Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Enniscorthy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭furerer

just flicking through the net...found this....you might be interested at how the Wexford council members spend our money, here's a portion of the article:
    Quote "During the Bicentenary in 1998 we were trying to raise funds to build the National Interpretative Centre of the Rebellion in Enniscorthy and someone came up with the idea of creating a Wexford Senate based on the short lived Republic of 1798 and caharge £2,000 (€2,540) for Membership. So, everyone who paid €2,540 became a Wexford Senator. It worked as it raised €1,015,790 and added to Government Grants of provided a state-of-the-art Visitor Centre in Enniscorthy. The total cost was €3,301,319. It has won International Awards. Allthe Senators are listed on a focal wall in the Centre." end quote.
    Read the full article at
    http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g37887-r1377174-Emmetsburg_Iowa.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

The Guardian is as bad as the Echo - instead of leading the charge on important issues they fill the paper with trivia/gossip and pictures of everybody in the county in the hope that they will buy the rag. Neither the Echo or the Guardian are fit to wrap fish and chips in.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

The Guardian is as bad as the Echo - instead of leading the charge on important issues they fill the paper with trivia/gossip and pictures of everybody in the county in the hope that they will buy the rag. Neither the Echo or the Guardian are fit to wrap fish and chips in.
    Very true,people buy them in case they miss something-pages wasted on pictures of who's out and about,save em up for once a month and put articles that really matter in the papers.Every time the courts are on it's the same people in front of the judge-we don't care who got fined for using a phone while driving or got parking fines.The Guardian has a huge bias towards Gorey and North Wexford-nothing against Gorey but theres more places in the county to report on.
    On a good note-congrats to the internet cafe by the old bridge in Templeshannon,great paint job on the shopfront,pity others wouldn't follow suit,Oh yeah,nearly forgot-the council are planning it so roll on 2020 to see it finished.

zerks wrote: »
    Very true,people buy them in case they miss something-pages wasted on pictures of who's out and about,save em up for once a month and put articles that really matter in the papers.Every time the courts are on it's the same people in front of the judge-we don't care who got fined for using a phone while driving or got parking fines.The Guardian has a huge bias towards Gorey and North Wexford-nothing against Gorey but theres more places in the county to report on.
    On a good note-congrats to the internet cafe by the old bridge in Templeshannon,great paint job on the shopfront,pity others wouldn't follow suit,Oh yeah,nearly forgot-the council are planning it so roll on 2020 to see it finished.

The wretched Athenaeum could do with a lick of paint but Castle Street is not on the council's hit list. :(

Speaking of the council-the usual token shovels of tar were put on the junction of Bellfield and Patrick street.I've driven on better dirt tracks.Wouldn't mind but there's a local company that specialise in planing and re-laying roads-why not pony up the money thats wasted on filling the same potholes weekly and get them to do the job properly.The road along Hempfield is like something from Afghanistan-a few shovels of tar won't cure that.No wonder the Eddie Tobin Memorial Race was moved away from the town,simply to dangerous to cycle along the roads the state they're in.

• Registered Users Posts: 656 ✭✭✭Bearhunter

It's all very well whingeing about the Echo/Guardian (and that's something I enjoy enthusiastically myself) but has anyone approached the editor and asked him why the paper doesn't cover this topic? I might drop him an email and see how I go.

This should be our motto-
    image009.jpg.jpg
    The readership of these papers consists of people with pictures/articles about their friends or relations and those that missed the death notices on South East Radio. Speaking of the radio,why don't they have a weekly show about such issues regarding the town and county councils with a phone or text line for issues that need attention.They have some ridiculous stuff on South East Radio at times so at least a program like the one I suggested would have relevance to everybody in the region.
    BTW. Bearhunter,good luck with that email.Think I'll send one off to South East Radio

While you are all sending off the e-mails....do not forget to plug Boards....a few more readers/writers would go a long way and may just prompt others to get involved in the discussions.....nice one people, we seem to be moving in a common direction, (hopefully not toward one of the counties pot-holes!!);)

While on the subject of emails how about one to Enniscorthy UDC about this seat - right outside their offices - I'd almost have a whip-round and send them an anonymous Postal Order for the paint. Enniscorthy 1500 how are ye? :rolleyes:

manxpubs004.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Rockery Woman

The Singing Bird was supposed to have been removed to a less public location a couple of years ago but as for foam - there's been no water in it for months now so even that bit of amusement is gone. :rolleyes:

used to love the Post-Castle foam parties in the 1990's - those were the days :D

Email sent to South East Radio,awaiting response.....
    I witnessed a lovely sight yesterday-tourists on the Shannon side of the river taking photo's of the old bridge etc. The only problem was the 'under the bridge gang' on the seats at the far side drinking cheap cans at 11am.It seems to be a problem with every public space in the town.Along the river should be exploited to boost the image of the town but if the local wino's are encamped using it as a bar and toilet I can't see too many using the area.
    The only clearing up under the wall opposite Burgermac is done by floodwater.:(

The seats and railings by the river haven't been painted for at least ten years either. The council appear to have plenty of staff but their appropriate deployment seems to be beyond officialdom. :( More here: http://countywexford.blogspot.com/

Hallelujah - the seats and railings have been painted within the last few days! What can be next? :D

The latest pics here: http://countywexford.blogspot.com/

For people to lazy to click on links-

ecorthy+001.JPG

It's a start but the grey,drab pallette of most of the town is depressing.If it's brightened up it might attract new business and visitors.Plus can they please resurface the roads around the town,I'm considering buying a 4x4 just to get around.
    With regard to the shopfronts,why not a competition for the best one-the prize being free advertising and maybe a years exemption from paying rates as incentive.Paint is not that dear ffs!

Good idea to invest money into the quay area, would certainly improve the area. I suspect the reason for not doing is because of the flooding that constantly happens.

Perhaps we could somehow keep the drunks down there when the flooding happens, and let the water sweep them away....it'll solve one problem.

Just reading the Strawberry fair thread. Went to the Tinahealy show yesterday and.......my opinion......glorified boot fair for 15.00 to enter (per adult). I do not think that Enniscorthy is alone with shows of a poor nature, it seems to be a frequent event all over. I'm sure some will say the show was "fantastic", but have these people ever been to a show outside of this country? Anyhow I know this thread is not about shows so will not bleat on about it.

As for the drinkers under the bridge,...get rid of them,...and no sooner will some others take their place. The only way it will stop is if the Gards move them on and take away their drink. Maybe a way forward, as the gards are not doing as I say, is to bring in community policing as in the uk. It would certainly free up the gards to spend more time in the cafes.....but more importantly it would keep an eye on the town....better than cctv. Better still, do as the yanks do, give them a pushbike.....it'll keep the gut-line down if nothing else!;)

furerer wrote: »
    Good idea to invest money into the quay area, would certainly improve the area. I suspect the reason for not doing is because of the flooding that constantly happens.

Perhaps we could somehow keep the drunks down there when the flooding happens, and let the water sweep them away....it'll solve one problem.

Just reading the Strawberry fair thread. Went to the Tinahealy show yesterday and.......my opinion......glorified boot fair for 15.00 to enter (per adult). I do not think that Enniscorthy is alone with shows of a poor nature, it seems to be a frequent event all over. I'm sure some will say the show was "fantastic", but have these people ever been to a show outside of this country? Anyhow I know this thread is not about shows so will not bleat on about it.

As for the drinkers under the bridge,...get rid of them,...and no sooner will some others take their place. The only way it will stop is if the Gards move them on and take away their drink. Maybe a way forward, as the gards are not doing as I say, is to bring in community policing as in the uk. It would certainly free up the gards to spend more time in the cafes.....but more importantly it would keep an eye on the town....better than cctv. Better still, do as the yanks do, give them a pushbike.....it'll keep the gut-line down if nothing else!;)
    Saw complaints on another thread about entry fee for Tinahely Show-I'll wait for the Ploughing Championships in Athy thanks.
    It's gas that they were able to police the no drinking on the street policy during the Strawberry Farce but unable to stop the drunks around the town doing it the rest of the year even though they are easy to find-This bit is for the Gardai: by the old bridge and new bridge and on Pigmarket Hill which is yards from the Garda Station.

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭the GALL

And just to rub some salt into an open wound , a mate of mine went for a job with the C.E scheme that the council run, (and fair play to him for doing such menial tasks, or so I thought him being a I.T Technician) this is the bit that sickens me he does 19.5 hours a week, gets to keep his dole and get paid for the work he does which earns him a total of €480 a week:eek:, €480 a f*"kin week:eek: and any one out there can check these figures with the council. For €480 a week the council should be getting more results and seeing more production than it does.......Ahhh that feels a lots better, just had to get that off my chest, I still cant get over the fact that he's on €480 for 19.5 hours a week,:mad::mad: thats €960 for a weeks work(after tax if you like) who said the celtic tiger is dead and there's no money in the county for roads.:confused:

Here's an idea,why not compile a snag list of things that need addressing around the town either by the Council or the Gardai.Feel free to add whatever you feel needs doing.It might help get issues resolved quicker if they are on public view for all and sundry to see so the authorities can't duck the issues.
    1.The Museum

2.The Atheneum-if millions are spent on concert venues/art galleries why not redevelop the Atheneum,the building is already there and has cultural significance.

3.The roads and footpaths around the town.

4.Change the location of some of the pedestrian crossings.

Any more folks?

Remove the "singing bird" and find a buyer for it.

Put a sub police station in Templeshannon.

Clean up the playground at the Promenade.

Do something to encourage retailers such as reduce the rates.

Council CPO a couple of buildings and let them out at reasonable rents.

Cancel any plan for new council offices - move the council offices to the '98 Centre and the '98 Centre to the council's existing offices.

Put the tourist office back in the heart of the town.

Clear away the day time drinkers.

Hire a private security company to patrol the streets at night..... and so on, and so on....sorry must get some work done :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭jpb1974

Not so much a snag list... but my thoughts -

1. There needs to be major investment in the roads around Enniscorthy. There are numerous stretches of roads that need complete re-surfacing.

2. Better litter management. How many times have you passed a bin full to the brim?

3. Something needs to be done to monitor the Kids Playgrounds and ensure that they are well kept

4. Sites such as the old Murphy Floods need to be seriously addressed. Colemans all bordered up in the middle of the town centre too.

5. Enforcement needs to be realistic and effective. The Chocolate Soldier in Enniscorthy is a million miles off the boys in Wexford town. In Enniscorthy the philosophy is "don't ticket unless they park in the middle of the road outside Burger Macs for more than 60 mins"

6. The Town Gardening Manager needs to be removed, new policy put in place and someone new put in charge to manage it.

7. Something needs to be done to force owners to ensure that their empty premises are maintained to an orderly state. It's not acceptable to just let them leave these empty premises to rot, they should be forced to keep the well kept and issued with a fine when they don't comply

8. A few ounces of common sense sprinkled around Enniscorthy Council e.g. their farcical Zebra Crossing placements

9. Vision and Planning - Stop granting planning permission for huge estates without properly assessing the area and the roads.

10. Enniscorthy Town Council needs a wake up call as well as better engagement with the Public. This town councillor lark has grown old, become way too systematic and is typically way too small scale in it's thinking.

• Registered Users Posts: 188 ✭✭sallysaucer101

May I suggest that ye might start looking at the good things the town has to offer?

I'm often reluctant to log onto this as it just depresses me to see everyone writing all the bad stuff the town has to offer, you’re not doing anything for our tourism industry!

If anyone was to look up Wexford or especially Enniscorthy and they found this forum they would be totally put off.

Yes, I do think that we do need major improvements around the whole county but really if people had a better attitude and boasted the good things thus enticing more people to visit Wexford, improving revenue and then maybe having the money to fix the bad things.

May I suggest that ye might start looking at the good things the town has to offer?

I'm often reluctant to log onto this as it just depresses me to see everyone writing all the bad stuff the town has to offer, you’re not doing anything for our tourism industry!

If anyone was to look up Wexford or especially Enniscorthy and they found this forum they would be totally put off.

Yes, I do think that we do need major improvements around the whole county but really if people had a better attitude and boasted the good things thus enticing more people to visit Wexford, improving revenue and then maybe having the money to fix the bad things.

Can you name a few good things about Enniscorthy or perhaps start a new thread? As far as I'm concerned the place has little going for it - closed up Castle, closed up shops, boy racers, drunks at night, day time drinking, too much traffic, broken glass, dog ..., no employment opportunities whatsoever. Only positives for me are The Antique and Hayes pubs (to watch rugby and retain what's little left of my sanity) Cooney's Bakery, Stafford's Butchers and the Chernobyl Orphanage charity shop and a couple of decent takeaways. Not much for a town of its size or potential. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

zerks wrote: »

4.Change the location of some of the pedestrian crossings.
    The pedestrian crossing at the bottom of weafer street is the worse one i've seen anywhere. And the two opposite pettitts, no need whatsoever for them. They're thanks to the genius mind of the great Jackser Owens.
    And the speed mountains up around Madiera wood, fúcking hell. You'd need a tractor going over them.

MJ23 wrote: »
    The pedestrian crossing at the bottom of weafer street is the worse one i've seen anywhere. And the two opposite pettitts, no need whatsoever for them. They're thanks to the genius mind of the great Jackser Owens.
    And the speed mountains up around Madiera wood, fúcking hell. You'd need a tractor going over them.

Nearly got run over using the one at bottom of Weafer Street the other day by a moron in a Jag and I was pushing a buggy,he pretended not to see me,CNUT!!
    With regard to Sallysaucers post about the positives-very little.The town has huge potential as from a distance it looks great with the hills,cathedral,castle,Vinegar Hill.BUT..get up close and it's a disaster,closed up premises,litter,dodging boy racers whatever time of day or night.There used to be loads of visitors fishing at the old bridge but all we have now are the town drunks holding court there,a great sight to see by one of the town's focal points.
    The town needs a lot of work and imagination to cheer it up and restore pride.For every nice new feature or premises theres 3 that will drag it back down.It's hard to have pride in something that is so depressing,it just breeds apathy.Enniscorthy has just about hit rock bottom so at least the only way is up.

Enniscorthy is the central town in the county so should be treated as so,too often everything goes to Wexford town.Not begrudging Wexford but a bit of effort is needed by the powers that be to market Enniscorthy as an attractive location for new businesses.
    Was in Wexford town this morning and the streets were full,Enniscorthy in contrast was like a ghost town.Nothing to attract people to the place.Tesco-bye bye.New Shopping Centre at Abbey Square-bye bye.Redevelopment of Market Square-bye bye.Old Dunnes Stores Premises development-bye bye,need I go on.
    Great claims and promises were made during the Celtic Tiger years regarding plans for the town but now nothing,surely now is the time to start these projects when labour is readily available and prices are no longer sky high for materials etc.There seems to be an element of fear about doing anything,so we just watch the middle of the town disintegrate.Shame-I used to have an argument before when defending the town but now.......:(
    There's a few more things for our esteemed councillors,developers,planners etc to mull over.

@sallysaucer101 -

Start a new thread and we'll all list the positives... I like to bring my 7 year down to the swimming pool on a Sunday morning, a walk up on Vinegar Hill has about 10 minutes of excitement, feeding the ducks and geese down by the Slaney and out at the Still gives 30 mins enjoyment, a ramble around Borodale gives 30 mins enjoyment, I'd bring him to the Prom playground for an hour... the best of a bad bunch.

After a while all of these things wear off. Thank God for the Shamrocks GAA and Shamrock Rovers Soccer club... they give him something fun to-do a few nights a week.

Being totally and utterly honest if I was a tourist I'd stay well the fcuk away from Enniscorthy... unless you're planning a pub crawl. If you were a tourist why would you come to Enniscorthy? I'd have no problems referring people to Wexford... just not Enniscorthy... I'd be ashamed if anyone said to me "I was thinking of heading to Enniscorthy for the weekend... what would you recommend about the town?".

I see an ad in Arklow early this week for Treacy's Hotel... it had about 4-5 hotel highlights listed (special rates, 2 restaurants, nightclub etc)... it mentioned the Waterfront Swimming Pool and that was it... nothing about the town.

If I were to call a spade a spade... Enniscorthy really is a bit of a shít hole... it has loads of potential but nobody seems arsed to take it in any sort of positive direction. Personally I think it all stems from the lack of employment in the town... we've never had a major employer in Enniscorthy.

• Registered Users Posts: 387 ✭✭'scorthy

As JPB1974 replied; let's start a new thread with all the postives...Sallysaucer101 please start and list.
    The fact that decent people are taking the time to put 'finger to keyboard' on this forum expressing their wishes to see a better Town and highlighting the deficiencies in the system of local government etc proves that they care about the area and in some cases the area that their kids & families are growing up in. Kudos to them I say.
    If anyone was to look up Wexford or especially Enniscorthy and they found this forum they would be totally put off.{/QUOTE] We're not tourists; we're living in the Town and want to see chance from within first before we can sell it to tourists we have to get our act together. To market a product you first need a tailored product for a specific demographic to market to and you must believe in that product. Fair dues to Zerks for the innovating title of the thread '...snag list'. Get the list sorted and work from their.
    The problem with the Town is that those who received the 'revenue' i.e. businesses over the years, were always reluctant to re-invest. Look at any old photograph or go back in through the history of the town and it's the same names with the wealth. Perhaps we should look towards corporate sponsership like in the States 'The Clearstream Athenaeum' or 'The Vintners Clinic'.

Who's bright idea was it to make the Prom a pay parking zone? Another revenue stream that doesn't seem to be invested in improving the town.
    That area was handy for people working in town as a free parking zone, they didn't have to run to a parking meter every 2 hours to pay for the privelege of working in the town.The pay parking seems to be spreading throughout the town,I don't mind it as a deterrent to inconsiderate parking in residential areas close to the town centre but now it's becoming a tax.
    As for idiots parking on the roundabout at the Credit Union-they should be towed immediately and the same at the bus stop on the Quay but this is never enforced-even the traffic warden has given up on these people.While on holiday in Turkey I witnessed cars being parked in similar situations and within minutes the cars were on the back of a truck,too right-some folk would nearly drive through the doors if it meant not having to walk a few extra yards.

• Registered Users Posts: 151 ✭✭hop2it

jpb1974 wrote: »
    ... we've never had a major employer in Enniscorthy.

we DID have large employers but the unions and as#holes closed them down

Buttles
    mitch norten
    Wexal
    Davis mills
    St Johns foundry
    The blade factory
    Chivers (part time)

I worked for a major employer in the town years ago and it closed-cheaper to move production to Eastern Europe.All we got was Mary fuking Harney promising a task force would be set up to get new employment in the town.If we got half as many task forces politicians promised,Enniscorthy would look like the set of an action movie.
    It was mentioned earlier about getting unemployed people to work on projects in the town and receive the dole as payment.I suppose many would object but if it gets you out of the house and into the habit of working again it wouldn't be a bad idea plus the town would benefit from the extra hands helping out.
    On another topic,lots of signs on approach and in town warning of works taking place this weekend-I wonder can anyone hack them and get 'em to display "THANKS TO BOARDS.IE":) The local rags out today so will be interesting to see how many of our discussions they have used as material.:rolleyes:

we DID have large employers but the unions and as#holes closed them down

Buttles
    mitch norten
    Wexal
    Davis mills
    St Johns foundry
    The blade factory
    Chivers (part time)

To be honest I personally wouldn't have classed any of those as large employers... more so small to mid.