Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Connorzee

any stream link?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭.E_C_K_S.

Wouldn't mind one also if it's going, thanks lads!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 H.A.M

Connorzee wrote: »
    any stream link?

Same

Cork up 8 points to 1 after 14 minutes!! Following on Twitter for the moment

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,273 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Cork up 8 points to 1 after 14 minutes!! Following on Twitter for the moment

Savage start....if they lose it from here!!!

Not sure if we are shít hot or Tip or shít - don't really care:D

11 points to 1, 27 minutes gone.Would love a stream!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,813 ✭✭✭deisedude

Unbelievable long range points from Cork but given acres of space to do it. Cork looking very fit and sharp for this time of year. Be interesting to see if they can keep up that momentum throughout the league. Wouldn't read anything into this game though with regards championship prospects, kind of getting the feeling Tipp are being trained into the ground from looking at how leaden footed they are playing tonight

There was a thread specific to streams which I didn't realise existed http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=83023832

Post that in there Connorzee just in case!

There was a thread specific to streams which I didn't realise existed http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=83023832

Post that in there Connorzee just in case!

Better off keeping it to PMs altogether as I don't think its allowed anymore

Our little secret in here lads, nobody is interested in what cork are doing so they wont see it ;) Say naaaaaaaathing ;)

On a different note... Sean Og is a shocking public speaker.. christ. "Emmm emmm, janno, emm, janno..."

I know! Also listen to how many times he says 'like' aswell....pure Cork!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,273 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

FT Cork 0-26 v Tip 1-11

A real hammering for Tip. MOTM Horgan shooting over 0-13pts

Well, does that mean Tipp have been training harder than us over the winter in prep for the summer, or what?

Connorzee wrote: »
    Well, does that mean Tipp have been training harder than us over the winter in prep for the summer, or what?

Maybe Tipp have been doing more slogging and less hurling. Cork's stickwork and allround hurling sharpness is exceptionally good for this time of year. Time will tell!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Thinkstoomuch

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    FT Cork 0-26 v Tip 1-11

A real hammering for Tip. MOTM Horgan shooting over 0-13pts
    A great win,I thought tonight would be a big ask for such a young team ,added to the fact Cronin was missing and Coughlan was also out.
    The good aspects of tonights game was Cork played to their strengths,fast low ball in to the forwards and the workrate was very good.Moylan was very good and Paudie created a lot of space for the forwards. It was a vital 2 points for Cork and with Clare at home it should probably mean we will stay up this year.Waterford are up next ,and away from home there tough to beat.
    Cork have not had the best of luck there bar a draw the last few years,but its a game that is winnable.As good as tonight was,it's was clear tippereary were not up for the game at all.They were flat,any 50/50 ball Cork nearly always won.They did not have any intensity,and gave us a lot of space,you would not get in the Championship.Cork were the team that even with all the problems of the last few months seem more united.Tippereary seemed the team that you would say morale was not great after that display.I have never seen as many of their players getting carded in a game,the ill discipline showed how frustrated they were even early in the game.You can only beat what is in front you,but at the same time Tippereary were so flat,the game was lacking any real bite that it is hard to read too much in tonight.Time will tell as to how good Cork are,but Joyce,Egan ,Kearney,and Moylan showed a lot of promise tonight.
    Any time you score 13 points you are a good choice for man of the match,but aside from horgan I though joyce was superb.He always moved the ball fast,scored a great point,but he's reading of the game was top notch.He was even dropping back to the full back line and sweeping a lot of loose ball.He was superb for the U21's against Tippereary last year with the amount of the ball he hurled,he seemed to move that up another level tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Just home...and have just about warmed up enough to type.

Great win. Serious intensity out of them and they look to be fit as a fiddle. The work rate was superb. The cliche of your defence starting in the full forward line held true and numerous scores came from simply not giving up any ball from our half forward line in.

Few things stood out tho. There was a period of the second half where our half forward line was being taken to the cleaners and tipp got scores in quick succession. Whether it was a case of foot taken off the peddle or a recurrence of our half forward line woes of last year will be seen in games to come. Hopefully the former.

There was some messing about where they got scores from space that there isnt a hope in hell they will get at a championship level match.

Tipp were not at the races. They lacked hunger, speed and were simply blown away. It looked like tipp were coming out for a training match and cork were out for the championship. Tougher tests will come from lesser teams.

Finally, all the space and possession and the scores from play and no goals scored. Something to keep an eye on as the league develops.

Overall tho, not getting carried away but very pleased if not still frozen. Bring on the next match :D

• Registered Users Posts: 646 ✭✭✭mccarthy37

SeaFields wrote: »

Great win. Serious intensity out of them and they look to be fit as a fiddle. The work rate was superb. The cliche of your defence starting in the full forward line held true and numerous scores came from simply not giving up any ball from our half forward line in.

Few things stood out tho. There was a period of the second half where our half forward line was being taken to the cleaners and tipp got scores in quick succession. Whether it was a case of foot taken off the peddle or a recurrence of our half forward line woes of last year will be seen in games to come. Hopefully the former.

There was some messing about where they got scores from space that there isnt a hope in hell they will get at a championship level match.

Tipp were not at the races. They lacked hunger, speed and were simply blown away. It looked like tipp were coming out for a training match and cork were out for the championship. Tougher tests will come from lesser teams.

Finally, all the space and possession and the scores from play and no goals scored. Something to keep an eye on as the league develops.

Overall tho, not getting carried away but very pleased if not still frozen. Bring on the next match :D
    Ye didn't score many goals in 99 under JMB and look how far ye got then.
    Well done on a great win.

SeaFields wrote: »

I would agree with that,the amount of space Cork were allowed was a huge suprise.Cork and Tipp clashes are always open,fast compared to playing the likes of Kilkenny and Galway,but tonight was even more open than you would normally expect.
    Clare under Davy you can guarantee will not give Cork any time on the ball,and likewise Galway and Kilkenny will do the same.
    I agree, the half forward line is lacking ball winners.Even when Cronin returns we still need another player to share the load,as Cronin will be targeted and he will be double marked at the very least.
    The low fast ball is all well and good to a degree,but their needs to be a physical side to our game come championship.
    A worry at the moment is the form.of Connor lehane.He was not great for UCC tuesday against CIT, and while he had worked hard and created scores tonight he only scored a point in the game.Cork will need a bigger return from him in June.Paudi seemed to have a new role tonight,he was like an extra defender in the defence at times.He played well,moved the ball fast and is a great man to pick a pass.Maybe that is the best position for him now,as Moylan looks like he can step up to the mark.
    Paudie has Centre back and wing back expierence from he's minor days with Cork
    Willam Egan form is good,he had a good 2 weeks with UCC and tonight he was full of confidence.The Full back position is still a worry though.Mcdonnell is a fine player ,he is fast,a good striker and a good man marker ,but i feel he is better suited to Corner back.He is not commanding in the air,like you need in a top class full back,in the Championship,like the Rock was for years.He breaks the ball rather than catches it.Against Kilkenny and Galway you will be found out cause they will win their share of breaking ball.Mcdonnell was exposed by Larkin in last years League Final under the high ball.Canning or Richie hogan will cause him problems.
    Centre back at least we seemed to have found the answer.Joyce was great under the high ball,and he will get better with more games.

mccarthy37 wrote: »
    Ye didn't score many goals in 99 under JMB and look how far ye got then.
    Well done on a great win.
    Thats true,i think only one goal was scored and that was against Clare by Joe Deane.
    The game has changed dramatically since then though and to win the All Ireland now goals are a must.

• Registered Users Posts: 646 ✭✭✭mccarthy37

Thats true,i think only one goal was scored and that was against Clare by Joe Deane.
    The game has changed dramatically since then though and to win the All Ireland now goals are a must.
    Joe Deane came down to Waterford and played a game of soccor with retired hurlers from here against the soccor team he was the best soccor player on the night.

mccarthy37 wrote: »
    Joe Deane came down to Waterford and played a game of soccor with retired hurlers from here against the soccor team he was the best soccor player on the night.
    I heard that,Dan the Man and Mullane played too in that match for a charity.Fair play to them.

Deane is one of those talents that he would be fairly good at whatever sport he took part in.He was good enough to play Minor football for Cork, he is meant to be a handy Golfer too.

• Registered Users Posts: 482 ✭✭Treble20

Delighted to see Cork enjoying an impressive win over Tipp last night. No need for fans to get too carried away but still a good start to the league all the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Delighted with the performance tonight. Ya, it's only January, but all the talk before the game was of the strong tipp team. Cork worked hard and won well. We'll enjoy it and move on. Bigger tests ahead.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,770 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

• Registered Users Posts: 12 corkrback

Cork are in pole position to win munster now. we are guaranteed to be in the munster final.
    we should pick up points against clare and waterford in the league which will give us another game
    Clare will beat waterford despite yesterday i think but they won`t have the nerve to beat us even if we don`t play so well. Look at the messing they went on with yesterday against a waterford team that was crying out to be beaten yet they hadn`t the composure to do it

We clearly don`t have full back sorted as yet but maybe we could chance o`neill there with brian murphy coming in to the corner.
    cronin coming in at wing forward will release sullivan to corner with horgan and one from moylan mannix farrell or coughlan and we will cause big problems for anyone

corkrback wrote: »
    Cork are in pole position to win munster now. we are guaranteed to be in the munster final.
    we should pick up points against clare and waterford in the league which will give us another game
    Clare will beat waterford despite yesterday i think but they won`t have the nerve to beat us even if we don`t play so well. Look at the messing they went on with yesterday against a waterford team that was crying out to be beaten yet they hadn`t the composure to do it

We clearly don`t have full back sorted as yet but maybe we could chance o`neill there with brian murphy coming in to the corner.
    cronin coming in at wing forward will release sullivan to corner with horgan and one from moylan mannix farrell or coughlan and we will cause big problems for anyone
    I admire the optisim,but I would not say Cork are in Pole position for anything just yet.There has only been one game played yet,and its very hard to read too much in to the game,when you consider this was a poor display by Tipp in the first half.
    The second half when they increased the tempo we struggled at times.The second half ended in a draw.
    There was the displays of Joyce,Egan,Kearney,Moylan,Horgan and Paudie all gave positives signs for Cork,but the spine of the team is still a work in progress in certain positions.
    As you said Mcdonnell won't do at full back.He was exposed by Kelly for the goal.Cork have so many talented corner backs,any 2 from O Neill,Murphy,O Sullivan,Mcdonnell would do a job in the corner.
    The only full back option by nature would be Colm Spillane.He is way too young and inexperienced to be given that role this year.I would expect he will be groomed for the role in the next few years,the same way the Rock started in the corner for Cork in 98,before moving to full back in 99.
    Brian murphy was okay as a stop gap last year as a full back,but he's instinct is more to man mark than Command the aera.Shane O Neill is more of the same.
    Mark Ellis could be worth a shot there.
    Cork will still need another puck out option on the half forward line even with cronin back ,and in the Full Forward line also
    The midfield is too light weight as well.Kearney is the ideal link man,and can score,but Mcloughlin beside him i feel Cork will be bossed out of it too easily in the Championship.Lorchan is a fine hurler ,but against Tippereary and Galway last year he couuld not compete physically with them.
    He was fine Saturday night and the flicked point got rave reviews,but he was just as good in last year's league when the hurling was loose and open.Last year down the Pairc he got a great goal against Galway,but when the Championship started he was out fought and out muscled.He would be more suited to half back,he has excelled their for CIT the last two years.
    He would be ideal at No.5.He would be have more freedom there and less likely to be boxed in and turn the ball over in the tackle. Michael Walsh of Kildorrey looks to be very strong and could be the perfect foil for Kearney.What I liked about Walsh was the fact he shouldered the Tipp lad out of the way, won a ball he had no right to win and scored a good point.
    He played at 7 under Denis walsh and was quite good against Kilkenny in the league,but then he went to London.He could be developed in to midfielder the same way JBM developed Mark Landers in 99.
    I would not dismiss Clare just yet, a lot of their players won 2 U21 all irelands in the last few years and did so by beating Kilkenny twice.They also ran Kilkenny to a point in the minor final,they know how to win matches.It is hard to know what training Davy has them at just yet.
    The true test of Cork will be after the Galway and Kilkenny games.Waterford wont roll over the next day either.Cork have always struggled in Dungarvan.
    I remember after Cork demolished Tipp in 2011 in the U21 the Echo had a headline about the so called crisis in Cork underage hurling ,"What Crisis".
    We all know limerick beat us 2 weeks later.The Crisis in Underage is still there.
    2010 in the Championship we beat tipp,but Waterford beat us the next day.
    One swallow never made a summer.As impressive as Saturday night was it was only one game and one half of hurling.We were impressive this time last year too.There is a lot of work to be done yet.JBM im sure will keep their feet firmly on the ground.Nothing was ever won after one match.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Why are we guaranteed to get into a Munster final...?

• Registered Users Posts: 325 ✭✭mr bungle.

Orizio wrote: »
    Why are we guaranteed to get into a Munster final...?
    we are far from guaranteed.