanebrk

First of all its an ae92 your talking about not an ae96. That one, the 1991 has the same generation engine as in the ae86 rwd corolla and is pretty much bullet proof. I seen some take well over their fair share of abuse without a problem, but best thing to do is a compression test before you buy. As for juice they are not too bad. Use about as much as any other 1.6 from that era but when there driven on they drink it. My mates ae86 used close on 95 euro driving from Wexford to Mondello and back with about an hour and a half on the track. I say get one. Its definitely on my list of cars to own in the future. Oh one last thing is to check out insurance quotes. A lot of company's don't cover them. Join http://www.ae86irl.com and they will tell you anything and everything there is to know about them