Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Flightfox: Cheaper flights!

• 14-02-2012 2:23am
    Registered Users Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭upandcumming

Flightfox is a new website that basically outsources your search for flights.

It averages over $350 in savings per journey.

For $29 you put in your departing city and your destination and the dates required. Then you let other people compete to find cheap flights.
    One great thing is that you can put in that your flight must have complimentary drinks or something silly and because it is actually people searching for you.
    You can have a one day, three day, or five day contest and the person that finds you the best and cheapest fare wins the contest. They get the money.

And if you're not totally happy they refund you in full.

Don't know if this is a BA exactly, but summer holidays need booking soon!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,904 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

So you pay somebody else to find a flight for you?? Bit like a travel agent then ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,343 ✭✭✭buyer95

scudzilla wrote: »
    So you pay somebody else to find a flight for you?? Bit like a travel agent then ;)

What makes this gimmick worse is that the poster is feigning to be a customer when he/she is obviously an employee of this website

• Registered Users Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭upandcumming

buyer95 wrote: »
    What makes this gimmick worse is that the poster is feigning to be a customer when he/she is obviously an employee of this website
    I actually saw it on lifehacker.com. If you had bothered to look at my post history you would have a clue. Obviously.

Regardless, I have no use for it now, but I will be using it for when I'm in the US.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,343 ✭✭✭buyer95

I actually saw it on lifehacker.com. If you had bothered to look at my post history you would have a clue.

Regardless, I have no use for it now, but I will be using it for when I'm in the US.

In any case you presented your post in a manner which screamed of you being an employee of said company. If you made an effort and said " I stumbled across this and thought I should let people know " well still I would have been a doubting Thomas, but you must admit that post reeked of pre-emptive advertising

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭MaceFace

For 29 quid, someone will go to kayak.com and run a search?
    I don't understand this OP.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,521 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Yeah, because shills are well known for registering two years in advance and putting up nearly 1000 posts before lauching their clandestine advertising blitz.....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

If you give me €15 I'll look for things for you.

Now that, my friends, is a bargain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

Check out http://www.flightscanner.net

Great site for finding cheap and alternative flights.

(It's not my site. It's not an affiliate link. It's free. etc etc)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Flightfox is a new website that basically outsources your search for flights.

It averages over $350 in savings per journey.

For $29 you put in your departing city and your destination and the dates required. Then you let other people compete to find cheap flights.
    One great thing is that you can put in that your flight must have complimentary drinks or something silly and because it is actually people searching for you.
    You can have a one day, three day, or five day contest and the person that finds you the best and cheapest fare wins the contest. They get the money.

And if you're not totally happy they refund you in full.

Don't know if this is a BA exactly, but summer holidays need booking soon!

So for $29, it does what skyscanner and a host of others do for free?
    Are you sure this is a bargain??:D

You are? Ok, i'll take two please!

How it Works?
    You start a new contest and commit a finder's fee ($29)
    Flight hackers* compete to find you the best and cheapest flights
    You book a flight, award the winner and fly for less!
    * and by "Flight Hackers" we mean people who use flightscanner.net

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭Kajor

Check out http://www.flightscanner.net

Great site for finding cheap and alternative flights.

(It's not my site. It's not an affiliate link. It's free. etc etc)

I second this site (www.skyscanner.ie is the link I use, same site though)

It's great to be able to look at all the flight options, then go ahead and book them yourself on the airline websites. Why you'd go through an agency is beyond me.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭NeVeR

lets see if it works. I'm running a test.

• Registered Users Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Feidhlim

Is this specialised for the US market?

Will there be as much savings for us Euros?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭upandcumming

I had my doubts but lifehacker are a well regarded site so I thought it wouldn't be any harm in putting it up here too.

And the figures they reportedly save is worth the $29 in my opinion. Plus, I don't have to go looking for myself.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭POKERKING

I had my doubts but lifehacker are a well regarded site so I thought it wouldn't be any harm in putting it up here too.

And the figures they reportedly save is worth the $29 in my opinion. Plus, I don't have to go looking for myself.

Yeah i did a test seems like the saving is >$29 could be worth it and takes a lot of the hassle out of it.....nice little idea all the same whoever came up with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭ElNino

It looks interesting. You put up details of the best flights and price that you have found and if someone can't beat those by $29 then you can get a refund. Therefore you have nothing to lose really assuming it is straighforward to get a refund. And they have example non-US flights on their site.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭discombobulate

Also they say money back if your not happy so i'm sure if its the same price you receive as you get through skyscanner or the likes then you can complain and get it back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

They are a middle man between myself and an airline. How can they save me money? The only way I could see them saving me money would be if a flight was scheduled to depart an airport very soon, and the airline were hoping to fill it, they would give Flightfox specific permission to fill the seat at a knock down price. Otherwise I can only see Flightfox, not as a scam, but as a way to prey on the gullible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,638 ✭✭✭moodrater

Haha everyones a genius if it was as simple as skyscanner.ie off ye go and collect your $29 by submitting flights.

Flights are like hotels they vary vastly in price depending on the channels you go through. How do you plan to check business, first class prices with skyscanner.

Heres a challenge take this flight as an example and see what price you can get on skyscanner. http://flightfox.com/contest/1113

• Registered Users Posts: 88 ✭✭umpsfar

i spent 2 hours today trying to beat a few of these,and more time googling the site, i could only equal some of the offers, but couldnt match later/better offers,
    between now and the end of 2013 im going to have to spend 1800 on flights , i could even throw in a few stop off's once i clear hotels on other islands.
    oh i got the groupon"[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]"Caribbean Sands: Seven Nights in Antigua For Two Adults and Up to Two Children for EUR 148.34"[/FONT]
    22yoyos is feck all, whats that? just over 1% of my flight cost.
    thanks upandcumming
    the rest of yous, shame.
    lets see, brother inlaw is a pilot, 2 friends work in the airport. can i get cheaper flights than some 21 year old in a travel agents ? u tell me.
    i only know one trick of the trade(when u book).& frequent flyers in america probably know more than
    http://lmgtfy.com/?q=cheap+flights
    :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Nok1a

umpsfar wrote: »
    i spent 2 hours today trying to beat a few of these,and more time googling the site, i could only equal some of the offers, but couldnt match later/better offers,
    between now and the end of 2013 im going to have to spend 1800 on flights , i could even throw in a few stop off's once i clear hotels on other islands.
    oh i got the groupon"[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]"Caribbean Sands: Seven Nights in Antigua For Two Adults and Up to Two Children for EUR 148.34"[/FONT]
    22yoyos is feck all, whats that? just over 1% of my flight cost.
    thanks upandcumming
    the rest of yous, shame.
    lets see, brother inlaw is a pilot, 2 friends work in the airport. can i get cheaper flights than some 21 year old in a travel agents ? u tell me.
    i only know one trick of the trade(when u book).& frequent flyers in america probably know more than
    http://lmgtfy.com/?q=cheap+flights
    :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

will they cover all your flights between now and the end of 2013 for a single fee of $29.

Where it would worry me is when you actually make the booking. Who do you give your credit card / id details to?

• Registered Users Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Feidhlim

They are a middle man between myself and an airline. How can they save me money? The only way I could see them saving me money would be if a flight was scheduled to depart an airport very soon, and the airline were hoping to fill it, they would give Flightfox specific permission to fill the seat at a knock down price. Otherwise I can only see Flightfox, not as a scam, but as a way to prey on the gullible.

I would assume they have agreements with several airlines that allows them preferential rates if they land business.

Lets hope it takes off

Sky is the limit

OK, I'll stop :p

• Registered Users Posts: 88 ✭✭umpsfar

Nok1a wrote: »
    will they cover all your flights between now and the end of 2013 for a single fee of $29.

Where it would worry me is when you actually make the booking. Who do you give your credit card / id details to?
    @Nok1a only time will tell.
    i'm only talking about antigua and back(must book by end of 2013), i cannot get it less than +600 each, im also hoping to go the Dominika island since im in that neck of the woods,
    i'm just a wary as most ppl here about this site, but its a good idea.
    one of the ones i was looking at yesterday was 7,555 dollars, stipulations where: business class from boston to zurich 3 day trip, no stops, leaving in ten days time.
    only two airlines came up i couldnt beat the Ops price, but someone got 6k,

• Registered Users Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭ElNino

I don't think you would book your flights through them. The winner would tell you how/where to book the flights amd you would book directly.

I saw a post elsewhere that somebody put up a group booking for 19 people and a travel agent with spare capacity on a charter flight answered and saved them $500 per head. The whole idea has a lot of potential. Time will tell how it works out.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Where's the bargain alert exactly? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭conor052001

scudzilla wrote: »
    vicwatson wrote: »
    Where's the bargain alert exactly? :rolleyes:

with attitudes like this its a wonder anyone posts anything around here

the op has openly stated that he doesnt know if its a ba but it might help with someone booking holidays...
    if it doesnt apply to you, dont use it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Nok1a

umpsfar wrote: »
    @Nok1a only time will tell.
    i'm only talking about antigua and back(must book by end of 2013), i cannot get it less than +600 each, im also hoping to go the Dominika island since im in that neck of the woods,
    i'm just a wary as most ppl here about this site, but its a good idea.
    one of the ones i was looking at yesterday was 7,555 dollars, stipulations where: business class from boston to zurich 3 day trip, no stops, leaving in ten days time.
    only two airlines came up i couldnt beat the Ops price, but someone got 6k,

ive no interest in your holiday plans

with attitudes like this its a wonder anyone posts anything around here

the op has openly stated that he doesnt know if its a ba but it might help with someone booking holidays...
    if it doesnt apply to you, dont use it?

No one's slating the OP. It's just that if someone posts something that may/may not be a BA then there's often a discussion as to the merits of it - and that is a good thing.

For example, there's been BA's about cheap antivirus software which are always followed with suggestions for free alternatives.

Take no offence OP. Nothing's directed at you - it's all just about the service in question!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

ElNino wrote: »
    I don't think you would book your flights through them. The winner would tell you how/where to book the flights amd you would book directly.

I saw a post elsewhere that somebody put up a group booking for 19 people and a travel agent with spare capacity on a charter flight answered and saved them $500 per head. The whole idea has a lot of potential. Time will tell how it works out.

Ah I see what you mean. That's actually a pretty good idea if enough people get involved in it. Obviously if your flights are above, say, €200 it is an even better idea.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 20,642 CMod ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Feidhlim wrote: »
    I would assume they have agreements with several airlines that allows them preferential rates if they land business.

Lets hope it takes off

Sky is the limit

OK, I'll stop :p

The only way is up :pac: